We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reef One Bedroom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Atlantis

Save Saved
You added The Reef Atlantis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reef Atlantis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Amazing Savings!
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Erial, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Reef One Bedroom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed at the Reef One Bedroom Suites. Nice place, but it's really just like a condo. I liked the Cove much better. Rooms are Nice and Big, Bathrooms are also very Big and nice. The one bedroom has 2 baths and a full kitchen. Atlantis is very expensive.

Room Tip: Higher is better, The sea lions on the harbor side bark al night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    269
    94
    41
    34
See reviews for
607
160
5
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed at The Reef August 31-September 4th. It was a dream vacation and we had no issues. Our bellman said the hotel was only at 40% capacity and you could tell. It was like we had the entire place to ourselves. We loved it! Here is a breakdown by category of our stay.

Food-
We knew food was expensive at Atlantis so we used FoodStore2go.com and had groceries delivered. Service was great and our order was delivered 15 minutes after we arrived. We ate at Carmine's the first night so we would have leftovers. Service was great and our bill for 2 people including a long island iced tea was $60. We had so many leftovers we ended up throwing some away when we left 4 days later! We also ate at Johnny Rockets for lunch and it was good. Service was slow but it was raining outside so we were in no rush.

Waterpark-
For all of the hype it gets I was a little disappointed. Wish there were more slides and not just a ton of pools. The current is an awesome ride if you like rides with inter-tubes. My husband lost his sunglasses so be sure to have straps if you wear them on the ride. Also be sure to wear water shoes. The pavement was so hot my feet were burned and I could barely walk after only 2 hours of being there.

Room-
We checked in at 3:00 and it was very smooth. Room was great, just like the pictures. It was like staying at a very nice hotel in Vegas. You just have paradise outside your door! Housekeeping was great. They even washed our dishes and put them away for us.

Beach/Pools-
The place was practically empty so you had your pick of chairs anywhere you wanted. The water was crystal clear and very calm. Staff was very friendly and helped us get our chairs set up. Having the private beach for Reef/Cove members was awesome. Such a difference from the hustle and bustle of the waterpark.

Dolphin Cay-
My husband did the deep water dolphin swim and enjoyed it. He said for the price he was happy but would not do it again. He was hoping to get to interact with the dolphins more. I observed from a small patio out front. They have a beach there but you have to pay $15 to go on it. Not worth it to us. I got good pictures and video from where I was sitting.

Internet-
Wifi is $20/day which we were not going to pay. The whole point of vacation is to leave the outside world at home! However if you need it for a few minutes you can go to the Atlantis Library. It is located in the Coral Towers and each person gets 20 minutes free per day. Perfect for a quick email to the grandparents at home to check on the kids.

Transportation-
We used Dan Knowles tours to get to and from the airport. My only complaint is that there is no sign directing you to the bus. They are located outside the airport by baggage claim. The service was good and we only waited 5 minutes. They picked us up right on time to go back to the airport.

Overall it was a great vacation for us. We are low key people and the Reef was the perfect place for us. You are far away from the crowds of Atlantis but just a short shuttle ride away if you want to explore the place. We are already planning next years trip!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very much liked absence of crowds at the Reef. Private beach and pool with no need to hunt for a beach chair. The room was comfortable enough with added convenience of a partial kitchen allowing for an occasional home cooked breakfast or lunch. A small shopping plaza is a short walking distance from the resort. A great alternative to the Cove if you are traveling with children under 18.
Very friendly staff overall. Especially would like to mention Chris M at the front desk who was exceptional at resolving minor issues and went above and beyond our expectations of great service. He definitely added the 5th star to this review.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Family of 5 in 2 adjoining rooms.
Have been to Atlantis before. This hotel is ok but not worth the money. Better than Beach or Coral Towers but still not that special.
On ninth floor with views of the pool, sea and The Cove.
Long walk to Royal Towers/the water slides which we ended up doing each time because the bus service was too unreliable.
Rooms are basic with inconsistent maid/turn down service. There is nowhere to hang your towels in the bathrooms. They do not have a system of recording issues and tracking whether they have been resolved; someone just tells someone else who may or may not do anything. Our mini bar was missing which caused them great amusement however we had to ask several times for this to be rectified. It appeared but was locked; after several more requests to unlock we gave up - you have to accept they do not really care about your experience.
The water slides are ok but not a patch on Wild Wadi in Dubai for example.
The dolphin experience was good. The snuba (sic) was ok but very poorly run/organised; way too much time spent before getting on the boat.
The golf at the Ocean Course was a good experience and the Michael Buble concert was ok.
None of these things (apart from the golf) were worth the money but you know and accept that before you go.
Would be in no hurry to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a nice time and certainly liked the hotel but not as much as the cove -- was nice that the hotel was not crowded and brought my 8 year old which I found this hotel to be more family oriented but would have liked access to the Cain pool so I could have gambled close by. Still get sticker shock on the amount of money they charge for food - its obscene at atlantis and finally learned the meal plan is no bargain. Would certainly consider staying here or the cove next time as you avoid the hustle and bustle and it is much more serene and the pool has nicer chairs and is not noisy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just stayed at the Reef. We usually stay at the cove but they were sold out. (thanks Michael Buble) We had a 2 bedroom deluxe oceanfront room that was beautiful and the ocean view was unbelievable! This was our fifth trip to the island and as usual the employees were fantastic couldn't do more for you, always accommodating and very polite. Never came upon a rude employee, rude guest yes, employee - never.

The only bad thing I have to say about the Reef is the bed UGH! It felt like I was trampled by a herd of cattle. My body hurt from head to toe. Or maybe it was just one to many rides on the water slides. I don't know. I still love the place . We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

For what we paid for a deluxe ocean view room I expected a lot more. If you love mass crowds, even in September, rude employees who could care less; especially the ones working the towel and sundry areas, then this place is for you! If you want to relax on vacation go anywhere else but here. Even at the reef, which I will say was away from the utter madness of the royal tower it was still just too many people. Next time we will be staying in a smaller resort where you can actually relax and be away from crowds.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reef Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Atlantis

Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#2 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Reef Atlantis 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Paradise Beach, guests enjoy miles of white sand and ocean in their backyard with all the wonder and excitement of Atlantis on their front doorstep. The Reef features studios and one- and two-bedroom suites offering all the conveniences of home with a full kitchen or kitchen area complete with linens, cookware, table settings, refrigerator and private balconies with water views. Guests of The Reef enjoy a semi-private pool, shared only with The Cove Atlantis, Starbucks lounge and are closest to Bobby Flay’s Mesa Grill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reef Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Atlantis Hotel Paradise Island
Reef Atlantis Paradise Island
The Reef Atlantis Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Atlantis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.