We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Atlantis

Save Saved
You added The Reef Atlantis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Reef Atlantis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$350 in Added Value!
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Paradise Island
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just returned form our summer family vacation to the Reef Atlantis and had a great time. Theres something for all ages to do there. We were traveling with 2 other families and a total of 5 children ages 5-12 they all enjoyed the Atlantis Kids Club while we enjoyed Nobu and Mesa.
Rooms are very spacious and a kitchenette and pull out sofa, Bed extremely comfy. Accommodations are those we're accustomed to but the reason why i did not rate it 5 Stars is because the service all across the board at Atlantis is not up to par with 5 star resorts. No one seemed to really want to help or go above and beyond. For example when lounging out by the Reef pool we hd to go hunt down a server to get a drink or just order up at the bar. Overall we had a GREAT vacation and will return just have lower expectations on service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    249
    87
    39
    32
See reviews for
568
151
5
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our first visit to the Atlantis resort. Our family wanted a nice, spacious, place to stay...that offerred a quiet getaway, but just a short walk away from the mainstream Atlantis waterpark experience! We opted for the suite plus studio room for our 6 person family. We had the corner room on the 16th floor 925 and 927. The main suite bedroom was unbelievably beautiful and spacious with the most exquisite view of the ocean I have ever seen. This room closed off to a full living area with full kitchen. 2 full baths in this room. The Studio had a smaller scale kitchen, but certainly doable. Pullout full-size couches for the kids were nice. GREAT staff and very polite service. We took a taxi and got our own groceries, for our lunches and snacks and water. It was so nice to come back to the Reef's pool and private beach, after the chaos of the Royal Towers/main waterpark on the Atlantis property. If you want to be in the middle of it all..this is not the right hotel choice. If you want to have a quiet escape when you need it during your stay...this is the one! Starbuck's downstairs was a nice breakfast bonus. Slow service, but found this to be the island-way pretty much all over the Bahamas. Love that you are at the end of the beach and can walk the beach for 30 minutes without tons of people at the Reef side. We snorkeled around the Reef and saw the same great fish that we saw out on our chartered snorkeling tour (the Flying Cloud company).

Some of the downfalls of our Atlantis experience was the lines/waits for the slides. Inconsistent hours of operation for the slides/river/restaurants, etc....

Take advantage of the aquarium at the Royal towers were great, as well as the predator bay/aquarium. We did one buffet at the Beach Tower called Seagrapes. $50 per person, but kid friendly with lots of food options. Kids under 12 were charged less.

Enjoyed the Marina Village...enjoyed Johnny Rockets, Carmines (a family style italian place). Ben and Jerry's is always a good thing too! Fun to see all the enormous yachts parked right there too.

One complaint was the Dolphin Cay experience. You will receive a free shallow experience upon checkin at the Reef. Unfortunately, this does not go towards any other experience at the Dolphin Cay, like deepwater, or sea lions, etc.... We did the Deep Water experience and it was a total letdown. $220 per person is nothing to sneeze at either! 30 minute video was part of the 60 minute experience you pay for. Seemed all they wanted to do was sell you photos...not enough time with the dolphins! The foot push was the highlight, but the deepwater scooters were totally lame. Not worth it at all. Have enjoyed other dolphin experiences in Mexico and Florida much more over this one. Don't waste your time and money on this. Go snorkeling!

Room Tip: corner room, ocean view, suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our overall experience at the Atlantis was average based on the overall value that you get from the resort. We took a chance going to Atlantis knowing it was not going to be inexpensive trip. The Atlantis did not separate itself from any other high end resort in our mind. The service was good but not exceptional. The overall resort seemed dated especially in areas like the aquarium. The casino is ok but we come from CT. We stayed at the Reef and got a town car as part of transportation. I would recommend the town car if you want to stop for beverages and food to bring to the Reef. You do not need to buy coffee as coffee is supplied by the Reef. The Reef is worth the extra cost and additional space though the room is not any more glamorous than any other high end resort that we have stayed in. It is quiet location and a bit of walk to the main towers so keep that in mind. The shuttle service is available but make sure the driver knows if you want to get off at the Market Village or you will end up back the Reef like we did. There are no exceptions to the route. The biggest disappointment was the number of cups and kids life jackets left on the beach and towels on the lounge chairs. I would rather see the resort clean up the plastic cups than rake up the seaweed that washes up EVERYDAY. The locals do not seem to like the rain and the weather was not the best during our stay but that still is no excuse for not maintaining the beaches. The dining choices get high ratings especially Mesa Grill. We met and know folks who come back year after year and have family that just love it here. It would not be the case with us. It is a very nice resort, so do not get me wrong, but you can definitely find a better value for your dollar elsewhere if you get beyond the “glitz, glamour, and prestige” of the Atlantis.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio TEXAS
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I was so disappointed in this resort, as a whole. It was loud, crowded, expensive and not at all relaxing, especially for the price. We stayed one night before we left on a boat trip and the night after we got off of the boat. I found the second stay, I didn't want to leave the room. We had dinner at Mesa Grill the first night, which was average, and at Nobu the second night. That was a mistake. So loud, we had to yell at one another. No personal service. We had brunch at Mosaic. it was $72+ for two. Kids were running around screaming. It was chaos. The casino reeks of smoke and the smell carries through the lobby....worse than Vegas hotels. The grounds are packed with families. We tried the over 18 pool at The Cove to escape the masses only to be told we weren't allowed there because we were staying at The Reef. The Reef IS quieter. The Bahamians are lovely people. This resort reminded me of an amusement park with hotels rather than a resort designed for a relaxing vacation. I don't recommend this for couples....if you have children and can afford it, your might like it or maybe your kids will. For about $1000 a day, I will go somewhere else....

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Reef is great with families (a close equivalent to the Cove for couples). In addition to having the amenities of the Cove (ie "private" pool, etc), the hotel rooms are spacious and well equipped. We booked the 2 bedroom unit and it was first-class. The hotel was modern and the washer/dryer combo was very helpful especially if you end up in the pool or beach a lot. Its far enough from the hustle and bustle of the "casino" area, but perfect for an after-dinner stroll. Unfortunately, the rooms can be quite pricey, especially compared to the "deals" you can get from the other hotels in Atlantis.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We just returned from four days at The Reef in Atlantis and I wanted to give you a quick report. We are a family of three - mother, father and 10-year old boy. We were looking for a relaxing environment that had both beaches and pools. This was our first trip to Atlantis. We went the first week of June and it was not crowded - especially at The Reef. The main area of Atlantis and Aquaventure were crowded during the day with guests and day pass/cruise ship guests.

We choose the Reef because it has exceptional views of the ocean, is steps away from the beach, has a guest only pool, and had a kitchenette. We stayed in a studio with an ocean view. We were not interested in the casino, shopping or nightlife. The Reef is the farthest from those activities - this was a plus for us but might not be for you.

The photos on the website definitely capture the studio's interior. What is difficult to determine from the photos is the kitchenette layout for the studio. There is an undercounter refrigerator - without a freezer - a microwave, dishwasher drawer, two-burner stove, toaster and a coffee maker. There are pots, pans, dishes, glasses and cutlery. They provide dish soap, sponge, dishwasher soap and coffee. This kitchenette is great for preparing breakfasts, sandwiches and snacks, storing leftovers, eating takeout comfortably. It was perfect for our needs for four days and definitely cut down on food costs. It would be difficult (but not impossible) to cook a full meal in the room every night. The size of the refrigerator is the greatest obstacle. We ordered from FoodStore2Go.com. The delivery charge is $9 and there is a $50 minimum. Things are expensive, so it was easy to come up with the minimum :) Our order arrived complete and on time. We brought a lot of non-perishable food, snacks and sunscreen with us. I had a chance to view the one-bedroom suite - it is more than twice the size of the studio and has a full-sized kitchen. Although it is common to have your cab driver stop at a grocery store before coming in, I did not want to grocery shop on my vacation and was willing to pay for this service.

The Reef has three pools that are available exclusively to Reef and Cove guests. The lounge chairs are exceptionally comfortable! The beach in front of the hotel is a very sheltered, calm area with a coral reef. It provides an easy snorkeling area for the novice - especially when you bring a few breadcrumbs. The Cain pool is next door at The Cove and is an adult only area - they have a wonderful bar and food menu. We had no problem going over to the Cove for drinks and food and bringing it back to the Reef. The Reef does have it’s own bar and food menu - but the Cove area offered exceptional options. We walked by many of the beach area around the resort - all are wonderful. The Royal Towers are the furthest from the beach - but closest to the slides and action.

Although the food is expensive at Atlantis, the food we had was delicious! We ate at Mesa Grill, Nobu and Virgil’s BBQ for dinner. We made on-line reservations ahead of time. We had Domino’s Pizza delivered to the room one night, as this was much less expensive than the room service pizza. The food around Aquaventure was adequate for my 10-year old and not very expensive. We did not eat at any of the breakfast buffets.

We spent most of our time on the rapids river and the Mayan temple slides - hours in fact! Staff was friendly, helpful and polite. We will definitely return to the Bahamas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thiells, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed at The Reef over Memorial Day weekend. It was my first trip to the Bahamas. EVERYTHING at the resort was first class. The suite was stylish and impeccably clean as were all the grounds. The cab drivers were honest, polite, and entertaining. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Reef Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Atlantis

Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#2 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Reef Atlantis 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Paradise Beach, guests enjoy miles of white sand and ocean in their backyard with all the wonder and excitement of Atlantis on their front doorstep. The Reef features studios and one- and two-bedroom suites offering all the conveniences of home with a full kitchen or kitchen area complete with linens, cookware, table settings, refrigerator and private balconies with water views. Guests of The Reef enjoy a semi-private pool, shared only with The Cove Atlantis, Starbucks lounge and are closest to Bobby Flay’s Mesa Grill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Reef Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Atlantis Hotel Paradise Island
Reef Atlantis Paradise Island
The Reef Atlantis Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Atlantis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.