We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Atlantis

Save Saved
You added The Reef Atlantis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Reef Atlantis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$150 in FREE Dining!
South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place! Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here during "Spring Break" and during Easter Week. When we checked in, Anthony at the front desk was less than helpful and stayed on the phone for 15 mins while I waited for the status of our room. however, after that, everything was uphill. Our family of 5 LOVED the Reef.
We stayed in an Ocean View suite with a king bed, pull out couch for our 7 and 8 year old and a crib for our 3 year old. The view was amazing (and were only on the 4th floor). We had plenty of room. Our room was cleaned daily and perfectly.

We took advantage of the in room fridge, microwave, dishes, etc.. and ordered from foodstore 2 go. I highly recommend this route. We got breakfast and lunch foods and ate most of these meals in the room. It saved us a lot of time and money and was just easier than lugging kids around the resort to restaurants. The room even had a mini dishwasher and plenty of room for food storage.

At night, we went to the Marina Village - Johnny Rockets, Murray's Deli and Marina Pizza. We enjoyed all 3 places, as did our kids. One night we took a cab ($20 each way) to the Fish Fry and ate at a local restaurant, which was also delicious.

You do have to get your 'spot' at the pools around the resort early in the morning. This was not a big deal for us, as our kids were up early. We set up at different pools every morning to experience different areas of the resort. We found the water park area a little confusing to get around, but the resort in general is quite easy to maneuver. We were able to walk most everywhere with our kids. We didn't bring a stroller and we didn't need the shuttle, except to go to the Marina Village. It was never more than a 10 minute wait for the shuttle.

Yes, Atlantis is expensive but no more expensive than a beachfront resort property on the East Coast. And yes, you do have to wait in line for Starbucks, towels and water slides - however, it is what I expected during a week when the resort is as full capacity.

We had a wonderful time. There is much to do and no way to ever be 'bored' around Atlantis. We were very glad we spent the extra $ to stay at the Reef. It was much quieter and more family oriented and way less crowded than the Royal Towers area. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Much quieter at the Reef than the Royal Towers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    236
    79
    39
    31
See reviews for
541
137
4
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paramaribo, Suriname
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the reef for a week up to the 30th March, we had a great trip, but most of that was because we left Atlantis and experienced the Bahamas not just Atlantis!
There is so much to do and see around the islands that you don't need to stay at Atlantis, but if I didn't stay there and had to pay the $130 per adult entry I would have felt extremely ripped off! That said we feel as though we got our money's worth from staying there, loved the pools, beach and the waterslides our children were able to get on, as they were too short!
1 suggestion to anybody who goes, pay the $20 taxi fee and get off the island... Its so worth it and there is so much to do and see in Nassau that you don't need to stay at Atlantis the whole time! We had most of our lunches out, went to the pools in the morning and then went for lunch and back for the afternoon, got the kids out of the hot sun during the heat of the day, saw the sites and had beautiful food at amazing places for 1/4 of the price!
The security was an issue but you should expect there to be security when the president of the USA's daughters are staying at the same hotel, not a big concern though!!
Had a fantastic boat charter with Hunters caught 11 fish and had a blast, best day out on fishing charter ever, well worth the money!
The rooms are clean, they didn't seem to clean the balcony whilst we were there but that is ok. Everything else was cleaned and made up beautifully by housekeeping, not matter what day!
I liked that we had private pools and beaches to use, have to get up early to get a good spot by the pool, no idea where these people are all day but they put their towels down at sparrows so they could use it!!
The line to get a coffee at starbucks was really annoying, no mater what time of day or night it was, always a massive line but that is the only coffee shop in the whole centre so can understand it! And Atlantis was packed due to Spring Break!
Don't book the transport with Atlantis use a taxi it ends up being about $30 for 4 people each way and you don't have to wait for anybody etc.
I think in December 2014 when the new resort opens Atlantis will not be anywhere near as busy! And the prices will come down! As $7 for a beer is a little steep!!
But overall we had a blast, loved the Bahamas and very happy with our stay there!

Room Tip: Get off the island, experience the bahamas not just Atlantis! The fish fry is amazing place to eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We recently spent a week in Reef Atlantis during the March break. We had a great time. I struggled to rate the experience between 4 stars and 5 stars, if we have 4.5 stars that will be it, but at the end our overall experience over shined the issues/problems so I give it a 5 star.

We stayed in an ocean view studio. The room is spacious and clean, well finished (nice doors and nice thick counter top, with attention to finishing touches on details) and decorated. The bed linens are top quality. The sofa bed is not good quality, and the linens come with it are not as good as on the main bed, it has seen it better days. The bathroom is one of the best I have seen (and I have seen good ones in past travel)--it is big, it has separate shower/bath tub, 2 sinks, and a toilet behind a glass door. All the towels/bath robes are soft and thick puffy to make you feel at home--it feels great. It has a very small kitchen, but it's adequate to prepare a quick meal -- it has 2 cook tops, a microwave, a dishwasher, a small fridge.

The ocean view is great, it's as good as it gets, you see the pool first and then beyond pool it's the forever impressive ocean. It's even better here in the reef setting that you can see the ocean when you brush your teeth in the bathroom.

We had most breakfasts in Starbucks and some in Mosaic buffet, lunches by the pool and dinner at the restaurants. Atlantis is expensive, no question about it. But not everything is outrageously expensive. Starbucks is not too bad, tall latte is at $4.10, Croissant at $4.50. The lunch can be bad in terms of cost, hot dog is at $6.5 and a chocolate ice cream bar is at $7.00, but the salad is fresh and big size at $13. We had 2 dinners at Nobu, which was fantastic! If you are a foodie, you must go. The reason we went there twice is precisely because it's that good. The first night it cost us $320 because we ordered a lot. The second time was at around $250. We had a dinner at Court Yard Terrace, we enjoyed the food/service/ambiance all around. The food was top notch, the service was impeccable, and the setting was magical. You should walk around the grounds of Ocean club, it's truly amazing. If you want to stay away from all the noise in the Atlantis, this is where you should stay. We had a dinner at Bimini Road, which was bad, I would not recommend it at all, it's nothing special but easily cost you $150. We had other dinners at Mosaic buffet, which was great considering it's a buffet. There are a lot of varieties, so everyone can find something they like. It worked best for our daughter as she could see what's there and picked the things that interested her.

The water park is busy and exciting--our daughter loved it. There were lineups it seemed all the time, we tried early morning but so did many others especially for the big rides like Leap of Faith and The Abyss.

We also did the shallow water dolphin interaction. it's $150 pp for half hour close interaction with dolphins. Our daughter loved the experience. But I honestly wouldn't do it for myself, it was a very quick and shallow experience -- a group of you (10) lined up to take turns to pose with dolphin for photos (hugging, kissing, shake hands). You are better off to pay a bit more to do the deep water experience with the dolphins.

The property is huge and confusing. We don't mind--I enjoyed walk/joggling in the early morning--but even by the end of the stay I still didn't figure out all the paths/routes. It's a lot of walking from one place to the other. There is a shuttle, but you have usually have to wait for a few mins and it only stops at certain points. If you are looking for a tranquil, quiet boutique hotel for your retreat, this is not your place. But if you have kids and the kids need actions, this is a good compromise place. The beach and pool on the Reef/Cove side are quiet, so you can get some down time, and you can find top quality food in this resort.

Oh the dig, it's truly one of the kind, the imagination of the sunken city of atlantis inside the aquarium is outstanding. You will be humbled by how amazing it is.

Where I struggled to give it a full 5 stars? It's expensive, but we were prepared to pay a lot here, so that was not the issue. The issue was after you have paid so much, and you still have to line up for more than half an hour to get your lunch by the pool ( Cascade restaurant by the Reef/Cove pool), that's an issue hard to swallow. It felt like you are in a fast food restaurant, not a 5 star resort. The service at the Reef and all the restaurants were fantastic, but on the grounds when you were walking around you would encounter a few not too happy workers and they were not interested in helping you.

Overall we had an awesome time, and I don't think it's fair to give it 4 stars, so 5 stars it is!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to The Reef- by far our favorite family vacation spot (5 kids age 5-14.) This was our second time going Easter/ pre Easter. It was FULL...which likely accounted for the grounds not being so tidy as we usually have seen. The staff remains excellent, except for a few of the "security" people that guard the elevators...if you don't have your card key because the kids ran in front of you as you departed the lobby Starbucks with a venti tea latte for your sleeping wife...one "security" guy with about 7 teeth gave me the 10th degree of interrogation! Oh yes, I just paid all this money to wander around the building at 7am with a hot tea....fool!
I had to go out and get some pool chairs before 6am at the pool closer to the Cove; otherwise there were NONE left....the reserving chairs with an old People magazine and empty sunblock lotion has got to go!! It is cut throat out there every day to get any seat...anywhere after 8am!
The beach was damaged from Hurricane Sandy and the usual sandy bottom was now mostly coral. The pools were warm and still very good.
The water park is still great although it seems there is no staff to clean up debris and garbage by the kiddie pool area- it was not like this on prior trips.
We lost all water pressure one evening for about 20 minutes at prime shower time (6:30PM) but since the Obama girls were staying at The Reef at the same time we chalked it up to a secret service snafu.
Getting from the airport to the Atlantis was a pleasure. We have used SANDRA FERGUSON ( who owns her own taxi/car service) every year. Just email her at sexy_sanny@hotmail.com (242)525-8532- see attached photos. She will pick you up in a very nice air conditioned van that comfortably sat 3 adults, 5 kids and all our baggage. She will have some cold water, soda and Kalik beer awaiting your enjoyable ride. She will stop at the local liquor store and supermarket for all long as you need (we saved tons of $$ by making our own breakfast and lunch everyday.)
We had great dinners at Carmines, Murray's Deli, Seafire Steakhouse, Johnny Rocket's and Bimini Road.
At the Reef we enjoyed staying on the "harborside" of the building which offers an amazing view of Nassau, the beach and cruise- and we always have the amazing sunset view! Request as high a floor as possible. This year we had the 9th floor.
The room was very good but the kids side only had 1 queen and a pull out queen sofa (instead of the usual 2 queen beds.) They no longer offer PM turn down service as that is now only reserved for the owners of the units.
The shuttle service from the Reef to Marina Village and other hotels was terrific as usual.
The food and drinks around the pools/park were very $$ as we'd come to expect but the quality was very good and the staff excellent.
Our strategy was to always go to the water park in the early AM (slides open at 9AM, lazy river at 10AM) in order to beat the throngs of cruise ship people then go back around 4PM when the lines were small.
We think we would go back in a few years but likely choose a week which is not full capacity for which I think the resort has a tough time handling and keeping the grounds a bit more clean....and maybe get a pool chair without having to run out before 6am!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The rooms are spotless, roomy and fully contained, the location is slightly hidden, but quiet and perfect for couples. We choose the reef for the kitchenette facilities and it was worth every penny. We were provided with a breathtaking ocean view room, and although the tv lost sound when it was turned off the staff had this fixed. The accommodation was very good. Atlantis is ridiculously priced, including the restaurants but the reef is a comfortable stay and the staff were friendly. I would choose the reef again.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were disappointed that we did not have two queen beds for two adults and two kids, but just one bed and a pullout sofa. The room was clean and a decent size, but one lamp was broken, the frosted glass window between the bathroom and bedroom didn't shut, and the TV didn't work. The security check to just get on the elevator was surprising.

The location and views from the Reef, though, were very good. We were in the quieter part of the resort with the Cascade pool and beach just below. We took the shuttle most of the time when we wanted to go to the other side of the resort where the Beach and Royal Towers are, but it is a nice walk. There is a Starbucks in the lobby, and a few very good restaurants in the Cove next door. But beware! The meal plan only covers a la carte dinners at many places, NOT the buffet -- a mistake we were not made aware of that cost us $200 on top of the meal plan dinner we had already paid for.

From our balcony, we could see cruise ships steaming by, and swimmers in the pool. We could also watch guests busily claiming their beach and pool chairs with towels and clothes as early as 7:00. By 8:30, most of them were taken!

Overall, the rooms and meals were quite pricey, and if you want to do the budget version of Atlantis, I suggest staying at the Comfort Suites across the street from the resort and eating breakfast at Dunkin Donuts, and lunch at the poolside grills, which are reasonable. You can get dinner at the Marina Village at the pizzeria or Johnny Rockets without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We just got back from our 5 day trip to the Reef Atlantis. The resort and staff were amazing. The Reef is on the more secluded portion of the Atlantis Resort but all the main attractions are well within walking distance. Our room was well maintained and the staff throughout the entire resort was very friendly.

From the Dolphin experience; touring the Dig and seeing the amazing aquatic life; riding on the Rapids; going to every pool on the property; and walking along the miles of beaches, there was definately a bit of paradise for every member of the family.

We took advantage of the kitchenette in our Ocean View Studio room, and used the highly recommended FoodStore2Go.com to have some groceries delivered right to our door for breakfasts and snacks. Started the day with Starbucks in the Reef Lobby or brunch at Mosaic's. We had lunch many times poolside at the Cascades Grill, and wonderful dinners at Mosaic's or in the Marina Village. While Atlantis may not be the least expensive place to eat and drink just remember you are on an island, and you can certainly spend as little or as much as your tastebuds desire and come away happy.

Big thanks to Mitch at TripGuy.com for helping us make this memorable vacation happen and the perks he got us. I would highly recommend his services and appreciated his follow through before and after our trip.

If you are a family or couple looking for an outstanding vacation with amazing sights and action, along with some privacy the Reef and Cove Atlantis are the way to go.

Room Tip: Ocean View gives you a great view of the Cascade pool, Paradise Beach and ocean. Harbour view would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Reef Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Atlantis

Also Known As:
The Reef Atlantis Hotel Paradise Island
The Reef Atlantis Hotel
Reef Atlantis Paradise Island
Reef Atlantis
Reef Atlantis Hotel
The Reef Atlantis Bahamas/Paradise Island
Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#2 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Reef Atlantis 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Paradise Beach, guests enjoy miles of white sand and ocean in their backyard with all the wonder and excitement of Atlantis on their front doorstep. The Reef features studios and one- and two-bedroom suites offering all the conveniences of home with a full kitchen or kitchen area complete with linens, cookware, table settings, refrigerator and private balconies with water views. Guests of The Reef enjoy a semi-private pool, shared only with The Cove Atlantis, Starbucks lounge and are closest to Bobby Flay’s Mesa Grill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Reef Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Atlantis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.