We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful yet low cost experience at luxury resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Atlantis

Save Saved
You added The Reef Atlantis to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reef Atlantis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$350 in Added Value!
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Paradise Island
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful yet low cost experience at luxury resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed a week in room 7-903 at The Reef, one of the studio units with view of the Harborside. We are in our 30s, looking to get away from NYC and the cold temps for a bit. We read a great deal about how the restaurants were crazy pricy for not very good food. Since we have Mesa Grill, Nobu and Carmine's back home in NY, we really didn't want to pay a lot for a lesser version of what we have experienced at those restaurants, that would be a letdown on two fronts, low quality and high cost. So, based on all the great advice on this forum, we planned to make use of our little studio kitchen in a way that made sense for us, and that also didn't require we spend all our time inside, cooking. First, with packing: we each checked a bag and carried on a bag, so in our checked luggage, we packed a collapsible cooler (very important, bring one if you can for when you are lounging by pool or beach!), packed this cooler with ice, and threw in a couple thin chicken breasts, one packet of thin steak, and two packs of home made pasta sauce (shrink wrapped). All of these were already frozen, and we packed them into the cooler with ice. If you are at all worried about doing this - note, our flight from JFK was 3 hours, and by the time we got settled Into our room and unpacked, all these items were still rock hard frozen. We also packed a bag of pasta, a loaf of bread, a couple bags of chips and pretzels, box of granola bars, a small bottle of olive oil, and small Tupperware of our kosher salt and red chili flakes. Also packed two packets of taco seasoning mix.

Next, we emailed Cheryl's Taxi Service and lined up transport from airport to the resort. It was $35 for two of us, and if you tell them in advance, for an additional $5 they will stop at a real grocery store and let you load up. do this! Cheryl's husband Craig took us to the grocery store he goes to, and we loaded up on: gallon containers of water, (we just refilled our smaller bottles each day), small milk for coffee, eggs, spinach, lettuce, fresh sandwich meat from their deli, limes, onions, garlic, tomatoes, avocados, cheese, etc! The prices were normal - the little grocery store on atlantis resort is awful in comparison and the little shop inside the Reef will sell you a small milk for $6 (we paid less than $2).

We also stopped at another place and picked up duty free wine. With these supplies we managed to make omelets in the am, pasta and salad a couple nights, we seasoned the chicken one night and the steak another night and had with sautéed spinach. We felt we were eating healthy, but the food was also yummy. We made sandwiches for lunch, packed our chips/pretzels as snacks, loaded water and a bottle of white wine not our cooler, and would spend the day at the beach or pool.

We did go out a few nights - Luciano's of Chicago was good Italian, then we sat out one night at Cafe Matisse which was also pretty good. It's $22 round trip to go from Atlantis into town if you want to eat out, and about $100 for two for 2 entrees and wine at these two places. We might try the Poopdeck tonight to have some authentic Bahamian food (though a lot of it is fried seafood...). Craig and Cheryl of Cheryl's taxi are incredibly reliable and just wonderful. You can email them or call and let them know when your reservations are, they will pick you up, drop you off at dinner and give you a card that you can give the restaurant to call when you are about done. They are there to pick you up by the time you pay the check!

The studios have a tiny dishwasher that did the trick for us, as well as a coffee maker plus Starbucks coffee.

We are here the week of MLK and it really wasn't too crowded. Loads of chairs available at the pool and the beach. You can have parts of the beach all to yourself. The gym at the resort is amazing, $15 a day but they give you bottled water, apples, and it is huge. There's also a lap pool by that gym, that you can use with no charge.

You are left to yourself at the resort, you have to flag someone over if you want to order food or a drink by the pool. I kind of like this but others may want more attention. The resort itself has a lot going on, between the water park, the casino, the beach, the pool, etc. great place for kids. This week was nice because we also weren't overrun by kids, I'm not sure i would love it here with tons and tons of kids. However, they do have an adult pool too, but they have loud music pounding all the time, it feels like they are trying to channel south beach or something.

Have a great time, we did and are sad to leave tomorrow!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    432
    256
    92
    39
    33
See reviews for
587
155
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Oaks, Minnesota
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

A phenominal resort. The views from this tower are beyond discription. THis is the building to bring the Mrs. There are other family type structures on property more suited to kids. Yes there were some minor problems with the room. But all were taken care of immediately. Do Not go here looking for a bargain. There are none. This is that bucket list type vacation experience. The staff and management were far more polite and enjoyable than half of the clientele. Too many demanding ,pushy gotta have it my way or else jerks. I loved this place. You will too. Just be able to afford the best before you go and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

"All hype little substance"

Such a hyped but substandard stay..I will list my complaints

1. Upon arrival, NO front desk person, concierge handed the arrival
2. Given room with room propped open with broken electronic device
3. Broken device was entertainment box, meaning no electronics in room
4. Asked for workable room, no answer given that night (arrival approx 10 pm)
5. Given coupons for inconvenience...upon departure told we were not "eligible" for said coupons and were charged for items used with coupons
6. Numerous added charges bellman,"utilities", etc total 5 charges/day!!
7. Very expensive and very mediocre food

The worst hotel experience ever

Really pathetic

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Beautiful resort! We stayed for 5 days and it was lovely. Staff were pleasant and weather was hot but slightly windy. Helped having a mini kitchen for breakfast in the morning. It was really clean and had everything that we needed. We got the breakfast package from foodstore2go. They delivered the incorrect package to us so we had to call them to swap it. They also delivered a few hours earlier than we stated!
The food prices were on the expensive side but prepare for that before you go. Try to avoid the typical Americn diner places for dinner on the harbour, the quality is not great. The Atlas bar and grill in the casino is reasonably priced and great service. We also went to one place just outside the resort where there was a lovely restaurant on the corner that served Bahamian food. Was lush and definitely recommend. Also book in advance if you can.Mesa grill was lovely too.
There was plenty of room by the pool and on the beach. We went in September time. Having the water park on site was also great! Overall and fab holiday and would definitely recommend to all ages!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had read a lot of reviews, many negative, before I realized a lot were coming from people staying at the royal towers. From What I noticed over the course of a week are a few important things. One, the reef and cove are exclusive areas which are not too busy and are well maintained. If you stay in these two hotels you have an exclusive beach which is perfect white sand, clean and hassle free. It was not busy at all during our stay and we never had a problem finding a place at pools or he beach. Two, you have a mini kitchen and free laundry in the hotel that can really make up for the room price difference. The rooms have a double glass stovetop, microwave, cutlery, dorm fridge, frying pan, dishes and dishwasher and coffee maker. The room was in good shape. The sofa sleeper not comfy enough for adults but fine for smaller kids. The balcony facing the ocean overlooks the pools and the music can sometimes be loud from the pools of the other hotels, but the ref is the furthest from all of these so it's as quiet as you get. You cannot hear the music while on the beach which was nice. When you walk from this part of the property to the other parts with the slides you do see some differences. You will find random towels dropped in various walkways and draped over rocks and more trash. You will find more of the Vegas/cruise ship going patrons....many of which are drunk and loud. This is not something kids notice much and these areas are grater for kids. The aquarium in the royal towers is a must see...as much as I can condone keeping two giant manta rays prisoner and way too many fish for the space...but it's impressive. My favorite, the jelly fish and moray exhibit. The staff are super friendly and helpful and unlike other reviews, I did not feel like they were expecting tips EVER. 15% is included on ALL bills including the bottled water ordered at the little coffee shops etc. I don't need to reiterate how expensive food is but just to give a little shocker...a bowl of soup $15, two tiny tiny spring rolls $27, a bowl of oatmeal $15, penne pasta with pesto sauce $48. A good idea is to by food from foodstore2go(com) and have it delivered to the hotel. You can do breakfasts in the room and save $130 a day in brunch which is really the only thing worth the money. The buffet at the mosaic was the only time we felt like we got our money's worth but if you don't eat much you feel like you got screwed for a soup and salad. The marina has some options, Johnny rockets and Quiznos as well as a pizza place we did not try. We enjoyed bambinis and ey have a really nice band playing in the evenings. We took the ferry to the downtown to hit the straw market but never made it. Downtown is worth seeing in my opinion and the ferry guide is the only one the entire trip who asked for tips after giving a funny informative 10 minute, duration of the ride, speech. We ate at a great Indian restaurant, Euro Tandoor, very tasty right across from the hard rock and a gyro place. It was tastier before we got the bill, tiny tiny portions, three entrees, only one with meat, five cubes of chicken, two waters $90. To be honest, the only bad part of the trip was food. It's unhealthy, you have to pay a car rental for one meal, and you are kind of a prisoner on the island. You have to eat and they know it. You can leave with an empty wallet and heart burn. Dont waste your time on Nobu, you'll dent the bank account and have to go out for dinner afterwards. The Sea glass and Mesa were great. The dune and cafe Matisse elegant and worth the price. As far as the activities, we liked the beach the best. It's a big resort and sort of Disney/casino/consumerism mentality and you'll get that more as you partake in the activities although many people seemed to really enjoy them. We are vegetarian and we found it moderately easy to find options especially at the Mosaic buffet. One great vegetarian option for the more open minded is to visit the Sivananda ashram for lunch or dinner. In fact you can take a retreat from the bustle of Atlantis into the wilderness on the tip of paradise island for some real rest and relaxation for a day for $45 including two meals and two yoga classes. Meal drop ins are $10 for a healthy lunch or dinner. Back to the people and the service....these people are some of the most open, warm and friendly people I have come upon in all of my travels. A person coming from somewhere "less warm" (which is pretty much everywhere else) might think that they were out to get something. If you live like that, you will feel that the people here are always trying to take you, if you don't you can enjoy the true warmth of the people of the Bahamas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a family trip during the Thanksgiving week. Overall the resort is wonderful. Lots of great food at dinner time (at mostly expensive to very expensive restaurants). The hotel and rooms were clean and we had excellent service regarding the Reef, restaurants and our room. The Beachs are all beautiful and a very short walk from our hotel. Our pool was great and clean although in November fell in the shadows of our building in the early afternoon making it too cool to swim. This may be a benefit during the hotter parts of the year but i wouldn't know for sure. The food out and about all the pools was average at best. Mostly basic wraps, pizza, burgers, frys etc. Adult beverages were good or above average everywhere we went on premises. the service at the pool side restaurants and towel huts was inconsitent. We met some great people that were very good but also encountered several people at these locations that were slow and didn't seem to care to help anyone. Expect to walk great distances if you want to explore all the pools and poolside restaurants (and all the beaches) as the resort is HUGE. The pools were all nice with different attributes to each. some had loud music and a party atomoshere and some were for familys and small children. they adult oriented pools as well so ask the concierge for advice to the best pools for whatever you like. The water park (raging river and slides) were a lot of fun. we have a 10 and 12 year old girls who wanted to "run the river" every day. Although occationally there were long lines at some slides it was typically very tolerable. It did get much busier around Thanksgiving day as the resort hosts a huge collage basketball tournament that brings in a lot of people for Turkey day through the following weekend. As long as you expect to spend a lot of money, and walk a lot this is a great resort with a lot to offer familys and couples i did mark the breakfast as average because from the reef, we ate everymorning at Starbucks (which got very old). i'm sure there were great breakfast restaurants on the resort but we didn't hunt for them... We also did not use the spa, so couldn't rate it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon pa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

we spent 4 nights (wed-sunday) at the Reef. Started with rental car from Budget. minivan looked like 15 year old car but it worked. Reef check in a breeze. Very friendly staff throughout the stay. Room 12928 end of floor corner 2 bedroom deluxe oceansuite. large suite with master bedroom large floor to ceiling windows and a great ocean view. gourmet kitchen with 4 top range and oven. microwave coffee pot small mistercoffee junior type. large nice refridge/freezer. dishwasher nice size washwer/dryer(not working). main room dining room table 4-6 people pull out couch(good for kids not adults) nice bar around kitchen to sit and entertain.Deck table for 4 and 2 chaise lounges. Large deck plenty of room. studio attached king bed pull out cough kitchette(small not real funtionable) small deck 2 chairs. Overall I was very happy with the room small glitches but not a game changer. Reef nice because you are at far left end of propert. no day people from Cruise ships and other parts of resort. THIS IS WORTH YOUR MONEY. being able to cook nice meals in this suite THIS IS WORTH YOUR MONEY. beach soft sand plenty of chaises and nice snorkling right there. The property is hugh and takes alot of time to walk around but it is beautiful. the slides are alot of fun for adults and kids and keep them busy ALL day. We snorkled the dig. i am a PADI diver and still really enjoyed this with my kids. Well worth the money. friends did dolphin experience well worth their time and money. Way to keep costs down: drinks and food crazy expensive here: as said before bring things with you. We brought powdered pancake mix small syrup. goldfish(kids favorite) Dorito lays chips oreos rice aroni pasta small olive oil large piece reggiano-parmigiano (small grater for cheese) coffee ground and filters. dishwasher tablets. Salami/aged cheeses/peppers nice couple boxes of gourmet crackers. This start helped like crazy. if you have a car or walk or taxi go over the south bound exit from PI(paradise Island) over the bridge turn left on west Bay ST. short time 1/2 mile look for Balduccinos on the right. Gourmet shop meats produce pastas (all kind of great stuff) wonderful breads fresh and full of flavor. we had them make a double chocolate cake for a birthday for us and it was divine. you need to go here and see what they have. down west Bay alittle farther on the same side of the street is Solomons Fresh Market. lots of grocery stuff you need that the smaller gourmet shop doesn't have. liquor store right in same lot. true spot to go is past these still down west Bay to Montagu. on your left you will see parking lot right aroung Village st. look for guys cleaning fish and alot of large white coolers. we bargined for conch lobster hog fish strawberry grouper yellowtail stone crab claws lionfish and more. excellent spot to pick up fresh seafood and go back and cook it up. now for fun going over bridge go underneath to Potters Cay. excellent local food with ALOT of local flavor(food and people). my wife and i did lunch at Ocean Club at Dune. it was excellent and pricey but worth it. you spend alot but get alot here at the Reef. we will be back with the other 2 families that joined us. oh yeah drinks cost ALOT, my way at the beach with 6 adults. had large soft coller ice bag from home stack of large red cups take large zip lock mix your drink in it (differant bags for differant drinks) then at beach pour out of ziplock add ice your done. this works trust me. Bobby Flay Mesa grill 4 drinks(NOT specialty at all) 85$ ok but i made better drinks at beach and alot easier never moving. enjoy your time here it goes so fast...:)

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Reef Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Atlantis

Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#2 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Reef Atlantis 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Paradise Beach, guests enjoy miles of white sand and ocean in their backyard with all the wonder and excitement of Atlantis on their front doorstep. The Reef features studios and one- and two-bedroom suites offering all the conveniences of home with a full kitchen or kitchen area complete with linens, cookware, table settings, refrigerator and private balconies with water views. Guests of The Reef enjoy a semi-private pool, shared only with The Cove Atlantis, Starbucks lounge and are closest to Bobby Flay’s Mesa Grill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reef Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Atlantis Hotel Paradise Island
Reef Atlantis Paradise Island
The Reef Atlantis Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Atlantis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;