We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Atlantis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Reef Atlantis to your Saves list
The Reef Atlantis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Kids Eat Free
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Luxurious Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stay at the Reef Atlantist from Saturday to Saturday in June 2012. Atlantis is composed of five main buildings, The Royal, The Cove, The Towers(beach and coral) and The Reef. Each building is built with luxury in mind. The Towers were the first to be built, therefore its less expensive. Inside the Royal you will find most of the Atlantis aquarium. In the Cove you will find the area to swim with dolphin. The Reef and Cove are next to each other. The Cove is more for couples, the reef is more for families. The most beautiful beach is located along the area of the towers(beach and coral) but the serenity and silence is at the reef and cove. Only guests of the reef and cove are able to walk in an out and use the services of the other buildings, guest from the royal and the towers are not permitted at the reef or cove. Each day you must get a bracelet at the beach house which identify each guest of where they are staying. Without the bracelet you will not be allow in the buildings. As the reef guest we had unlimited access to the water park, the aquarium, the shuttle(which takes you to all the Atlatis location), and all the beaches along paradise island. Food and Drinks were not included in our package, of course you can purchase a meal and beverage package separate,but we though it was very expensive since we were traveling with our three young children. Bahamas is very expensive, what we did and that save us a lot money was that we we went to the main city and we purchase our own drinks, (coke,water, milk and snacks). We also booked a ocean view studio room which had a microwave, two burner stove, fridge, dish washer, sink. With this in mind I was able to prepare quick breakfast(oatmeal). (12 pack water Cost $12 at the supermarket). We dine outside of the hotel, specially the Marina. Atlantis has a Marina where you will find fine stores and fast food restaurant, such as Johny Rockets, Quiznos, Pizzeria, Ben and Jerrys, and other stores. For two adult and three children we spent $65 at Johny Rockets, which I though it was decent compare two other restaurants, we also spent $30 at the pizzeria for a whole pie and wings, Ben&Jerry $20 for two shakes and ice cream. Eating inside the hotel can get expensive specially if you have children. So consider your options. Of course outside of paradise island is less expensive for food, but of course you must cross a bridge to get over. You can catch a taxi or the water ferry. Taxi for us five was $20 and ferry $18 one way. I strongly recommend eating at the two cousins restaurant. Authentic bahamian food and you can find the best daiquiris here. We spent $45 for the five of us. Even though Atlantis stay was a bit pricy, It was worth it, because most of the tours at Bahamas is to come to Atlantis (to the water park, aquarium) which cost $120 per person. If you have children it will paid to stay at Atlantis. People are very helpful and coursteous. We really enjoy our quality time we had as a family.

Room Tip: Higher room have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    277
    96
    42
    35
See reviews for
622
171
5
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our family of 4 (with kids age 4 and 11) stayed at the Reef during the week of Dec 14, 2012. We have booked a Harborview Studio via the Atlantis website, but at check-in, the staff did not mind letting us take a look at the one-bedroom and another Oceanview room, and we decided to upgrade to a Harborview one-bedroom. Despite about 30% more expensive, I think this is a good choice for us, because with a 4-year old, we did return to the room quite frequently for breaks. We also did not have to sit on our beds to have breakfast.

Adjustment to the resort pricing needed some time, for us it was two days. We did pop our eyes when the first Nobu bill came out to be ~$280 for four, but after that, it was not as bad when we dined at the Dune and Mesa Grill. Afterall, we are also paying for the convenience of having dolphins, great beaches, fine dining, one-of-a-kind aquariums and awesome waterpark all within the same resort. It's also a plus that the Reef/Cove portion of the resort feels very safe. Compared to other sun destinations such as Mexico, the locals all speak fluent English.

Within the resort, my 4-year old had fun in three different zero entry pools, while my 11-year old could not get enough of the water slides. Typically we first got our wrist bands at the Reef (less lineup), then dropped off our bag with snacks and drinks at the Cove pool, and then got onto the Current to assess the water park or other pools or beaches. In our opinion this is neat and way more interesting than taking the rundown shuttles between towers.

Other than water activities, my 11-year old tried the $30 kids manicure and I tried the $70 25-minute massage at the upscale Mandara Spa, which was a good experience. We also ventured to the One and Only Ocean Club via the hotel shuttle, where Casino Royale was filmed. One afternoon, we had delicious grilled conch and grilled grouper at Twin Brothers in Potters Cay.

Note that equipment rental for tennis is $20 (add court rental of about $20) and for golf is $70. Try to bring your own snorkeling equipment as the beach waters are very clear. We could see fishes at the Reef beach.

Overall, we were pleased with the quality of our room and the friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: Some Oceanview rooms have a partially obstructed view due to facing the Cove. The Harborview rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is the best family vacation we ever had! The room is new, big and clean. The Waterpark is absolutely amazing! We love the rapids and the slides! In the afternoon, we enjoyed playing bingo and watching a movie. The food by the pool is theme park prices, but the restaurants are expensive but we had a kids eat free package so it wasn't so bad after all. The best part that I loved about this place is that the staff at the Reef is very courteous. They are also attentive to the guest needs. There were several instances that the shuttle took longer to arrive. Without even complaining they will call the shuttle for you and ask how much longer the wait is and let you know. Overall, We will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My family and I stayed here for our Vacation this year WONDERFUL! Friendly helpful staff, there was something for every one to do! Loved it will be back next year, the resort was beautiful and the view from our room was amazing.However I do feel that things wore on the high side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Reef for our anniversary and we were very pleased overall. The hotel is definitely nice - beautifully landscaped, lots to do (or nothing at all), good restaurants. Like most every other reviewer, we thought things were pricey but did find ways to save - first, the beach and waterpark are included in the price so we took full advantage of that. Our room had a full kitchen (we splurged on that) so we ordered groceries online for delivery to the hotel and had many of our meals in the room. We took the water taxi into Nassau one cloudy day which is only $3 each - a great deal. The staff were excellent - the concierge staff especially - they were very gracious and helped with meal reservations and our spa reservation. Room was kept clean and everything was functional - no complaints there.

It was quite busy during our stay, lots of cruise ship visitors so that took away from our "intimate" get away. Otherwise, we'd love to visit again.

Room Tip: We always ask for an upgrade and get one about 70% of the time - Reef was only exception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Reef on business and admit I chose it because it fronts onto the beach so I could walk there.

It's a modern hotel, part of the Atlantis resort which is aimed firmly at tourism but is good enough for a business stay and much better than the dos town hotels. Service is very good by Bahamian standards and the romo was top class. I rather resented paying $20 per day for internet however.

The weak point is the food, although there are about 20 restaurants in the resort I didn't find any that I would really choose to eat in. Tip : avoid the "cheese" nachos and the breakfast "danish" pastries at all costs.

The resort is in the Bahamas but clearly not like the Bahamas - more like a slice of Miami transported here. I'd use it again.


Overall though a good choice

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here the first week of December, right after the Thanksgiving crowd left, and right before the Holiday crowds arrived. The resort itself is amazing. Where else can you enjoy such an assortment of activities, pools, slides, spa, casino, nightlife? The reviews concerning how expensive this place is are all valid. However, with some careful planning and knowledge, you can have a wonderful time at this 5 Star Resort, at a fraction of the cost. We stayed in a Studio Suite at the Reef. What's great about this room is that it has a kitchennette with a stove-top, refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher. All the amenities such as pots and pans, dishes, glasses, etc. If you want to have a totally relaxing vacation and money is not an object (after all you work hard all year so you deserve some R&R), then opt for the meal plan. It cost about a hundred dollars a day for an adult, less for kids, and includes 3 meals a day that can be used at most of the restaurants at the Atlantis, including Bobby Flay's restaurant Mesa Grill and Carmine's, a great family style Italian restaurant located in the marina.

However, don't rule this place out if you are on a budget. Since there is a refrigerator, stove and cooking utentsils, you can actually dine for a few dollars more than you do at home. On your way to the resort from the airport, ask the taxi driver to stop at the local super market. Groceries that are easy to cook and less expensive to buy are eggs, cheese, breakfast meats, cereal, milk, hot dogs, hamburgers, bagels, tortillas, potatoes, mac & cheese and pasta. Having the driver stop on the way to the resort saves the cost of a taxi there & back on a subsequent trip. Also, if you are a drinker, have them stop by a liquor store to buy your alchohol, wine & beer. Remember, you have a refrigerator, so you can keep things cold. A handle of Bacardi rum only cost about $15, so if you like rum stock up. Don't forget the mixers. Bring spices in little zip lock bags from home so you don't have to pay an arm & a leg for them at the grocery store.

Rather than spending a fortune at the restaurants at the resort, if you are athletic, you can walk (or take a short taxi ride) over the bridge and eat where the locals do at one of the shacks at Arawak Cay. With a host of seafood restaurants that serve delicious fried fish and the delectable conch salad with Kalik beer (feel free to bring your own beverages), brewed on New Providence Island itself, a visit to this place makes for an unforgettable experience at a fraction of the cost of the resort restaurants. The conch salad is prepared fresh and made tableside. If you go in the morning you can actually buy some fresh local fish that you can take back to your room and prepare for dinner. Pan seared Grouper is easy to prepare and a wonderful dish to enjoy out on your private balcony.

A little further in town is another great place ot eat - Potters Cay (a short taxi ride) – Bahamian food with fresh fish/vegetables from the market. This is a great spot to watch locals eat, drink, and do business in the marketplace at a fraction of the cost of the resort restaurants.

Downtown Nassau has some great spots for Happy Hour & the Straw Market where you can barter with the locals for your souvenirs and fake designer luggage. The Nassau Water Taxi (which you can get under the bridge for around $3 per person) provides a cost effective and highly visual alternative to traditional road transportation (taxi). Each boat offers a guided tour of the surrounding area.

We actually splurged (cost about $60 a person) one night and ate at Mosaic, which is located at the Cove. It is an upscale casual mediterrean style restaurant with serving stations that include steak, lamb chops, chicken, fresh prepared fish, a pasta station, salads, a fabulous assortment of sushi and some wonderful desserts. Delish.

All in all we had a wonderful vacation staying at this 5 star resort on a 3 star budget, and will definately be back.

Feel free to contact me for information on how to get substantial discounts on room rates at The Reef.

Room Tip: Request a room at the end of the hall and you will be right by the Ice Machine.
See more room tips

Room Tip: Ocean View at the end of the hall by the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reef Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Atlantis

Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#2 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Reef Atlantis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Paradise Beach, guests enjoy miles of white sand and ocean in their backyard with all the wonder and excitement of Atlantis on their front doorstep. The Reef features studios and one- and two-bedroom suites offering all the conveniences of home with a full kitchen or kitchen area complete with linens, cookware, table settings, refrigerator and private balconies with water views. Guests of The Reef enjoy a semi-private pool, shared only with The Cove Atlantis, Starbucks lounge and are closest to Bobby Flay’s Mesa Grill ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Reef Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Atlantis Hotel Paradise Island
Reef Atlantis Paradise Island
The Reef Atlantis Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Atlantis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.