We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are saving all year to take a vacation here .... it's NOT for you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cove Atlantis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cove Atlantis to your Saves list
The Cove Atlantis
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$450 in Credits
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Paradise Island
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“If you are saving all year to take a vacation here .... it's NOT for you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

My husband and I are world travelers. We appreciate feeling like we have gotten a good value for our money no matter what star rating is associated with the facility ..... That being said ..... This is our second visit to The Cove Atlantis and I STILL love it! The people that say that it is expensive are correct. But .... if you are saving all year long to come here ... and are the type of person that has to really budget their money .... the type of person that looks at price tags on everything they buy .... then this probably isn't the place for you. This is a bit of an exclusive resort for people who can throw money away without thinking about it. Now .... I am somewhere in between. I like a good bargain .... I like a luxury vacation .... but my expectations are pretty high. I think that I will be back every year for a long weekend to re-energize in one of the beautiful suites, to lay by the pool and get pampered and to have world class cuisine.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    468
    198
    118
    74
See reviews for
560
666
20
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
artcolby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

This is one of the most overpriced, plastic and boring places I've ever been. It's filled with dopes, the casino blows and the staff couldn't care less. For $500 you get what they call a suite but is a room with a bed and sunken living room. There is a deck, which is nice, but we were moved because smoke was blowing into our room (stay away from the 8th floor smoking room) and we got a small deck. The beaches are lame. They charge you for the big rest areas at the pool. The only thing that's free that is pretty cool is the water slides. Otherwise the restaurants are overpriced, the island is no different that florida and atlantis is a big magnet to get money out of your pocket.
Either way, you definately don't get what you pay for here. Go to Jamaica instead.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

We booked our trip because my 8 year old daughter was so excited about seeing Miley Cyrus. Beach, golf and entertainment for the kids...everybody wins! The hotel was great and the Ocean Club Golf Course was outstanding. Three of us went to the concert. It was $225 per ticket...this was on top of the expensive room that we had already booked. The concert was a great intimate setting but I have one complaint. My daughter was thirsty and wanted some water. They would not sell me a bottle of water! They tried to make me buy a $10 wrist band for "all the water you can drink!" All this after $675 worth of concert tickets. I didn't even mind buying a bottle, but why try to nickle and dime me for some water. Very sour note to end what was otherwise a great week.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

We stayed at the Cove for a week starting March 19th. We've been to numerous places in the Carribean, and the Bahamas proved to be an excellent destination. The weather was wonderful, and this time of the year there was no humidity.

Things we liked: wonderful beach for morning walks. Probably the best beach I've seen in years. Trips to town and to the "fish fry" - a local favorite! Shopping at the straw market, Dolphin adventures (across the bridge), and Rose Island tour (It's like you are on a deserted island!)

Things we didn't like: the pretentiousness of some other guests, wait lines for breakfast at Mosaic, expensive room service, internet that worked sporatically, broken lounge chairs around the beach, the huge timeshare that was to the left and constantly in view.

Overall we will enjoyed our trip, and will be back to the Bahamas, but maybe will rent a house to get away from it all.

Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed at Royal Towers during Spring Break, 7 years ago. It was so crowded that people reserved beach chairs starting at 6am. I was not looking forward to returning to Atlantis and I went with low expectations. This was an incentive trip and I don't know if I would pay the exhorbinant prices of Atlantis.

That being said, " I loved the Cove! " The Cove was great. It was more exclusive and private without the business of Atlantis and the Casino.

The rooms were great. Huge, beautiful, modern bathrooms with (2) bowl sinks, a full size tub, shower and seperate room for commode. Updated Media- 2 flat screen TV's-one for bedroom area, 1 for living room area, The clock radio has an IPOD connection and there was a DVD Player. There is a step down living room and a balcony with a fantastic view of the pool and the ocean!

Housekeeping was great. I loved the turndown service in the evening. They gave us 2 bottles of water each night, put some light music on and put out our robe.

A few issues to be aware of:
We were warned on Trip Advisor about issues with room charges, so we refrained from charging to the room. There is a $150 fee if you don't check out by 11am and they charge you when you pick up an item from the minibar. Check out was easy from the TV screen. They make you sign a waiver when you check in.

The Mosaic was great for breakfast. The not so lazy river was so much fun and very relaxing! The water slides were great! The new Spa was outstanding. There are 36 treatment rooms, you get your choice of massage oil fragrances. The deep tissue massage was wonderful. I would have done it again if I had the time. We really enjoyed the dolphin encounter. They enable you to touch them, give them a command and get your picture taken with them.

You are only a 10-15 minute walk from the main hotel at Atlantis with the amazing aquarium, (the dig), the casino, shark slide...

They have a wonderful transit lounge that you can use the day of arrival or departure. You can use a locker for your carrry-ons, shower, spin dry for your bathing suit...

A great trip. It is very costly, but highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

Great place for couples. Beautiful setting, amazing rooms, good service. The only drawback is how far it is from the rest of the towers and the shuttle service is slow. We had friends at the other towers and it was hard to go back and forth without a long trek.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

We stayed at the Atlantis Cove from April 4-11, 2009 - which was spring break. The first few days were not very crowded, but towards the end of the week the resort was packed. We enjoyed our stay at this magnificent property - the rest and relaxation that this place has to offer is incredible with the beautiful clear blue waters, powder like fine, soft sand, and warm waters - a true paradise. We loved the water slides, beaches, pool side music, and activites. We ate delicious meals - our favorite restaurants were Nobu and Mosaic. Of course everything here is extremely expensive - so be prepared to spend some big time money. The service in the Cove where we stayed was above average, but at the other locations throughout the resort some employees were rude and unhelpful. Our room was great, except the mattress was severely sloped on one side and the clock did not work, which we asked three times to replace and they kept bringing broken ones - a disappointment for the amount of money we were spending. Our biggest complaint was my husband getting kicked out of Carmine's for not wearing appropriate dress code attire - which is fine had they told us that when we walked in the door - but we were rudely told this by a Carmine's employee with a big time attitude after we had been there 45 minutes and already ordered our dinner!!!! Another thing to be aware of - we bought the meal plan, but when we called to make reservations all of the restaurants were "full" - we ended showing up there any way to see if there were any cancellations - and wouldn't you know the restaurants were practically empty???? We figured out if you were on the meal plan and called the hotel for reservations, they would deny you because they want the cash paying people - well we found a way around that one! I would not recommend the meal plan- we did not save any money on this. But, if you do, keep your charges separate during the day - charge your lunches and drinks to another credit card so you can keep track of over charges - which we were overcharged by almost $1,000.00 when we checked out because they had charged us for meals even though we were on the meal plan.. When I questioned the front desk clerk on the way out, she had total attitude. I kind of figured out that their system is a little messed up! Overall it was a great vacation - severely expensive - but one of those places you need to go at least ONCE in your lifetime!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cove Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Atlantis

Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cove Atlantis 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and stylish. Sophisticated and sensual. A place where scene meets scenery and urban chic meets white-sand nature. Inspired by the beauty of its surroundings, The Cove Atlantis thrives on the rhythm of the day.While its exclusive ultra-pool and beach club create a seamless day to night scene, its spectacular ocean views and balmy open-air architecture embrace nature’s most compelling elements creating a seductive and indulgent experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Cove Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Atlantis Hotel Paradise Island
Cove Atlantis Paradise Island
Atlantis Cove
The Cove Atlantis Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove Atlantis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.