We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well appointed , but Meh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cove Atlantis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cove Atlantis to your Saves list
The Cove Atlantis
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$450 in Credits
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Paradise Island
New York City, New York, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean, well appointed , but Meh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Very nice hotel. Clean, Safe, Nice bathrooms; But not worth the expensive price.
Bed mediocre
Concierge average, not very attentive.
housekeeping slow.
Front desk friendly
Cove pool mediocre, needs upgrade;
Cove beach empty, which is a plus
Staff friendly.
Brings lots of change: they will nickel and dime you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    468
    198
    118
    75
See reviews for
560
667
20
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed at Atlantis / The Cove three weeks ago with our family - two adults and 5 children. The resort, ocean and hotel was as expected - more than beautiful! We had some experiences that were not so favorable. We feel like we need to warn other parents to be careful letting their children around the resort without some level of supervision. Our 5 children were made up of two 14 year old girls, 12 yr old boy, 10 yr old girl and a 8 yr old boy. Very trustworthy kids. We set up meeting places and times - all seemed good. At the end of the day the local vendors bombard the Cove beach when security leaves around 5 pm. At this time, our kids were coming back from the slides to meet us at the beach in front of the hotel when one of them propositioned one of the 14 yr girls for a jet ski ride for free. He did not offer it to any of the other kids, just this one girl. Needless to say, this turned out to be a bad situation and he convinced her it would be ok and got her on the jet ski and took her. She was able to fight her way free from this local after he took her way up the beach and tried to abduct her. I want people to realize the vendors are not part of the hotel, and boy, they made that point clear to us. We are still pushing this investigation to get this criminal (we don't want this to happen to anyone else!!!). We felt we should let other future guests know there is a risk - be careful!

Room Tip: They are not overly helpful picking rooms - the Cove has beautiful rooms - the higher the floor the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I did have some expectations when making my reservation for a deluxe suite at The Cove
Upon arrival, (3 PM, check in time for the hotel) we were told that our room was not ready
We finally got our room upon a basic complaint
We were received with a lemonade. What is too basic comparing with champagne or mimosas that we got in resort at Dominican Republic
We walked to our room and found out that our request for a high level floor and two queen beds was not honored. On the opposite, the room had signals of a leakage and mold in one corner
No slippers or robes were in the room
We were unable to sleep during the first time, since the bed made a lot of noise
We noticed that they didn't pick up the trash, replenish towels, toiletries they day after.
The carpet was not vacuumed and the bed was not set in a proper way
I was also unable to do my job at night, since the internet that we prepaid, $ 22 per day was
extremely slow. I called the front desk, in regards to this problem, then transferred to tech support and the problem was not resolved at anytime, even when we were charged the daily fee
The pool was not clean at anytime, the chairs had webs and the surrounding areas were not clean at anytime during our stay
I called the front desk and requested a room without mold and they did the transfer with the
undesirable inconvenience, considering that they shouldn't have a room with mold and a noisy bed when you pay almost $ 1000 per night (tax included)
The property has different restaurants. all of them are overpriced, I believe that you pay to maintain the property that is not really maintained (the rooms are dated)
The only good option was Olives and Bahamian Club. Do not waste money at Mosaic. We went there at 9 PM and most of the dishes were gone or cold. A real shame for a $ 67 buffet
I need to say that I was expecting an amazing experience and I was surprised with a mediocre service, pricey food and beverage for just standard quality. We requested late check out ( 2:30 PM) and was denied. We were able to obtain the late check out upon our complaint with Sean (front desk manager) who also deducted one meal from our check after our narrative/list of problems encountered during our visit. I will not recommend a place like this

Room Tip: No tips to choose any room since I did not like this hotel at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Atlantis is a good waterpark that needs some repair work on some of the pools plaster, and it has some unslightly, large pieces of plaster missing on the bottoms of the pools. Even the Cove Pool which is for Cove guest only has many chunks of plaster missing. Not attractive for a place that charges such high prices. The facilities upkeep should represent the price you pay.
Good points;
Contrary to many reviews, staff is very friendly and helpful at the entire resort from our 2 visits there.
The resort is clean, but could use some updating in some of the areas.
Beaches are beautiful.
Lines can be long at the slides, but go fairly quick.
Kids activities are bountiful.
The grounds themselves are well maintained.
Housekeepers leave bottled water daily in the room.
Free mini fridge brought to the room, just for the asking.
We are big gamblers, and everyone gripes about the smoke. It is no more smokey that any other casino that I can tell. Drinks are free (some write they charge) just like any other casino if you are playing. Should tip at least a dollar just like in the states. The drink service is very, very slow.

Bad Points:
Too many fees associated with the properties hotels.
Daily taxes and levies.
The Cove has built in gratuity, daily for housekeeping.
Daily $6.00 fee per person per room for anyone over twelve years old.
Even if you have a food plan and they add the mandatory gratuity, when you check out you will owe the gratuity. The meal plan does not cover it.
If you eat at Mesa grill, they will not deviate at all from the menu. On asking for a baked potato with no horseradish as shown on the menu, we were told they are prepared in advance and no changes are allowed. Come on Bobby, for a $9.00 baked potato, pre-made? Really?
Dolphin Adventure spends too much prep time listening to the instructor inside, then again repeating much of the same stuff when you get in the water. Not a whole lot of actual hands on time with the Dolphins. Still fun.
Expect to see rain in the afternoon in the summer months.

Room Tip: At The Cove, ask for a Dolphin Suite. We were on the 15th floor, excellent views. You will have pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed at The Cove for three nights, on the heels of having stayed four nights at The Royal Bahamian Sandals. After a rough few days at Sandals, I am happy to say that The Cove insured that we ended our Bahamian adventure on a positive note. A dental convention brought us to the Bahamas.

The Cove is beautiful -- the breezeway that greets you upon arrival and serves as your path in and out of the hotel, meanders over mini waterfalls, pools of fish, and beautiful tropical foliage; the architecture is peaceful, minimalist, and in keeping with the tropical setting; the walls of the hotel, including the elevator waiting area, feature interesting artwork suggestive of the ocean.

Our package included an upgrade to a deluxe ocean suite, a continental breakfast every day, $100 credit toward food, and early check-in and late check-out (if available -- and it wasn't). With those amenities, we were able to keep our food costs within reason. The continental breakfast, valued at $40 a day for 2 people, includes almost anything "cold" on the breakfast buffet.

Our room was every bit the "deluxe suite" we hoped it would be, providing a generously sized bathroom, a large closet and safe, a sitting area with a comfortable couch, and a comfortable bed. From our location on the 10th floor, we had a sweeping view of Nassau Harbor where we watched cruise ships enter and exit the harbor every day. Looking down, we could see the entire family pool area shared by The Cove and The Reef.

We regret that we didn't take full advantage of all the hotel's water experiences (such as the Thunder River tubing adventure and the shark tank water slide). That being said, we did swim with the dolphins and that was a highlight of our stay. The adults-only pool that is shared by The Cove and guests at The Reef is particularly beautiful.

We also took advantage of the "stroke of the day" clinics offered by Atlantis' resident tennis pro. Two free clinics are offered every Monday and Wednesday morning for hotel guests. The pro, Kim O'Kelley, offers a very nice clinic and if we were to return, I would take additional lessons from her. The resort has 6 nicely maintained tennis courts (3 har-tru and 3 hard surface). At least 3 of the courts are lighted.

We tried to make a reservation at Bobby Flay's Mesa restaurant at the Cove but it was booked during our stay -- we should have made the reservation in advance of our trip. The menu looked amazing. We opted to eat at Olive's, a Todd English restaurant off the Atlantis casino. The food was only okay. Our second night, we skipped dinner and instead bought chips and salsa in the gift shop. It was still a $20 non-dinner because food is ridiculously marked up within the resort. If you like sodas, buy them outside the resort. The gift shop does not offer any sodas because the resort would like you to use the servi-bar in your room. We opted for water! We had one of our lunches in Mosaic, the Cove buffet. Although it was an indulgent $35 pp for lunch, it was a bountiful buffet with excellent gourmet offerings!

A highlight of our trip was meeting a delightful taxi driver named Anton Williams who drove us from Sandals to Atlantis. A great diplomat for his island, Anton knew we had not enjoyed our stay at Sandals. He genuinely wanted to make us love his island and suggested we hire him for a reasonable 3-hour tour of the island. We took him up on the offer and saw the entire island through his eyes. It was a GREAT day! Anton also suggested we have dinner at Cafe Matisse and that was another excellent suggestion. It was a dinner we will never forget.

I think I am checking Nassau off my list because there isn't much more to do on the island. But if we ever do go again, I will try to take one or both of our "big" children and would return to Atlantis. I would probably try to stay at the Reef (condos) vs. the Cove (hotel) so we would have a kitchen and the option of "eating in." A refrigerator would have been very helpful. We improvised, storing leftover flatbread in our ice bucket. I would also "do the park" as it should be done.

Room Tip: The higher your room, the better your view. Our room was on the 10th floor and I'd say it was j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Every year, I travel to the Cove Atlantis to my family to escape the Mardi Gras madness in New Orleans, LA where I live. This resort is beautiful. Every morning, waking up to the ocean view is thrilling. The hotel lobby exists of several rooms, with a breezeway in between. Between the rooms, there are relaxing ponds with fish. There is a Cove only beach with servers to escape the rest of the Atlantis resort crowd. Even though I travel here every year, this is a once in a lifetime vacation I take with my family every year. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone that is not on a budget and would like to make thousands of family memories.

Room Tip: Do not go in the summer as it is too rainy and hurricanes are likely to form. Go in the Spring becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

For those who consider traveling to the Atlantis, I will evaluate the various elements, ranging from “the deal” to food, room, water park and service.
Lets start with the obvious, the Atlantis is a money machine. If they could find a way for charging you breathing air, they probably would. If you are looking for a nice, mellow, non hectic, relaxed bahama experience, avoid it. Go to Exuma, Grand Bahama or any of the other islands.

Lets start with “the deal”.
We were lured in to the Atlantis (our stay was at the Cove for a ridiculous reg. rate) with a “Dine and Wine pass” at the value of USD 150. Don’t be fooled. The Atlantis pre-selected what you should eat and drink at what location. So effectively it is more an advertising trick than a value card- focussed at getting you to explore the property, visit the restaurants and therefore spend more money. As said; Atlantis is a money machine.

The Cove
We stayed for 2 nights (for an over the top charge) and I have to admit that the room was nice and provided sufficient space for the 4 of us (2 kids 2 adults). Great view (try to get a room on the 8th floor or higher - if you get a room with “even numbers"). However be advised that the incremental rate starts at the 4th floor. If you pay extra for a higher floor, ensure you are not between the 4th and 8th floor.
The internet is slow and if you need to remain connected to your business, this may pose an issue. You may wish to consider a back-up solution.
As for the great shampoo and body wash products, the hotel does not replace it every day, which was a bit of a shock (considering the room rates).
Overall the hotel met our expectations and the service was friendly.

The Pools
Guests at The Cove have “exclusive” access to the family pool (shared between the Reef and the Cove) and the "all adults" pool at the Cove. This is a great attribute we thought, as the other pools and the water park are accessible for the Day Pass guests (and it gets very busy during the summer with all kind of cruise guests etc with a day pass, who pay USD 165 or more a person, so we heard).
Frankly the first (the family pool) is old, shows wear and requires an upgrade. The chairs are however great and much more comfortable compared to the chairs found at the water park.
On the other side, the adult pool at the Cove is one of a kind (despite the loud music), a great experience! What a beautiful pool set-up! If you are however traveling with kids, not sure if it is worth the incremental costs as you can not access this adults pool as a family.
The remaining pools and the water park are the Bahamian parallel of Disney. A great experience - but too crowded and again in need of an upgrade.

The Beach
For those who enjoy snorkelling, bring your snorkel gear! What a great experience. At the beach connected to the Cove/ the Reef family pool, lots of fish can be seen.
Go to the right after making an entree in to the ocean (stay within the markers!) and you may run in to Baraccuda, smaller fish with lots of colours, squid, etc. Truly a great experience- and no need to take a boat ride.

Overall the food in the restaurants was of high quality. No complaints! Yes it comes with a price, but the rates (for food) do resemble a slightly north of a European rate level, so we were more or less ok with that. Do make early restaurant reservations - or risk waiting 60 minutes or more, due to the huge crowds.

The bottom line, it is expensive - but for a couple of days a nice experience. Soon (December 2014) a huge new resort (with various hotels) will open in Nassau, which should bring prices to a more realistic level.
The gap between maintenance and rates does create questions.
Prepare yourselves for huge crowds. For a next time we would consider the royal towers as the location is more central compared to the Cove.

One final recommendation, bring some bandaids as it is easy to get a bit heart with all the "rough" rides.

Room Tip: Any room - even numbers on the 8th floor or higher would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cove Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Atlantis

Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cove Atlantis 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and stylish. Sophisticated and sensual. A place where scene meets scenery and urban chic meets white-sand nature. Inspired by the beauty of its surroundings, The Cove Atlantis thrives on the rhythm of the day.While its exclusive ultra-pool and beach club create a seamless day to night scene, its spectacular ocean views and balmy open-air architecture embrace nature’s most compelling elements creating a seductive and indulgent experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Cove Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Atlantis Hotel Paradise Island
Cove Atlantis Paradise Island
Atlantis Cove
The Cove Atlantis Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove Atlantis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.