We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for couples” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cove Atlantis

Save Saved
You added The Cove Atlantis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cove Atlantis
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$350 in Added Value!
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Paradise Island
Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great for couples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just went to Atlantis with my family on June 4th. I booked us at The Royal Towers, but when we arrived they said it was over-booked. We got a free upgrade to The Cove. This is a new all suites hotel, very clean and modern. We were disappointed we couldn't stay at The Royal Towers, this seems to be where everything is happening; shopping, attractions, the casino.
The Cove is off by itself and quieter than the other properties at Atlantis. It seems this would be a better place for couples. There was some families with children here, but the other hotels are more geared to families. We enjoyed the Cove, our room was a small suite with a great ocean view. We however took the free shuttle to The Royal Towers every day and spent most of our time there when not in the pools.
Atlantis overall was wonderful, the staff is very friendly and helpful. We found it strange though that all the pools and water attractions close at 7:00pm. Guess they want to get everyone inside to spend their money. We are definitely going back and will make sure we stay in The Royal Towers. If you go, do the same if you have children, either there or the Beach Tower or Coral Tower. The Cove is great for a honeymoon or couples vacation. Also, be sure to get the meal plan, food is very expensive. We had the plan, but still got our check at the end of each meal. Dinner at their best restaurants ranged from $150 to $250 for three people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    638
    369
    152
    102
    65
See reviews for
453
535
12
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

When I first went to the Atlantis I took a recommendation to stay at the Cove within the Atlantis property. What a wonderful surprise, the Cove was upscale without being snooty, plus with all the amenities that you would expect from the Ritz Carlton. The base rooms are very spacious, clean and inviting.

I do love that they have an adults only pool, but you have access to all the resort has to offer. The pool is a very happening place with a DJ and poolside gambling if that's your thing.

The dining choices are many and varied, but MAKE reservations as they fill quickly especially NOBU. Try their Black Cod, it's the best fish item I've ever eaten and I usually don't care much for Cod.

In short, when visiting the Atlantis if you can swing it, The Cove is money well spent.

Room Tip: Of all the different rooms I have had the pleasure of staying in, they all are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I really wanted to love this property. After all it sounds perfect--the kids get to play at the wonderful water park, there is lots to do, beautiful beach BUT...the service is poor, the rooms are sub par, the water park is flooded with cruisers.
There is, as everyone mentions, a mandatory 20% tip on everything. Which isn't a big deal if the service was actually decent. I was told that Atlantis actually takes most of the gratuity and the servers are poorly paid. There attitude is they will get to it when they get to it. Don't expect to be served.
Also if you book and there is deal offer(kids eat free, etc) make sure you print or have proof. We checked in they acted like I was crazy and making up stuff, as a result my kid did not eat free.
When we checked into our overpriced room at the Cove, we were led into a room with towels all of the bathroom floor and sand in the bath tube. we had to wait over 45 minutes for a new room. Not exactly the best 1st impression. We did get a free beach bag for our trouble.LOL!
It is a good idea to have the taxi driver shop at the market to get snacks, oh and suncreen that $25 at pool!! You can get a mini fridge in your room if you ask.
I know the commercials look great, but don't do it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The service was very slow around the pool, difficult to get a drink. The hotel is very nice but very much overpriced. If you complain about something at the front desk the staff really does not seem to care. We can afford this hotel easily but do not like the feeling of being ripped off and unfortunately this is how we felt when we left.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location excellent room and resort. I did notice that it was not as clean as past trips and that the help seemed a bit complacent and seem to be waiting for the new resort top open (they were not shy about there desire to seek employment there). I felt that housekeeping was poor and when we spokle to the fromnt desk tney were ambiviklant at best.

The retaraunts were all very good form a quality standpoint. I am sure there are far better values and am curiuos as to how the new casino will impact their business and attitudes as it grows nearer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Park, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our second trip to Atlantis. The first time we stayed at Royal Towers. We enjoyed the resort but were a bit let down by the quality of the Royal Tower rooms. Mainly upset with the smell and the poor plumbing, sheets, etc.

I must say the Cove is a great alternative! The rooms were much much nicer. Another very nice amenity of the cove is the private beach for cove/reef guests. You can walk out, the beach attendants will ask you how many chairs you need. They will move your chairs right next to the water as well as setup a table and tuck in your towels for you. We never had any issues getting a chair, even during a busy memorial day weekend.

Many people on trip advisor complain about the worker's attitudes at Atlantis. I don't know if we were just lucky or if some people expect more, but we found just about everyone we encountered to be extremely friendly. I can't say we encountered one rude employee. That is saying a lot as Atlantis must employ thousands of people.

I also see a lot of complaints about the prices. Yes, the place is not cheap. However, it is not really any more expensive than any high end resort. Prices are similar to other Caribbean, Hawaii, Vegas resorts. Know that this is not a bargain vacation. If that is what you want maybe you should consider somewhere else. If you are prepared for it, you can have a wonderful time.

Also, it's important to understand what Atlantis is. We like to describe it as Las Vegas on the beach. That's what it is. If you want a small secluded island vacation, maybe you should look elsewhere. The Cove, however, is a nice mix of both. It is definitely much quieter and secluded. But, remember it is still a part of a mega resort.

We really enjoyed waking up to the wonderful breakfast buffet at the Mosaic. Then, we could spend plenty of time at the cove beach. Sometimes it's fun to head over to the water park, which is a very short walk from the Cove. Once you are done with the water, you can go back to your room and get ready for the night. Atlantis has a great nightlife which you won't find at many island resorts. You can have dinner at one of their many nice restaurants. Then, hit the casino!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I loved every minute at The Cove. The room was large and well appointed, the view was gorgeous, the pool was clean and beautiful and the food was great. The beach was perfect. The cabana was a definite "must do" and came with a wonderful server who treated us like royalty all day. For everyone who gave a review here and found the staff wanting, I would suggest that you remember to treat them with respect and tip them often and generously on top of the included gratuity! It will make all the difference in your stay. Consider introducing yourself and tipping the "Cain at the Cove" pool hostess right at the beginning of your stay. She treated us very well, reserved our pool chairs daily and ensured we had superb service from the pool wait staff. For the best dinners eat at Mesa Grill, Nobu, Cafe Martinique and you can not be disappointed. Also, I would be sure to spend lots of time sipping drinks at sunset on the patio at Seaglass. I can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cove Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Atlantis

Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cove Atlantis 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and stylish. Sophisticated and sensual. A place where scene meets scenery and urban chic meets white-sand nature. Inspired by the beauty of its surroundings, The Cove Atlantis thrives on the rhythm of the day.While its exclusive ultra-pool and beach club create a seamless day to night scene, its spectacular ocean views and balmy open-air architecture embrace nature’s most compelling elements creating a seductive and indulgent experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Cove Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Atlantis Hotel Paradise Island
Cove Atlantis Paradise Island
Atlantis Cove
The Cove Atlantis Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove Atlantis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.