We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cove Atlantis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cove Atlantis to your Saves list
The Cove Atlantis
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

This is our forth visit at The Cove, and it is still a great place, although it is starting to show some signs of wear. the rooms are very well appointed and spacious with wonderful ocean views. if you prefer a more direct ocean view choose rooms ending in odd numbers. we had a few bulbs out, our instant hot water in the shower took SEVERAL minutes to heat up, and the beautiful glass bowl must have broken since we had a plastic rattan basket in its place, but all in all still lovely. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    415
    168
    111
    67
See reviews for
498
605
16
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Atlantis is a beautiful property lots of things to do, you never have to leave. But it just reminds me too much of Disney. I see the draw for families, but if you are a couple wanting some romantic time find another hotel. The service is mediocre at best none of the staff want to go out of their way to help you. We went New Year's Eve weekend and the concierge told us all the restaurants were full. She didn't even offer to try and put us on a cancellation list nothing. They charge you for everything when you are paying close to $2000 a night I think something as simple as the wifi should be complimentary. The lists of things that need to be improved is very long.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Atlantis is exactly what the pictures portray. We just returned from a four day holiday and loved every minute of it. The Cove is exquisite. The rooms are well planned and luxurious . It is located at the further end of the resort, but still close to what we wanted to enjoy. The adult pool (The Cain Pool) is hip and lively, and the beach is beautiful . The sand is so soft and white. The only downfall for some is that the casino and night life is found at the center of the hotel (the Royal Tower), which is a bit of a walk. There are shuttle buses which can take you to the other towers if you don't want to walk. My husband and I are big walkers, so we didn't mind.

The important thing to be prepared for is the cost of food. We didn't opt for a food package. For breakfast we walked over to a plaza across the street from the Coral Tower. There we found a Dunkin donut shop, which had reasonably priced combos and healthy food choices ( ie. multigrain bagels). In this same plaza is also a small food mart (which has some fruits, cheeses, and crackers) and a liqueur store. The prices are still not what we are use to, but far more reasonable than the hotel. We also went to the fish fry, Frankie's goes Bananas. It was a true Carribean experience.

We felt you get what you pay for. It was worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms have a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

There are very few hotels out there that seem to have it all and The Atlantis is just one of those hotels. We loved every moment and look forward to our return with our children.

There is so much to do from kissing dolphins to horseback riding on the beach. We loved the ocean side cafe and were amazed at just how large this place was. Around every corner we found something new and exciting.

At night you can gamble a bit or have a comfortable night swim. I liked the fact that you could snorkel with the sharks and rays.

Room Tip: I suggest a villa or a two room suite. A little more room and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I must say that while Atlantis may not be my favorite place to go on holiday (there are too many people), but it does have everything you need for a complete family vacation. It has a beautiful beach, great restaurants for adults, tons of activities for the kids and gambling.

We usually stay at the Cove which is more high end and exclusive, but there are still too many people. All guests wear bracelets to give you access to your area of the resort.

The beaches are beautiful, white sands, crystal blue water. Water is warm for most of the year except in December when we went. It was too cold to swim in the sea but the pools were ok.

Atlantis has tons of pools with slides of different levels which the kids love. There is also a wave pool for rafting which is great for most ages. There are life guards all over to ensure safety.

For kids there is also a speedway where you can build a car, a game room and a children's activity center where there are different organized activities every day to keep the kids occupied. There is also rock climbing. They also offer swimming with dolphins, interacting with dolphins and interacting with sea lions.

There are tons of restaurants to chose from including famous restaurants from the US such as Nobu, Mesa Grill and Carmine's. The breakfast buffet is beyond comprehensive. It has everything and more.

The rooms at the Cove are well sized. We had a junior suite which was good for a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids). The bathroom is very big. However the rooms need refurbishment as they are getting worn. Housekeeping was also not as thorough in cleaning, sand was left in the bathroom and the drains got clogged, they also forgot to replace the soap.
The ammenities are great, they use Red Earth.

Internet costs $25 a day per room but works for several devices. There is WIFI throughout the resort but is spotty in some areas.

The gym is one of the best I've seen in a hotel. It can rival any gym in a big city. It has loads of cardio equipment and the weight machines. It also offers spinning and pilates classes.
The massages are not so great, you feel like you're part of an assembly line and can't really relax, I would skip it.

Be ready to spend a lot of money, the Cove and Atlantis in general is expensive. Everything has a price in this Disneyland for adults and kids alike.

Room Tip: Junior suite is good for a family of 4. The bathroom is large and the rooms all have great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

You will love Atlantis IF it suits your vacationing style. Any bad reviews just mean that The Cove was not the right vacation for them. Atlantis is basically a big Las Vegas resort hotel plopped on a beautiful beach in the Bahamas. So, if you like that kind of thing, you will not go wrong. In full-disclosure, Atlantis did not fit our style (i.e. we love the peaceful quiet of Turks & Caicos). However, we had a wonderful time.

LIKES: Open-air and cool vibe hotel entrance. Bathrooms are huge and very well-done. Beautiful beach with calm, turquoise-colored water. Beach chairs are padded and very relaxing. Amazing breakfasts at Mosaic with almost anything you could imagine ($31 + gratuity). Great lunches at the Cain Pool and Sea Glass ($20 for sandwiches). Delicious dinner restaurants (big plug for Nobu). Really fun to hit the Aquaventure water park slides each afternoon (recommend going after 3:30pm). The Mandara Spa was very nice. And finally, the Dolphin Shallow Water experience was very fun.

NOT SO GREATS: The adults-only Cain pool is one of the coolest pools in photos only (not actually in-person). It is hip-hop playing, heavy bass pounding, Club Cove. It's the plastic pool :) It is definitely not for relaxation, book-reading, or even listening to your own music. Also, everything is crazy expensive. Before you go, just accept that everything is very, very expensive. You have to suspend your concept of reality on how much things should cost. E.g. a bottle of water is $4 to $6. Going to the gym is $15. Internet is $20/day. Your hotel bill will be littered with fees. So, you will not have fun if you're constantly thinking about the $$$, because it's just insane.

TIPS: Stay in upper floors of hotel for better views. Go to Starbucks if you want to save a few bucks on bfast (it's still expensive for what you get!). Buy water bottles before getting to hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Rooms are very nice and plenty of amenities throughout this resort style hotel. Aside from the front desk check-in, what really stood out was the service. Everybody was courteous and pleasant. We had a minor room issue that could have been handled better by the front desk staff. Nevertheless, it was addressed in due course and the vacation proceeded. The Atlantis complex is spectacular and has everything needed for a wide variety of travellers. Be prepared to dig into your wallet however. Everything is quite expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cove Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Atlantis

Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cove Atlantis 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and stylish. Sophisticated and sensual. A place where scene meets scenery and urban chic meets white-sand nature. Inspired by the beauty of its surroundings, The Cove Atlantis thrives on the rhythm of the day.While its exclusive ultra-pool and beach club create a seamless day to night scene, its spectacular ocean views and balmy open-air architecture embrace nature’s most compelling elements creating a seductive and indulgent experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Cove Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Atlantis Hotel Paradise Island
Cove Atlantis Paradise Island
Atlantis Cove
The Cove Atlantis Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove Atlantis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.