We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in Atlantis” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Casino Drive, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
End of Summer Sale
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Paradise Island
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed in Atlantis”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

PROS:
As it was a 25th anniversary trip, they sent us up a beautiful plate of delicious chocolate-dipped strawberries and champagne. Very nice touch.
Dolphin Cay was good.
Cafe at the Great Hall of Waters was good.
Nobu was good.
Cafe Martinique was excellent.

CONS:
Arrived with our dinner reservations made in advance, as per the directions on the website. When we showed up on arrival they gave us the message that our Saturday restaurant would be closed on Saturday! Couldn't notify us beforehand? All their restaurants book up early, had to do some scrambling to find one to replace it.
Expensive room; when we walked in, toilet was running, nuts on floor, one bathrobe and slippers missing (there were hangers for two), some amenities were also missing. We flushed the toilet, problem fixed. Technician shows up at the door an hour later, said we called for service. We never did! He insisted a guest from this room called, so we eventually figured out that our room was first given to someone else, who did something to the toilet, called for service, took a few things, and left. Front desk didn't bother to have problem fixed or to check to see if room was clean and stocked before reassigning it to us!
We asked for housekeeping for just one day of our four day visit. We were out of tissues, running low on toilet paper, needed some towels replaced. Housekeeping came when we were out, made bed, took towels and didn't leave fresh ones, still no tissues, didn't leave toilet paper, nuts were still on floor (therefore no vacuuming) and room gratuity included in price. (Still gave a tip when we called housekeeping for towels, toilet paper and tissues!)
Workout facilities: equipment a little rusty, some machines not working, not much ventilation in room, disinfectant dispenser empty, classes cancelled because not enough people (though they didn't adjust the $15 per person per day charge for the fitness facility where they advertised classes would be included with the price!).
Spa services: Arrived at 11:10 for an 11:30 appointment, was taken (already in my robe) into room at 11:30, then aesthetician disappears for 15 minutes! Came back, spent 45 minutes doing my facial, and then led me out - but I'd paid for one of the most expensive 60 minutes facials! I complained, they did nothing except give me an extra pass for the fitness centre. Oh - 15% gratuity automatically added to the price here.
Waterpark - decided to try The Current rapid river ride. Warnings said beware if pregnant, if you have neck, back, or other problems, said glasses need to be strapped to head, remove hats, etc. Keep your arms and legs in, your bum not too low, etc. Got in and . . . nothing. Barely moved. We paddled, tried to get some momentum. Rapids were more like a good jacuzzi than a rapid. Every 20 feet we'd pass another snoozing lifeguard - eventually asked one of them if there was something wrong with the ride? They said no, they just turn down the waves because the resort is not busy. What the ???? Didn't turn down the price! Didn't turn down the gratuities! Didn't warn us that rides would be 'turned down' in the advertisements before our trip!
Murray's Deli - good food, huge portions. Went there for lunch the first day, went back another day to split a sandwich, but had to wait a few minutes for seating. Then noticed, right in front of the restaurant reception desk - a big pool of vomit. VOMIT! So we sat, kept jumping up to warn people not to step in it, but the staff did nothing. Eventually they threw a sheet of newspaper over it, but still didn't clean up this smelly, revolting mess. Then we thought - what the heck are we doing? Who wants to eat food that produced that mess! And why isn't anyone cleaning it up (could it be because gratuities are included in price? No incentive??). So we went to Ben & Jerry's for an ice cream instead.
Miscellaneous: Here's a problem that should have been fixed ten years ago: the standing maps positioned throughout the resort. We looked at one to check where we were going on the first day. The map showed us where we were (marked 'You are here') and, for example, the Cove was to the left of the map, the marina and fitness facilities to the right of the map. As I am standing on one side looking at this map, my husband went on the other side of the map since they had one on both sides, so you could look at it coming from either side of the sidewalk. So we were standing like mirror images on opposite sides of the map, but his side showed the EXACT same map on the reverse side of the board! So what he saw from his 'You are here' marker was that the Cove was to HIS left, and the marina and fitness facilities to HIS right! Anyone checking the map from his side of the sidewalk would have been given the wrong directions and instructed to go precisely opposite to where they wanted to go! And we noticed this same problem on EVERY one of the posted maps!!
Around the basketball court steps there were holes where, apparently, there were once lights. However, the lights had been removed, and in some cases the holes were covered with pieces of wood. In many cases, though, the holes were not covered. Were these live wires? How safe can that be?
Shuttle buses - well, good luck. If they say it will arrive "in four minutes" or "in eight minutes", get a newspaper and make yourself comfortable. Might be half an hour.

CONCLUSION:
We hope the dolphins and other marine life at Atlantis are being looked after better than the rest of the facilities!

Room Tip: When in doubt, change rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    494
    214
    127
    80
See reviews for
610
700
23
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The cove is really the only place to stay at Atlantis. It's a great facility... But...

My $329.00 a night room included $109.70 a night in taxes and fees. If you wanted $438 a night, just charge me $438 a night. Totally worth it, but surprises like that suck!

Room Tip: Just assume your room is $100 bucks more a night than advertised and you won't have sticker shoc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Cove offers first class service to guests. We booked the Sapphire suite, but when checking in we inquired about the Presidential suite - and it was available! Excellent service from the Butlers, the Lounge, and everybody we saw. We enjoyed the room service in our spacious room with fab views, Mosaic restaurant was a hit, and the Dunes restaurant was excellent food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

After making the decision to go to Atlantis and after many hours of scanning Trip Advisor reviews, we decided to stay in the Cove (August 2012)! We felt we were more than well informed about everything Atlantis offered, both good and bad (bad for example, the expensive of eating at most restaurants). Our family of four loved everything about the Cove. This started from the Cove entrance, to our spacious bedroom and en-suite bathroom, to the private beaches, that can only be used by the Cove and Reef guests. We walked the length of Atlantis most days and felt reassured that our decision to stay at the Cove was ultimately the right one. If you can stretch your budget a little further, we feel it will be a decision that you won't regret. Would we go back again? Deffo!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor have
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

From the minute we were picked up at the airport til they took us back - it was perfect!!! The Cove we so quiet and clean. Rooms were topnotch! Service throughout the resort was impecable. Food is always a bit expesive here, but you'll never have a bad meal!!! Many places to choose from with out leaving the resort! So much to do and explore here. A great place for familes too!! Thsi was our 2nd time staying - we stayed in the Royal Towers last time with our kids - but liked the Cove better for just us. Can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: ask for a oceav view with a full balcony facing the Royal Towers!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have stayed at Atlantis before in the Royal Towers and that was comparable to a middle of the road hotel in the states. The Cove was a very differnent experience with access to the Cain pool and their private beach that isnt available to the guests on the other side of the resort. The experience was very different from the attentiveness of the staff down to the in-room perks. All of the rooms are suites and the bathrooms are large and spacious. The upgrade is well worth the additional cost and I think that you will be very pleased from a cost-benefit scenario.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Came to Atlantis for a quick getaway. Now I'm no prude and I know what to expect when you go to places like this, but come on! The only free thing you get is mints and towels! Stayed at the cove and it is a property showing its age! No hot water in the shower for two days - called the front desk for assistance. The front desk was, "would you like us to fix it? " Duh!!!! They did, but cold showers for the first two days, come on??? The property staff went from extremely courteous to the downright obnoxious. The cabana crew was only helpful if there was a 20 in it for them. Outside that, it was fine! The food at the concessions was terrible! No, thats being too kind! The burgers were precooked, way over done! For $10-12 I would have expected a decent burger. Atlantis, do your self a favor and get McDonalds to run your concession! At least the food would taste like something! It certainly couldn't get any worse!

The one shining aspect of the property was their Ultimate Trainer for a Day". Although a bit pricy, it is well worth it and I highly recommend it! The other programs are fine, but you only get 5 min with a dolphin. We got spend way over an hour with several of them! Oh, and did I mention hanging with the sea lions, and feeding the nurse shark and stingrays? Wow!

If I were you, stay at another property or come in on a cruise ship (they send their people here anyway) and do the Trainer For A Day program! $65 for 3 cocktails is a lot more than I pay in NYC. At least in the city, the food is very good and when I buy a burger for $10, it tastes like a burger! Can't even say what these taste like!

Over all, a C- resort with highly overpriced restaurants, hit or miss staff, and the mediocre ford. Of, forget the Mesa grill. Bobby Flay, when was the last time you ate at your own place? It's OK, but it would have shut down in the city due to lack of customers a long time age.

Hope this help!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#3 of 15 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis Beach Tower, Autograph ...
#13 of 15 in Paradise Island
3.5 of 5 stars 2,947 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
0.9 mi away
One & Only Ocean Club
One & Only Ocean Club
#2 of 15 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection

Address: 1 Casino Drive, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and stylish. Sophisticated and sensual. A place where scene meets scenery and urban chic meets white-sand nature. Inspired by the beauty of its surroundings, The Cove Atlantis thrives on the rhythm of the day. While its exclusive ultra-pool and beach club create a seamless day to night scene, its spectacular ocean views and balmy open-air architecture embrace nature’s most compelling elements creating a seductive and indulgent experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Atlantis Hotel Paradise Island
Cove Atlantis Paradise Island
Atlantis Cove
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.