We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful with pricey food and bad staff attitude at the adult pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cove Atlantis

Save Saved
You added The Cove Atlantis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cove Atlantis
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$350 in Added Value!
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Paradise Island
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful with pricey food and bad staff attitude at the adult pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Cove at Atlantis is gorgeous. The water park, beaches and surrounding hotels are gorgeous.Was very disappointed to find the adult pool stuffy and hard to navigate. When we entered we were told we could not go left because we were not renting cabanas. So we went right. All of the beach chairs had towels on them ,of course even though there was one person sun bathing, so we continued out to a private little beach spot over looking the turquoise water. After 15 minutes we were asked if we were renting the cabana next to where we were sitting. We said no and were asked to leave. So we said screw it and left the adult side all together. Not once did any of the many girls standing around doing nothing offer to help find us a chair. They just let us walk around like clueless dopes until we finally left. Don't know about you guys reading this, but I do not spend the kind of money I spent in Atlantis, especially The Cove, to be told what I cannot do. The guys at the family pool at The Cove were awesome and fell over themselves trying to get you a chair AND a towel. So if you want to feel special stay on that side. If you want to feel stupid and unwanted go to the adult side. They will be happy to accomodate you. Everyone else on the resort was helpful and very nice !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    639
    371
    152
    102
    65
See reviews for
455
536
12
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I just got back from The Cove. We were there from the 10th of Jan to the 15th.
This time of year it is a little chilly especially at night...it is a beautiful resort, nice rooms and so much to see and do. What is unfortunate is that the cain (pool area exclusive to people staying at the cove) was like a wind tunnel and shaded for the most part so we didn't take advantage of that area at all. I know that the weather is not something that can be controlled, but the AC can be! Everywhere we went indoors was like a freezer. Bring warm clothes!!! It was a good trip overall but I felt it was a bit overpriced, we enjoyed Mesa grill and loved Nobu but big thumbs down at the Italian resto (Casa D'Angelo I think?) and I didn't like that they charged cover for my boyfriend at the club Aura...the drinks were expensive enough. Beach was beautiful and the staff was really nice, loved the aquariums!

Room Tip: Each room has a view of the ocean at the cove, all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Atlantis had terrible service throughout the resort. The Cove was a huge disappointment. We had to practically flag people down for service; not that they were understaffed. Quite the contrary. there is staff everywhere. They just ignore you. We stayed 7 days and grew more frustrated each day. Cain was absolutely the worst!! Unless you are throwing $100 bills to the pool attendants, they don't give you the time of day. I am not exaggerating. We will never go back there. I tell everyone I know about it because our experience was so bad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey U.K.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We first stayed at this hotel in April 2007, just as it opened and we were now returning to the Island, mainly to celebrate a friends 50th Birthday. The hotel was just as we remembered it and the staff were just as friendly. We had a large room with a walk in closet and a huge bathroom with shower and separate toilet. Most evening we would end up at The Cove bar for a last drink before heading back to our room. Most mornings our daughters would walk across to Starbucks which was located in The Reef to collect something for breakfast. Food in the Atlantis can be very expensive for what you are getting - most days while using the pools & Beach, we would mainly have something to eat around the beach/pool cafes - for 4 people (just a basic lunch) would be around $100. There are lots of courtesy buses which take you from hotel to hotel and also to The Marina village. You can't beat the fun you can have on the slides, lazy river and rapids - our girls are now 18 and 22 and still loved it as much as they did 5 years ago - would we return, no doubt we will again one day. We spent quite a bit of time at The Ocean Club, as quite a few friends were staying there - this hotel is beautiful (I also stayed there in 2010) but completely different to The Cove....it just depends what sort of holiday you want and if you are travelling with children or even older children. Email me if you want to ask anything - always happen to answer the best I can.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a balcony, we also had the side of the hotel where you could watch the sun set.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I just got back from staying at The Cove Atlantis, we were there for five nights and six days, our only complaint was the food was crazy expensive and the walls are a bit thin, but we kept walking across the street from the resort to this shopping center and found food and water to be more reasonably priced, there was this one restaurant over there called "Anthony's", they had the best pizza ever over there!

The staff at The Cove were all super super friendly, we were always greeted with a smile, we never ran into any rude staff there. I know some people say the staff there were unfriendly, however, we discovered that they reflect your own mood and your attitude, so if your unfriendly and not in a happy mood, they will be the same with you. So smile people, your on vacation! :-)

The Cove's rooms amenities had everything any other hotel has, there was a coffee maker, the room service replenished all the creamer and coffee daily, at night the turn day service would drop off four bottles of 'free' Disani water to us, we had the front desk bring up a mini fridge for us to house all the water to keep cool based on another reviewer's post, and the fridge was free of charge as well.

I guess our only other complaint would be thin walls, if the guests next to you are young and rowdy, your going to hear it, we were woken up at 2am by the cast of what sounded like the Jersey Shore, they were drunk and disorderly and we had to call the front desk on them twice to get them to quiet down, but the front desk was prompt in having them silenced.

All in all a great place to visit, if you go into this place knowing they are expensive and nothing is comped or included in your stay and that everything has a 15% gratuity fee added to it, you will have a great time. If you go into this place thinking your going to get a great deal, and looking for anything to be 'all inclusive' or free, go elsewhere, The Cove is what I think to be the higher end of the entire Atlantis resort, so you don't get anything for free here. However, if your not really all that fond of screaming kids running around, definitely stay at The Cove, the kids that were there were very well behaved, the Atlantis side was a ZOO! It was overly crowded, way too many people on that side of the resort, The Cove side was more secluded, more private, a lot quieter, and far more relaxing. But if your looking for a great family vacation, then the Atlantis side is for you, for it seemed like a kid's vacation come true! A lot of happy kids running around that area.

Room Tip: 17th floor and higher have the best room views, ask the front desk for a mini fridge it is free and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is anything but your generic tropical resort.

My boyfriend treated me to 5 nights at the Cove over New Years - my first ever trip to the Bahamas. I was afraid I wouldn't get to experience any authentic Bahamian culture, but I was pleasantly surprised that downtown Nassau and places like the Fish Fry at Arawak Cay were easily accessible by cab if you tired of the resort scene.

I experienced nothing but genuine, warm, welcoming service from check-in to check-out, so I find it hard to believe that others experienced bad service at the Cove. So glad the staff convinced us to check out the New Years Eve Junkanoo parade, which was definitely the highlight of our vacation.

The Cain pool had an expected slightly pretentious atmosphere, but it was fun to sample. If I went back I would definitely like to try out one of their private cabanas though. It's a shame that it closes at 5 p.m. (as do all pools). There may have been hot tubs somewhere on the property, but I didn't notice any.

Be prepared to do a lot of walking to get to other parts of Atlantis (lest you opt for a shuttle). It took me a good few days to finally get the handle of navigating through the resort. The main concourse of the Cove is open-air, so dress accordingly for those "cooler", windy evenings.

As a runner, I felt safe to venture off the property and run around Paradise Island and over the steep bridges. The sand on the beach is perfect first thing in the morning if you prefer a barefoot jog.

Nothing is "perfect". The only draw backs for me were:

- I was expecting less families at the Cove
- Loud neighbors on both sides of our room, slamming doors in the middle of the night. Walls are thin!
- Breakfast options were limited. I can never eat my money's worth at a buffet, and Sea Glass wasn't open for breakfast during the week
- Although they do their best to ventilate, the smell of smoke is evident to a non-smoker - smoke seemed to be coming in from our neighbor's room through the vents
- Meals at many of the restaurants are quite expensive, so be prepared

Despite a handful of drawbacks, we had an amazing time. I hope to go back to Atlantis some day, and would certainly choose the Cove again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days in April 2011. The Cove is definitely the choice if you are travelling without kids as they are not allowed here (at the ppol area). The whole hotel is a bit surreal as nothing is genuine. Everything is very well made and well maintained but as said its artificial. Even the village at the harbour...
Beside that you have plenty of things to do and I am sure it is a great place to stay with kids.
We tried several restaurants and were never disappointed. Breakfast I usually got a starbucks.
The water fan park was great for me when my wife was sleepingin the sunchair.
We also did the dolphin swimming which was an unforgettable experience. (Photos are not allowed so you have to buy their photos which are quite expensive)
The room was huge. We had a big room with two levels, one with the bed and one level with a living area. The bathroom was one of the biggest I have seen with two showers and a bathtub in one big room.
We had a balcony facing the hotel pool area. If I would come again I would ask for the other side as the sunset is on the other side...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Atlantis - Royal Towers
Atlantis - Royal Towers
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 stars 2,599 reviews
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
0.1 mi away
The Reef Atlantis
The Reef Atlantis
#2 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 stars 848 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Atlantis - Beach Tower
Atlantis - Beach Tower
#12 of 14 in Paradise Island
3.5 of 5 stars 2,569 reviews
Beach, Pool, Fr...
Show More
5.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Spa, Beach, Poo...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Atlantis - Coral Towers
Atlantis - Coral Towers
#10 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Atlantis

Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cove Atlantis 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and stylish. Sophisticated and sensual. A place where scene meets scenery and urban chic meets white-sand nature. Inspired by the beauty of its surroundings, The Cove Atlantis thrives on the rhythm of the day.While its exclusive ultra-pool and beach club create a seamless day to night scene, its spectacular ocean views and balmy open-air architecture embrace nature’s most compelling elements creating a seductive and indulgent experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Cove Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Atlantis Hotel Paradise Island
Cove Atlantis Paradise Island
Atlantis Cove
The Cove Atlantis Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove Atlantis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.