We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Casino Drive Paradise Island | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Paradise Island
chitown
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“relaxing fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

we went to relax and it worked. the transportation driver to the resort was very informative. the Riu was right next door to the Atlantis resort Casino Enjoyed walking thru it. if you went after 6 pm. something's were free. ocean and surf were amazing. pool time was great. Entertainment group really worked hard to get people involved. GO JASON AND CREW. Food was good .some better than others. Reservation for specialty dinners left a little to the imagination.
only able to book a percentage of your stay at restaurants. for a five night stay only able to reserve 2 nights. all in all we had a good time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    1,324
    669
    424
    320
See reviews for
677
1,501
65
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Lots of plusses, some negatives. Staff friendly and service good. Check in a breeze. The lobby of the hotel has an intriguing "old world" world feel to it. Rooms were adequate, the view was great. Wish the beds were a bit bigger and more comfortable. Could not open some of the dresser drawers. Location was great. The beach was right there and Atlantis just a 3 minute walk. The buffet had a wide selection. The specialty restaurants were enjoyable. Food was good but not great. Also be sure to make reservations in advance. The activities and shows were fun. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is a great hotel and I thoroughly enjoyed the room, food, wifi and helpful staff. My only complaint was something completely out of their control - the public beach.

While this beach is absolutely beautiful, it is ruined by the following:

1) Locals that constantly harass you for Jet Ski's, Banana Boats, Parasailing, Cuban Cigars, Hair Braiding, etc. There was one local in particular that I found the most infuriating. It was a younger kid who was selling Flutes and Toy Turtle's. Every few minutes he would play this annoying little tune on his flute, as he walked up an down the beach, trying to get peoples attention. By the 7th day, I wanted to strangle him and shove that flute up his you know what.

2) Locals that yell/scream and come to the verge of blows with others. This happened several times, locals getting angry at other locals who undersold them for a service, or at tourists who used another local for a service. They yell at the top of their lungs with no concern that there are children around.

3) The very noticeable and strong smell of gasoline from all the water craft on the beach. This is a very busy beach.

These 3 things combined made it absolutely IMPOSSIBLE to rest/catch a nap on the beach. There was always something to wake you up, be it a yell, a flute, or a smell.

Again, this is completely out of the RIU's control, but be aware these are very real problems. If you are like me and enjoy resting on the beach with peace and quiet, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Paradise island in Bahamas is shared by the Atlantis resort and the Riu Palace, although you could barely called this Riu a palace. It is more like the forgotten guest house to the palace. Last year I stayed at the Riu Palace in Aruba (beautiful hotel), so the downgrade to this measly hut was a quite a shock.

1) They don't own the beach unlike most part of the Atlantis, and thus there's 10-20 locals harassing you to rent their jet skis every time they see you stand up or come down to the beach.

2) The food is terrible, there is almost no selection if you wish to eat anything other than pizza or burgers. And when they do decide to add something to the menu it is extremely over cooked, eg: the tuna, chicken, etc resembled an old shoe sole.

3) The room service is inedible, no comments...

4) There were water leaks on the roof falling right outside the dinning hall.

5) The gym is extremely under equipped. There's no weights, only one of those crappy multipurpose weight machines and a few running machines.

6) Wifi signal is weak in the rooms and it pretty much forces you to use your devices downstairs.

Not only that, but one day the power went out and the entire hotel became an oven because of the lack of AC and the fact that their generators weren't powerful enough to cool the hotel down. Plus housekeeping threw my perfectly good socks to the trash because I had them hanged on the rim of an empty trash can which I moved specifically to dry clothes.

A series of unfortunate events plus a mediocre service made my holiday unbearable.

Room Tip: All rooms on the east side face the 2 huge AC units so the noise becomes unbearable when you open th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hello everyone, just came back from my 7-days vacation during which stayed in RIU all inclusive hotel. If care, please see my opinion about the place below:
1). Accommodation - nice room with ocean view on 8th floor. It had 2 double beds pushed together, 2 night stands, 2 comfy chairs with breakfast table, and 1 large dresser. All of dark wood. The bathroom is large too. The balcony is small but it felt all right for us. Practically, the room is as you see on the hotel website picture. However, the room is carpeted, and it feels dump and smells moisture and mold.
2). Alcohol in the room - simple but fair quality. Vodka, gin, rum, and brandy. On 1st day we had nicer cognac which we liked. However, when it was gone, it was replaced with much cheaper brandy. The room bar is replaced daily with beer, soda and plenty of water.
3). Food - not impressive. Breakfast is all right with all standard choices (fruits, cereal, omelets, etc.). Lunch was boring with limited choices (basic salad, pizza, burgers, and some fruits). Dinner was better with more choice. Its menu changes on a daily basis which helps. There are 4 on-site restaurants. We went to french and steak house. French was good. Would not recommend steak house.
4). Swimming pool - ok. It has a swim bar with drinks rather weak. Developing the connection with bar attenders would help in getting testier drinks. The pool felt like the party one during a spring break.
5). The beach - the ocean is amazing. The waters are freshly warm (not too hot and not too cold). The sand is white and not hot (easy to walk with bare feet). However, the cleanses of the beach is not to my standards. Tons of empty cups, drinking straws and other garbage. The hotel tries to clean on a daily basis, but the huge amount beach goers are really make the difference.
6). Public beach access - right by the hotel beach. The tours bring people from the ship cruises on a daily basis. And, they could bring up to 1,000 additional people to the beach.
7). Hotel location - close to Atlantis (2 mins) where you could go for free after 6 pm. Or, take a taxi and go to Nassau. Taxi is $30.00 round trip.

Have fun on your vacation!

Room Tip: Go to higher floors with rooms towards ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Food, staff, room, hotel in general were great! Food at buffet was excellent and lots to choose from! Went to the steak restaurant and had the rib eye...was one of the most tender and best steaks I have had! Servers were always very friendly! Have no complaints about this hotel at all! Our room very clean

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Food, staff, room, hotel in general were great! Food at buffet was excellent and lots to choose from! Went to the steak restaurant and had the rib eye...was one of the most tender and best steaks I have had! Servers were always very friendly! Have no complaints about this hotel at all! Our room was spotless..had plenty of towels and stocked fridge! Atlantis is right outside the Riu...if you want to go to the casino or shops! The Digs is free...something cool to see! Atlantis is HUGE!!!! We didnt do the water parks or anything there but did go to the casino which was fun! We also swam with the sea lions! It was $110 per person and was totally worth every penny!! You take a boat to Blue Lagoon Island which takes about 1/2 hour....The sea lions are adorable...you get to hug them and kiss them...feed them...they do tricks right in front of you...the trainer explains all about them...all together you are there for at least 2 hours! They take a video and pictures which you can purchase....video was $60 and pictures were $12...which is very reasonable for an attraction! They have ferries going back every couple hours....but there is a beautiful beach there you can relax at till you want to leave. They also have food and drinks and stuff for the kids to play on for a fee! Food there was not expensive!

The beach is awesome....you do have to pay $25 fior an umbrella if you want one at the beach but we had no problem getting chairs and an umbrella at the pool every day...we went at around 9 am! The pool is small but you also have a huge ocean to swim at so pool size was not an issue! Swim up bar at the pool also! Plenty of sun....or shade you can find at any time of day!!!

Some people will find anything to complain about....yes there might be some paint chipping off the walls somewhere...but when I go on a holiday I am not inspecting the ceiling or walls! Go relax and enjoy the beautiful views and the wonderful ocean and all the other things the Riu has to offer!!! The place is very clean....dont let any bad reviews stop you from going here! Would recommend this place in a heartbeat!!!

Also FREE wifi at Riu...which we had great reception ....at Atlantis they charge $21 a day!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Address: Casino Drive Paradise Island | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.