We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Staff! Perfect vacation!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Casino Drive Paradise Island | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Paradise Island
Vinton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Staff! Perfect vacation!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This place is gorgeous! Clean rooms, beautiful beach, perfect everything! The staff is amazing too. From check in to check out, perfect vacation destination. Deangelo is an incredible bartender, but so were allthe others! The restaurant workers were incredible. The food at the buffet is great!Our houskeeper was Sandra, she is amazing too! The nightly entertainment was fun as well. Highly recommend staying at RIU!! We will definitely be back!! Thanks for a great vacation!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    1,324
    669
    424
    320
See reviews for
677
1,501
65
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We paid $75 each for a day pass at Riu on Paradise Island during a 4 day cruise and it was great. We were aboard RC Adventure of the Seas in Nassau on Saturday ( 4-12-2014) and wanted a nice beach and pool to hang out- no interest in shopping. Riu had easy fast check-in with a nice place to change off the lobby. The pool and buffet food were also right off the lobby too with plenty of poolside chairs all morning on a large patio overlooking the beautiful beach. You could leave your chairs and walk down to the beach and swim, then come back up (20steps) wash off in a shower at the top of the steps. Bar was poolside and server also would bring drinks to you at your lounge chair poolside. Food was very good -breakfast till 11:30, then lunch starting at noon-grilled fish, lots of choices, right next to pool in big,nice dining room with wait staff. Good location only a 10 minute, mostly inside (Beach Towers Hotel lobby next door) walk to casino at paradise resort. Definitely would do this again in future and arrive earlier-we got there about 10 am. Relaxing, nice people, generous with drinks. Sally from Michigan

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Went to the Rio 4/8/14 for a 5 day vacation.The check-in was fast and friendly.The room was clean,plenty of fresh towels,well stocked mini bar daily & great view of the ocean.All of the Rio personal where fast to wait on us anh very friendly.Drinks were awesome at all bars.Food at the buffet was excellent for all meals as was the "gourmet" restaurants.Would recoment this hotel highly.
Steve from Billerica,MA

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We arrived 3PM at Riu Palace and was met with friendly smiles from staff and was waited on immediately at the front desk, and gave us plenty of information about the area. They gave us room 223 which was really nice, the bathroom had tile everywhere and had two sinks with lots of counter space. The shower had plenty of water pressure and plenty of hot water. Our beds were very comfortable and our view from the balcony was the pool and ocean. Our maid kept our room very clean and our fridge full with water, soda and couple different types of beers. The food was very good with a lot variety and was nice to get food at 4pm at a restaurant off the pool just to hold us until evening meal. The waiters were friendly and with a sense of humor in the buffet and stayed on top of things and remember our drinks from the day before. The drinks at the bars were just fine and bartenders were handling the amount of people at the bar. The pool chairs are plenty and also on the beach, but the water was a little rough getting in some days. The Comfort Suites is right next door, you can walk thru there lobby to Atlantis Resort which has great casino and they have a place call the Digs where there is a lot of marine aquariums which is free after 6PM. It's worth your while to see Atlantis Resort while your at Riu Palace.

Room Tip: If you get a room on 2nd floor you want to be in a room 221or higher or the lower roof blocks the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We visited this resort the 1st week of April - weather was perfect = sunny and warm every day.
Room:
Check-in was as quick as it could be - I think it was about 10 minutes, if that, from the time we walked into the hotel until we were walking into our room.We had a very nice room on the 2nd floor - our view was awesome =pool and beach view. Our room was cleaned everyday while we were out at the pool/beach... the bed was so comfortable.
Staff:
Everyone we passed smiled, they were very friendly and did what they could to make your stay nice. We seriously never encountered a rude staff member.
Food - Drinks:
We only ate at the buffet because that is what we like to do.. different theme each night and food was delicious.. plenty of choices.. we usually wanted a snack about 4 every afternoon and from the pool area you could go into the buffet area and get pizza, hotdogs, hamburgers etc and bring it back out to the pool. Also my husband loved their ice cream. Drinks were good and bartenders were nice.. I enjoyed mai-tais and chocolate martinis - hubby enjoyed red wine and pina coladas.
Pool/ Beach:
Never a problem getting a chair at either pool or beach.. pool water was cold but sun was hot so it wasn't unbearable. The surf was rough though - 2 days we were there you weren't allowed in the ocean but the beach was still available and enjoyable.. the other days swimming was allowed but it was still to rough for me - I couldn't get in but hubby did and he enjoyed it.
At night we walked over to the Atlantis, a 1 minute walk from the lobby to the lobby of Comfort Suites and then through the building - nice shops, arcade, and the Aquarium called The Dig - so awesome and after 6 its free to walk through.. also a nice Casino is in the Atlantis.
All in all we had a really nice vacation and are so glad we stayed at Riu Palace.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ont. Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

left on April 3 - flight was smooth - breakfast provided was not great- seat comfortable - upon arrival got baggage out quickly and on to the bus quickly for smooth ride to hotel - but check in wait was very long - and were told to leave luggage in a large room in the lobby and await keys for around 3 PM - we asked at 1.30 for keys but got the keys around after 2 PM - rooms were quite large and good view of beach from balcony - but two double beds were squeaky - service to clean was excellent and bathroom excellent and great free wifi - and plenty of free drinks and a free safe - a sink was making some gurgling sounds but we did not bother to have any one fix it as water was flowing through. We had two relatives who checked in another room and they had real problems with sink and it took the hotel almost a day to fix - they were given an option to move to another room but having taken out all their clothes etc. from baggage had no inclination to move. whenever there is any problem the management responds quickly - Sunwing rep was also very helpful. Large lobby and plenty of food daily - only two days for lunch and another time for dinner found some lamb hard and chicken strips hard - told the restaurant chef who listened and said they would correct the problem - as for entertainment in the evening - it lacks compared to other all inclusive we have been to in other islands - but it was acceptable - beach was a little rough for 2 days - and then it became quite clear and blue and calm - we were to leave on Thu april 10th - it did rain on Wed and so no swimming in beach and even the swimming pool area was closed off for much of the day. Staff is friendly - and like every other all inclusive we have been to we make sure to tip $2 here and there be it for breakfast ,lunch and dinner and we get great service from staff. Personally this hotel offers very good value for the money except for a few small problems that may crop up. what makes it also a great location is how close it is to the expensive Atlantis which is walking distance and so we would go to the casino there in the evening. we also liked the fact that we did not encounter any flies or mosquitoes. The rinsing facilities after having been to the beach are poorly located. I mentioned to the manager who said that they would be revising that in the near future. Also the hotel does not provide any beach umbrellas - it is a public beach and there are those who rent umbrella for $25 for the day - which is silly - so we did without any. This is the first resort we have been to where we faced this - all other resorts in places such as aruba.antigua,st.marten we got free umbrellas on the beach. The departure from hotel to airport provided by our operator sunwing went well and so also the check in - it helps a lot to pay for elite package - paid $50 and got front seats and also express check in - they have one for $50 and another one for $100 - we opted for the $50 - you can check out the differences with sunwing - as for return smooth flight and comfortable seats but lunch was poor quality - some pizza in a box that you couldn't chew.
we are glad we went to Bahamas - we do not like to repeat the same destination. The other islands we have been to offered clear blue waters and better entertainment and much more to see and do but had to put up with flies, birds and mosquitoes - unlike Bahamas. You can decide. Riu is not as bad as some of the reviews I had read before booking the trip through Itravel2000.

Room Tip: 9th to 12th floor if selecting Jr.Suite Superior Oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We visited the resort on April 7,2014. We just visited for the day while our cruise ship was docked in Nassau. The resort was beautiful and the food was very good especially breakfast. I did like the pool and the beach, we enjoyed ourselves. But I felt for the price it wasn't worth it. We got all the food and drinks we wanted but my husband and I didn't drink or eat $150 worth. There really wasn't much activities included in with the day pass. I probably wouldn't do it again for us it wasn't worth it but it was a nice resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Address: Casino Drive Paradise Island | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.