We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant! Visited 3/9-3/14/14” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Casino Drive Paradise Island | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Paradise Island
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very pleasant! Visited 3/9-3/14/14”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

1. Rooms were nice and clean. Great view of ocean. We stayed on 4th floor.
2. Staff was very friendly.
3. Food was better than most all-inclusive resorts I have stayed in...even better than RIU properties in other countries.
4. We could not get in to room until 4pm because it was not cleaned (3 is check-in time)...I didn't complain at all as my adult children had a room that was ready. For our inconvenience, they sent a suprise bottle of champagne to our room the next day. Nice touch RIU.
5. Beach was beautiful and clean.
6. Shower water always hot which I find is not always the case at other hotels!
7. Ferry boat ride to city was fun.
8. Took taxi to and from airport. 4 people, $45.
9. Bedding soft, beds comfortable.
10. Drinks typical all-inclusive beach drinks.
11. Clean pool!

All in all, my husband, my 24 year old and my 22 year old all had a great vacation!

Room Tip: 428 had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    1,324
    669
    424
    319
See reviews for
676
1,500
65
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (793)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I have stayed at couple of Riu resorts before in Mexico. So decided to book Riu as our getaway in the Bahams... I honestly would not reccomend this place..

-Service wasn't really good.. nobody really smiles here ...
- Phones weren't working, so we could not order any room service or for that matter call the front desk to ask any questins
- We were put on the 15th floor and only one of the 3 elevators goes to the top floor so the wait for the one right elevator was quite long
- Safe in the room wasn't working- we had to call it to get it fix
- there was some sort of weird problem with the water, the pressure would change and so did temperature.. from warm to super hot ( to the point that I almost got burned) to freezing cold.. at one point there was no water for few minutes, while I was in the shower with whole bunch soap on me and shampoo in the hair..
- Other hotel guests also complained about water and about not having HOT water at all..

I understand that any hotel can have one problem here or there but this was just way too much.. you definately do not want to be dealing with thos issues and so many issues when you are going to relax ...it was such a hassle. ..

The food.. was just okay.. was not really impressed with the quality of food and selection... the buffet was just okay.. RIU PALACE RIVIERA MAYA IN PLAYA DEL CARMEN MEXICO- is a way better choice .. buffet there and everything else is close to excellent.

My husband did talk to the hotel manager of all of our issues and he DID NOTHING for us.. we don't expect I don't know what but at least something for al those problems. His attitude was basically .. " that's too bad, deal with it" that is sucha bad costumer service ...you do not treat your guest that way... we paid money for all of it .. including the room service but were not able to use it.. same with a crazy water situation....

Another thing, us being from Canada, we like to tip, we run out our money and wanted to take soome out from the ATM ( they don't have one in the hotel, the closest one is in the Atlantis - 10-15 minue walk) ... when we asked manager how we can take the money to tip he basically told us that we didn't need to do that as the tips are included ( we both know that they are but is nice to reward hard working people ) he totally discouraged tipping.. so we didn't at the end ..

BOOK somewhere else..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The hotel was not something to get excited about. We stayed at Riu Cobo and it was 5 times nicer. The food was ok nothing special. The hotel really is showing its age it needs a lot of updating, thing were really old and a lot of things did not work or you could see how they just tried to hide things. We got their a couple of hours early so they said our rooms were not ready, but they gave us our bands and said go have fun until 3:00 when they would be ready. They held our bags and off drinking and eating we went (Good Start). My room was ready at 3:00 and our friends were not until 4:00. The first thing in the room it had aunts and they had to come and spray, we never another. For some reason they would not leave coffee for the machine in the room we had to call and have some delivered ever day witch they did bring it right up. The water, pop and beer were refilled every day. We didn't like the idea that most of the rooms were bragging about how nice it was to have Miller Light in the room and when we asked and were told they had ran out days ago but yet for a week every one else was getting restocked daily with it, and trust me 3 of the people I was with asked quite often because that’s all they drink.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The staff for this resort was great. They are the most polite and courtesy staff I have ever seen. The food for the buffet is average for a buffet. They have specialty restaurants that you have to put reservations in every morning I think at 8 a.m.. The first morning I tried to put in a reservation but they were all full. So the first two nights we had to eat at the buffet. When you put the reservations it is first come first serve. You are allowed two put in for two nights each time. All of the other guest I talked to complained about this system. The resort should try something else this is a very inefficient system. Since this is all inclusive resort it was nice to see they serve some higher end booze. The grounds were very clean and well maintained. The room was clean. I would go back to this resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just got back from the Riu. Very, very disappointed. Should have paid closer attention to some prior reviews as they were dead on. Staff was friendly and courteous, however the Hotel itself lacked a lot of things. For the duration of our 5 day trip we had no hot water in our room. Water was luke warm at best. Sink water was sometimes brown, we would have to run it for ten minutes or so to get clear water. Hotel is outdated, small rooms, only one pool...Beach is very very nice but that is about it. Steak House is a joke...would not recommend eating there....room service menu is also a joke...maybe 5 items or so and the portions are tiny. Food in main room was good on the first day and then it went down hill from there.
Been to many resorts over the past few years and this was by far the biggest disappointment. Safe to say I will never be staying at another Riu again. On a good note, the Atlantis is just next door. We spent the better part of two full days there. Although it is indeed very expensive, I think it is worth staying there. Place is beautiful and there are a thousand different things to do.
My honest opinion would be to spend a little extra and book elsewhere.

Room Tip: we requested the best possible rooms they could give us as my wife is 7 months pregnant and is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

we stayed for 3 days
room was clean
did laps at 8am - pool was very well looked after despite high winds early in the morning
restaurant sign up starts at 8 and is not very well organized but, you can sign up for more than one night and if the table has not been picked up within 15 minutes, you can ask the maitre d' if they have a table available. We had an excellent dinner at the Fusion restaurant and a good dinner at the Gourmet restaurant. The buffet is good, breakfast is standard omelette station, bread station, cereal station etc. I enjoyed the fresh juices in the morning. Would have loved to see more exotic fruits at meal times. Pastries, croissants were ok. They make an effort and try to have a different theme every night, they had Mexican, Caribbean, Italian etc. We chose tables by the windows and the view was beautiful. You need to pay for an umbrella on the beach which we weren't used to. We did a lot of walking. Just down the street, there a neat little area where they have turtles and birds. We walked to The Cloiisters and Versailles Gardens(across the street) absolutely beautiful, free and if you walk through the gardens and the One & Only Club you pop out on the beach very close to the Riu. We walked to the ferry. Cost was $8 for a round trip and we had an awesome tour guide on the way there, informational and funny. The ferry lands where the cruise boats are anchored and it's a very short walk to the main street. There is a neat straw market with local crafts and an ATM machine. Found the people very pleasant. We also walked to the Atlantis "shopping lane", and from there keep walking through the Casino and down the stairs to The Dig where they have beautiful aquariums. We went outside from there to see the Mayan temple and the sharks. We made our way back and walked inside to check things out and found the Atlantis theater where a movie was playing (about an hour into it) and we could have just sat down and watched. We kept on walking and eventually popped our right across the street from the Riu. There is no charge for any of this. It was also different for us since this is a hotel not a resort so you dont get to walk around beautifully groomed areas. Yes check in is at 3 but they store your luggage and you have access to food and towels etc. We had a late check out and again same scenario.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My fiancee and I traveled to the Bahamas in July 2013. We love to travel to the Caribbean and we always book all-inclusive resorts. Since the moment we arrived to the RIU hotel, we were greeted with warm towels and a drink (my kind of hotel). We immediately went to the front desk to check-in. Our room was ready, the bellhop took our luggage upstairs. Spacious corridors with rooms on both sides; our room was on the 9th floor! We unpacked quickly and went downstairs to the pool area where we enjoyed some caribbean libations until the pool bar closed at 7pm. We met a couple who were from New Jersey, who had arrived the day prior with their two children. The hotel grounds were extremly clean, the staff extremely friendly and made us feel as though we were home. Plus, RIU is next door to the famed Atlantis Resort. I will recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling to the Bahamas. It's a great place to vacation!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Address: Casino Drive Paradise Island | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.