We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please Read Prior To Booking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Casino Drive Paradise Island | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Paradise Island
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Please Read Prior To Booking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I usually don't believe the negative reviews posted on here because you get a lot of cry babies who expect 5 stars for 1 star prices, with that being said he's the honest truth about the RIU. When we first arrived at the Hotel we were not welcomed with a drink which i found weird because every other all inclusive I've stayed at always welcomed you. Come to find out they forgot to do it for us which i thought sucked. The food when we got there i found very good (4.7 out of 5) but as the days went on i started to realize the same king of stuff was served everyday. The rooms A/C unit is pretty weird and doesn't cool at all and leaves a weir muggy smell. The Fridge in the room is pretty good and file with good stuff like Coke and Sprite along with miller light and seltzer water . The liquor dispenser in the room is pretty good to although its cheap liquor vein dispensed. The hotel was rather small compared to all the others I've been to so with that being said you can imagine the pool was TINY. The beach is public so its pretty dirty at times but the water is a blue green I've never seen. You don't even have to pay to be able to say you swam with schools of fishes rays etc. The Jacuzzi didn't work and was being " Repaired" the entire week which sucked cuz if you go over there on a rainy day there isn't much to do. The hotel makes you pay to play pool arcades etc. The worst thing was having to wake up at 7 AM to make reservations because they book them daily which sucks!! if you get there at 830 you might as well go back upstairs and sleep in and enjoy the buffet. The food at the restaurants was 3.5 at best so you aren't missing much. I found some of the workers had nasty attitudes and hated there job which made it awkward for me as a patron. The bartenders are awesome and they have SO/SO liquor available you just have to ask for it. I took a cab to the town (11 Bucks) but you can take a hike and pay for the 4 dollar a way ferry which gives you a beautiful view. Everything in Nassau PERIOD is expensive so just be prepared to shed out some money. The Atlantis is to die for they have everything you need a HUGE water park Beautiful aquarium which AFTER 6 BTW is free so don't get caught booking a trip that could be free. I recommend doing the Atlantis water park for a day but since they charge you 125 per person your better off booking a room to save on the cash of course depending what rate you get and how may folks you guys got.

Room Tip: choose an Odd numbered room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    1,311
    666
    422
    318
See reviews for
671
1,483
65
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Can EH Ont.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have stayed in Bahamas 3 times before .... This was the first time I stayed on the island ... The staff at Riu were the best had a great time there ... The hotel is well keep up the only thing that bugged me was the constant voices of dresses or hats or boat rides jet ski you get the point because there is only so many hotels on the island one walks by and another is right behind .... You never get a break unless you go to the pool ... But most of us are there to see the ocean ... I wish the hotel could control that a little better .... But the rest of the trip was fantastic

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Riu for a dive trip Thurs-Sun and this was our second annual. I have to say the food was better this year than last year. Service was good everywhere in the hotel and we even got sandwiches and fruit to take for our all day dive trip. Yes the hotel is a bit aged and the beach can have a rough surf so not great for little ones, but for a dive trip we could not do better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Usually when I stay at a hotel, I choose ones where the positive reviews outweigh the negatives a greater degree that this one does. We were not disappointed. The rooms were clean and free of mold. The cleaning staff would put the AC on full blast each time they clean the room. My guess is that this was intended to prevent mold from growing, so I didn’t complain. I just turned it off at night and the room would remain chilled through the entire night.
Buffet had a very large selection of food each night. Most of it isn’t he healthiest for you, so be prepared to gain weight. The staff was very helpful. The beach was beautiful.

Biggest complaint is having to make reservations up to two days in advanced in order to get into the non-buffet restaurants. We only got to try the Japanese restaurant, and I was not impressed.

Most people don’t realize that a 4 star hotel in Cancun, Mexico gets you a lot more luxury than most place else, including Bahamas. So if you stayed at Riu in Cancun and loved it, you will likely be disappointed in Riu Paradise Island. If you want the best value for your money in Bahamas, then this is the place. Atlantis is not all-inclusive, and the price of food is really high.

Room Tip: All rooms have a few of the ocean, but a few are actual ocean front room. If you are not doing ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Prior to booking, I was somewhat baffled at the real split of very high and very low scores. After staying here, my four star is really a 3.5.
Rooms: It is true that rooms are on the small side, odd numbered rooms face away from Atlantis and have a very nice view, but two large air conditioner units sit on the roof of the first floor restaurant area and are very noisy 24 hours a day. The room appeared to have been somewhat recently renovated.
Pool: The pool is very small for a hotel of this size. I saw a number of posts reporting it as dirty, and it is true that by the end of the day the water was a little cloudy, but there was constantly someone tending to it.
Beach: Hotel is on a long stretch of sandy beach. However, for our entire stay they had red flags and would not permit anyone in the water. At times is was rather rough and this was probably warranted, but at other times it seems it should have been lowered to yellow, as the Atlantis beach not far away did not have these constant restrictions.
Location: It is right next to Atlantis. In fact the wall along the pool is a wall between the RIU and Atlantis. That being said, you can walk for a very long time and only be partway into Atlantis’ property, as it is huge.
Food: Tried the Japanese restaurant (good), and the steakhouse (very good), along with the buffet. The buffet always had a huge assortment, so people saying they couldn’t find anything must be incredibly picky. One night the buffet even had lobster tails out.
Service: Overall the staff is quite friendly and generally greets you with a pleasant smile. On the other hand, if you should have a problem, don’t expect any hasty resolution. One day our room didn’t get serviced despite the fact we were out all day and did not have any do not disturb tags displayed. I don’t believe I’ve ever had that happen before. After two trips to the front desk we were able to get towels, and an assurance that we would be first on the list for the next day. It was cleaned at 3:00 the next afternoon. Maybe that was first on the list because other days it was more like 5:00.
Overall it met or exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

May appears to be a great time of year to visit. Good weather and not too busy.

If considering junior ocean view suite, upgrade to regular ocean view suite. Junior suites are corner suites and the view from inside the room is obscured by structural columns inside room.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed at the Rui Palace in October for a girls weekend (Fri-Mon). There were 11 of us and together we had a wonderful time. Here are a few details:

Staff: Friendly and nice. Especially LaShon who we gave a difficult time to because he kept trying to put away our beach chairs. By the end of the trip, LaShon was part of our group! :-) #Lashonyourock

Drinks: Wonderful! Order the Superman - AMAZING!

Room: Very small, we asked for 2 double beds but when we checked in we had really a king bed (2 beds pushed together). The third person in our room had to sleep on a cot.

View: On the 2nd floor and we had a view of the rooftop and a corner of the ocean. Balcony was very small too.

Pool: Only 1!!! Clean but much smaller than pictures showed. The pool bar was nice and the pool did get crowded. Worst part though, it was only open from 8am - 6pm!!

Beach: Sand was nice, water was beautiful though one steep into it and you were over your head. By the end of the day, there was lots of trash leftover. Since it's public, there were many people soliciting. The worst part though was the group of men that hung out by the steps selling the booze cruise and smoking weed. Also, the RIU staff members told us that at 5:55pm, they would take the beach lounge chairs. We had a small friendly protest with the staff member (LaShon).

Food: Buffet food was decent and the theme changed each day. Disappointed that there was not an area that had snacks, drinks, etc. It was really buffet of nothing else. Also disappointed that the steakhouse was closed on Sunday. We also could only get one reservation for the Gourmet restaurant at 9:00pm (out of 4 days!) Crazy! The sports bar was always open, however, again, the only snack they had was nachos and they were gross!

Entertainment: The only thing I can say to this is: "What entertainment?" One day they had water aerobics in the pool. Each night they had someone singing in the bar and one night they had a person playing music from a computer. Horrible.

The worst part of the resort: The free WiFi. If you are like me, and can't live without your smartphone, don't bother going to this resort. We could not use our 4G because of costs, and the free wifi was horrible. It only worked in one spot in the lobby!!! Every other time it was searching for it. Absolutely horrible.

I have never seen a resort shut down so early in my life. The pool, pool bar, beach all closed at 6pm. The inside bar, entertainment, and all restaurants, and stores closed at midnight. It was very eerie.

Do NOT use majestic shuttle/bus service for transportation. They were absolutely horrible and rude.

If you're looking for snorkeling, look at my review for Stuart Cove. They were FABULOUS and the best part of my trip.

If you are going to the Bahamas for alcoholic beverages, laying on the beach, swimming, and early nights, stay at the RIU Palace. If you are looking for lots of entertainment and fun, pay the price and go to Atlantis.

If you are a parent, PLEASE do not take your kids here. I have three kids under 10 and they would have HATED it. No children's program, no activities, no water slide. Plus all adults (including myself) were smoking, drinking, and cussing. Not a place for children.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Address: Casino Drive Paradise Island | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.