We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-priced and accommodating - definitely worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Casino Drive Paradise Island | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Fall Getaway
Ranked #13 of 14 hotels in Paradise Island
Brooklyn
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Well-priced and accommodating - definitely worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were skeptical of this place at first because it was an all-inclusive but it turned out to be wonderful. The rooms were good - nothing amazing but each had a balcony where you can sit and relax which was very nice. The rooms were clean and we were well taken care of. The staff were friendly and the beach wasn't wide but long enough. The food was much better than expected and they had a nice variety of restaurants to choose from (frankly, thought it was better than the Sandals in St. Lucia). It was very relaxing and nice to know that everything was included and if you wanted to relax on the beach and pop up to the pool bar for a drink you didn't have to worry about cash, paying for it, credit cards, etc. and have (and try) as many as you want. Compared to that, the Atlantis is astronomically expensive. We went for a "day trip" to the Atlantis and $8 for a bottle of water? And it was super crowded. Sure, Atlantis was fun and you meet a lot of new people but it's like being in Vegas. Not necessarily for relaxation. And, if you really wanted the Atlantis experience since the Riu is right next door (literally, it's around the driveway corner) it made more sense to us to get the all-inclusive service at the Riu and at night just hop over to the Atlantis for the club, bar or just a day trip. Overall, this place was really nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,054 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    669
    1,149
    571
    374
    291
See reviews for
579
1280
59
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel was small but clean. The staff were helpful and friendly. The pool was also quite small and not enough lounge chairs. The food was good. The hotel itself is older and the property small. But everything was very clean. The beach was amazing.

Room Tip: If your room happens to be on the 15th floor, ask to change. There is only 1 elevator that goes to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just back from four days at Riu Palace, Paradise Island. Feels so good to finally get the wrist band off.
first, be prepared for 40 dollar taxi ride from airport (45 mins) Property is surprising small and a tad old. Doesn't help being next to deluxe Atlantis. Staff very friendly, but not especially attentive or informative. Dinner reservation process sucks. Get in line at 8am for one of two seatings at four separate restaurants. Our experience was once we got to the front of the line only two restaurants were available. I've had better sushi from Safeway supermarket, but steakhouse was decent. The fall back place was the buffet which was not bad, but got old after a few meals. coudn't do this for a week but 3 to 4 days id ok.
recommend getting a room on the west side of the hotel. Although most rooms have ocean view, the east side has loud generators whirling 24/7 so had to keep doors closed. Fridges were not particularly cold so beer was not really cold in room. shower has variable water temperatures depending on who else was using water at the time. bed was comfy, but air conditioner was uneven. Room service is nothing like a regular hotel, but ok given all inclusive. Room smelled a bit musty, but maid service good and nice decor.
Only 3 elevators so sometimes a bit slow.
Pool, small but clean. deck chairs plentiful, no need to reserve chairs. Bar service good and view of ocean spectacular. Beach is great, water fantastic. lots of annoying locals trying to get you to rent jet skis.
The best thing about Riu is that its right next door to the Atlantis. We gambled at their casino and wandered thrughout their amazing grounds. After 6pm we found that one could check out the entire property without paying. We experienced their aquarium for free as well as hammerhead shark exhibit. Although food was expensive at Atlantis (saw chicken chowmein on a menu for $27!!) since we are not big drinkers or eaters, we would have been better off staying at Atlantis.
everyone from the Riu goes there every night as the entertainment at the Riu was weak.
On o positive note, we met some great canadians here

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are preferable as no generator noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Bottom line: DON'T USE KAYAK/EXPEDIA and don't expect any help from this hotel is you do. We stayed here 6-10 Feb. I booked this through Kayak/Expedia for $339/night which appeared to be a good value. What we didn't realize, the booking quote was for 1 person (not sure how this happen, the app/site defaults to 2) & when we discovered this upon our arrival, the hotel was unhelpful and would only offer to add a person for an additional $233/night for a total of $572/night for 2 people. Contacted Expedia customer service to determine options for changing the booking. After a $40 cell phone call (because there were no other phones at the hotel) Expedia told me they couldn't do anything, even though I later discovered I could have booked the 2 person rate on their site for the same days, same room, 2 people for $411/night. Unfortunately we were stuck, in the lobby with our bags so I decided to pay the additional fee rather than delay our vacation any longer. This place wasn't worth what we paid. A couple can easily eat & drink on Paradise Island for less than $330/day (comparing to the Atlantis rate which for these days was $240/night without food/drink but including use of Atlantis facilities, which cost $125/person/day if you are not staying there). I was fully willing to pay the $411 rate (the rate the Riu was offering on Kayak/Expedia that day) but the hotel would not offer this to us even after discussing it with the manager. In retrospect I should have cancelled, taken the 1 night Expedia penalty and stayed at Atlantis. This hotel is ok, the maid, restaurant and bar servers are very friendly. The food is decent but it's a bit of a pain to get in the restaurants, other than the buffet, as you have to make reservations between 8 and 9 AM and can only do it for that evening (often already sold out) and the next night, and only for 2 seating times 6:30 and 9:00. We noticed several empty tables in those restaurants even though there we telling people they were all booked for the night. Additionally, after returning to our room after breakfast one morning, our room had been left propped open by the maid with no maid in the area. Based on our experience, I simple can't recommend you stay here or any Riu property (according to the manager this was handled according to company policy and there was nothing he could or would do to assist us). I am frequent traveler and have visited numerous countries around the world but this was my first visit the Bahamas and unfortunately it was tainted by Riu and Expedia, neither of which I intend on ever using again.

Room Tip: Other than ocean front, the way the hotel is designed any room with an ocean view appears to have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Overall, the hotel is okay but is worth the money for an all inclusive hotel in the Bahamas

PROS: staff is friendly, buffet had a good selection of food, Japanese restaurant was good, room service is speedy, room and bathroom is clean,has actual brand name liquors, beer is good, beach is spectacular

CONS: Old hotel, the rooms have carpet(smells funky), rooms are a bit small, views aren't the best but you do get to see the ocean, pool is wayyyy toooo small, around 10pm the hotel seems to die because everyone goes next door to the Atlantis

The hotel could use some upgrades but I still had a wonderful time! But January isn't the best time to go, it was very windy while I was there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judith_p16
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My hubby and I stayed at the Riu Paradise Island for 5 night during our christmas holiday.. and we loved it! The location is perfect! We got a room on the 8th floor with a great view! The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was large and clean. I loved that there was a digital safe in the room which we could set up with our own code… The only thing that didn’t work well in the room was the tv, but who needs a tv when you are in the Bahamas? There’s free wifi at the hotel, but it is really terrible, extremely slow…
The staff was awesome…friendly, great service! The food was delicious and the alcohol/drinks were great, good quality stuff! We weren’t able to try out the Japanese restaurant at the resort, but we did go to Sir Alexander and Krystal.. good food at both restaurants...
The two things I didn’t like: 1) the Jet Ski people on the beach (who are independent from the hotel) but are constantly approaching you to convince you to jet ski… and there’s so many of them!! 2) no entertainment at the resort… yes, Atlantis is beside the Riu but Atlantis is huge and we really didn’t feel like walking around so much… the Casino at Atlantis is a rip-off…
All in all though, it was a great relaxing stress free vacation! We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from Feb 3-10 (11th) with flight delay! We went for a friends wedding which was beautiful!
We were very nervous after reading all the negative reviews but for the most part our experience was very positive.
We checked in at a horrible hour as our flight with Sunwing was delayed 4 hours ( which is another review..not impressed with them) we checked in at 2am smoothly. Our room was on the 4th floor overlooking the ocean. We were happy with the rooms, fairly modern, clean, everything was in working order, mini bar was always stocked!
FOOD - Was awesome! My only complaint would be on the reservation system for the restaurants. You need to be downstairs by 730am to get in a line up to reserve the the next evening! They also offer 24hr room service that came in handy.

WIFI-Is free and worked fine for us, mind you a few people in our group said theirs kept going on and off.

Beach was beautiful, a little rough most days, to rough for me to swim in it! The pool was clean and their was always lounge chairs available, no need to put your towels on them early to save a chair.

Entertainment kinda on the lame side, we spent most of our evenings at Atlantis touring the grounds! The Marina Village was beautiful, and the shopping was pretty good.

I would definitely visit the Bahamas again and stay here!
My only recommendation would be that it is not really a kid friendly resort, not much for them to do!

Room Tip: Get a room from the 4th floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Address: Casino Drive Paradise Island | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.