We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu, Paradise island, Bahamas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Casino Drive Paradise Island | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Paradise Island
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Riu, Paradise island, Bahamas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A pleasant surprise! I had been reading the reviews on here and was a little scared. Our daughter is in a wheelchair and her only wish was to see Atlantis. We arrived and asked at the desk for a room that had two beds and a wheelchair accessible bathroom. Our room was on the third floor, pool side and our daughter could manouver around it and the washroom no problem, yes it was a little loud during the day but close the patio door if you are in your room, not noisy at night at all. Our first evening we walked next door to check out Atlantis. We purchased the walking tour around the aquariums at Atlantis the following day for $40. each which was well worth it. We walked to dolphin cay to see the dolphins and didn't realize the price or we would have done that as well, even though she has swam with the dolphins before. You got to pat the 2 dolphins as they swam by and pose for a picture while in the water in a wet suit, all the while standing in the water while watching the dolphins do there tricks.
The food at the Buffet was fantastic and we did the Steak House which was good and the Japanese restaurant, my daughters was great, shrimp tempura and fried noodles, my husband had veal one bite which was tuff and that was enough and he didn't eat and I had the chicken skewers which were also tasty.
We hired a cab for 2 hours to take us sight seeing around the Island and Nassau for $65. Also very interesting and nice to see the area.
All in all a great trip! Service and Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    1,324
    669
    424
    320
See reviews for
677
1,501
65
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Good: Our room was clean and our bed was comfortable.....we had no problems with wet carpet, or dirty bedding. The food was fine for an all inclusive. We did have a very good meal and excellent service at the Krystal Fusion Restaurant. The staff at the Fusion were the only ones we encountered who seemed to enjoy their job and care about their patrons.

The Bad: Our room was not ready at check in and we had to wait 2 hours for it to be readied. We were told that we would be given "up graded amenities" because of the inconvenience.....never saw these or asked about them. Didn't think it would be worth the hassle and didn't won't be waste precious vacation time worrying about them. Our "view" was overlooking the flat roof of the kitchen and the noisy exhaust fans and cooling units mounted on it. Our balcony had two chairs and a small table, but was so small, two people could not sit out there (and enjoy the beautiful view of the roof). The staff was unfriendly and uncaring. If you didn't ask for it, you weren't going to get it. Tipping did not seems to improve the service.

Overall, this resort, inside and out, is worn and dated. It is in need of a major overhaul.

Honestly, I think the only things that keep this resort in business is that it is next to the Atlantis and the lack all inclusives in this price range. Riu may be forced into improving this facility in the future, as I heard several new resorts are in the works for Nassau/Paradise Island. Until then, this resort will probably continue to ride on the coat tails of Atlantis.

Room Tip: You can make a request, but they will probably put you wherever they want. Second floor, even numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just returned from a week at this resort, could not have been more perfect. With our daughter and son-in law and 8 month old was alittle leery. They gave us a one bedroom suite with an adjoining door to the other room, couldn't have worked out better, we even had three balconies! Staff most helpful even when we had a minor emergency in the night. Went above and beyond. Food very good, managed to get in all the a la cartes. Will return for sure.

Room Tip: Corner suites large and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was a perfectly FINE Hotel... After reading some of the poor reviews the night before we were to go, I was very nervous. However, upon arrival and exploring the hotel a bit, it quickly became apparent that the poor reviews were to the extreme. I made a point to find out the background on the hotel and found out that it used to be the Sheraton. So I guess Riu purchased an existing property and renovated it. Therefore, it's not an expansive property like some of the other Riu properties. This is more of a hotel atmosphere not a resort with acres of property and multiple pools etc.. Everything is in close proximity... pool, beach, restaurants, etc. Even an easy walk to the Atlantis properties next to it. The beach was so nice, the pool area was great also. The afternoon pool games were a little cheesy, but fun...although, I would recommend they upgrade their audio system...sounded a little garbled. The staff was professional, warm and friendly. Everyone acknowledged us with a friendly "hello" at all times. The rooms were very clean, beds were comfy...and we had a wonderful view overlooking the pool and beach.. The only thing I would suggest is better nightly entertainment or a nightclub for those who like to dance. There wasn't much to do at night. So, don't let the poor reviews scare you. For me, this was the PERFECT vacation spot and I can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: ask to overlook the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I went on an all girl vacation, we had a good time. The food at the buffet was yummy, there was a special dinner on New Years Eve that was amazing, the steakhouse was also great. The staff were very nice and accomodating and the resort was very clean.
Our room had a beautiful view but was tiny inside and was not suited to three people per room as they said it would be, we recieved a cot instead of a pullout couch and it was very uncomfortable.
We had a great time when we left the resort, we took a taxi into town twice an went to Junkanoo an the fish market. The people were very friendly and I felt very safe.
I would go again but would perhaps splirge a little and stay next door at Atlantis at least for a few nights.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I just returned from a 4 day stay at the RIU. Our trip was planned due to negative reviews as we have 40 guests booked here for July for our wedding. I have to say... We were extremely critical of everything trying to find anything that would disappoint or upset any of our guests.
We Had a very hard time finding anything to complain about!
1. Beach- beautiful not crowded and there are nice waves that mostly drowned out the sound of jet skis.
We were reading and not harassed at all by vendors.
2. Food- We were very pleasantly surprised, we over ate many days! I tried many things new and was glad I did! The food is better than Good!
3. Hotel & Staff- clean and friendly! They are always cleaning and at the pool as soon as your drink is gone, someone is around to take your empty glass and bring you another drink! EXCELLENT service! Our room was clean and well stocked and our bed was comfy!

We also witnessed the X rated pool show, very shocking but the hotel was wise in removing the guests by wheelchair and this didn't happen again. Some people just party harder than others I guess.

Over all we are SO PLEASED! And delighted to be returning to the RIU in July. I'm still scratching my head about the negative Reviews...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We travelled to Paradise Island on Xmas day 2012. We had an on-line booking for one nite only , as we were enroute to the out Islands ( Eleuthera), and cannot get to the out islands on Xmas day. When we arrived at the RIU, they were very busy and overbooked. It was quite chaotic in the lobby, however since we were staying one nite only, they directed us to Paradise Island Harbour Marina Hotel which had a room for us set up by the RIU, and the service was very good there. It is probably only 2 or 3 star, however the staff at the Paradise Harbour Marina hotel were very friendly and accomodating. They met us with rum punch and big smiles at the door. Which helped to please us as we were upset about not having our junior suite ocean view with balcony, at the RIU. This hotel is all-inclusive as well. Remember the Marina Hotel is 2-3 star so not fair to comment on the food. It was only okay,and drinks were fine.We were happy for one nite. The best part about our displacement is that the RIU offered us complimentary accomodation for our return trip in January which we took advantage of, and the room, the food, and the staff at the RIU were excellent this time, and staff not stressed out. So I would recommend them. There are 3 restaurants, reservations required, and an international buffet which had alot of variety and friendly wait staff. The beach has lovely sand with big waves for body surfing. The pool and area and noisy entertainment is typical all-inclusive, which is not appealing to me, but most guests looked like they were having a really good time. For the "Real Bahamas" go to the out Islands!

Room Tip: Most rooms have balconies and partial oceanviews. If facing the pool, it could be noisy, however the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Address: Casino Drive Paradise Island | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.