We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Hotel with 2 falling Stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Casino Drive Paradise Island | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“5 Star Hotel with 2 falling Stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Not a 5 star hotel at all. It was just okay. The rooms smell. The bathrooms are disgusting !The food is not the best. Its always the same menu. Not a good place to go with children. They only have one pool. No kiddie pool!! The beach is beautiful but the waves are very high. The staff was very nice if you gave them tips. Won't go back to this so called 5 star hotel. Bahamas is very nice and clean. Go to the atlantis now that a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    1,222
    616
    404
    300
See reviews for
615
1,379
63
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I spent our honeymoon (May 2008) at Atlantis. When we found out our friends were getting married in the Bahamas, we jumped at the chance to go back to Paradise Island. Our friends were getting married at the Riu in early October 2012 so we decided we already experienced Atlantis,we would try the Riu (and were pretty excited about the free drinks). Honestly, we should have just stayed at Atlantis again. Overall, our trip was a blast, however that was entirely due to the large group of friends that came along. Here are my main complaints about Riu:

1. The food....awful. Seriously, I have never been so happy to eat McDonalds in the airport on the way home. Breakfast was by far the best meal of the day and that isn't saying much considering the eggs were cold and the orange juice tasted "off". Don't even attempt to eat anything out of the fridge in the Sports Bar. Stale chips and runny nacho sauce and hard hotdogs.

2. Everything in your room is damp. Like, the entire trip. I swam in the pool (I will get to this in a minute) on Day 1 and my swimsuit never dried the whole trip. The bed was CONSTANTLY damp and made it hard to sleep. I understand it is humid and we are by the ocean, but we didn't have this issue at Atlantis that is a stone throw away, so no excuse. It was yucky.

3. The pool. Swam in it once and that was enough. It had a film on it the whole trip from sun screen. Sand in the bottom.

4. I was really disappointed in the service my friends received for their wedding (at the Riu). Nothing was set up until literally 5 minutes before the wedding was supposed to start and we were asked to get out of our chairs 10 minutes after the wedding, while the bride and groom were taking pictures, so they could put the chairs away. The bride and groom made the best of it and I hope they weren't too upset, but I was furious for them. The wedding planner is a joke. She waited until an hour before the wedding to tell the bride that the wedding had not been paid for, so they had to scramble around to find the receipt that said they had in fact paid for the wedding. On top of that, the wedding was at 5:00 and they didn't let us eat until 9:00.

I am not one to write reviews but I wanted to make sure people knew what they were getting into before coming to this "resort". Just spend the extra money and stay at Atlantis. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from a week a Riu Palace Paradise Island. Have been to many all inclusives and there was a lot of activity during the day. This had none except for the day before we left. The entertainment in the evening was horrible. Only about 10 people in the theater area. By the third day, the pool was murky and one of the lights in the pool was sitting on top of a water lounger still attached to the wires. A guest put it back in it's proper place, but the wires were all wound up on the bottom of the pool. Food was good, but the reservation process was a joke. You had to be there by 7:15 a.m. to get a reservation. Must say that the last day there they had a new entertainment girl with tons of energy and lots of fun. Wish she had been there all week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

15 of us traveled from 9/22-9/28/12 at the RIU Paradise Island for my sister & brother-in-laws 25th wedding annviersary, coming from MI, CA & TN! Yes, I would agree with many reviews that this is not a 5 star resort, but the service/accomodations/restaurants & staff were pleasant, helpful, courteous and delightful to talk with while making our stay a special one. Food at the buffet some of the better buffets than other RIU's we have been to, Krystal/Gourmet-Sir Alexander's & the steak house were all very good and satisfying. I would pass on the Japanese restaurant, as coming from CA---not up to par of what we are used to in California. Pool, small--cleaner in the a.m., then afternoon, but BEACH great!!!!! Massage therapists were wonderful, yes room carpet damp...but Humidity was extremely high the entire week we were there. Terrance, LaMarco--as buffet waiters-EXCELLENT! Tacarra, maid on 7th floor wonderful, and the alcoholic drinks....some of the strongest I have ever had at an all inclusive resort. For the money we spent and what we did while there---no complaints other than No WATER one the 3rd day for about 6 hours(meaning no showers..toilets worked in the lobby area...saw this complaint before). Glad we went, probably won't be traveling back there, but our experience was for the most part very, very pleasant. The evening bands were good--but the comedian & their local dance entertainment troup were very, very weak---improvement could be made there.

Room Tip: Try request a room on the 6-7th floor or higher, all of our rooms had ocean views, some paid extra f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We traveled to the Riu Palace Paradise Island from Sept 26-Oct 1. We have been to many all inclusives in the DR, Jamaica, Mexico and beyond. In all of our travels the Riu chain has been on the wish list for us to visit as the reviews in these other areas have been nothing but stellar and the reputation for this chain has always been good. We did read many of the reviews for this property and some were spot on and not so positive and some were spot on, but as we expected.

Our check in was quick and efficient. we were surprised no bellman to assist with bags, although it's not a service we need and didn't have a negative impact on us, just a surprise as we've stayed at lower rated resorts and were always at least offered assistance with our bags.
The front desk group as has been noted in many reviews is not the most friendly or helpful. But not really rude either, just clearly not caring about the guest and they were more interested in the group of workers around them.

Our room was fine, we were on the 10th floor, room 1007. right off the elevator on the Atlantis/Pool side. I was a little worried about being near the elevator due to noise, but did not find that at all... at least noise from inside the hotel. the ocean view was nice from this room. You did get a great view of the service area of the Atlantis beach tower which was right next door. they did not stop at all throughout the night... trucks moving, dumpsters banging, horns honking. VERY loud generators one night when the power went out for a brief period of time. You really could not sleep with the doors open, you could hear the waves in between trucks... not super pleasant, but this really isn't Riu's fault, i'm certain that they can't control the resort next door, just one of those things. with the balcony doors closed, the noise was only faint.

The room itself was fine. the bed comfortable, yes, damp, but that's only because the outside air was very humid, and the air conditioning VERY cold (almost too cold) but that's why it's damp. the air didn't smell bad at all in the room. the hallway outside our room was actually worse and it wasn't due to mold or mildew it was due to the EXCESSIVE smoking allowed throughout the building... i'll get to that! the mini fridge was stocked every day with two large bottles of water, soda... our coffee was not... but no biggie. Our room was cleaned efficiently and well every day that we were there. the housekeeping staff was also very friendly the few times we would run into them coming or going. So kudos to that team, they have it figured out.

Food... well.... i would say one of the worse all inclusive food experiences we have ever had. and we have stayed at resorts that do not rate themselves as high as this resort. this was indeed the most disappointing part of the trip. very little variety at the buffet. If you got to dinner right at opening, you were fine, if you waited until after 7, they ran out of things and weren't quick to replenish... you would have to wait and they weren't super friendly about anything. the service staff wasn't bad, always ready to get you a drink or clear your plate, but the cooking staff, just wasn't friendly. the salad and fruit area seemed fine, things were cold and seemed fresh enough. but the pverall variety was just aweful. everything seemed to be fried... breakfast is usually my favorite, but this was even lacking... hard to mess up breakfast. Even the "Fresh" juice didn't seem fresh, it always tasted as if they mixed fresh in with very old and it always had that tinge of spoiled oj...it was just off a bit. We did not try the restaurants for many reasons... the variety on the restaurant menus wasn't vast, men HAD to wear slacks (my husband goes on tropical vacation and really would rather not have to get dressed up in slacks) nice khaki shorts and button down shirt are usually fine for most resorts, not here... also, if you wanted an early reservation (630-7ish) you had to be in the lobby waiting in line before 8 to get on the list and they only do this for 1 hour... just not worth it in my opinion.

beach - was fine, we didn't spend a lot of time on the beach, took walks, etc... no one bothered us. Yes, there were jet ski's (yes a little crazy at times) i would not have wanted to be in the water, but still a very nice beach with beautiful turquoise water.

Pool area - again, was fine, we always found seating, but we're early risers and are always at the pool early. There was a little bit of seat saving with towels which is often a huge irritation of mine at other resorts, but it wasn't rampant here. there were a few times where we saw towels on a group of chairs when we would arrive at 9am at the pool and no one claimed them until well after lunch, this is not right... but who am i to say! the pool was cleaned every day... perhaps they could have done a bit more scrubbing, but it wasn't awful... it's just old. Also, yes there is sand in the pool because i watched several inconsiderate people walk up from the beach and walk right into the pool - one guy even rinsed his shoes off in the pool! there are showers right next to the pool to rinse off, but some people clearly didnt understand what that was for, that's not the Riu's fault. The one thing about the pool that i never saw mention was that at the pool, there is no sun until 11ish in the morning... obviously this can't be helped the pool is set back so far that the building shades it quite signficantly, so if you are like us and love the sun - you have to go to the beach in the AM to see this. Again, not a down fall, just an interesting fact since the building is so tall. towels were fine, we always bring one extra of our own, so no issues there.

the bars were fine... drinks in my opinion were not watered down, if we wanted a little topper, we asked for it and they provided. the Mojito's were very good.. they also didn't scoff at filling our insulated cups, some resorts don't love this... but they were ok with it. the one thing that was a bit irritating is that they advertise certain top shelf alcohols (not as top shelf as we would like) but not horrible. the first couple of days we were there, they had Absolut vodka, by day three they said they were out... as well as out of many other "top shelf" brands... this was disappointing, although you could buy very nice top shelf at the hotel convenience store...hmmm.... seems like a little odd...but overall, bar service ok.

the thing that was actually the most unpleasant about the trip was the smoking. yes, i'm from the US and smoking is not allowed in many public areas, so you don't have to worry too much. even at other AI's we've been to, people are smoking, but the lobby and bar areas are more open air, so we didn't notice it as much as here. it was really bad - especially in the evenings at both the sports bar and the lobby bar... so, if smoking isn't your thing, but you enjoy watching a good game on the tv and having a beer, you will not have an enjoyable experience at this place.

it was nice to have access to atlantis to walk through and go to the marina and see the very large boats, that was a lot of fun and very nice shops, expensive for sure, but nice walking area for the evening.

Net, it was an OK value... we got a really good deal due to the time of year and some good sales on flights, so a good break from the everyday grind, but probably a place we will not go back to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester City, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I just returned from the Riu on 9/28, and as I stated in my pre- review I was not going to let any bad reviews alter my opion. So here it goes, our room was beautiful clean, and did have a slight musty smell however alittle fabreze to go did the trick. We had a beautiful view of the clear blue water.
The staff was friendly and very accomodating. The food was fine, some nights better then others depends on what you like to eat. One night they had lobster and my husband was in his glory! The drinks were delish!
The proximity to Atlantis was great! Also, walking there at night was safe, it wasn't an issue at all. I would highly recomend the Riu for the all inclusive benefits to anyone who was looking for a great getaway.
However, I did end up purchasing a time share at the Harborside at Atlantis. So I do intend to go back and say hi to some of the staff at the Riu. Our decision to purchase in Atlantis had no bearing on our stay at the Riu, it was a great opportunity and investment for us. I am very excited to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have to tell you all, after some of the negative reviews, we were really hesitant to book our trip, but we figured, what's the worse it can happen? I feel that there is a misconception here: there are $500 a night 5 star hotels and there are $150 a night 5 star hotels. If you go to a $150 hotel expecting the $500 treatment, well yes, then you are in for a disappointment. That being said, the hotel staff was the best I have ever encountered anywhere ( I am an international flight attendant, who frequents 4-5 start hotels year around all over the world). They were excellent, the food was plentiful and a the variety was great. The pool was great, the bar in the pool excellent. Being an AI resort, the drinks were excellent and not watered down, the bar staff excellent as well. Now to the negatives: the "free 90 minutes" lobby internet, never worked but the paid one ($15) did. If you wanted a reservation in one of the specialty restaurants you had to go down in person between 8-9 in the morning, who on earth wakes up while on vacay at that time of the morning ?? We definitely will go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Address: Casino Drive Paradise Island | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.