We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Towers Great for Kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis - Royal Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantis - Royal Towers to your Saves list
Atlantis - Royal Towers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$400 in Credits
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Paradise Island
Syracuse, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Royal Towers Great for Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

I just got back from a 6 day stay at the Atlantis Royal Towers. I travelled with my husband, who was attending a conference, and my kids, ages 4 and 6. Overall, it was an excellent experience. It is a beautiful resort with amazing marine life, interesting pools, lots of attractions and daily activities, restaurants and shops, and an excellent fitness center.

Service -- Contrary to some reviews that I had read, the staff was very pleasant and helpful to us. Our room was nice and clean, and we did not have to wait long for elevators.

Location -- The Royal Towers was a perfect location for me and the kids, because it is centrally located and has lots of attractions. It is the closest tower to the interesting kids pools (Splashers and Ripples). My husband did have a bit of the walk every day to the conference center, which is located between the Coral and Beach Towers.

Attractions -- Dolphin Cay is expensive but well worth it. The kids and I did the shallow water dolphin interaction and it was awesome. The Dig, located in the Royal Towers, is very interesting. Just walking around the Atlantis property and viewing the marine life is a great experience.

Restaurants -- The resort has many restaurants and we tried out quite a few. As most reviewers have said, dining at the Atlantis is expensive and a 15% gratuity is automatically added to the bill. We purchased breakfast to go (bagels, muffins, fruit, and drinks) from Plato's every morning. Breakfast cost about $30 daily. For lunch, we tried Marina Pizzeria -- not that great, Johnny Rockets -- relatively inexpensive, and the cafes near the pools -- your best bet. Our dinners ranged from about $90 to $225 for 2 adults (1 to 2 drinks each) and 2 small kids. Murray's Delicatessen was the least expensive for dinner, and surprising good. A magician entertained the kids while they waited for their meals and later, a clown made balloon animals. Dinner at Bimini Road was quite good; Chop Stix was above average; Carmines was okay. Our most expensive and best tasting dinner was at Seafarers Steakhouse. The food was excellent. The size of the portions at all of the restaurants were huge. We tried the Marketplace Buffet for dinner one night and weren't impressed. Even though the buffet has a huge selection, the quality of the food was mediocre. Our kids like to drink warm milk before they go to sleep at night and our biggest problem was where to get milk and how to keep it fresh. The sundries shop only sold irradiated milk (like Parmalait) and it didn't fit in the fridge. I found a grocery store, in the shopping center down the street from the Atlantis resort (in the area marked Bahamian Craft Center on the Atlantis map), that sold milk by the quart, which did fit in the fridge. I brought a bottle warmer from home and warmed the sippie cups that way in the room. The shopping center also has a liquor store where you can buy alcohol at much cheaper prices than at Atlantis.

If you use spray on suntan lotion, buy some before you get to Atlantis because it is very expensive at the resort. Spray on SPF 30 was $24.99 and SPF 50 cost $40.99!

  • Liked — Marine life, dolphin encounter
  • Disliked — Difficult to get around the lagoons with stroller
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,261
    976
    527
    326
    261
See reviews for
1,604
803
35
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

Just got back from the Atlantis Royal towers. We stayed there January 17-20th. Had a great vacation. We had been there before but wanted to bring the kids this time. Food prices are still crazy but we did the gourmet meal plan and it wasnt so bad. There were six of us ranging from 45 to 11. We all enjoyed it. The people were very friendly and not at all rude. Weather was a little cool when we arrived but was nicer the next few days. Incredible place to bring the kids at least once in their lifetime. The marine life is incredible and all the new water rides entertain them for hours. So much to do that we didnt even leave the resort. Was hoping to go into town but didnt get there. Brought water and snacks like everyone suggested and was a great idea. Only thing I did ask for a frig in the room and didnt realize they charged you for it. Guess I should have figured that out. The resort was very clean. Had a great vacation and would recommend it to anyone to go to at least once..............Enjoy!!!

  • Liked — So much to do
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

I stayed here with my husband and infant for a week in August. We had a pool/ocean view room. It was very nice and comfortable. They brought us a crib and bathtub for the baby upon request. We also used the hotels babysitting service for a couple of the nights and the babysitter we had was great with our son.
There was so much to do and my son had such a blast! He especially loved the kiddie pools.
I definitely recommend the meal-plan since the food can get very expensive!! And I was very glad we had made all our dinner reservations in advance bc it would have been impossible to get a table otherwise. We saw many other families who had bought the meal-plan, but bc they hadnt made reservations could not find a place to eat dinner. Also, I highly recommend getting any "drug-store" items from outside the hotel if you forget to bring them. They charge $40 for a can of sunblock!! I needed bottled water to make my son's formula and it was sooo $$ at hotel (like $7 for a 16 oz bottle) so I recommend getting that from town if you decide to go.
Overall we had a great time and I would consider going again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

I stayed in the Royal Towers - The rooms are four star plus. Room service and several of the restaurants are very expensive, while there are a few places where you can eat outside during the day which are less pricey.
The nightlife was decent but limited. The nightclub Aura was open 4 nights in the week - It was quite busy and the music was good. It was more of a place to look good rather than kick back though. The casino doesn't have texas Holdem which will put off any poker players - but it has all other games. Wireless internet is only available in the lobby and lobby bars.
The Hotel is very impressive and the outdoor activites are plentiful. There is no local culture on Paradise Island and the service is friendly if a bit slow. i'm not sure whether this hotel represents good value - but if the price doesn't bother you too much - you will enjoy it.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

We booked a "garden view" room in the Royal Towers through Travelocity for a sale (haha) price. This report is very late. We visited in April 2008.

When we got to the front desk, the wonderful lady took a liking to our then 8-month old son, who started smiling at her immediately, and decided to give us an upgrade, to a grand suite! Yeah! Thanks little man! The suite was beyond expectation...16th floor, overlooking the entire property, with a large balcony, 180 degree view of the ocean, two plasma tvs, large closet, large bathroom with private shower and separate powder room. Bag service was very prompt and the porter was very nice...as was everyone else on the island.

The food at Atlantis is not good. We ate twice in the marina area (pizza is especially bad and a ripoff). The buffet in the royal towers is not good. We did not try any of the "nicer" restaurants. Instead, we took taxis to the Fish Fry. Looks sketchy but we went twice for dinner (myself, wife and baby) and never felt unsafe. Probably 2/3 locals and 1/3 tourists. The food is good, cheap, and even when you add in the taxi ride, it's cheaper than eating for two in the buffet.

Love the pools, including the 6 inch deep infant pool, lazy river, tower of power. Beach is quite a haul away especially with a baby and stroller ("haul" is defined as more than a 5 min walk). Lots of stuff for kids...kids club, pools specifically for kids with water slides/parks, etc. Wife did the dolphin thing. She had a blast and it was good to see that side of the property.

Bottled water in the hotel is a ripoff. Went into town to a grocery store to buy water. Being in town is fun for a day or two. Souvenir haggling, exploring, etc.

Overall, the resort is great. One really does not have to leave the property for a week, especially if the kids come (this place is crawling with kids). Definitely recommend going elsewhere for food.

  • Liked — Lots of pools and lots of beach access
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

I was here on an expense paid incentive trip (3rd time)and I will make this short. I would NOT spend my own money to stay here. The exhibits are beautiful (although many were dirty this time around, such as the underground aquarium tubes) but the service is severly lacking, especially the Royal Towers "5 star" rooms. 3 stars at best. No culture whatsoever anywhere. Vegas/Disney in the Caribbean. If that is your thing, you'll love it. Bring a BIG wallet, you will definately need it. Many other choices in the Caribbean where you will get beauty, bang for your buck and lots of culture.

  • Liked — Great aquatic exhibits
  • Disliked — Too big, too much, too $$$$$$$
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

Went in May 2008 with another couple, best friends and it was great. We took advantage of the TravelZoo special and also took advantage of the meal plan.
Food: Awesome and a good deal if you get the meal plan if not then it's too expensive.
Room: Nice, updated figures, good view and clean with daily maid service.
Pools: Great, had lots of them we had not kids but still had fun as we acted liked kids.
Nightlight: We don't care for that too much we like to do the tours and stuff.
Waiting to go again in March early April 2009 but the prices are too high right now. Waiting for them to go down abit to book.

Stay in the Royal towers, the other ones won't put you in the center of the hotel. Has a Casino and Movie theatre and lots of shops and it was just huge. Only downside is that it didn't seem like there was much to do in tours and stuff so book before you get there because it was kinda hard to find them last minute.

  • Liked — Food and Hotel
  • Disliked — Prices are too high
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis - Royal Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis - Royal Towers

Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis - Royal Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 1201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Royal Towers are the most reflective of mythical Atlantis, featuring grand architecture, artwork and design. Standard rooms have one king or two queen beds, a sitting area, and French balconies, while suites have full balconies. All rooms and suites offer terrace, harbour or water views. These towers are closest to Mandara Spa, the Fitness Center, Aquaventure, Atlantis Kids Adventures, The Dig, Casino, two main pools, and several gourmet dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantis - Royal Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis - Royal Towers Hotel Paradise Island
Atlantis Royal Hotel
Atlantis Royal Paradise Island
Atlantis Paradise Island Royal Towers
Royal Towers Atlantis
Royal Towers Of Atlantis
Atlantis - Royal Towers Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis - Royal Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.