We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atlantis - Royal Towers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis - Royal Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantis - Royal Towers to your Saves list
Atlantis - Royal Towers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Atlantis - Royal Towers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a late review... I kept meaning to do a review but other things came up. I went with my parents and sister in December. My sister and I are in our 20's, just to give you an idea of what someone our age thinks of the resort. The hotel was very nice. We didn't have any problems with our room. We stayed in RT and were very glad we did. The Beach Towers were our other option. We decided to spend a little more in order to have a more centralized room. The resort seems huge at first, but it's not too bad of a walk. It's definitely more of an adventurous, fun place though, and I wouldn't suggest it for those who may be older or physically challenged. The biggest thing to do there is the water park. My dad had recently hurt his back, so he couldn't do many of the water rides.

The food was good, but VERY expensive. Plan to spend $15 or so on sandwiches and $25-30 at least on entrees. There is a shopping area across the street with Dunkin Donuts and a pizza place/restaurant. Both were good. Still pricey, but not as bad. The Marina Village pizza place was good and actually not too expensive. The BBQ place was probably our least favorite. Being from the Midwestern United States, we're used to good BBQ. This place was very expensive and just not worth it. The best thing there were the hush puppies we got for an appetizer. Most of the time we split sandwiches. One sandwich and fries was enough for two people, especially just for lunch. We drank tap water there. It's safe and no one got sick from it. That also allowed us to save some money.

We went to Blue Lagoon to swim with the dolphins. We did the package that included the dolphin push. We all loved it and I think it was definitely worth the money!

We also went on a cruise to Sandy Toes at Rose Island (through Majestic Tours, they have a booth/counter at the resort). They provided lunch and we went snorkeling. We would also definitely recommend this!

Our family has also been to St. Thomas. I don't think the water is quite as pretty in the Bahamas as it is in St. Thomas, but when we went to Sandy Toes it was prettier there. As far as snorkeling, we saw about the same amount of things at both places.

We were told we could take a ferry to downtown Nassau to go shopping. Don't take the ferry! We got to the dock after winding through the sidewalk with walls on both sides, so it was very secluded. The only people on the doc were locals. We thought it was strange that there were no other tourists there to take the ferry. The vendors were very pushy. The ferry was late and the ones that we saw sitting at the dock looked in terrible condition. They couldn't tell us for sure when the ferry would come so we convinced them to give us our money back. We ended up taking a taxi into downtown. It wasn't worth it. It was dirty and very crowded. We didn't really feel safe. Plus, the designer shops (Coach, etc.) were the same prices that they are back in the US.

I think we all had a great time! Atlantis is definitely something to experience once in your life.

P.S. please ignore my typos :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    867
    462
    291
    216
See reviews for
1,425
709
32
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recently stayed at Atlantis for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon, was a nice but not an excellent experience and not for a honeymoon as this is definately more of a family hotel!
Not the most friendliest of staff anywhere in the hotel!
We had requested a change of room on the 2nd night as the carpet in our room was soaking wet, we had to wait for more than 1 hour for someone to come up to our room to check, in the end we left as we had a dinner reservation, after returning to our room we had found out that all the room facilities had been locked without us being informed, as we were to change rooms leaving all our personal belongings in the safe until the next day as there was no one who could open the safe for us until the next day. We kicked up a fuss on the next morning as a Very rude security staff insisted to find out exactly how much money was in the safe and would not let us be in the room when they were opening the safe which obviously we did not accept!
The prices for dining and activities are very expensive for what you get. Sometimes even outrageous for example $8 for a packet or crisps is ridiculous!
Great pools and gardens which are very well kept, the water park is excellent.
Would not be staying here again though!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is just one of those things you have to do at least once in your life. The entire place is beautiful, huge, rich, just amazing. Great beaches, right there. Food at the spots around the pools is as affordable as it gets in the Bahamas, and there is dining elsewhere that is affordable (Sunrise Beach Club comes to mind). Food at Atlantis restaurants IS pricey, no doubt about it ($50 a head for the buffet).

Don't be shy, rent a jet ski or go parasailing right off the beach! No need to pay more than $50 a head, just haggle a little. Cuban cigars available too, just ask. Hair braiding can be done on the beach for $60 entire head.

Atlantis provides a GREAT experience, but there are a LOT of people going through there, so give them a little break. They DO try. The aquarium is one of the best anywhere. I can't imagine anyone leaving there disappointed. You are going to spend money, but if you open up your wallet, you and your family will have one of the best life experiences you can buy. It is tempting to never leave the resort, which is what I did the last time I was there. This time, we got out and about a bit, and I'm glad we did. You NEED a week here ;)

Room Tip: Just make sure you aren't on the harbor side, and you'll be happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Towers hotel as part of our honeymoon. We found that it we did enjoy our stay but thought that it was short of what it would take for 5 stars. The site itself is full of things to do but be aware that some of the activities on offer are very expensive for what they are, although in saying that these activities can be once in a lifetime, for example the dolphin swim.

There are many restaurants within the resort. We paid for a meal deal before we went and so mostly ate in the buffet style restaurants. They were very good and there was plenty of choices so you could eat differently every day without getting bored. If you were paying for the individual day though it cost around $80 dollars each which I found expensive. And even though we paid for the food up front we were still charged a service charge for each meal we had and by the end of the 5 nights this added up to a few hundred more dollars hat we had to pay.

The water parks were good and there was always plenty to keep you occupied, especially for the children. There were plenty of lifeguards and staff on duty. It was also clean and well maintained. Being someone interested in nature and in marine life I enjoyed the many aquariums around the resort and this also provided some interest during the trip. We took part in the swimming with the rays and I thought that this was really good, again was relatively expensive but to me it was worth it.

During our stay we also went to a concert which was being held there in the grand ballroom. It was professionally run and the concert (Alisha Keyes) was really good after a slow start. The price of the ticket was again expensive and to be honest I wouldn't have gone if I wasn't on holiday. I would complain about the staff on this occasion. My wife took a camera with her and was carrying it in her hand and she was stopped and had to hand it in to them for safe keeping. This was fair enough as I know that this is usual for concerts and the like but it was not specified before the concert and when we got into the venue there were many people with cameras taking photos and recording videos, including the staff working there on the night. This was pretty infuriating and to be honest was one of a number of things that happened during our holiday that just made the resort seem not quite up to the standard that it should be for the money.

There is also a casino found within the resort. To get around the resort you can go outside and walk around but at night and in adverse weather you can walk through from hotel to hotel and it is at this time that you have to walk through the casino. This includes children and teenagers. The main problem is that there is no legislation regarding smoking in the Bahamas, something we are now not used to. It is the case that in the casino you can smoke and you end up having to walk through puffs of smoke and by the time you reach the end your clothes smell of smoke.

Mostly I found the staff pleasant although I was left with the impression that the hotel was all about how much money they can get out of you. We are not tight and spend money on things that we want but to be honest I found the resort not really worth the money we paid and as I say it left a bit of a bad taste in the mouth.

On the whole we did enjoy our time there but to be honest I was really looking forward to our trip to the resort and to the Bahamas but I wan't particularly impressed by either and don't know if I would go back .I have been told that the Atlantis Resort in Dubai has a totally different atmosphere and it could be that it is just the way that this particular hotel is run that caused us to leave disappointed,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d1i2v3e4e5
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Recently stayed at Atlantis, was a nice but not excellent experience. The prices for dining and activities are very expensive for what you get. Sometimes even outrageous, but there are things to make up for them. If you get a room on one of the higher floors, the view is simply amazing. Furthermore, the activities on offer are unlike those of any other resort on the island, partially justifying their price.
Food was always good and rooms were clean. The staff was friendly and mostly helpful. Although there is a hype surrounding this hotel and it may not quite live up to it, it definitely is a good place to stay and offers a unique experience. Recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, Usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I would compare Atlantis to Disney for many reasons. First, it is expensive (hotel & food), but like Disney it is an excellent family experience like no other. There is a water slide that runs through a shark tank(the Serpent) and a lazy river (the Current) that goes on for 20 min. The aquarium, which is free to guests, is breath-taking! The pools are beautiful and snorkeling in the lagoon or Cove beach is perfect for the inexperienced! The property is clean and gorgeous!
However, like Disney, you must do your research in advance though. For instance, do the water slides early or late in the day before the cruise ships arrive. They are allowed to buy day passes and can slow lines. During the middle of the day you can enjoy the beaches, pools, or aquarium. Bring your snorkel gear with you since they rent it for $10 each at the lagoon. There are beautiful fish at the lagoon and, although there are less fish at the Cove Beach, it is also incredible for snorkeling since it has little waves and is a reef. The water and sand are gorgeous! Next, bring sunscreen. Your $8 Neutrogena Wet Kids Spray is $28 in the Atlantis shop. T-shirts are $40 at the resort ($5 - $10 at the Straw Market). If you like soda, buy one poolside where you see refill machines and if you keep up with your paper cup you can refill it as much as you like. Bottled water is expensive ($3.50) but the tap water is perfectly safe at Atlantis and they will give it on request. Be prepared to pay about $25 for breakfast at Plato's in the Royal Towers, $40 (party of 4) lunch poolside, and $100 $200 for dinner. Make dinner reservations in advance or you won't get them. Virgil's is cheap, Mesa Grill(Bobby Flay's) is elegant ($200 fam. of 4), Casa Angelo ($160) and the Marketplace buffet is $50 per person (our least favorite). If you can catch a "kids eat free" deal (ages 11 and under) when you book, they will take off the price of all breakfast & dinner kids meals at specific restaurants at the end of the stay. There are a lot of places so call in advance to get the list and then make reservations at these places so you get to cash in on free dinner for anyone under 12. We also had a Taste of Atlantis, so we got a list of those restaurants too and booked dinner at the ones which were Kids Eat Free and Taste of Atlantis (Virgils, Casa Angelo, etc). Take advantage of the atmosphere at the Village Market each night after dinner. You can catch live music and gaze at the yachts. I heard Bimini Road there (no reservations) was great but we didn't eat there. The property is incredible, inside and out, and there are habitat pools outside everywhere so you can just sit and look at sharks or sting rays swimming around any time you want. It is an incredible adventure, but like Disney, expensive and should be well-planned. There is a lot of walking so bring comfy shoes. We spent $1000 on food & drinks for four nights, five days, so save up. We absolutely loved it and are so glad we went but probably wouldn't go back unless we got an incredible deal. It's an incredible place you visit once, not each year, but for us it was an excellent trip for the tweens, just as we expected. If you research and read reviews, it can be a great trip!

Room Tip: An adjointing room will have more noise from the room next door than one that is not adjointing. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just got back from Atlantis and stayed in the Royal Towers! Resort is fantastic and beautiful. Staff was very friendly. Here are some tips and info-Food is not cheap but you can find lower pricing for lunch at the pool at around $10 per person including drinks. Refills were free all day at soda fountains, just keep your cup. Also Pizza was good and cheaper than other places and is located near Marina. $30 for a large Pizza. Dunkin Doughnuts is across street from marina as well. In Marina their are good and fun places that will cost between $75-$100 for dinner. Stay away from Breakfast Buffett as its not worth $25 per person. Dinner Buffett was $49 per person but it was good with lots of choices. Drinks were around $10 each and Beer was around $5-6 each. Local Beer was very good. Their is a guy that sells drinks in coconuts on the West Beach for $10 each with a refill. Off island-Go to Poop Deck and the Fish Fry. Taxi ride is around $18 each way but you got to at least do the fish fry one night. Sunday is fun because the locals on there. Water Park and pools are nice but be careful as pool decks are very slippery and I fell the first day and hurt my arm. Nurse said it happens daily. The cove beach is the best for relaxing and west beach is where all the action and water sports are at. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis - Royal Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis - Royal Towers

Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis - Royal Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 1201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Royal Towers are the most reflective of mythical Atlantis, featuring grand architecture, artwork and design. Standard rooms have one king or two queen beds, a sitting area, French balconies, and suites have full balconies. All rooms and suites offer terrace, harbour or water views. These towers are closest to Mandara Spa, the Fitness Center, Aquaventure, Atlantis Kids Adventures, the Dig, Casino, two main pools, and several gourmet dining options. Royal Towers offers 128 concierge-level guestrooms, accessed by high-speed, keyed elevators offering the highest level of service and access to the Imperial Club. Complimentary breakfast served daily and in the afternoon hors devours and cocktails are on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantis - Royal Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis - Royal Towers Hotel Paradise Island
Atlantis Royal Hotel
Atlantis Royal Paradise Island
Atlantis Paradise Island Royal Towers
Royal Towers Atlantis
Royal Towers Of Atlantis
Atlantis - Royal Towers Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis - Royal Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.