We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overrated experience and not worthy of a stay!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Royal Towers, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantis Royal Towers, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Atlantis Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$250 Airfare Credit
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Paradise Island
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“An overrated experience and not worthy of a stay!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

When you think of the Atlantis you think of this gleaming pink tower, opulence and 5 star quality but after visiting the Atlantis you’ll realise that this is far from the truth.

Before I share my experience here’s a quick summary of the good & bad points:

Bad Points:

Expensive resort – You’re treated like walking $ signs, nothing is cheap, especially dolphin cay!

Rude staff – Staff are pushy and in the coral Towers breakfast area they are very rude and unhelpful.

Poor accommodation – Walls are thin, site needs redecorating, hard beds

Rubbish beach – A small and unappealing beach

Good Points:

Restaurants – Great choice of restaurants (go to Vergil’s and Johnny rockets)

Lots to do for kids – Cooking, cinema, games room, aquarium

Water park – Great fun for all ages,

So here’s what I experienced:

I stayed in the Atlantis for three days after staying in the Sandals resort (read my review) and the contrast in quality, service, and atmosphere is massive! After just one day at the Atlantis I desperately wanted to go back to the Sandals resort.

I had this image of a grand building, 5 start treatment, plush rooms etc but on entrance disappointment quickly set.

As soon as we checked in the staff insisted that we sign up for a meeting to taking about investing in properties on the resort with the caveat of having $200 at the end of the meeting even if you don’t want to invest.

All you have to do us put $50 down to secure your place because “they go quickly” We stupidly signed up but I had a change of heart and got our money back.

DONT SIGN UP we heard from guests that he stuff there really try to make you sign on the dotted line and you don’t get $200 but vouchers that can ONLY be used in the Atlantis resort.
The rooms were a let down too, the beds are hard and the balcony was terrible, rusty looking with a stiff balcony door to add to our joy. Then to add insult to injury the room walls were thin, so the antics of the teenagers next door could be heard along with their TV!

Things didn't get better though because breakfast was a joke. The staff there are rude, sarcastic and treat you like it’s not their job to assist us in taking our payment or even getting tea for us.

This is part of the resort I did not miss, the food was varied (pizza was even served) and you can eat as much as you want but the poor customer service added to a whopping price of $64 just for breakfast was very off-putting!

The Atlantis did have its good points though, the aquaventure water park is fun and something not to be missed, there are water features for all ages from massive vertical slides that will make you scream like a baby and pools where the younger ones can swim or splash about.

The marina village is also very nice; you can pick up some ice cream at the Ben a Jerry’s store, souvenirs, or just relax and marvel at the huge Yachts. While you’re there visit Johnny rockets restaurant, the staff are friendly, it’s a good place for a burger, everyone says hello to you (literally) and they even do an impromptu team dance from time to time.

A lot of people (like myself) come to the Atlantis to visit Dolphin Cay, where you can actually enter the water, touch the dolphins, hear all about them and see them perform tricks.

This is great fun for all the family BUT as expected the Atlantis not only charge you for the experience (shallow water experience) at a pricey $135 per person but they also charge you for photographs (you’re banned from taking photographs yourself) taken by their photographers available from their souvenir shop.

Once again this is pricey, a 2 print photograph will set you back $70 while an eight print will set you back $150! Yes you get some of the photos on cd, a nice leather folder and a glass frame but that is hardly worth the $150 price tag!

If you really want to see dolphins and swim with them, go to dolphin encounters on the blue lagoon island, you’ll get much more for your money and also get to do water sports on a private island.

The Atlantis also host and aquarium which is a really nice feature, as it has a variety of water life, places for kids to interact and learn about aquatic life through touching and feeding fish.

Even though I'm not a gambler the casino is a major feature of the Atlantis, the staff here are the most friendliest (I wonder why) and it’s a fascinating environment where you can learn how to play games (for free surprisingly) and of course gamble.

However it’s has bad design feature though because if you want to eat breakfast in the royal towers you have to go through the casino, so for a brief moment your kids will experience the smoky, greedy environment of the casino.

Overall as the title of my review suggests, The Atlantis is an overrated experience that is only worthy of a day visit if that, it’s very ‘fake’, expensive and misleading.

If I had to return to the Bahamas the Atlantis is a place that I would not visit again.

Room Tip: Royal towers – Most expensive Coral towers – Moderate priced Beach towers – Cheapest priced and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    999
    534
    335
    266
See reviews for
1,629
826
35
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Don't let all the hype of Atlantis fool you. Better bring your credit cards and savings account if you want to drink and eat without regret or just have fun. Royal Tower rooms look no better than motel 6. 15% gratuity on everything purchased. This place will make you go on a diet. Very children friendly....

Now the overall resort and appearance is top notch. Aquariums and water slides made the day memorable. Yacht site seeing was amazing. Cove like beaches and petty green water was a site to. High rollers are definitely welcome here.

If you like pay as you go, this is your resort. If you want a vacation with worry free entertainment and unlimited eating with same amenities, then choose Sandals.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Atlantis is great for kids say 5-18 years old. Kids were on the waterslides from 10-7 everyday and loved it! Adults can relax at the pool and beach. Lots of expensive activities to choose from up to your individual tastes. Not sure that I would choose to come here without kids though. You are paying for a water park in a beautiful location and that is what you get. Rooms were very nice and our view was fantastic overlooking the Water Park and ocean. The aquariums are a great especially for the kids who can’t seem to stop looking at all of the various Sharks etc…
Food is expensive and just average. The wrist band situation is a pain even when staying at the hotel you need a new one every day and have to wait on a sometimes long line. Also when cruise ships come into port the Water Park can be crowed for a few hours but by 4PM the lines are much shorter.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

You know you're in for an overpriced vacation when juice and snacks in the mini bar are cheaper than at the general store. I don't mind paying for quality, and frankly there was no problem with our room or the price at the Royal Towers, but those "extras" continued to bite at my ankle. There was no bellman to greet us when we arrived. We waited 15 minutes to check in. We carried our own bags. Still there was a $6 "Bellman Gratuity" on the bill. Whatever! We called Amex collect to advise them that we were traveling, and that resulted in a $30 plus phone charge (which was reversed when we protested). You can't buy soda or water at the little magazine store. They direct you to the bar where soda is $3.50 and water is $3.50 for small and $8.50 for large (before gratuity.) Everywhere there is a 15 per cent gratuity added which is fine, but there is always the look from servers that you were stiffing them if you didn't add more. A simple bottle of suntan lotion was $23.99 compared to $7.50 on the street. Internet was $80 for four days. Also, too many people and kids packed into a small space -- not relaxing at all. Too many irritating distractions, over priced meals and services. For the best experiences, walk fifteen minutes under the bridge and get real Bahamian food (grouper, conch salad, mac and cheese pie, rice and peas) at a reasonable from a multitude. It's a more authentic experience. There are also some more American/Bahamian style restaurants nearby. Atlantis was too big, too packed, too impersonal for our liking. In our view, the resorts sense of entitlement of overcharging for amenities and other services delivers a not so subliminal message about how the resort views its guests. Better to focus on improving the warmth of service, and overall value.

Room Tip: Ask how far it is from your room to casino, spa and other amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from an 8 day family vacation staying at the Royal Towers and it was great! Apon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised to learn we were complimentary upgraded to a 2-bedroom suite ( instead of 2 connecting rooms) and it was huge and amazing!! Yes, there was some rust in the bathroom, chips in the paint a little run down, but who really cares when you are out doors 90% of the time!!

We had our 4 young kids with us (3,6,8,8) so we found the splashes pool area perfect and located well between the river & big water slides!! In fact, after the first day, we never had to wake up early to place our towels on our chairs because we gave the pool boys a tip of $10 and our magazines and they had everything all set up in the morning for us!! Even though the resort was at 80%-100% capacity it never seemed too crowded!!

We also found the resort employees very nice and courteous! Everyone from the breakfast buffet hostesses to the numerous lifeguards and even the hotel maids were helpful and sweet!! In my opinion, you get what you give so if you go in with a nasty attitude, you'll probably get something similar in return! The rudest people we found at the resort were from the east coast, not the employees like others have stated!!

Other complaints I've read on here are about the prices! Yes this resort is very expensive, the rooms, the food, the activities, but you know that going in!! There is no point complaining about it if you are staying there, stay somewhere else if you have a problem!! I think a lot of people forget that the Bahamas are an island nation that is NOT part of the US!! It's expensive to import foods, so the prices reflect that!

All in all, we had a wonderful vacation and really can't wait to go back!! Our 2 oldest were over 48" so they were able to do all the slides, so we are going to wait until our #3 is over 48 until we go back for more options!! We are already counting down until we go again!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The property is enormous, so think through what you/your family likes to do and plan accordingly. My husband likes the casino, my daughter likes the water park, so we chose the Royal Towers for this reason - close to both. Unfortunately, the dining options here were not to our liking. We did walk a lot for almost every meal. The food, in general, is mediocre at best. We did have a great dinner at Nobu, Carmine's was good and Virgil's was good. The Marketplace (in the Royal Towers) was pretty awful. We ate there our first night because we didn't know any better and we were tired. It is a buffet and HUGE. If you like to eat a lot, go for it, but at $49 per person, it was not worth it for us. Also, while standing near the dessert area, I witnessed a woman eat something that was definitely not finger food with her fingers - pudding I think. Yes, she stuck her fingers into her mouth up to the second knuckle, then proceeded to pick up a common serving fork to get some more of something - with the same hand that had just been in her mouth. I was so disgusted - we vowed no buffet meals any more. We ate most of our meals at the Marina - Murray's, Starbucks, Pizza.

The Dolphin interaction was a lot of fun for my daughter. The water park is definitely amazing. We were told that the hotel was only at 59% capacity and it felt like people everywhere - I can not imagine going when the hotel is more filled - again, plan accordingly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Okay. It's expensive. However, where can you go to see this kind of amazing attention to detail. From the moment you fly over the island you can't help but see this amazing resort; with water parks, lazy rivers, sharks, manta rays, and scores of species of cute fish, coral, and crustaceans. The artwork, and architechture, amazing beaches and beautiful oceans, fun pools and waterparks......okay, okay....it's expensive. But if you are looking for a great family playground and willing to spend a few bucks to give the kids an awesome vacation, then this is definitely the place for you.

Room Tip: Go the little shopping center across the street from the Marina Village and you'll find grocery...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Atlantis Royal Towers, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Royal Towers, Autograph Collection

Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Royal Towers, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 1201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Royal Towers are the most reflective of mythical Atlantis, featuring grand architecture, artwork and design. Standard rooms have one king or two queen beds, a sitting area, and French balconies, while suites have full balconies. All rooms and suites offer terrace, harbour or water views. These towers are closest to Mandara Spa, the Fitness Center, Aquaventure, Atlantis Kids Adventures, The Dig, Casino, two main pools, and several gourmet dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Atlantis Royal Towers, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis - Royal Towers Hotel Paradise Island
Atlantis Royal Hotel
Atlantis Royal Paradise Island
Atlantis Paradise Island Royal Towers
Royal Towers Atlantis
Royal Towers Of Atlantis
Atlantis Royal Towers, Autograph Collection Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Royal Towers, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.