We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved seeing the aquarium every day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis - Royal Towers

Save Saved
You added Atlantis - Royal Towers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantis - Royal Towers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$350 in Added Value!
Ranked #11 of 14 hotels in Paradise Island
Midland, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved seeing the aquarium every day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Everything is Extremely expensive, $10 for a bottle of water!! Be prepared to spend a lot of money! Royal Tower has easy access to Casino and Waterpark. It’s a bit of a journey to Dolphin Cay, but still a good Central location. Beware of “Guards” by the entrance of the Casino asking you for your room key as proof you are a guest, have it handy, they can be a bit aggressive. There is only one elevator for handicap/wheelchair so it was hard to maneuver around. Overall the grandeur of the buildings and the atmosphere out weighed all the little nitpicky things.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,660 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    992
    791
    418
    265
    194
See reviews for
1311
625
25
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellmore, Long Island
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

DON'T BUY THIS Resort DAY PASS at Atlantis!!!! We just came back from a Carnival cruise and they offered this day pass as a “Day At The Beach” excursion for $99.99 per serson. The boat was only docked until 2pm, so it was really only a half day.

We bought the pass against our better judgment. The provided bus dropped us off in front of the hotel. The representative said it would take 20 minutes to get to our "reserved seating" . I thought she was going to give us a tour of the place. No, this was just the walk to the chairs. To our absolute amazement (as well as that of the rest of the group), our "reserved chairs were adjacent to a walkway in front of the men’s room. No beach insight. When we all complained, the representative said we could use the chairs on the beach, which was another tenth mile away. We were early, and when we walked to the beach there was no one there, so be grabbed chairs. Since it was the morning in February, the beach was very breezy and chilly. Also, the water was nippy.

Our day pass included a lunch. The guide pointed to the restaurant with the clam shell roof. At 12pm, we began to pack our stuff to go to the restaurant. It was a long walk back, but the restaurant was fairly close to the casino and exit to our buses. We got there, and there was a sign that it was closed. We asked someone where else to go, and they pointed to a restaurant way back in the distance from where we just came. We had no time to walk back and also make our 1pm bus, which was the last bus back to the cruise ship. So, we skipped lunch and ate on the boat.

Absolutely nothing is included for your money with this beach pass. There is a water park (actually you were near the bunch of tubes at the lagoon by the "reserved chairs" but you could not use them with your pass. You couldn't use their pools either. By the way, there wasn't even a sign saying the chairs were reserved. No sign was needed, no one in their right mind would use them.

When I got back to the ship, I complained to the excursion desk how they featured this excursion which bordered on fraud. They refunded $20/ person, but I plan to write to Carnival to try to get a bigger refund.


Buy this only if you want to be able to tell your friends and family how horrible and ripped off you were.

Room Tip: Buy this Resort Day Pas only if you want to be able to tell your friends and family how horrible and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our family of five (3 children aged 15, 11 and 11) had a memorable vacation at Atlantis, but in my 20 years of travel around the world (including North American, Europe, Middle East and Asia), I’ve never come across such a high-price-for-low-value experience. When we re-visited Atlantis in February 2013, the fond memories from our first visit (in 2000) were crushed by the excessively high prices, inattentive staff and overcrowded facilities. Based on my traveling experience, the property suffers from mismanagement. The next time we’re going to spend over $10,000 on a 6-night vacation (excluding air fare), we’ll find a place where we can stay at a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton resort and take a cab to local attractions.

Pros:
• Lazy river water experience: the best we’ve ever experienced – must be at least a mile long
• All-in-one property: there’s no need to leave the property during your stay (if you don’t mind paying the excessive on-property prices)
• Clean: All of the facilities were very clean
• Dolphin Cay: Great experience interacting with the dolphins
• Spa: Nice spa (one of the few places that wasn’t excessively over-priced)
• Name-brand restaurants: they have Starbucks, Johnny Rockets and Carmines for those who are looking for a more predictable dining experience (although the pricing is much higher than back in the U.S.)

Cons:
• Crazy Expensive: The costs were beyond excessive – bordering on extortion. I’ll pay more for something if it’s a premium product/service (e.g. Mercedes), but Atlantis charges way above the level it offers. For our family of 5, the walk-up breakfast bar cost $75 (two of us had only a bagel and water) and our on-site dinners ranged from a low of $150 to a high of $380. I was shocked to pay $10 for a large bottle of water and required to pay $15/day to use their gym.
• Inattentive staff: whether it was problems when checking in (guaranteed adjoining rooms but weren’t available) problems with our room, or the life guards along the lazy river, nobody seemed to care. Even when we had to get a manager involved, he accused us of causing the problem even though we had documentation proving otherwise. If you visit, try this experiment – for breakfast, go to any restaurant on property and the next day go to the Dunkin Donuts just off property (outside of Marina Village). The service at the Dunkin Donuts will be 2-3 times faster and 50%-75% cheaper (for only an extra 3-5 minute walk). The only explanation for the vast difference is the quality of management.
• Overcrowded: Knowing Atlantis had grown to 5 separate hotels (from 3 during our first visit), put us in the mindset that it would have a lot of people, but it was worse than we expected. We visited in mid-February, which according to one member of their staff is “a slow time of the year.” The lines for some of the restaurants were very long (50 people at 9 am). The fitness center was packed, which meant I had to routinely wait to use the equipment. Making matters worse, Atlantis encourages cruise ships to drop off hundreds of daily visitors (see uploaded photo). Our children eventually gave up looking for a tube for the lazy river because they were all taken by the cruise ship daily visitors.
• Noisy rooms: We woke up every night from people/kids yelling in the hallway.

We could probably tolerate the inattentive staff and overcrowded facilities if we were staying at a discount hotel, but these are inexcusable given the high price of the lodging, hotel and on-site experiences.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We've taken our kids to Hilton Rose Hall in Jamaica and a Disney Cruise - We LOVED Atlantis!

GENERAL TIPS
-HOTEL LOCATION: We stayed in the Royal Towers (West). It was closest to the water park and the kids club, and close to one of two buffets on the value meal plan (Marketplace) and the spa/gym/Dolphin Cay. All hotels on the property are close to a beach… but it will be a walk to get from the Beach/Coral hotels to the Aquaadventure water park (there are smaller pools including a kids lazy river between the Beach/Coral towers). And if you needed to commute back and forth inside, you’ll need to go through the smoky casino.

-MEAL PLAN VS NOT: We bought the value meal plan. When we go again, we won’t buy it as eating nice food while two kids whine at you isn't fun and we don’t need that amount of food every day that's included in the meal plan and then get charged an extra 15% on top of the cost for the food we didn’t eat… and we ate WAY MORE than we would normally eat at the buffet (Marketplace was our buffet breakfast and dinner buffet and fairly delicious with a great variety… and there was a total of ~$50 extra per day (both meals combined) added to your room for the 15% gratuity – even if your 6 year old was to be eating free; without the meal plan that would be $100 for breakfast and $180 for dinner; Marketplace is open for dinner at 5:30). Marketplace for dinner for example, had an Indian cuisine section, tacos, pizza, stir-fry, pasta/veggie/red-white sauce combo, mini steaks, mini grilled chicken breasts, two soup choices, seafood spread, and sushi every night. Some other kid friendly items rotated, like the mac and cheese (although I think it was jalapeno mac n cheese), fries, chicken nuggets. And plenty of dessert pastries, including a hard-scoop Ben and Jerry ice-cream selection plus separate soft-serve (two rotating flavors a night). There was even a chocolate fondue fountain every night plus an "allergy-free" desert table including jello and other gluten/nut-free desserts (no so much dairy/soy-free).
*All on the booking need to eat together (so two of us who wanted deli one night couldn’t go separately while the other two went to the buffet; or if you wanted to drop the kids at the club and then eat as just adults, that wasn't an option when you had the value meal plan - even though the kids club would serve your kids dinner for a small extra fee). You’ll need to still swipe your room card and get a receipt, although the price on that bill is to calculate for gratuity purposes only (it doesn’t get charged to your room for the food on the bill; just the gratuity). If you have the time and like a full sit down dinner every night, the meal plan would be the way to go (probably saved us $50/dinner at say Virgil’s BBQ for dinner; which for us, would be nice for maybe one night as we just can’t eat that much – you are paying for an appetizer/salad, plus entrée, plus dessert and a non-alcoholic drink). If you are ok with grabbing a bagel (or packing cereal/cereal bars/juice boxes for breakfast) and then eating Quizno’s, pizza, Johnny Rockets, or from a deli for dinner, then it’s cheaper without the meal plan. A regular sandwich combo with drinks/chips at Quizno’s was $15; a hamburger at Johnny Rockets was $12. A piece of pizza was $6 and whole pizza was $32 (large enough for a family of 4) vs ~$200/dinner options on the meal plan. Lunch isn’t included in any meal plan. Yet you can visit these restaurants in the Marina for lunch (too far to walk though for a quick bite when you are at the water park)… or for most folks, buy from one of the many pool food stands where a sandwich/hot dog/grilled cheese combo with chips/drink runs about $10 (and I think that includes a soda refill in a decent size cup). The frozen drinks were $10 each. Fountain soda without a meal was $3.50.

KIDS CLUB: You must bring proof of age/passport the first time. Ages are 3-5 or 6-12. Plan to attend one of three time slot: 9-12am; 1-5pm; 6:30-10:30pm (older kids only; prices vary from $40-$60). The 1-5pm slot is the cheapest if you are looking at rain/cold weather and it gives kids a choice of 3-different activities including a rock climbing option on T/Th/Sat I believe for the older kids. Our 8-year old liked it… or 6-year old didn’t. We did make them take an afternoon nap to stay up late =) We were there over a holiday weekend and they didn’t fill up (meaning reservations didn’t seem to be required but all have to wait 5-10 minutes to check-in at the start of a session). You’ll need a way for the club to contact you for an emergency; if your cell is too expensive, you can rent a pager… or you’ll need to stay in your room. My kids didn’t try the culinary experience (two hours), but it did look fun. Tours are offered at 5:15 I believe of both the Kids Club and the Culinary Experience within the club. It seemed fairly clean/well staffed/friendly. They’ll give you a “pick-up ticket” that you must bring back with you… and if you lose that, you’ll need proof of ID.

AIRPORT SHUTTLE VS TAXI: If you have more than 2 in your party, consider a taxi (cost neutral; there were plenty of taxis at both the airport and hotel). It leaves when you want (vs waiting to fill up) and won’t stop at the other hotels (meaning it won’t create a line to check-in when you arrive). We needed to wait a good 15 mins at both pick-up/drop-off to fill up our van.

POOLS: You’ll need a wrist band from a towel hut at the start of the day (there are several towel huts; maybe a 5 mins wait at max; you don’t have to return a towel to request a new one). The water park was FABULOUS. We didn’t make it to all of the pools! The only height requirement cut-off was at 48 inches for the water slides... and if you have a child less than 48 inches and one taller, you’ll likely have to split up with your spouse. We seemed to sit (aka set up camp) at a different spot each day. A waitress recommended setting up camp by “The Bath” pool because you can get onto the crazy river, have a pool, or direct beach access all close by… which was true, but we just wanted our stuff closer to the hotel and ended up setting up camp closer to the smaller kids pool (by the double slides). A note that the pools are open 9-5 (and the water slides 10-5). There are no lights on the pools or beach at night, just the walking paths. The website states you must secure eyewear before going down a slide, but we didn’t have that and still went on, even with sunglasses and a hat (some intertube slides in the power tower just asked that we remove our hat before we went down (and placed it under a leg/arm)). The crazy river was ok for those less than 48”… you just can’t take the “detour” to the power tower. I’d say anyone close to 42” or below shouldn’t go on the crazy river just because they can’t be secured well in the intertubes. Any child who needed a life vest (supplied for free for day use) didn’t seem to be allowed on the crazy river. Remember to keep your bottom up… there were shallow parts especially down the power tower intertube slides. Also, while everyone was polite, I have to say the lifeguards aren’t at the same level as say those at a Great Wolf Lodge… several appeared to be resting with their eyes closed. You’ll need to keep an eye on any child you are concerned about. Also, each of us got a scrap somehow, me on my elbow in the crazy river, my son on his toe. My husband wore water shoes… the rest of us didn’t. Bring them if you have them, but otherwise, may not be worth buying. There were very few chairs for the elderly to sit in… almost all chaise lounge chairs or barstool/tables to eat at.

DOLPHIN CAY: We signed up for a shallow water dolphin interaction (must book in advance or it will likely be full). Totally worth it. Quick, but worth it (no more than an hour in total). Your group of say 50 folks gets a wet suit and then broken into 5 groups of 10. Each group of ten (heads into the water at the same time, just spaced out) gets a “hugs and kisses” photo with a dolphin, both individually and then as a family. You get to kiss the lower “lip” of the dolphin… and then its back. If you plan to buy a frame and a small 50-page album while in Atlantis, wait and plan to buy a $140 package which includes both items and all photos on a CD (plus several prints; the frame was an odd size 4x8 that was one of the print sizes you’ll get). The only cheaper option was $70 and it got you two 5x7s and three 4x6s with no CD (prints were printed on Kodak paper but kind of washed out). You are unable to buy individual prints like the rest of the park where photographers abound and take your photo and slap a sticker on your wristband to view later. My son and I participated; my husband and younger son received “guest wrist bands” during check-in too and were able to accompany us up to the water’s edge (I had heard this would be an extra $15/charge each, but we weren’t charged). Would still be hard for them to get a great photo though as the photographers seem programmed to put themselves between you and your spouse on shore taking a photo =) Also, the whole group of 10 is positioned in a line, which blocks your view from the shore a bit too.

PACKING TIPS
-Pack drinks/water/snacks. You get one free checked bag per person internationally and it gets tiring to head to the lobby each time you want a snack (let alone less expensive). If you have a hard-sided suitcase, it would be a great choice for some drinks (we double “ziploc’ed” both water/juice and didn’t have a leak in even a soft-sided checked suitcase). Before leaving, I used a Sharpie marker to write letters/numbers on the plastic lids so as to not confuse bottles. We did buy 3-4 plastic soda bottles before leaving (after clearing security on our departure) and packed in our carry on… nice for when you wanted soda in your room, but at $3.50 on the resort I wouldn’t bring a lot). We did bring a small insulated lunch bag with us to the pool (two blue ice to pack even though there wasn’t a freezer in the room). We also packed in that insulated bag some snacks to munch on while at the pool (raisins, gummy snacks, fruit strips, freeze dried fruit, cereal bars, beef jerky). It came in handy when the kids weren’t hungry enough for a soft pretzel/lunch, but you wanted them to have something healthy among the junk food to drink/eat quickly. It ended up that we were so full from breakfast that we just needed two small snacks before eating dinner at 5:30 on most days. I brought extra Ziploc bags (thinking I could take leftover cereal/danish with me from breakfast to snack on by the pool) and empty reusable water bottles (thinking I could take water to the pool in them), but never used either. We did play “food games” in our room, tossing marshmallows and fruit loops into your mouth – that was a hit. Gum or small candies too were a hit (wrapped from home of course to add to the suspense of getting a treat =).
-Refridge in room. It was weight sensitive so you couldn’t manipulate what was in there… but there was one empty (small) shelf at the top to cool things overnight for the next day.
-Pack a pool bag. We stocked ours with sunscreen/hats/sunglasses/goggles/small insulated lunch bag (see above)/walkie-talkies (which work well believe it or not inside a quart Ziploc to keep them waterproof)/small Ziploc bag with paper/pencil to leave notes to each other (eg, just left for crazy river)/and a waterproof watch to leave on your bag. You’d be surprised how many times we were asked for the time! Towels are provided each day when you get your wristband… and left on your chair or in bins when you leave (so you don’t have to carry back to your room). We took our non-waterproof camera one day and left it in the bag. Also, I kept our room card in the pool bag each day. There are lockers by the crazy river for rent at a “hospitality” hut which we didn’t use; things were fairly safe. Also consider bringing a brightly colored ribbon to tie to the back of your pool chairs. It’s easier to find your stuff among the sea of towels (and prevents folks from taking a chair which did happen one day as you mostly see just towels vs people on the chairs).
-Beach Gear – Don’t forget a few $1 buckets (say from Walmart) and shovels for the beach. Snorkel gear if your kids are older (closer to the Cove/Reef hotels; near “The Bath” pool).
-Clothing – For 5 days, we packed 3 suits each (my boys were in long-sleeve shirts and swim shorts each day – we brought one to wear while the other dried… and one extra in case it was extra sandy/etc); cover-up for you; then a t-shirt/shorts for each day to change in/out of. I packed two sandals for everyone because its not fun to put on still damp shoes to walk down to dinner. Extra underwear. We did need our jackets from the plane ride two nights (but it was abnormally cool – highs didn’t reach 70). There is a “dry line” in the bathtub area… plus a towel rack to hang suits on hangers too to drip dry. We almost always travel now by putting each person’s clothes in a kitchen garbage bag with their name on the outside. I just stick that bag in a dresser drawer – keeps things relatively organized and use an empty suitcase for the dirty laundry. You can easily wear t-shirt/shorts/flip-flops to most any restaurant (except those “fancier” ones with a dress code).
-Safe in Room- It wasn't big enough for our MacBook Pro, but held our wallets and iTouches/iPhones

Other FYI tips
-On your departing Winter flight, pack a pair of shorts and flip flops for the kids to change into on the plane. Going from freezing to 80 is tricky, but once we got there, it helped that everyone was cool waiting in the Bahamian customs line (which because we were in the back of the plane, was a solid 35 min wait). Also, let the Bell Hop help you carry all your bags when you arrive – spoil yourself – it was a treat not to schlep those things the 5-10 minute walk to your room for the cost of a tip!
-On your return flight, you’ll need to clear US customs before departing the Bahamas so you’ll arrive at a domestic gate (and ultimately save time). Do arrive at the airport 2 hours before your return flight though.
-Gym was $15/day (not included). Slight discount if you bought more than one day’s use. Lap pool outside the gym was free. Plenty of paved paths to run on in the resort/by the beach for free.
-If you are worried about your kids sleeping together on a queen bed; request a lay-away bed in advance. It’s free.
-Buy a small toy for your child to open in your room during down time and wrap in advance (as a “reward” for their great behavior of course vs something to keep them busy and give you time to yourself). A new matchbox car or small airplane were hits for us.
-Bring a pen on the plane in easy reach (for your immigration and custom forms)
-Pack in your checked bag a small kids size pair of scissors to cut off the daily water park bracelets at night
-If you are an “electronic” family, remember a power outlet to charge all your i-touch/phones at night in a central place… and a cable to connect say an iPad to the TV to watch movies on the room’s TV. We do use a “fan” app on our iPad for white noise while staying the room. There was loud music outside till 10 for a private/company party.
-We did buy the Internet for ~$100 for the 5 days. It provided Internet access for up to 4 devices/per room. We were able to stream movies to our iPad without viewing delays.
-There was a printed daily planner with at least the next 4 days worth of activities that was slipped under our door the night after we arrived; it was just hard to distinguish what was free from stuff not included.
-There are check points throughout the hotel – you’ll need to carry your room key (or show you waterpark wrist band) at all times.

All in all - a fantastic trip in a clean, kid-friendly environment!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

How to begin. If colossal "architecture" and faux finishes are your thing then this might be your kind of place. If you miss the cigarette funk that permeated your hair back when you used to smoke in the eighties, this place could be for you. If you love the company of two kinds of ugly American: rich wall street brokers and their spoiled kids, and rich midwestern tourists who have never intentionally away from a buffet in their lives, Atlantis is for you. If you like to throw your money away on 50 dollar buffet dinners (30 bucks for kids!) and still grumble that the bahamian lady serving you your six plates of food "wasn't all that friendly" then this place is for you. If you like being spirited along like a member of some human school of tuna, from one overcrowded and surcharged attraction to another, then make your reservation. But the blameless sun, which showed its face only occasionally this past weekend, that was nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in this beautiful hotel. Everything you can possibly imagine is right there. Restaurants, entertainment, casino, dancing and plenty of activities. There's something for everyone. We loved it and cannot wait to go back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherwood, wi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I recently stayed at the Atlantis Royal Towers. (There are several hotels on the Atlantis property) the Royal Towers is the main large hotel located in the center of the property.

My first impression was that I had arrived at a large Las Vegas casino. The hotel has the look and feel of Las Vegas. This isn't bad it's just an observation. Check in was easy and quick. We had reserved a Royal Suite and the room was large and comfortable with two surprisingly small balconies. Only one chair could fit on a balcony which felt weird given the large size of the room. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very large. Overall the room was about what we expected for the price. The second to the last night we were there a water problem developed in some room above ours and we woke up to saturated carpet and wet belongings. Here is where service went downhill fast. It took two calls to get a response. All we got was a very loud fan put in the room to dry it out. No offer for a different room and no credit on our bill. The last night we were there was not good in that the room smelled awful and the fan was running on full blast while we tried to sleep.

The amenities on the property are good though. A nice, albeit expensive casino, large swimming pools and a good beach for walking and swimming. The staff at the hotel was very friendly and polite and if we didn't have the water issue in our room I would have scored the property one star higher.

Make sure you purchase a food plan if bringing your family. This property is extremely expensive to eat at. Cab rides into town cost $4.00 per person so if you are a couple that's $16 round trip added to your in town dining cost. Beware this can add up in a hurry. The food is good but expensive.

All in all its not a place I will hurry to return to but it was not as bad as some reviews imply in my opinion. The rooms definitely need some updating to live up to the Atlantis brand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis - Royal Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis - Royal Towers

Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis - Royal Towers 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Royal Towers are the most reflective of mythical Atlantis, featuring grand architecture, artwork and design. Standard rooms have one king or two queen beds, a sitting area, French balconies, and suites have full balconies. All rooms and suites offer terrace, harbour or water views. These towers are closest to Mandara Spa, the Fitness Center, Aquaventure, Atlantis Kids Adventures, the Dig, Casino, two main pools, and several gourmet dining options. Royal Towers offers 128 concierge-level guestrooms, accessed by high-speed, keyed elevators offering the highest level of service and access to the Imperial Club. Complimentary breakfast served daily and in the afternoon hors devours and cocktails are on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Atlantis - Royal Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis - Royal Towers Hotel Paradise Island
Atlantis Royal Hotel
Atlantis Royal Paradise Island
Atlantis Paradise Island Royal Towers
Royal Towers Atlantis
Royal Towers Of Atlantis
Atlantis - Royal Towers Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis - Royal Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.