We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, could be better!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis - Royal Towers

Save Saved
You added Atlantis - Royal Towers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantis - Royal Towers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$350 in Added Value!
Ranked #11 of 14 hotels in Paradise Island
SURREY
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“good, could be better!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I would have loved to have given this 5 stars, but there are so many little things that add up which stoped me doing it.
Atlantis is a place that has to be visited once in a lifetime. Its pure escapism, crazy land for a week and I had a lovely stay.
The restaurants are all very good, expensive, but you know that before you go.
It must cost an arm and a leg to run Atlantis, there are staff everywhere which helped me justify the prices of everything.

The slides, pools, aquariums were magical and loved visiting them everyday.

The rooms need MAJOR updates. Our telephone did not work, wardrobe door broken, hairdryer didn't work and missing light bulbs never replaced. But this aside, we had a lovely view and a really good stay.

Experience this place and see for yourself, just make sure you have lots of cash!!

Room Tip: You need to view the beach/pools etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,558 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    965
    762
    400
    245
    186
See reviews for
1246
615
25
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just returned from a special trip to Atlantis for our 25th wedding anniversary. We brought our kids-ages 13 and 15 because we don't usually go to islands and we didn't want them to miss out. The kids had the time of their lives on all the amazing water slides! We stayed at the Royal Towers and everything was just perfect!The Cove Beach and Baths pool became our home-away-from home. Water, music and cocktails! Happiness! I DO NOT UNDERSTAND how anyone could criticize this beautiful resort! Everything, from the moment we arrived until the moment we left, was just perfect! Yes, it is indeed very expensive. We knew this going in. Yes $4.00 for a soda is crazy, but it is the same thing you encounter in Disney. You get what you pay for! And we got a gorgeous, immaculate resort with amazing pools and beaches! The Royal Towers was very centrally located, and if you book there, ask for a room in the East Towers as it is closer to everything. But, by walking around, I dont think you can pick a bad hotel. The aquarium at the Royal Towers was fascinating, and the Dolphon Cay dolphin experience was very well done too. I must speak about the warm spirit of the Bahamain staff! They truly made our trip. We were greeted so warmly wherever we went, always with a big smile! We got the Atlantis meal plan and loved eating at the Mesa Grill and Virgils. Yes, the alcohol and tips were not included so these were charged to our room, but we knew this going in. We will not be able to afford to go back again in the near future, but hope to save our pennies so that we can go back again in a few years. JUST GO!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The service is horrible. The prices are outrageous for the quality you are getting. I don't mind paying $300+ for a meal if the food is created by a top chef with passion for cooking. This food made 4 of our party sick and vomiting all night. They even managed to screw up a hamburger, how do you do that?!
There were creepy bugs all over some of the hotel rooms.
Asking to speak to the manager after treaded horribly (being discriminated against) by the staff was a full time job on itself. The staff here does not care about you.

*edit- coincidentally, while writing this review, my buddy staying at the floor below just called to say he had diarrhea all night after eating at one of the restaurants. Thats 2 nights in a row that the food is making people sick. these were the 2 restaurants that were supposed to be the best places around. Behemian lounge, and chopstix. Absolutely inedible food. Eat at own risk!

Do not expect to be treated with class at this place. They do not know the meaning of the word. Anyone saying this is a good hotel has no idea what they are talking about. If you are used to good food, clean hotel rooms, good service, and overall class and style, do not stay at this place! You are warned. The only people saying this is a good place are gullible middle class americans that don't understand they are being raped here.

Do yourself a favor and never stay here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, ab
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We knew the Atlantis Resort would be good. We had no idea how good! The property itself has to be the singularly most amazing resort on the planet. It is an absolute must-see marvel of human achievement in vision, design, delivery and experience. And it must have cost an absolute fortune to build - so be prepared to pay your part - this kind of experience is not for the traveller who puts cost first - you can find cheaper beaches and adventures - but you cannot find better ones. Save your extra bucks so at least once in your life you get to experience this resort.

Our room was awesome - it was a Oceanview Regal Suite - a complimentary upgrade - not sure why or how but next time we'll book this room for sure. It was so spacious and had a large lanai and an amazing view of the whole resort and ocean.

Service was super super friendly - the Bahamians are very cheerful - don't expect snobby service - it's not, it's friendly and kind.You can't be in a rush, because they won't be - but know that going in and you'll be fine.

I have to say after reading some of the reviews we almost didn't book this trip. That would have been the worst decision. We travel often and this trip was by far the best of our life - better than the 3 Disney cruises we have done, hawaii, Spain and so on. The best yet. In fact, we aren't sure where we'll go next because the Atlantis was that good. So, what we thought was a bucket list trip might become an annual event.

By the way, we saw Cody Simpson in concert for free up close (his next stop was opening for Justin Beiber in DC) and we saw Evander Holyfield everywhere. This place was star-studded. Next time we'll watch to see who is performing there because it is a neat experience to see such huge stars in such a small venue.

Wanna see our experience? We made a fun video Gangnam style to showcase it all http://youtu.be/W1EMFSaVqmE

With regard to the meal plan - we took the strategy that food is very expensive there so instead of feeling bad about it, get the meal plan and relax because "it is what it is" - but while the meal plan was good value if you are a big big big eater, we ended up wanting to eat our money's worth and came home with extra chins. Next time we'll probably pay the same overall by ordering only what we want, getting to choose where we eat, getting less food mind you, but not have an extra set of bags on our rear end coming home. ha ha. Sidenote - the food is AMAZING! Virgil's BBQ is to DIE for. It was our favorite.

Hope you have a great vacation wherever you choose to go!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place has EVERYTHING. Massive pools, adults only pools, excellent water slides, "lazy" river, beautiful beach, AMAZING Aquarium in lobby, casino, marina, spa, swimming with dolphins, night clubs, restaurants.........EVERYTHING !!! We had lots of fun throughout the resort, there is plenty for the young ones to do, the water park rides are excellent. Prices for everything was out of control expensive, and most of the locals are not in any hurry to provide service. The prices can be dealt with, but with those prices you expect a better level of service, which in not always what you get. For now, Atlantis is the place to be, but there are several new resorts, closer to the airport, that will give Atlantis a run for its money. Cab from the airport takes about 45 minutes, and costs $50-$75.......depending on your service.

Room Tip: there are 2 "royal towers" one is in the main lobby, closer to casino. the other is a hike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Atlantis is as beautiful and grande as it looks. The pools are large and clean. The lazy river and rapids are the best. The staff courteous and friendly and always smiling.
Prices are outrageous but the food is fresh and delicious.

Atlantis is a fabulous place to stay if you have money to spend. Otherwise don't.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I visited the Atlantis - Royal towers hotel with my girlfriend back in 2009 we arrived onboard the Royal Caribbean cruise liner "Majesty of the seas" from Miami Florida.
First impressions of this hotel were great and that feeling intensifies the closer you get as you realise the scale of the place, but it's only when you arrive and you get out of your cab that you appreciate what a beautiful hotel it really is. We arrived at the Pegasus fountain and then entered via the huge bronze doors into the atrium which was stunning. The massive indoor aquarium is outstanding and it is well worth paying to see it in all it's glory!
Food and alcohol are expensive but you have to remember where you are and this tends to put it into perspective.
The casino was good fun and had some great machines to play, but it was not on the scale of the Las Vegas hotels, So if its casinos you want, then make Vegas your destination of choice!!
We did not stay in this hotel so cannot comment on the beds, rooms or breakfast, but we both would like to and may indeed return for a special occasion in the future and do just that!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantis - Royal Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis - Royal Towers

Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis - Royal Towers 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Royal Towers are the most reflective of mythical Atlantis, featuring grand architecture, artwork and design. Standard rooms have one king or two queen beds, a sitting area, French balconies, and suites have full balconies. All rooms and suites offer terrace, harbour or water views. These towers are closest to Mandara Spa, the Fitness Center, Aquaventure, Atlantis Kids Adventures, the Dig, Casino, two main pools, and several gourmet dining options. Royal Towers offers 128 concierge-level guestrooms, accessed by high-speed, keyed elevators offering the highest level of service and access to the Imperial Club. Complimentary breakfast served daily and in the afternoon hors devours and cocktails are on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Atlantis - Royal Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis - Royal Towers Hotel Paradise Island
Atlantis Royal Hotel
Atlantis Royal Paradise Island
Atlantis Paradise Island Royal Towers
Royal Towers Atlantis
Royal Towers Of Atlantis
Atlantis - Royal Towers Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis - Royal Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.