We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falling Apart” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis - Royal Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantis - Royal Towers to your Saves list
Atlantis - Royal Towers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$400 in Credits
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Paradise Island
miami
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Falling Apart”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I was first at the Atlantis Paradise Resort over 8 years ago and was awestruck by the magnitude and beauty of the resort. I went back Valentines Day weekend 2012. It took an hour by Taxi because there is construction of a new resort and all traffic is being rerouted. It cost $35 for the ride. When we finally got to the resort, there was noone infront of us to check in and it still took 30 minutes. The room wasnt ready at 8:30PM? Although we asked for a non-smoking room, they put us in a smoking room and it was definitely a smoking room the smell was in the drapes and carpeting, it smelled like an ashtray. When we asked for a room change they were annoyed that we would even ask and stated that we would have to wait until check-in time 3:00 the following day, we had just checked in. Customer service anyone? We stuck with it since we had to unpack for the evening and didnt feel like repacking to move. We got through by keeping the balcony door open whenever we were in the room. By the 4th day it almost smelled better. While walking the grounds we began to see there has been no maintenance on the property. The walls are visibly cracking on the exterior of several buildings and chunks of plaster falling off. The tank they call the predator tank was cloudy with many particles in the water, we later found out the filter was being repaired. I remembered it was expensive but nothing could prepare you for a breakfast buffet of $35 per person? We decided to eat in the lobby after that $4 OJ. They had a special of a muffin, coffee and a fruit for $10. And ofcourse lets not forget the 17% tip included in every beverage or meal or hotdog you purchase. And if you dont put any additional tip they give you a face. Thankfully we decided to venture outside the hotel and ate out 2 nights, once at Fish Fry it was amazing! and once in downtown near the wharf.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,258
    974
    526
    326
    261
See reviews for
1,604
801
35
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Atlantis is a mega resort, if you want an intimate experiance this is not the place. The service is pretty good, restaurants are OK but not great and way to expensive for the quality you get ($18 Turkey sandwich anyone?). I visited with my wife and we did have a good time down at the beach and the waterpark is really fun. There are tons of people and even more when the cruise ships dock, the cruise passangers get day passes at Atlantis so there are lots of jeans shorts and fanny packers lounging by the pool. The casino did not appeal to us but for someone that is into gambling the other guests seemed to be having a blast. Our room was large and the view was really good, housekeeper was on point. We stayed on the 7th floor of Royal Tower. Be prepared to fend off the hustlers down at the beach, this was a real turn off for me, getting pestered by people selling cheap necklaces and Jet ski rides. Not sure if management can control this but it's a real problem. With that said, Things to do- Rent a Jetski (you can get it for $75 per hour if you go in the morning before crowds), go snorkeling, do the dolphin experiance, take a cab to the "fish fry", enjoy local conch fritters and conch salad, take the ferry from Atlantis to another island for the day, go to

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton, fl
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Most general info has already been written about: The lobby is stunning, the aquariums everywhere are incredible with the hugest sting rays and tons of sharks, the rooms are okay, waterview rooms have beautiful views, beach is narrow and pretty, great slides for all ages, expensive food, dolphin swim is better than anywhere else, casino is huge, great kids/teen clubs for at night, a few boutique stores like Gucci, a big game room in another tower, aqua bikes, banana boats and a volleyball court right behind the towers, hair braiding on the beach, a pottery painting area, so many restaurants, great breakfast buffet at the marketplace, Starbucks nearby, and you can pay extra to interact with the stingrays in their tanks.

So here are my tips:

1. stay in the east wing, it's closer to stores, restaurants, casino. west wing to be near the cove.
2. if you like a light breakfast, you can get rolls, fruit, coffee in lobby of royal towers or there's a starbucks in the outdoor shopping/restaurant area past the casino (which is a pretty long walk).
3. kids and adults will love marketplace buffet for breakfast-- and kids (not most adults) will love dinner in the marketplace. you can take them and not eat if you aren't hungry or don't find it appealing, and won't be charged.
4. if your kids want pizza for lunch it's only served at the little kiddie slide area.
5. get to the pool by 9am or you won't get a seat during school breaks.
6. behind the royal towers there are jet skis and banana boats. they are not run by atlantis. you can bargain the price of jetskiis. they say $70 but we've paid $50. if the kids go banana boating wear goggles bc you get so splashed in the face you can't see. They are local guys driving the boats--not so sure about safety, but ours went slowly.
7. get a chair by the first large pool behind the towers--it's quieter.
8. the clubs for kids at night are separated by age. i think 13 and up for one, and younger for the other. they are strict and you need to show a passport the first time they go, after that it's in their computer. the clubs are in the coral tower, which is a pretty long walk--don't forget the passport! the 13 and up club has computers and snacks and a dance floor. my girls love it. it's $25pp per night!
9. recently stayed in a suite--which was renovated with a fabulous, huge marble bathroom and walkout balconies. very expensive, but the space, decor and view were incredible.
10. flight is only half hour from ft laud and car ride to hotel is half hour from airport. Atlantis's "Knowles" car service is always punctual, with a polite driver.

I love this place and so do my kids. Wish the place was quieter and emptier, but I guess I'm not the only one who loves it here. Happy to help if anyone has questions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, MN
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Our stay at the Atlantis Royal Towers was relaxing and comfortable. We had a “regal suite”, which had a larger balcony and one room with a separate living space. There were 3 of us in the room. The two rooms were divided by a sliding door for privacy and there were 2 bathrooms.
The one thing I would say about Atlantis is that it is very expensive. Atlantis takes up about 75% of Paradise Island, so you can’t get a can of pop under 3 bucks anywhere.
However, there was one small shopping strip mall called Paradise Shopping Village that had some stores with less expensive souvenirs and a small grocery and liquor store. The liquor store is called “Bristols”. We stayed at the Royal Towers for 10 days, so we purchased a case of white wine and they delivered it to the hotel for free!!! (And nothing in Atlantis is free!). The shopping village was across the street from the Marine Village Shopping area (Atlantis shopping).
We saved a ton of money on wine since that shopping village is the only place we found that we could purchase items outside of the Atlantis domain and it is easy to get too. ( http://www.bristolbahamas.com ) When you take bus that goes from hotel to hotel, you will pass the shopping village. The closest bus stop is to be dropped off at the Coral Towers or it is an $18 round trip cab ride.
Also, the rooms do not have a microwave or a refrigerator. You can rent a refrigerator for $15 a day, which we did and made good use of. You have to ask as they don’t volunteer a lot of information without asking.
Be sure to visit Bristols liquor store ( http://www.bristolbahamas.com ) on paradise island to save huge money on wine while you are there. They were extremely accommodating in regards to delivering wine. The cheapest wine at the hotel was $55 for 1/2 bottle. We got a whole case of wine at Bristols for $69.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We travelled to Atlantis with our 16 and 20 year old over the President's Day long weekend and had a good time. The crowds were huge (they bus in cruise ship passengers) and the lines for the water rides were long at peak times. The music around the large pool was way too loud and the food prices are ridiculous!! Paid $10 for a large bag of Fritos, which I did not have to buy and $27.99 for a regular size bottle of sunscreen, which I had to buy. The grounds are clean and the adjoining rooms were nice. Dinner each night at the top restaurants ranged from $300-400, and I had only one glass of wine! My husband and children had soda or water. Price gouging at its best. We did have fun with the dolphins and the snorkeling was pretty good. I will never go back as there are a ton of places I'd rather go and for a lot less money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Went to Atlantis from Seattle for seven days. The first three days was a company retreat and it was a great location. The trip is a long way to go from the west coast where we have Hawaii, Mexico and Vegas so close, but it was well worth it. As far as the banquet/conf rooms, they suited us just fine and Casino, night club, bars, food, pools, beach - had something for everyone on any budget.
The last 3 or 4 days my wife joined us and also had a great time just lounging by the Baths pool, doing the rapids, and slides, swimming with the dolphins (pricey - but worth it once). Definitley a memorable trip. The staff is SOOOO friendly (except one blackjack dealer who was a grump) but the management, and all staff members were super friendly.
For the people who complain about being 'nickel and dimed' it is no different than any other place I've been and really wasn't that bad.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOVER
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We were looking for a tropical family friendly place on the ocean to get married. I did a lot of research on Atlantis before picking it. When I made the reservation I asked them what time was the watermark open, because this was most important for keeping our daughter busy. They told me the watersides close at 6 pm and pools at 11 pm. When we checked in at 5 pm thinking we could go have some water fun we were told that everything was closing at 5:30 , I was so angry that they told me completely wrong times over the phone for reservations. So after getting to our rooms which might I add are beautiful, we are there for 2 rooms, one of which to have a king size bed, we got 2 double beds. So on my honeymoon I slept in a full size bed instead of a king, and paid for a king! This place does not have it together. After being so mad about the lies of the watermark and the mixup of not getting the rooms we wanted we called downstairs and asked the concierge what time does the watermark open in the morning? We were told 9 am and closes at 5. We were down there the next morning at 9 am, and nope the waterpark doesn't open till 10 am, they don't know their butt from a hole in the ground! Now to get into the eating at this place, just don't do it! We got the meal plan and it was a total waste of money and the food is horrible! Then upon checking out, our bill was 1600.00 more then what it should have been. They charged us gratuity on top of our meal plan , the dinners were 500.00 a night so in 4 days we had almost 700 in gratuity. Then they charge you crazy daily fees, we actually got charged a 30.00 a day, maid gratuity fee. Bottom line: this is the most beautiful place on earth. Everything is stunning, the pools, rooms, resort, everything! Yet, you think with the specials they run you will get somewhat of an affordable vacation, you won't in the end!

Room Tip: Royal towers are the best location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis - Royal Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis - Royal Towers

Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis - Royal Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 1201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Royal Towers are the most reflective of mythical Atlantis, featuring grand architecture, artwork and design. Standard rooms have one king or two queen beds, a sitting area, and French balconies, while suites have full balconies. All rooms and suites offer terrace, harbour or water views. These towers are closest to Mandara Spa, the Fitness Center, Aquaventure, Atlantis Kids Adventures, The Dig, Casino, two main pools, and several gourmet dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantis - Royal Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis - Royal Towers Hotel Paradise Island
Atlantis Royal Hotel
Atlantis Royal Paradise Island
Atlantis Paradise Island Royal Towers
Royal Towers Atlantis
Royal Towers Of Atlantis
Atlantis - Royal Towers Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis - Royal Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.