We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible! No water all day in rooms with no warning and no help” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis - Harborside Resort

Save Saved
You added Atlantis - Harborside Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantis - Harborside Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$350 in Added Value!
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Paradise Island
Great Neck, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Horrible! No water all day in rooms with no warning and no help”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We are currently staying at the Harborside and water has been turned off all day. Everytime we call, we are told it will come on in the next hour. It's been off since 10:00 am until now (currently 5pm). We have been on hold trying to contact the front desk since 4pm- one whole hour. We were told at one point that the water is still on....but it's not. We cannot flush, clean dishes in the sink, make coffee or shower after the day at the pool. This is terrible and the service is horrible.

Room Tip: We are in Building 6, top floor with a great view of the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis - Harborside Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
I had the opputunity to and thank you for the feedback you shared on your vacation with us, at Harborside. We are very sorry that we fell short of your expectations. Unfortunately, while you were here, we experienced a disruption in the water servicee due to circumstances beyond our control. On behalf of the resort, I apologize for any inconvenience caused. However, I welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly to address your concerns. I can be contacted at hsresponse@atlantisparadise.com. Once again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    470
    333
    113
    50
    34
See reviews for
558
171
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Went with my brother and his family ( adults, 4 children ages 8 to 15) to Harborside over the Christmas, New Years Holiday. Arranged for a 3 bedroom lockout through Russell Kanner - "The Timeshare King". Yes, that is what he goes by and deservedly so. Smoothest transaction possible and everything he promised was delivered. He is a straight shooter and an absolute delight. If you are considering Harborside Resort at Atlantis, you, absolutely, should go through Russell. You will receive top-notch service and will not be disappointed. I have never, personally, met the man but would use his services again, in a heartbeat. His contact number is 888-717-8463. www.thetimeshareking.com.

Now about the resort…Yes, I saw past reviews about exterior peeling paint but it was so minimal, I would not have even taken note had I not read previous comments. I thought the buildings and grounds were immaculate. Our 3 bedroom condo was well appointed. Everything in the kitchens and bathrooms worked perfectly. The beds were comfortable, the linens crisp. Moreover, every single staff member at Harborside always had a smile and made you feel welcome. Blanche Sears, the resort Manager, is a delight. I wish there were more resort managers like her. To be honest, I would rather stay at the Harborside over the Atlantis Towers. After a fun day on the slides and beach, it was a welcome relief to come back to a private pool and a large condo. We would prepare our own snacks and drinks and relax together without being crowded into a hotel room.

Russell had arranged our pick up from the airpot from Kidan Dean - Best Choice SUV and Transfer. Kidan is a character in the best sense of the word. A delight. He met us upon arrival and drove us about through much of our vacation. We all felt so "safe" and "well taken care of" when Kidan was behind the wheel. His number is (242) 433-4301. In addition, he knows all the best "insider" restaurants. If he was working (at Harborside), and could not drive us, he personally arranged for another driver. Without exception, they were all great.

In a nutshell, the most incredible vacation. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We are enjoying our last day here at Harborside. I was a little hesitant upon reading some of the negative reviews and I cannot tell you how sad it makes me as our stay was as perfect as it could have been. Even with a key glitch that had us getting a daily bracelet at the towel shack daily. Alex, the manager at the towel shack was exemplarary of our stay. He apologized for the key not allowing the week pass but his daily good morning and asking how we were, made any little ircks disappear.

The front desk changed out our keys but for some reason, we still needed daily bracelets. Our other travel companions, 5 of them, did not. Did that ruin it? Hell no!!

Geez--you are on a gorgeous island, with the nicest people, saying good day to you as they pass you. If you cannot step away from your fast lane lifestyle to embrace the Bahama way, go vacation in New York.

Here you need to let your hair down, wait a little longer, but when you wait, look around at the beauty that surrounds you.

Pricey, yes. But you are on vacation. We cooked several extra ordinary dinners in the condo, found fresh fish to cook and with friends with you, it was worth it.

Embrace the culture and live a little.

To Alex, Aldina, Valnique (no sure of her spelling) but the girls that work for Alex, thank you from Mr. Jack and wife. To Harborside and the Cove, thanks for making our first stay in the Bahamas, extraordinary.

Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Rooms are so quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed at Harborside which was a great decision. For same price as the towers we had a room with living, dining, master and a fridge, stove, dishwasher and washer/dryer. Great idea for families with kids, because you also get the pull out couch which can sleep 2 adults or 3 kids. The main resort was easy walking distance or they have free shuttles. With our stay you get access to all the aquariums. The only bad issue was the price of the food at the entire place - CRAZY - and don't go to their store they take you to - way expensive. Make a day and take a cab to downtown to shop and visit the real grocery store before you come back to load up on stuff for your fridge. Room and place was very clean and all the people were very very nice. Good place for a family with younger kids to stay as you have the room to run.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room - you get more privacy and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This review is a little late, but I thought I'd chime in. We had a great time at the Harborside. We had a two-bedroom first floor unit that had a great view of the harbor. Our unit was in good condition and very clean. Plenty of space for our family and a great location on the property. Not as nice as some other Westin properties, but certainly acceptable. A bit more than we wanted to spend, but we wanted to experience Atlantis and weren't sure we wanted to stay right on the property.

The pool was perfect for relaxation and there were always loungers available - a nice change from the crowded pools at Atlantis. But we expected this during Spring Break.

We loved that it was much more quiet and far less crowded than the Atlantis property itself, but that we had access to Atlantis and could head over there whenever we wanted. The shuttles were convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We go to Harborside Resort every May.it's a great time to go. You get rid of the winter blues. The resort is always clean. The staff goes out of their way to help you. I would recommend going this time of year. You miss spring break, and you beat the summer rush. It's a great place to vacation. Going into Nassau us an experience. The straw market is rebuilt, and looking great. You have to check each Stahl to find the deals though. The hard rock cafe has great food at great prices. Don't forget to go to senor frogs for cocktails.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Let me start by saying that our family's perspective of what we expect from a Westin property may be warped. We own on Maui and have been to the Westin Keirland villas as well as Cancun.

We were placed in one of the oldest buildings on the property - where the main check in is. The rooms are in dire need of updating. The room was musty and well worn - clock didn't work, bed sank in the middle, toilet seat about to fall off when you sat down, shower water fluctuates from full stream to trickle and from lukewarm to hot, and the walls are paper thin (read can hear full conversations of the room next door), Oh, and I must mention that to get wifi, you pay $20 per day for wifi that is spotty and even though is supposed to allow you to connect 4 devices, really only one or two works well at a time.

As for amenities, this wouldn't even be in the Westin portfolio but for Atlantis, the access to which comes as part of the property stay. It's a good thing as there is no beach on property and only one restaurant which is quite poor quality and super expensive.

Now for Atlantis and surrounding marina...if you like gambling, and smoking everywhere (in fact the only smoke free zone is in the kid pool areas), paying uber money for mediocre food and service, then this is the place for you.

Needless to say we won't be back and personally feel we wasted a week here. Either spend your money on another part of the island or vacation elsewhere.

Room Tip: Demand to stay in one of the newer buildings away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis - Harborside Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property and thank you for choosing Harborside as your vacation destination. When a guest does not enjoy their vacation at Harborside, it is deeply disappointing to us. It is even more disappointing to us is that you feel that we have not kept the Starwood promise. I would love the opportunity to speak with you directly so that we can get more information on your vacation experience and avoid this type of occurrence in the future. I can be contacted that hsresponse@atlantisparadise.com .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantis - Harborside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis - Harborside Resort

Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis - Harborside Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the natural wonders of warm Caribbean breezes, blue crystalline waters and sparkling white-sand beaches, Harborside Resort offers Atlantis guests a vacation filled with beauty, relaxation and excitement. Situated just across the marina from Atlantis, you have access to a wealth of private amenities combined with the home-away-from-home extras that only a spacious, private villa can offer. The Harborside Resort is just steps from a harbor front restaurant and pool area, a children's pool with fountains, a fitness facility and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Atlantis - Harborside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis - Harborside Hotel Paradise Island
Harborside Resort Paradise Island
Harborside Hotel Paradise Island
Harborside Resort Atlantis
Harborside Resort At Atlantis
Atlantis - Harborside Resort Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis - Harborside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.