We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis - Harborside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantis - Harborside Resort to your Saves list
Atlantis - Harborside Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$250 Airfare Credit
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Paradise Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Best way to go for visiting Atlantis. We packed all our food in a suitcase, brought all frozen meats in a cooler on the plane as a carry on and was still frozen when we arrived 8 hrs later! No need to eat out, staying here with a full sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top and every thing you need to have...including washer and dryer! Clean, friendly ....perfect vacation. I do recommend the bigger one bedroom check in on Sat. for building 7. by far the best, right on the water!!!

Room Tip: Building 7, Sat-Sat check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    397
    135
    60
    39
See reviews for
655
201
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The rooms were clean and very spacious. Just be aware that if you plan to spend most of your time at the water park or beach, be prepared to walk a long way every day. Even when you take the shuttle to the entrace of the Royal Towers, it is still a very long walk from there. I took a lot of time orienting myself with maps of the Atlantis property so that I would be familar with how to get where we wanted to go before arriving to the resort, but if you've never been there before you cannot imagine how massive the property is. We had blisters on our feet from doing so much walking during our week's stay. I would stay at Harborside again if I needed a room larger than the typical 2 beds and bathroom, but if a standard room will do, stay at the Royal Towers just to be much closer to water atractions. It was okay for us having traveled with teens, but if I had smaller kids who may need carrying sometimes, I would not stay at Harborside. One other thing, be aware that overall the percentage of rooms at Harborside that have good views is small. I was very disappointed to be at Atlantis and see that the view from our room was of the side of another building, but walking around I realzed that the majority of their rooms are this way, so then I got over it. If you want to make sure you have a beautiful view, stay at the Royal Towers.

Room Tip: The likelyhood of you getting one of the few rooms that have good views is small since they cannot b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Rooms and resort are very nice. Quiet, and the walk to the main resort is not bad at all, even with kids. They enjoyed looking at all of the yachts.

We had beer, water and snacks delivered to the room since we were only staying for a few days and didn't want to waste a day taking a cab into town. We took beer and water to the pool in a soft cooler without any problems at all from staff.

Our last day there we found a general and liquor store right across the street. Easy walk and a bit cheaper than the delivery service.

I would NOT do the meal plan again. We did the budget plan. The buffets are fine but got old by the 4th day. Murry's Deli had the best menu but the service was absolutely terrible. Completely unacceptable and we are pretty laid back and not in a hurry. If just one family member decides to eat light or skip a meal you really lose all the money you had saved doing the meal plan. You are also still responsible for the 15% gratuity so meals are not completely covered.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We took our big family vacation with our three and six year old daughters. Due to their young age, we were looking forward to the waterpark and all the pools more than anything. After our late check-in, we were very disappointed day one to find out that ALL pools and the waterpark close down at 7PM. For such a high end and expensive resort, this seems like a ridiculously early time to be closing, especially in the summer. The activities for kids (other than the very expensive AKA Kid's Club) with the family were very lacking in the evenings (minus the Cartoon Network beach movies that didn't show every night). Kicking everyone out of the hotel pool at 7PM was just....lame.

Our room at Harborside was really just "okay". The room looked like a mid level apartment with fairly old looking couches and a fairly stiff bed. The full kitchen didn't have an oven, nor hardly any pots and pans but it made due. Other than the lack of supplies, we were really disappointed that our room was only cleaned three of our six nights. For the amount of money we paid, our room should have been cleaned daily with Godiva chocolate waiting on our pillows along with Flamingo towel sculptures but sadly neither were waiting for us.

The waterpark and beach were really amazing and we loved every minute spent at both. I did, however, find the prices of food and drink to not just be high (we were expecting Hawaii prices) but at the point of price gouging. For an island so close to Florida, it makes no sense to have been charged 300% more than what were in Hawaii. A small bag of Doritos at Atlantis cost $7.00! We thought were going to save money by getting groceries and staying at Harborside but we did not. In hindsight, we should have just gotten a room at the Beach or Coral Towers and paid for the meal plan for about the same price which I would recommend to any families with small children. The cost of food and distance Harborside is from everything makes staying at the Beach and getting the meal plan worth it. The Royal Towers are very nice but cost about as much as staying at the two aforementioned towers and the meal plan for only the motel.

If you are a middle class family with children and a budget, stay at the Beach Towers or Coral Towers, get the meal plan, and skip Harborside. If you have the money and don't mind hob knobbing with snobs....stay at the Royal Towers or the Cove.

Room Tip: Skip Harborside and stay at the Beach or Coral Towers and get the meal plan. With the price of food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I recently returned from a 5 day family trip to Harborside with my husband and boys aged 4 years and 22 months. The resort is amazing, and 5 days was barely enough to see and do most of the things they offer. The main resort had so many different feels! In walking 15 minutes, you get a Vegas feel, Sea World feel, water park experience, and a beach! While Atlantis wasn't the cheapest place we could have gone, I can't imagine expecting bargain prices for so many amenities, staff, and adventures! This will be our go to family spot!

I did read before going that it is not the most relaxing place and I will agree! This was a very active vacation and we all came home dead beat, but very happy. If you have younger kids, you have to watch them like a hawk or they will get lost in the crowds. When we wanted to relax we returned to Harborside and hung out at the pool there with was also very nice.

There is so much to do and tell about Harborside (HS from here on out) that bullet points may be the easiest to follow.

Why I am happy I chose HS:
*Big rooms
*Washer/Dryer allowed us to wash clothes (brought tide pods) and bring home clean laundry. We were able to pack so much less as a result!
*With kids, it felt like more of a home base, they felt less out of sorts.
*It was so much less busy than the main resort, and my kids really liked taking the shuttles places.
*We really enjoyed the marina village and HS is right next door.
*We booked through Atlantis and had room service daily, and other amenities others paying a little less to book elsewhere did not.

Tips for parents on a budget:
*We opted to stay in at HS over the Royal Towers and cook two meals a day rather than go for the meal plan.
* We packed a suitcase full of pancake mix, tortillas, snacks, popcorn, easy mac and other family staples and gladly paid the $25 airline fee to save money.
*The hotel offers a $7 shuttle to the grocery store for cold items.
*The kitchen is equipped with an ice maker, toaster, microwave, and stove top and everything you need to cook modest meals.
*The water has a different taste, we were glad to have packed a few flavors of Mio to make sure everyone was hydrated.
*Just outside the marina was a liquor store with 80 cent sodas and reasonably priced beverages to take to the pool.

Places to eat:
With little guys, we weren't looking to eat at the higher end places.
*Marina Pizza was really good, offered HUGE slices of pizza at reasonable prices, and was a fun place to sit and eat.
*Murray's Deli was delicious, fast, and has a ridiculous slice of chocolate cake that the 4 of us took 2 days to eat!
*Dunkin' donuts was an ok place to grab some early morning treats to enjoy at the beach.
*Dinner out (at a "cheap" place) for a family of four will cost you at least $80 with an added 18% gratuity. Go to a nicer option and prepare for $200 or more.

AKA: The kid's club was fun for our 4 year old, but he only wanted to go 1 time. There was too much going on when it was time to go, and he preferred to stay at the pool or in the ocean. It is a very good option to get some alone time in during the trip.

Atlantis as a whole:
*Beach and Coral towers were a little less impressive to look at, but still look nice and have a ton to do.
*You need 5 days at least to really experience everything
*We found something new everyday, there are ocean creatures everywhere!
*I can't understand the complaints about $9 drinks, you are on a resort, and for the record, one was all I needed, they were so strong!

Room Tip: We were in building two, room 2728 and were very happy with it. We opted for the standard room and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Atlantis is an amazing huge resort type hotel.

It has many activities to offer for all ages and all costs. It is not all inclusive although you have the option to purchase the food plan. It is a very well run hotel with lots of activities to keep you busy.

There is tons of staff throughout the resort to help you. Unfortunately, we had poor customer service from the pool boys and the pool food staff. They were very unfriendly, slow and showed no interest to provide any service. Other than that, the staff were exceptional in all areas especially at our checkin.

Atlantis is divided into towers – Beach, Coral, Royal, Reef and Cove.

We contacted Cheryl Fox to pick us up in her taxi van. She charged $40 including the bridge toll and can be contacted via email at cherylfoxferguson@live.com. She was prompt and efficient in responding to our emails and provided great service. Her taxi van is a bigger van with lots of room for families and luggage. She also offers day excursions – www.cherylbahamastaxiandtours.com.

We booked the harbourside villas via www.vrbo.com. The rates were much cheaper than booking it via the Atlantis website. We paid $1895 inclusive of taxes. Booking a room at the Beach Tower worked out to be $300 a night…harbourside worked out cheaper for us for 7 nights. Plus we had access to a full kitchen and spacious one bedroom villa. All passes into atlantis and taxes were all included. We had housekeeping once during the week.

It was a convenient 10-15 minute walk to beach towers. We occasionally took the complimentary shuttle to the towers but preferred the walk over. We got our wristbands from the harbourside pool area. There was never any lineups. You only need to get your wristbands once at the beginning of your stay unless it happens to come off.

There is two computers set-up in the harbourside lobby for internet usage. Free 15 minutes per 24 hours per room is allowed. Otherwise, internet and Wi-Fi are charged for a fee.
The Atlanta newsletter was published every morning which highlighted all the activities for the day. This would help us plan for the day. We did many free activities which the kids enjoyed very much:
• Cartoon Network Cartoon viewing on the beach (got free sunglasses and beach balls)
• BINGO
• Free movies throughout the day at the Atlantis Theatre
• Cartoon Network Obstacle Course (believe cartoon network activities were only their for the summer)
• Etc.

There are many pools at Atlantis. There are DJ’s playing pumping music at many of the pools. We mostly hung around the Royal and Bath Colonnade Pool.

The water rides are amazing. All the slides are sensational (my family tells me). Although, I don’t do rides – my favorite was the Rapid River Tube Ride. It’s a better version of the lazy river. A must for all ages!!

The drinks are food are very reasonable. After reading some of the reviews, I was very hesitant and we packed non perishables to bring with us. Combo’s by the pool include Burger, Chips and drink for $10.00 plus 15% gratuity. Beers were $6.50. Daiquiris were $9.00. Virgin daiquiris (banana, mango, strawberry, pina colada) which my kids loved were $6.50 each.
All the casual eateries at Atlantis were all very reasonable and the food was delicious.
Marina Shopping Village is connected with the Atlantis and has many restaurants to eat at. Marina Pizzeria was delicious. Medium 12” pizzas were $21.00 and large 18” were $32.00. There is also quiznos, dunkin’ donuts, johnny rockets, starbucks and other high end eateries.

There is another shopping village which is owned by the locals called Paradise Shopping village. There is a convenience store, banks, clothes store, and Anthony’s Grill. The service and food were not up to par. However, if you do want to go and try it – go during happy hour which is from 4-6 or 9-10:30 everyday. Wine and beer is $4.00 and appetizers (nachos, wings, conch fritters, calamari) are all in the $5-$6 range. Spend the extra and eat at one of the Atlantis properties…its not too much extra if not the same!

We had brought cereal and only needed milk. We bought milk form the Paradise village from the convenience store for $5.50 for ½ gallon. This was the same price from Murray’s Deli in Marina Village. Beer was $3.50 per bottle and wine $10-$15 at the convenience store. The grocery store in town (Super Value) sold milk $3.50.

We walked to downtown one day. The walk was approximately 3.4 km. We were exhausted by the heat by the end of the walk. We enjoyed subway (foot long sub $8.50...prices comparable), McDonalds and drinks at senor frogs. We took the ferry back at $4.00 each. We just paid the ferry guy to skip any service charges hotels charge.

We also walked over the non-toll bridge hunting for a closer Subway (1.3km walk). We did find it but has changed its name to Bahama Subs. $5.00 for footlong subs…similar promotions of subways and exactly the same subs as subway. There is also dominoes and dairy queen in the same complex (Harbour Shopping Complex). If you go over the non toll bridge, turn immediate left and keep walking down pass Esso and Texaco. You will see starbucks and will find the other eateries in the same complex.

On the way back, we tried Twin Brothers which is one of the shacks under the toll bridge. Had daiquiris there…sizes ranged from small to extra large - $3.00/$4.00/$5.00/$6.00 add $2.00 for alcohol for any size. Didn’t have a chance to try the food but was very busy with tourists. Menu offered $6.00 hamburgers, lots of seafood options.

My kids visited Crush nightclub one evening. They went during the tween hours from 4-8pm as they were under 13. It was a $25.00 cover charge unless you have the kids fun pass. Lots of video games, internet usage and dancing.

My kids enjoyed the Magic Show one night at the Jokers Wild. It was $15.00 for 12 and over and $10.00 for under 12. The show runs one hour. They also bought a CD at the end of the show of the magic tricks for $20.00.

We went to the comedy club one night and that was a blast. It was $20 each for a 90 minute show. You can order drinks – no food offered.

I attached a sample of the daily activities at atlantis and sample pool lunch bill.

All in all - amazing trip and memorable trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Been coming here annually for 6 years. The island, the people, and the water are just as wonderful as ever.

However, the resort has changed. Checking in has continually taken longer and longer due likely to an antiquated system. The cleanliness and or maintenance of the rooms is reduced. Despite being there for a week, we were denied the standard mid-week complimentary room service. Internet is now $20/day, used to be half that, employees on site are not as gracious (not true for all-yet it was distinctly noticeable) as in past years.

We generally book two rooms: Most needed paint work, scuff repair, missing items in rooms, no bathroom towels in rooms at arrival, etc.

On a vacation, our aim is to enjoy and not think or notice peripheral issues; this time we could not. We love this place yet were disappointed as to the large drop in attention to detail of such a beautiful location.

Our regular taxi guy over the years, Stefano Wilkenson, is still awesome, helpful, friendly, and extremely responsible.

We hope they take these concerns seriously or people will stay elsewhere on the island as there are many many other choices on Paradise Island and Nassau.

Dolphin Cay at Atlantis: It is a separate fee. Frankly, it is amazing to see those people dropping $220 per person for an hour (actual 1/2 hour with dolphin). What a rip-off. Your choice of course. All other items on the premises are free. With a family of 4 you are spending almost a $1,000 for 30 minutes. Hmm.

Room Tip: One major tip: AVOID THE PEOPLE ON THE BEACH WHO WANT YOU TO PARASAIL AND ESPECIALLY JET SKI. THEY A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis - Harborside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis - Harborside Resort

Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis - Harborside Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the natural wonders of warm Caribbean breezes, blue crystalline waters and sparkling white-sand beaches, Harborside Resort offers Atlantis guests a vacation filled with beauty, relaxation and excitement. Situated just across the marina from Atlantis, you have access to a wealth of private amenities combined with the home-away-from-home extras that only a spacious, private villa can offer. The Harborside Resort is just steps from a harbor front restaurant and pool area, a children's pool with fountains, a fitness facility and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Atlantis - Harborside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis - Harborside Hotel Paradise Island
Harborside Resort Paradise Island
Harborside Hotel Paradise Island
Harborside Resort Atlantis
Harborside Resort At Atlantis
Atlantis - Harborside Resort Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis - Harborside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.