We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED Harborside!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis - Harborside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantis - Harborside Resort to your Saves list
Atlantis - Harborside Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Amazing Savings!
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Wellington, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“LOVED Harborside!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went Dec 14-21, 2012. We went for our honeymoon. I have to say the staff was very helpful. The condo was very spacious, well equipped and clean. The shuttle bus to Atlantis made our trip great! We spent most of our time on the beach by the Cove and used the shuttle every day. I have been to Vegas and Atlantis out does any hotel there because of the sea life displays, multiple free pools, waterslides etc and the amazing displays throughout!!! I didn't see the rooms at the hotel but just the grounds are amazing then you throw amazing beaches with crystal clear sparkling blue water!

I read some reviews before we left and so I knew food was expensive but WOW, it is CRAZY EXPENSIVE! However; we found out the following:

Don't have the taxi stop at a store on the way from the airport because the stores, food and liquor are way over priced! We found a cash only food store in downtown Nassau that was way cheaper! We also found that a short walk down the street there is a Dunkin Doughnuts which has the same prices as the US. Right there is also a liquor store with rum and vodka for about 8$ a bottle!!!! Anthony's pizza is really good but don't order the pizza there, go inside and order the pizza to go and enjoy a drink at the bar! I loved the local beer, Sands. Pizza is way cheaper and bigger to go than if you actually ate there. Scotia bank is also right there and has an atm that dispenses US currency.

We ate in the Atlantis one night and no exaggeration paid 87$ for pulled pork and fries!!! The poolside restaurants are the way to go but they close so make sure you get something when you head back to Harborside.

Bottom line bring breakfast bars, powdered coffee creamer, coffee etc! We paid $9 for small jar of powdered coffee creamer!!! box of cheezeits was 10$!!!!

Alcohol was cheap compared to Vegas or SF or San Diego. Paid between 5-7$ for a beer and 6-10$ for mixed drink or wine.

Also this was my first time out of the country so imagine my surprise when I got home to a $500 cellphone bill! We just called our kids each day and still got whacked!!!

We were able to just walk into the Cove pool 2 out of the 3 days that we tried. It is really nice and drinks were cheap. The third day they denied us because we were not staying at the Cove. While we were there the service was great, the music was great and the NO KIDS part was great!!! Pool itself is amazing.

Cove beach is awesome! You can walk further down it for even more privacy and water was amazing!

Don't go to the big ferry building to get a ferry to Nassau, take the one off the dock right beside Harborside, it is about 10$ roundtrip cheaper!

The little gym at Harborside had everything we needed and was a fun way to keep the fat off before drinking beer all day and night!

My biggest complaint with Harborside is this, NO WIFI! and $29/day for in room hard connection internet as well as only having 2 computers for guest to use in lobby that get shut down at 7pm!!!!!

The no internet is the only thing that kept us from giving Harborside 5 stars! Not flashy but nice , clean, fun and outstanding staff, great location! We would go back again!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis - Harborside Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I want to thank you for posting such a positive and helpful review on our resort. Your review is filled with great tips. I especially love the tip about not stopping to the grocery store before check in, as Harborside does not have grocery storage. For this reason, we provide a daily grocery shuttle for a nominal fee. I am thrilled that your family vacation was a success and I hope you come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    369
    128
    55
    38
See reviews for
614
191
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Avoid this place. Total lack of service. Maintenance terrible. Run down. Request after request until towels arrive 6 hours later. Phones do not work so you cannot contact others on property. BAD. Overpriced. Restaurant on premise, food is inedible.

Room Tip: Stay at the Cove at main property, though expect to give up your first born for it is way overpriced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis - Harborside Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property and thank you for choosing Harborside as your vacation destination. When a guest does not enjoy their vacation at Harborside, it is deeply disappointing to us. I would love the opportunity to speak with you directly so that we can get more information on your vacation experience and avoid this type of occurrence in the future. I can be contacted that hsresponse@atlantisparadise.com .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My family of 5 traveled here the week before christmas. Staying @ Harborside was a great way to get the FULL atlantis experience yet off the beaten path enough to avoid "cruiser crowds" gawking at the main hotels/casino & all the "hussle-bussle" that comes with large hotels. We were across the harbor (directly across from Royal Tower but there's no bridge so you have to walk around the harbor or take shuttle). With 3 children in tow it took us 15-20 minutes to walk to main resort/beach/waterpark. We enjoyed walking along the harbor seeing the gorgeous yachts that come from all over the world to visit Atlantis. Plus as i told my kids, it was their daily exercise so we would opt for the walk instead of the shuttle whenever possible - including when we went out to dinner. The Harbor is even more beautiful at night! Some mornings we wouldnt rush to the waterpark and just chill by Harborside's pool & restaurant "The Point". Its a great zero entry pool, small fitness room (free vs the one at the main hotels),ping pong/shuffle board, plus baby pool. We would order breakfast poolside and let our kids swim while we waited & ease into the day before heading to Atlantis. I would definately take my family back to this location if we ever went back to Atlantis. All units have been updated, plenty of space for 2 kids in a pullout & 1 on a rollaway ($5/day), parents in King BR. Full kitchens in the larger 1 BR deluxe, i think just "kitchenettes" in smaller 1 BR units. IMPORTANT note - they are very strict about maximum people in each type of unit, which effects the # of wristbands you are allowed each day to access Atlantis. Not a concern if you plan to stay put at Harborside's pool area but if your entire group wants to get into beach/waterpark area then you need to know how many people are allowed in your unit. They need your room key in order to give you wristbands. Also, i DO NOT recommend buying the DINING PLAN - even if your kids eat for free!!! The value plan only gives access to 2-3 restaurants (which didnt sound appealing to us), the gourmet plan (what we did) was pricey yet allows you into the nicer restaurants. The catch is the 15% gratuity based on the value of your meals. The nicer restaurants have insane prices!! Our food value was $200-$400 per meal so you can imagine how the gratuity added up. Not to mention the kids were free (meaning no dining plan was purchased for them but we still had an automatic gratuity for their food). It was a huge expense we were not prepared for. Especially when i discovered a grocery store in walking distance. Plus Harborisde has a service that will take you to/from grocery if you didnt want to walk. That was our biggest mistake - live and learn....do not do the meal plan!!! Granted i thoroughly enjoy the fine dining and no cooking for a week :)) PS - get daily updates on your bill - TONS of mistakes and Bahamians are way too lax about this...be prepared and pay attention. Halfway thru the week we started asking for copies for all dining reciepts b/c some places dont automatically give you itemized copies. Overall we loved this vacation and just dealt with these other issues.

Room Tip: call as much as possible leading up to your trip to make requests. but it seems like room assignmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis - Harborside Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to post such positive comments. It’s always great to hear that our guests have enjoyed themselves as this is of upmost importance to us. Thank you for review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very disappointed! We booked a stay at the Harborside Resort at Atlantis from Jan 28 through to Feb 15, 2013, through our Starwood plan. We were very excited about spending a 3 week vacation at this resort however in December we were contacted by email to tell us about “a small inconvenience” happening at Harborside during our entire stay. They will be closing the pool, hot tub, children’s pool for maintenance and the pool side Pointe restaurant will also be closed. Therefore there are no facilities available on site! We have contacted both the Harborside and Starwood and no compensation is going to be provided for this inconvenience, which we believe is terrible customer service for a 4 star resort. We would expect more from a place like this and especially from Starwood where we have been dedicated owners for 29 years. After numerous complaints, the hotel sent us back to Starwood who communicated to us that they have made the decision that nothing will be done for guests staying at the Harborside Resort there during this time frame, not even providing free internet which costs guests $24 a day! This is unacceptable and will ruin our hard-earned vacation. We feel this information should have been disclosed long before a month prior to our arrival.

If you book during Jan 7 to mid or late Feb, you may want to reconsider. And if you are considering Starwood ownership, please take into account the (lack of) customer service we experienced here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis - Harborside Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
To further add to the ambience and consistent maintenance of the resort property, the pool and hot tub at Harborside are being resurfaced. Unfortunately, this means that some of our guests will be inconvenienced and this is regrettable. After careful consideration, it was decided that January was the best time to close it as it is the period of lowest occupancy. We ask for your continued understanding as we put your maintenance dollars to work for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

When we booked I was hesitant because of the mixed reviews. Everything was amazing. We stayed in building 5, one of the non renovated rooms but you would have never known. The rooms was nicely furnished and had plenty of space for the 5 of us. Building 5 is right next to the pool and fitness center so it was a great location with kids and a great view of the bridge and waterway. The only major negative is that the beds were very uncomfortable and the pillows were paper thin. Not the heavenly beds we are use to at the Westin properties. Atlantis itself was nice. The weather was low 80's everyday. Perfect for Christmas week. The property was only really crowded when they let the "cruise ship" crowd in. In my opinion doing that cheapens the brand. The lines for the slides were much longer on those days and it attracts all kinds. We spent most of our time at the Cove Beach which was a great shallow beach for snorkeling. I think collectively we prefer a family vacation in Hawaii but this was definately a fun week for the kids. I like a more secluded feel for a vacation. All in all we had a great week!

Room Tip: Building 5 is right next to the pool....great for kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis - Harborside Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We want to thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review on our property. We are glad that you enjoyed the time spent with us, especially as a first time visitor. One of our main focuses this year is to provide a more comfortable sleeping experience and as a result of this, we are testing several new mattresses. Thank you for choosing Harborside as your vacation destination and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, MA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We loved our stays in the Harborside units. Lots of room, kitchen with all the utensils. The shuttle bus was convenient to get a ride over to the casino or to head to the beach.
Great that the water features are all included at Atlantis.
It was a pleasant walk in the evenings from the restaurants in the Atlantis , through the shops, then alongside the yachts moored in the harbor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis - Harborside Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
The space that Harborside’s villas provide has always been seen as an advantage for our owners and guests alike. We appreciate you taking the time to highlight this and all the other positive aspects of your vacation at Harborside. Additionally, thanks for choosing us as your vacation destination. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

10 of us shared a 2 BR + a 1BR adjoining in Harborside building 5. Although adequate room and space, a lack of pillows and blankets prompted a house call and one of the pull out beds was not made up and we had to call for linens and made the bed up ourselves. The rooms showed some wear and tear and were not as refined as I had expected. I'd think being in a timeshare part of the facility these would be better well kept. The cooling system was somewhat quirky-my wife never felt cool in our room. The main TV lost its reception on day 3 prompting another service call. We did enjoy Aquaventure, the waterpark, and the Dolphin Encounter on site. Had a decent dinner at Carmines and a good one at Seafire Steakhouse, reservations did lessen our wait times at these sites. Thanks also to our terrific taxi service from Cheryl Fox-Ferguson of Cheryl's taxi who was always courteous, prompt and respectful. Our kids loved playing cash cab with her and her suggested outing to Goldie's at the Fish Fry was a good time. All in all, a decent and fun time was had by all, but I left feeling something was lacking.

Room Tip: our harborside bldg 5 rooms had a nice poolside view which was always a quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria R, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis - Harborside Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on your visit. At Harborside, it is our mission to create positive and memorable vacation experiences and it is always disappointing when we do not. The housekeeping and maintenance concerns you mentioned are not typical of the level of service we strive to provide and I would like the opportunity to further discuss your concerns. Please contact me at hsresponse@atlantisparadise.com at your convenience. Once again, thank you for your comments and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis - Harborside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis - Harborside Resort

Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis - Harborside Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the natural wonders of warm Caribbean breezes, blue crystalline waters and sparkling white-sand beaches, Harborside Resort offers Atlantis guests a vacation filled with beauty, relaxation and excitement. Situated just across the marina from Atlantis, you have access to a wealth of private amenities combined with the home-away-from-home extras that only a spacious, private villa can offer. The Harborside Resort is just steps from a harbor front restaurant and pool area, a children's pool with fountains, a fitness facility and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantis - Harborside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis - Harborside Hotel Paradise Island
Harborside Resort Paradise Island
Harborside Hotel Paradise Island
Harborside Resort Atlantis
Harborside Resort At Atlantis
Atlantis - Harborside Resort Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis - Harborside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.