We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What they don't tell you” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Virgil's Real BBQ

Virgil's Real BBQ
Atlantis Resort, New Providence Island
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Rahway, New Jersey
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“What they don't tell you”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

They don't tell you that most portions are available in half portions. I am a little annoyed that the waitress was will to serve me and my companion a full portion that serves 4 until I asked about partial portions. The food was good but he half portion was still too much for two people. The potato salad was DELISH, corn bread was savory. I did get a huge chunk of dating the pulled pork which ruined it for me. I would recommend lunch when then don't do family style!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    96
    89
    70
    27
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Big humps of Cicken”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Did like theatmosfeer and the idea of eating a big portion enough for the family.
But the barbequed chicken was little bit tasteless and nothing else then chicken for 54 dollar.
Starters are mac and cheese and some bread.
For this we paid 103 dollar.
Little exspensive for this kind of food

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Portions are huge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Me and two friends split the wing appetizer and side of Mac and cheese. We had plenty! BBQ was great and servers were pleasant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So much food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Family style, lots of food. Fried chicken came with 12 pieces and was great as leftovers the next day!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence Island
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have eaten here with my family as well as I have taken really large groups here. This is a good bbq restaurant with tasty, authentic(ish) BBQ. Portions are gargantuan - this place is NOT for a single eater! Service is consistently good and relatively fast. Its best to make a reservation at least a day in advance as you can sometimes wait for up to an hour for seating.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgil's Real BBQ also viewed

Paradise Island, New Providence Island
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
 
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
 

Been to Virgil's Real BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virgil's Real BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.