We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want Chinese food, this is not the place.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chop Stix

Chop Stix
Paradise Island, on the resort, New Providence Island
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A Chinese restaurant which has been on the resort from the beginning.
Carrollton, Georgia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“If you want Chinese food, this is not the place.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The restaurant advertised open at 5pm. We had a reservations at 6pm. We arrived early and expecting the bar to be open. There were people waiting everywhere. As for the bar, they still have dirty tubs, wines and liquor bottle all over the place. We pass on cocktail. Its didn't get any better at the table. Drink took 20 minutes. Our appetizers got there before our drinks. Dim Sum Platter was warm at best. Tasted like old grease. Soup was warm tasteless and warm. My wife order a chicken dish as its described chicken, toasted peanut, vegetables and asparagus. Well, chicken yes, about 5 peanuts, 2 pieces of onion, 2 pieces red peppers and 4 pieces of asparagus about an inch long for $32. My Singapore Noodle was barely eatable. And the service was one of the worst thing about this trip. We been visiting Atlantis seen 2008 and never ever have any thing this bad. We decided to go back to the room and order room service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    31
    33
    19
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worst of the Atlantis”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

i have eaten at Seafire, Mesa Grill, Nobu, Casa D'Angelo, Carmines and Chop Stix. The night at Chop Stix was the worst meal by far...and all 6 people i was with agreed on this. We had a reservation at 8:30, we didn't get seated until 9pm. At 9:20 i asked for menus and was told, "oh we thought you ordered already". Really? lol. First time that's ever happened to me in ANY restaurant. Service was slow. Waiter forgot not one, but two of our entrees....good thing we split the food we had with everyone, then just asked for them to be removed from the bill. It took forever to get the check and pay as well. All in all, pick another place and don't waste your time here. Mesa Grill was an incredible meal, with great service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Enjoyed the food and atmosphere at Chopstix - plus the best part Kids eat free. Make sure you make a reservation for the week as soon as you arrive since it is very popular!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best of three restaurants at Atlantis yet.....Mersay rocks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Believe it or not, this was our best dinner of three we have had at the Atlantis resort. Feel free to see my reviews of Seafire steakhouse and Casa D'Angelo for more details on those.
What really made this experience good was Mersay. She is the restaurant manager (I think that is her title) and she is personable, attentive, and wonderful. Mersay is a breath of fresh air that needs to be blown into the other Atlantis restaurants. In fact, if she could be cloned, Atlantis would be better off!
Granted, our dim sum sampler was not warm and nothing extraordinary, but the rice noodles with chicken (chow fun equivalent) was nicely prepared, hot and tasty. The grouper main course was also tasty as was the bok choy side dish. All in all, the main part of the meal was excellent and with the warmth, graciousness, and attentiveness by Mersay and the staff, the meal was worthwhile. Granted, the price is high, but so is everything at the Atlantis, so I can't hold that against them any more so than any of the other restaurants. My suggestion, ask for Mersay and I think you won't go wrong. I do, however, understand the criticisms of the other reviewers but our experience was positive overall.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really? This is what you get for dinner for 3?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our family of 6 ate at Chop Stix during out wonderful vacation to Atlantis. We had to make reservations. When we walked in, the place was half empty. We ordered the special seafood dinner for 3 persons, the meat dinner for 2 persons and a noodle bowl. After 1 1/2 hours of waiting, the food began to trickle in. The noodle bowl arrived first- it was a heaping bowl, looked delicious but tasted blah. The meat dinner for 2 arrived. The portions were what I would call average. When our 66$ per person 3 person seafood meal arrived(15 minutes later) we were shocked! The serving was smaller than the noodle bowl and the 2 person dinner. We couldnt believe it was for 3 people. We complained and were offered more rice- gee, thanks, after talking to the manager, we did get another order- too late too soon, After 2 hours and 450$ we were all still hungry--Skip the resturants and eat at the buffets! Mosaic is the best!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chop Stix also viewed

Paradise Island, New Providence Island
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
 
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
 

Been to Chop Stix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chop Stix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.