We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids loved the aquarium and marine life” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis - Beach Tower

Save Saved
You added Atlantis - Beach Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BookIt.com amextravel.com
and 10 more sites!
Atlantis - Beach Tower
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Casino Dr, 4777, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$400 in Savings!
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Paradise Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Kids loved the aquarium and marine life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The open aquarium was so marvelous to see, my kids (3 and 1) were in awe seeing the variety of marine life - all the fish, manta rays, sharks, etc. They loved feeding the turtles with lettuce one morning, and they fed sting rays with little fish. The view of the aquarium from the lobby was magnificent, you can stay there all day and still see new kinds of fish swimming about. The museum underneath was also a nice attraction, my 3yr old felt like an explorer looking for hidden treasure. We also swam with dolphins which was really memorable, really an amazing experience for the kids to touch, pet, and kiss a dolphin. The beach was really nice and quiet, not too crowded but it was a bit too windy for the kids. Overall great for the kids to see all the marine life but the hotel and food were pricey. If we ever go back, it might be better to stay at a nearby hotel and just pay the fee to see the aquarium and the waterpark.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,462 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    842
    727
    348
    307
    238
See reviews for
780
421
23
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I started coming to Atlantis, quite by accident, the year it opened in 1998. We were staying elsewhere on Paradise Island, and they were letting people use the waterpark for free while they continued to build the property. Two years later, I came with my husband, and that was no longer the case. So we stayed in a room for a night to play in the park. We came back several years later and stayed at the Comfort Suites where you are allowed access to Atlantis. We stayed at the Reef 5 years ago which was pretty but its beach is all coral and the building is a long way from the interesting parts of the resort. This time, we booked 5 nights in the Beach Tower, knowing it was nearest the good beach on the property. The room was a good size, but the wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling off. While they have flat screen TVs, their signal is analog, so the picture is terrible. There is no minibar, but they leave bottles of water in the room they charge $7 each for. There is complementary coffee making facilities, however. We paid for a water view, which was pretty, but it overlooked the family pool, and like ALL OTHER POOLS on the property, very loud dance music with a heavy bass blasted all day until about 6 pm, making it impossible to have a nap as the music comes through the glass on the balcony doors. Apparently April is also when the laughing gulls mate, and they were congregating on the Beach Tower lobby's flat roof below us, so there was always noisy birds screaming all morning and afternoon as well. Our room was never made up before 3:30 in the afternoon, so when I beaned my foot on a water ride, I had to sit on the balcony for a half hour while the maid cleaned the bathroom and made the bed.

The fact that there is absolutely no spot on the property that is quiet was really an issue. If you want to have FUN FUN FUN all day - screaming children, dance music everywhere - then that's fine. But if you'd like to lie by the pool and relax, it's impossible because even the "adult" pool in front of the Royal Towers had dance music even though it was not supposed to. We tried to escape to the beach, but there are Bahamians renting jetskis to tourists even though they are not authorized by Atlantis, so you have the smell of diesel exhaust, the noise of the jetskis, and then the waves created by these jerks going back and forth the length of the beach, so you can't even lie on your back and enjoy the ocean blocking out the sound. Just miserable.

We did enjoy snorkeling the ruins, with Athena, the 10 foot wide manta ray swimming below us, but otherwise, it was just an unbelievably expensive, tedious experience. Atlantis bought the nearby strip mall called Hurricane Hole which had a small grocery store and several restaurants that weren't ridiculously expensive and tore it down, which pretty much forces you to eat on property unless you cab it into Nassau. And for dinner, if you don't make a reservation in advance - I mean, way before you come - then you'll either be ordering room service or waiting a very long time to eat. We had one very expensive meal - $300 for two appetizers, a bottle of $85 wine (the second cheapest on the menu), two entrees and a side (no sides with the entrees at Cafe Martinique), but the rest were sandwiches and salads. Most meals came to about $50 and we never ate breakfast. For 4 days, we spent $800 on food and drinks. Ridiculous.

As for the water park, it is really extensive, but there were some problems this time. Even on the slower ride, the Lazy River, there were children (and one adult) who didn't get into the intertubes you ride on the current, but were rather walking through. The lifeguards said and did nothing. These children were, of course, loud and often in the way. The Power Tower, the newest structure for the aquatic park (about 5 years old now), is really an abusive ride. Unless you're a small child, you are going to sink into your intertube, and after you've been taken up a conveyor belt to the top, you are going to get slammed into the slide from the force of the ride on the way down. I got an enormous bruise on my rear end from this. I didn't go back on The Power Tower. And The Current, the snaking mile-long intertube ride that brings you to the Power Tower, can be very frustrating as the current itself will strand you on one of the man-made beaches, or in a whirlpool. There is also a spot that most people need the lifeguard to pull them into a turn. There was no one there when I got there, and it took me a half hour to get back into the ride from being beached by the current. That was no fun.

They show free movies in their theater every day, and we did catch a couple we hadn't seen. But it's not a giant screen and the lens had water spots on it I could see on the screen throughout The Hobbit. The seat are also quite uncomfortable and stupid people and their stupid children will walk in the side door throughout the film, exposing the auditorium to their talking and the noise outside the door. It was very distracting.

That being said, Atlantis is really fabulous the first time you go there. The architecture is spectacular, the massive tanks of fish everywhere are fabulous, and the weather in the Bahamas is lovely. It's an impressive resort, and the mythology they've created is fascinating. But this being my 5th visit in 15 years, I think I've finally had my fill.

The resort is in the process of being sold, and I don't know what that means for the quality of the place or the price. I would recommend visiting there once and taking advantage of the free fish feedings (there is a small ray pool in back of the Beach Towers where you can feed the rays by hand for free at 1 or 2 in the afternoon Tues - Sun as they fast all the fish on Mondays). Walk the entire place to see all the pools. There are turtles by the Beach Tower, baby sharks by the Flamingo Villas between the Beach Tower and the Coral Towers. Walking underneath the sharks in the Predator Lagoon is fabulous, as is eating beneath the giant shell. The staff is all very nice but hardly anything is included in the price of your expensive room (at least booking through their website, you pay for the housekeeping, energy fees, taxes, etc. up front).

Now that flying is so terrible (it took 12 hours from Chicago because the airline canceled our original flight, booked us on a later one that was delayed, added another stop, and then we missed both of those later flights because of the lateness of the first and then it took 12 hours coming back because American's computers went down for 4 hours!), I am not keen to fly anywhere. We missed half a day because of airline incompetence.

We went to Atlantis to relax and have fun, but all we got was headaches from the noise and bruises from the rides. And a great whopping bill for eating decent but not spectacular food.

Room Tip: Try a tower that doesn't face a pool. It will be quieter. The water view at the Beach Tower wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

oh boy..... we went (my wife and me) on US spring Break..... there were people all over, you even can walk in the aquarium, the beach..... was really full... too much people... people everywhere....
The property is OK, is just thematic water park with aqua ventures everyplace, dolphins ridings, aquarium, waterpark... etc.

I Think if you are going with Kids... THIS IS OUR TOWER...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We went to Atlantis March 18-22, 2013 . It was amazing!!!!!!! This was our first time, and was a little worried after reading some of the reviews before we went. Everyone was extemely friendly and we did not meet one unfriendly staff member. The staff are awesome there.Check in was a breeze. They had a staff member there handing us out the daily events for the day which was great. She was so nice and helpfull.
As for meals we did not do the meal plan, we thought we could save money on our own. We are a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 kids ages 10,14 and 16). For breakfast we brought stuff from home, for lunch we ate pisces in the Water park area , we had french fries are 3.95 and hotdogs are 6.95 . We also tried conch which was 9.95. For supper we had a huge pizza at Marina pizzeria for 29.95 and it fed us all it is big! We also tried the pasta dishes there (around 6.95 -9.95 each) they were great. We ate at johnny rockets with tip for 5 people came to 110.00 Ben and Jerry's ice cream was 38.00 for ice cream cones and 2 of us ate at Quiznos 35 .00. We spent about 900 dollars on food which isn't bad considering some of the reviews.
The water park is great , tons of things to do . The lazy river and the not so lazy river was great for all ages. The lines at the waterslides were not long considering it was march break . The longest line was about 10 mins. Had no problem finding a chair to keep our stuff on.
We took the ferry over to Nassau $4 each way per person. Went to the straw market totally worth the trip be prepared to spend a couple of hours. We also stopped a stores along the way great bargains!
My husband and son went on a snorkeling tour $60 each they had a great time and us girls did the pottery in the beach tower (earth and pottery studio) we each did a piece came to $70 (different prices on pieces) took us about 2 hours . The staff we very helpfull.
The grounds itself are clean and well cared for .Yes there is alot of walking but here is so much to look at just walking around turtles, stingrays, nursing sharks etc... The Dig was wonderful so many fish! The tunnel with the sharks above your head was neat to see. The beach was beautiful , not to crowded. We even rented a stand up paddle board in there lagoon. 40 bucks for half an hour but we got to trade off so we each got a turn. Well worth it. The junkaroo parade on wednesday night was the best , it was in Marina Villiage at 9:30.
Had such an amazing time , we try and go some where different each year but i don't think we can top this resort. Atlantis will be seeing us again for sure!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

To start off with, beautiful island, lovely people. But Atlantis, not so much. Went there with a friend and her daughter for spring break. Initial impression, wow, huge, like Disney World. But, first mistake, we let the bellman take our luggage, took forever, I think they lost it a few times. The rooms were adequate, a bit battered but clean, nothing special. The grounds are beautiful, but the pools with sea life were scummy looking as we're some facilities, kind of old and tired. The food and drink are very expensive, we found a small grocery store and stocked a things in our room. Most meals we ate on site were good, not great,especially when you are paying so much. The water slides and river with rapids were great. The beach is gorgeous, too bad you are hassled to buy trinkets, rent jet skis, get foot massages, etc. The worse thing were the out of control spring breakers, we had to evacuate the patio behind the royal towers one night due to someone throwing things off the balconies. Foul language, food fights in the halls, young men relieving themselves in the ocean in front of families with children, pot smoking. Not so good. My attitude, been there, don't ever need to go back.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Although the Beach tower does not look as beautiful as the newer towers, you still have all the amenities of the other properties. And the pool outside the Beach is heated and very rarely busy. It was great. It also has the smaller, less busy lazy river. It was perfect for my family. And just like the Royal towers, you can see the stingrays and sharks, but also the very large Turtles. Loved staying at Atlantis. Only problem was we went duing spring break,and no discounts meant full price for everything! Unfortunately the food is too expensive for anyone to stay and eat. We bought the value plan, but didn't realize we had to pay $11-$18 every time we ate somewhere, gratuties are added (18% tax) to everything you do, eat, buy, etc. It was a very pricey trip!

Room Tip: When staying at the Beach tower, our balcony overlooked the conference center. But I knew that when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great restaurants with many more to choose from on just a short bus ride away to the other islands as well as Nassau. Highly recommend the James Bond restaurant.
beautiful aquarium and the casino is quite a sight to see.
during peak season the private beach can be quite packed so travelling to Nassau for Cable Beach may be worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantis - Beach Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis - Beach Tower

Also Known As:
Atlantis Paradise Island
Atlantis Resort
Atlantis Resort Bahamas
Beach Hotel At Atlantis
Atlantis Paradise Island Bahamas
Beach Hotel Paradise Island
Atlantis Hotel Paradise Island
Atlantis Paradise Island Beach Tower
Atlantis Paradise Island Hotel
Atlantis Island Resort
Atlantis - Beach Tower Bahamas/Paradise Island
Address: 1 Casino Dr, 4777, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantis - Beach Tower 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the beauty of the Atlantis beach just steps away, the Beach Tower delivers a true Caribbean feel in a laid-back environment. Guestrooms have one king bed or two double beds, full balconies with water or terrace views. Beach Tower is perfect for young families and budget conscious travelers, and is closest to the beach, many marine exhibits, the Lazy River, Seagrapes Restaurant, Club Rush, Earth & Fire Pottery Studio, Gamer’s Reef arcade, River Pool, Atlantis Theatre and the Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Amex, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Atlantis - Beach Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis - Beach Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.