We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis - Beach Tower

Save Saved
You added Atlantis - Beach Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlantis - Beach Tower
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Casino Dr, 4777, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$350 Added Value!
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Paradise Island
Niskayuna, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice family trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We really had a very nice time at Atlantis. We were there for seven nights in March and we all enjoyed ourselves. We are well seasoned travelers and travel often with our children to 4 star hotels and restaurants. We traveled with three children under the age of six.

We had read a lot of reviews of the property ahead of time and felt informed and new what to expect. (Thanks Trip Advisor contributors!) We decided to go to Atlantis for the amenities - aquariums, pools, and beaches, and realized we were paying for those and not necessarily the highest end room. The Beach Tower rooms are just fine - more along the lines of a three star hotel. The housekeeping staff did a good job and the rooms were fully replenished each day with fresh sheets, towels, coffee for the in-room one cup maker, and shampoo/conditioner/soap, etc.
We booked directly through Atlantis so when it was time to check out, all of the charges were clearly what we had added on after we arrived (mainly food and Internet).

We are active people and so we really enjoyed all the walking. We would leave the room around 8 am and hit the beach/cove. Then when the pools opened up for the kids, we would head over there and play until lunch time. We brought everything with us and didn't return to our room until lunchtime for naps. We would then get back out for a quick swim before they closed at 5 and then get ready for dinner.

We brought breakfast food (cereal, oatmeal, Nutella and wraps) with us and plenty of granola-type bars. (You can buy a Venti milk at Starbucks in the ground floor of Coral Towers for ~$4 or get a half gallon at the market in the marina for $5.50.) For lunch, we did peanut butter crackers or bought a salad and brought it back to the room. We also brought our water bottles which we filled in the room before we would leave. The water tastes like it was processed in a desalinization plant, but we accepted it as part of the trip. Dinner was always at least $100 a night, except for the meal at Johnny Rockets, but we only did that once. The best experience we had for dinner was at Carmine's.

We really enjoyed the staff and found them helpful. Everyone we encountered was friendly.

We loved the marine life and aquariums and spent every evening at The Dig checking out the animals. Our kids loved it and we, too, really thought it was remarkable.

We do have a few negative thoughts...Every morning we saw staff raking the pebbles and sand around the pathways and cleaning up. We would see cocktails and pool towels from the night before just randomly put wherever. There would be food wrappers in the water with the sea turtles and other exhibits which we found absolutely awful. Clearly it wasn't an Atlantis staff issue, rather a selfish, pig-like guest issue. There are plenty of trashcans on the property so we couldn't understand why people would allow trash to endanger these magnificent marine creatures because they couldn't bother using a receptacle. It was just plain disrespectful to the property and animals. From some reviews, it's obvious some people's expectations are out of line. We felt the trip was really not expensive for the Bahamas in March considering all the amazing amenities of the property.

Room Tip: The Beach Tower rooms are that of a 3 star. They are also at the far end of the property. Expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    880
    757
    374
    313
    245
See reviews for
833
445
24
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dfw
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was a disappointment. My kids, 10 & 12 yrs, were asking to leave early due to the beach being closed for the majority of our Spring Break trip. The dolphin experience was short and not very "interactive" and snorkeling the ruins was "not as good as watching through the glass". My daughter was hurt on the first slide she tried. I would suggest being careful with children under 75 lbs. as the slides are very powerful and children need to have an adult ride before them to help get them off tubes or they can lose a lot of skin and tissue from their feet and arms.

The room was not well maintaine. Our toilet did not work when we checked in and broke 2 other times during this trip. Repair was completed in a timely manner, but after an evening repair the repairman came back at 11:00 p.m. and opened the door without knocking for some reason and scared us terribly. The hotel offered to change rooms and we packed and were given the keys to a room that had made beds with dirty towels on the floor. We decided to return to our original room where the refrigerator broke and soaked the floor, which did not add to the " damp beach" smell found in many beach resorts. There is also smoking allowed everywhere in the hotel and our room had a very smoky odor that was unpleasant.

Another issue was the 15% gratuity added at all restaurants. We frequently encountered mediocre service. The Atlantis Speedway was fun and they had a great hostess working. It was annoying to be in the Villa's and walk on the paths and have the hotel employee's honk at you in their golf carts to "clear the path" for them to get by. It would help to have them on a different path than the ones used by guests.

I would suggest a different hotel or just goint to SeaWorld for the same experience. Perhaps people with young children would enjoy this hotel, but my kids said they would never go back and felt the advertising on TV was "lying".

Room Tip: Villas require a lot of walking but are closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I went to Atlantis for a quick 5 day vacation over Super Bowl weekend. Overall, I thought the place was OK. The reason it was only OK is that you pay a premium for mediocrity. And then you get dinged 15% for Service on EVERYTHING. And that's the biggest complaint:

I don't mind tipping but it should be for good Service. And clearly Service is NOT top of mind for most of the staff. Obviously, there are exceptions, notably the bell hop that helped us move rooms (more below) and the Bell Captain in finding us a shuttle.

The mediocre service started right at check-in. After waiting in a long line, the receptionist couldn't get rid us of fastest enough. She did not want to take any questions and wouldn't even consider a room change when I asked for a room on a higher floor. We went to the per-assigned, room and immediately wanted a change ( our 'harbor view' was looking out on the roof of the main building). Luckily our Bell Hop was more helpful; He took care of arranging the move once we negotiated with the front desk for a new room. And even after he got our new rooms keys and moved our luggage, I still had to go stand in the long line again just to sign a new doc with the new room number in it.

The average service continued throughout our stay with the general disengagement of the staff. I think the staff of Murray's Deli was particularly put-off by having to wait on Customers. I think we were a bother to most of them. i never felt that we received bad service, we just never received good service. The majority of the staff was just going through the motions. The place has an abundance of staff everywhere you go. But that staff is either talking to one another or checking their phones.

if you can get along without help from the staff, you'll have a nice time. Aside from the service issues, the place is OK. The Beach Tower is one of the older buildings and it's showing it's age. But it was nice. The pools were also nice. The beach, aside from the street vendors, is also nice. - you get the point... It's just nice. Nothing terrible but nothing exceptional.


Bottom line - It was a nice get-away but we won't be returning anytime soon.

Room Tip: stay away from the 2nd floor facing the harbor in the Beach Tower main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Atlantis before in the Reef Tower. The Beach Tower was a totally different experience. The rooms/hallways needs upgrading and painting. The beds were comfortable, however.
Overall Atlantis is not my type of place. It is a lower quality version of a Disney experience. Crowds, lines, expensive but low quality food and drinks all wrapped up in a smoke filled casino.
If you want an "all inclusive" type of place then Atlantis might be the place for you. If you prefer a more boutique hotel, local food, and a more exploratory experience then this is not the place for you!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We just got back from a three night stay with our kids (almost 4, and 1), and traveled with another family with the same aged kids. We had a great time, and I'll start off by saying that the Atlantis property is gorgeous and very large. The aquariums were amazing, as well as all the other sea creatures scattered throughout the property. The beach is great and equipped with chairs/umbrellas. There are lots of pools everywhere, and fun activities for kids and adults alike. That being said, there were also some negatives:

- Closures - The pools all close at 5 p.m. We were shocked and very annoyed by this b/c it was light out way later and we had planned to stay outside with our kids longer. We were told that in the summer they do stay open a little later, but even then almost until 7 p.m. We travel a lot and have never had this experience with pools closing, and especially not at a resort that prides itself on its outdoor aquatics. I could maybe see closing some of them, but not all. Aside from the pools, many of the restaurants were closed a lot as well. There were only two places where you could get served breakfast, none of the kiosks/drink carts open until 11 a.m., and it was impossible to eat at an odd hour (we got there around 2 p.m. and wanted lunch and there was only one place available).

- Nice staff, but clueless - I should have been suspicious ahead of time b/c it was very difficult to call and talk to anyone before our trip. (My friend also had the same problem.) I was trying to schedule an activity for my son and kept being told just to wait and do it when we arrived. Well, once we arrived we were given the run around and kept being sent to all different concierge desks who either said we needed to go somewhere else, or that the person we needed to talk to wasn't there. Finally, when I got to talk to the person who could help, she said sorry, they were all booked for the next two days. My son was super disappointed. It was like this for several other things we were trying to book - a babysitter, dinner reservations, etc. Even though the staff was super nice, they just didn't seem to know what was going on.

Of course things were expensive, but we expected that so it wasn't a big deal. The rooms in the Beach Tower were fine, but our view was horrible - of the rooftops that were covered with trash. I would definitely suggest paying a little more for a better view. Also, we found the Beach Tower to be super noisy with lots of spring breakers up at all hours of the night. I am thinking that one of the other towers which was more expensive probably would have been quieter, and possibly even had better service. If we were to ever go back we would definitely stay in a different area of the hotel and pay for a water view room.

Overall, it was a great stay and there were lots of things to do, and it was super kid friendly. Our favorite thing of our trip was actually a chartered boat ride we took (Bahamas Boat Tours with Capt. Carl Blades which I am writing a separate review for). If we were to go back to the Bahamas we would probably look at different hotel options.

Room Tip: Pay for the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just returned from a 4 day vacation at the BeachTowers. Despite the very unhappy staff that work there, we had a good time. Lot of walking and no help from the staff where things were. For all the hype, I expected a very happy place. Not so. Pools and beach close at 5PM. Many people wanted to swim after dinner. SORRY! Never told to make reservations so we wandered around for 3 hours on our first night looking for a place to eat that didn't have a 3 hour wait. Many resturants were closed on Sunday nite also. Got absolutely no help from the staff. Lots of shrugged shoulders. They knew how to do that very well. There is a small room off the lobby labeled like Travel/Encounters. We thought the 2 women sitting there would help up plan some activities, like sight seeing, boat rides, etc. We were wrong. They knew nothing. Don't waste your time with these 2. They don't want to work or deal with people. I did wonder what they were getting paid to do there all day though. We sat by the pool one afternoon and wanted to have a drink and were informed we would have to go a mile up the beach to the next beach bar because this one wasn't open today. Why? Shrugged shoulders! I have never seen such unhappy staff as what was at the Beach Towers. No one smiling, greeting you, asking how your day was. And they are either the most poorly trained staff in the world or they just don not care to take the time to help. Why bother,. they automatically get a 15% tip whether they do their job or not. One nite, one of my friends was having a difficult time walking to back to her room due to her arthritis. When we stopped at the desk for a wheelchair, we were told to come back at 8am when they opened. We tried to explain that we needed it now to get her to the room and would
bring it right back. She obviously was in pain and could not walk further. There was a wheelchair right behind him. We asked if we could borrow that wheelchair for 10 minutes. He stated that it was for an emergency! I would suggest people stay elsewhere and pay for the water features. Food prices inflated and all shops with inflated prices. If you can laugh off the attitude of the staff, you will have a nice time.

Room Tip: If you stay at the Beach Tower, ask for an ocean view room. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you want to just stay on one resort and never leave with great restaurants and activities this is the place for you. Kids will love the water slides, (adults too), and lazy river. Every restaurnat we ate at was great. Loved the Dolphin Cove, well worth the money! You must bring a backpack cooler and bring your own drinks to the pool area. drinks are expensive.

An absolutely unbelievable experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
Restaurant, Bea...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Atlantis - Royal Towers
Atlantis - Royal Towers
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 stars 2,601 reviews
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
0.2 mi away
The Reef Atlantis
The Reef Atlantis
#2 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 stars 849 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
0.1 mi away
The Cove Atlantis
The Cove Atlantis
#3 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
Beach, Pool, Lu...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Atlantis - Coral Towers
Atlantis - Coral Towers
#10 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,298 reviews
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
#13 of 14 in Paradise Island
3.5 of 5 stars 3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis - Beach Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis - Beach Tower

Address: 1 Casino Dr, 4777, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantis - Beach Tower 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the beauty of the Atlantis beach just steps away, the Beach Tower delivers a true Caribbean feel in a laid-back environment. Guestrooms have one king bed or two double beds, full balconies with water or terrace views. Beach Tower is perfect for young families and budget conscious travelers, and is closest to the beach, many marine exhibits, the Lazy River, Seagrapes Restaurant, Club Rush, Earth & Fire Pottery Studio, Gamer’s Reef arcade, River Pool, Atlantis Theatre and the Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Amex, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Atlantis - Beach Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Resort Bahamas
Beach Hotel At Atlantis
Atlantis Paradise Island Bahamas
Beach Hotel Paradise Island
Atlantis Hotel Paradise Island
Atlantis Paradise Island Beach Tower
Atlantis Paradise Island Hotel
Atlantis Island Resort
Atlantis Royal Tower
Atlantis - Beach Tower Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis - Beach Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.