We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected - and pretty pricey too!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis - Beach Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantis - Beach Tower to your Saves list
Atlantis - Beach Tower
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Casino Dr, 4777, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 60% + Kids Eat Free
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Better than expected - and pretty pricey too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our trip to Atlantis and the Beach Tower was for the purpose of a gathering of family who live in the UK and both coasts of the USA. Age range from 1.5 to late 60's. The UK contingent was there working at an event - so that's why we all met up on Paradise Island. Based on a visit 8 years ago by the UK based family, we didn't expect very much in the way of service quality or better than average food, and we did expect food prices to be quite high, even for an island setting. We did hope for warm weather, sunny days, and fun in the pools and around the aquarium features of the resort.

What we experienced exceeded our expectations in some important ways. The public areas of the hotel and the resort in general were nicely kept and decorated appropriately for the setting and theme. The Beach Tower rooms were fine - nothing fancy but clean and functional. We had a top floor view over the convention center - the views toward the beach are much better. The TV signal was grainy but we weren't there for TV. The cleaning staff were friendly and helpful; all the staff were friendly when approached and a good number of them extended friendly greetings and helpfulness. We did notice that staff tended to frequently clump together in conversation, not really working but responsive when approached. The pools, beach, water park, and aquariums were fantastic - along with the great weather it made the whole trip a winner! It may be worth noting that gratuities for cleaners, bell staff, and pool staff are automatically added to the room charge along with taxes and some other daily fees.

We ate at the several outdoor casual dining spots around the pools and beach - they were a bit expensive but not really out of line for a Bahamas resort and the food was OK and the service just fine. Gratuity is automatically added to all food and bev checks.

We had four dinners at the resort and two in Nassau. All were expensive, and all were good or better. This is an area where our returning visitors said quality had gone up compared to 8 years ago - we found the food at the mid level resort restaurants to be very good with excellent service. One couple had a date nite at one of the premium restaurants and said it was super.

A nice mid winter break for us in a warm sunny spot where it was easy to relax and enjoy family and pleasant amenities. We didn't want or need most of the extra charge activities offered at Atlantis; swim with dolphins or stingrays, learn to scuba, rent a kayak or water trike and so forth - those extras along with tours and excursions seemed to be very expensive to me. Also in the uber expensive category were the numerous shops on the resort property.

The place was busy and we saw a lot of people, but it never seemed really crowded nor were there any delays obtaining service.

Room Tip: higher floors with a view into the resort and toward the beach are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    792
    402
    326
    259
See reviews for
895
478
29
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Staff is nice but helpless
We had terrace view.we could only see a black tarry roof with lot of chimneys with periodic cracking sounds and sparks
Lot of garbage,straws . Boxes and litter everywhere on the roof ( pic will be posted)commode had a permanent brown stains., housekeeper told me it is rust.Tiles had dirt in the cracks.
Our sliding door lock was broken, tv remote didnt work. TV pic was snowy
We were promised two connecting rooms
Staff told us that there are only three-4 connecting rooms. Obviously they lied
chairs on the balcony were stained.
Thanks goodness that resort itself was outstanding . Kids loved Atlantis
They should improve accomodation standard

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Staff is nice but helpless
We had terrace view.we could only see a black tarry roof with lot of chimneys with periodic cracking sounds and sparks
Lot of garbage,straws . Boxes and litter everywhere on the roof ( pic will be posted)commode had a permanent brown stains., housekeeper told me it is rust.Tiles had dirt in the cracks.
Our sliding door lock was broken, tv remote didnt work. TV pic was snowy
We were promised two connecting rooms
Staff told us that there are only three-4 connecting rooms. Obviously they lied
chairs on the balcony were stained.
Thanks goodness that resort itself was outstanding . Kids loved Atlantis
They should improve accomodation standard

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed at the Beach Tower for a total of ten days over Christmas 2012 and I can honestly say this was the worst and most expensive holiday I have ever taken. There is nothing luxurious about it, and it certainly isn"t value for money. Everything is overpriced and poor quality $7.oo for bottle of water in the room and the Wi-Fi in the room also very expensive. There was a 15% service charge on all food and unless you are prepared to eat in very expensive restaurants ($50 to $60 service charge the norm) the quality of the food is very poor. Would never retrurn, have visited the Carribean many times and can honestly say Atlantis is very tacky and brash and not relaxing at all. Had a very late flight back to UK and had to vacate room at 11.00am and they could not even provide a courtesy room for an hour for a quick shower and I was told to get changed in a public toilet - never again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were invited back to Atlantis for this New Years Eve celebration with the offer of 5 free nights stay. In our past 3 stays we were more than happy, staying at the Cove and at the harborside villas. This time, we got put into the beach tower. The only positive thing I can say is that the view was great. Otherwise the room was old, smelled of mould, wall paper in the bathroom peeling off. We also paid for the daily WI-FI service which never worked once. Our TV was blurry, and the pay per view movies cut off half way through. A technician came to change the box for the TV in our room, but that did nothing. The Beach tower is far from everything. You can not even catch the shuttle or get a taxi from the lobby of the beach tower, you need to walk to the Coral Tower, or as we did over to the Riu hotel for a taxi. The phone in our room did not connect to the services automatically like the spa, in-room dining, messages etc. each time we needed to call the front desk and ask to be transferred. Sometimes we waited over 10 minutes to be put through. Now that's the room., and the tower itself. Our "free nights" stay were NOT free at all. We paid over $100 per night for taxes, auto gratuity and utilities. Much to our surprise, when we received the bill at the end of our stay, we were charged $705.00 in taxes and other auto fees. This was NOT something they told us in advance. I called the front desk to dispute the bill and they could care less about my complaint. They said they were going to do nothing about it. I was appalled by their lack of concern for guest satisfaction. They know that once they get you there, you are under their roof and seemingly can do whatever they want with your bill, without telling you.
The Casino - STAY AWAY !!!!, the machines don't pay. We spent a lot of money there due to the colder weather we experienced and left with nothing, EVER ! Everyone was complaining about the same thing. At the end of our stay, we usually show our players card to the casino host and in the past 3 trips they have comped items off our room bill. This time, nothing !!! and we spent more this time then any other time at Atlantis in the casino.
Because we had to catch a flight and I had no more time to fight with them, I will be sending a letter to the manager of the casino and the hotel about my experiences this time. With the building of the new Baha Mar going up right now, you would think that they would be a bit better to their loyal customers. This is very disappointing to us, we were married at Atlantis years ago, and have always felt that it was like a second home, this time we were treated like second grade citizens. All they wanted was our money, and nothing else. No smiles, no hello's from the staff and the casino dealers actually rolled their eyes and frowned at us. Not only that, on 4 occasions, the dealer took the chips away when the player had a push, and had to call the pit boss over to correct the mistake. That was the times when we were adding our cards vs. the dealers cards. I can only imagine how many times this happens a night when the player doesn't notice.
We love to travel, and there are so many other places we could have gone, but we choose Atlantis due to our previous stays. We are certainly leaving there with a bad taste in our mouths this time. Too Bad for them, they just lost good customers.

Room Tip: The Cove, Harborside Villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visited Atlantis when we stopped in Nassau on our last cruise, the property is beautiful and the amenties are awesome. Everything is very expensive, the on site restraunts are extortionate prices. The little shops on your way to Atlantis are worth a stop at to pick up food and drinks for your room. There is a one way toll taxis must pay to get on to the island from Nassau.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Genuinely the best holiday I have ever been on. The 9 hour flight from London was well worth it.

We stayed in a room with a beach view and honestly had a blast. The pools were stunning, the aquariums were mesmerising and the food was delicious wherever we went.

A favourite part of the resort for me was the Harbour-side marina, especially for a wander just as the sun was setting. During our two week stay it only rained the day we arrived while having dinner and managed to come home with a lovely tan.

Also we were able to swim with the dolphins which is something I'll never forget.

Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis - Beach Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis - Beach Tower

Address: 1 Casino Dr, 4777, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantis - Beach Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the beauty of the Atlantis beach just steps away, the Beach Tower delivers a true Caribbean feel in a laid-back environment. Guestrooms have one king bed or two double beds, full balconies with water or terrace views. Beach Tower is perfect for young families and budget conscious travelers, and is closest to the beach, many marine exhibits, the Lazy River, Seagrapes Restaurant, Club Rush, Earth & Fire Pottery Studio, Gamer’s Reef arcade, River Pool, Atlantis Theatre and the Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Atlantis - Beach Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Resort Bahamas
Beach Hotel At Atlantis
Atlantis Paradise Island Bahamas
Beach Hotel Paradise Island
Atlantis Hotel Paradise Island
Atlantis Paradise Island Beach Tower
Atlantis Paradise Island Hotel
Atlantis Island Resort
Atlantis Royal Tower
Atlantis - Beach Tower Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis - Beach Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.