We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated, old and not maintained resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis - Beach Tower

Save Saved
You added Atlantis - Beach Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Atlantis - Beach Tower
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Casino Dr, 4777, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$350 Added Value!
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Paradise Island
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overrated, old and not maintained resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We did not stay at the hotel, but chose the beach access only package. So I really can't review the hotel, but the grounds surrounding the hotel were not very nice. Some of the vegetation had obviously been damaged by hurricane Sandy, but there was just dead vegetation everywhere that I suspect was just their norm. The buildings around the grounds looked unkept and the snack bar(the one that was actually open) was severely understaffed. Really I think this resort was beautiful at its inception, but has just been ignored since. I wish Disney would buy it, they would clean it up to its full potential. I would not want to stay here and pay the prices they charge. I would look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    869
    750
    370
    312
    244
See reviews for
819
439
24
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

my overall opinion of this hotel was old and plastic.. I just came back from visiting disney world and it reminds me just of that. I was expecting paradise. but instead i got a bunch of concrete.

As like other reviews, this place is incredibly expensive. assistants dont really care to serve you.

yes the beach tower is far away from everything else, but it is only 5-10 mins walk from everywhere. I think ppl who complain about the walk is quite unfit or just plain lazy!

my room faced the ocean. awsome view. our bathroom has a funny smell. i have to make sure the door is shut otherwise it will stink! aircon works quite well. bed is comfortable. but we found a orange yellow stain on the blanket.and OMG the tv control. it only clicks one way. and then there is a void of like 50 channels. so you are sitting on the bed and spend 15 mins tryin to change the channel back to an actual channel! so we have just left it on one channel. doesnt matter whats playing.. we have to watch it!

went to carmines at marina bay yesterday for dinner. they gave us bar seats. ( i have a 10 month old with me) i looked around and there were at least 7 other tables free. i then asked the lady at front if there was a table availabe can we get moved. she shook her head and said there wasnt. so we had to stay at the bar. quite annoyed. the servings are HUGE!!.. this place is for familys. good value for the meal though.

we only stayed at this hotel as we stayed at the one in dubai. This one is such a dissapointment with the amount of money we paid.

Room Tip: ocean view is excellent. we stayed in room 4160 as for that
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel entrance, grounds and facilities were impressive and it was a pleasure to be part of it. The hotel accommodation is room only basis and there are an abundance of eateries from burger bars where the staff burst into song and dance and coffee houses to al a carte restaurants, where the food and service are excellent. There are so many to try and after doing so ideally you need to return again for another holiday to benefit from knowing which ones to visit for good food and value to suit your appetite and budget – beware you can spend a fortune and typically the portions are so large, it would be wise to share! Sadly we picked 10 days at the end of October when the weather wasn't good, in fact hurricane Sandy paid us a visit. It was cloudy and windy for 3 days leading up to the super storm and lasted at its worst for another 2 days, following that came 2 days of intermittent sunshine and wind! For much of the stay the sea was churned up and fierce and the beach was off limits as was the sea transport, water sports and the beachside of the complex was closed down for our own safety for two full days. We did experience the Aquaventure on the last day of our holiday which was great fun, shame we hadn't had better weather to enjoy it more. We also didn't get the opportunity to travel to any other islands, which was shame as Nassau doesn't have that much to offer. There are so many aspects to the resort and I would recommend taking time to visit them all, the Marina and harbour is beautiful, Mesa Grill in The Cove is exceptional, the Blu Pool with music (apparently there is a live DJ but we didn’t see anyone) was ideal for us with a teenager…….The staff were mainly very friendly, particularly in Beach Tower and in the restaurants, there were a few exceptions! The main front desk in Coral Towers was busy and the staff didn’t seem to have much time to smile or go that extra mile, it would have made a huge difference if they had!!
Sadly the rooms weren’t as impressive as the rest of the resort! The decoration of the landing areas was basic and it smelt damp - not surprising really, it's a busy hotel with the largest water park in the Caribbean and had carpets on the floor! They must be constantly damp and smelly. It was the same in the room, it smelt damp, basic decoration, adequate fixtures and fittings, clean and tidy but certainly no luxuries. We were however greatful for the beautiful ocean view.
During the hurricane a significant amount of water came in overnight via the frame of the sliding doors, it made aloud noise as it sprayed and saturated the carpet. We moved rooms to an identical room and the same happened again as the rain continued to fall, the carpet was soaked and the room smelt even more! As a matter of procedure we were given a discount of 50usd off the final bill, it was a gesture for all guests that stayed during the hurricane and didn’t make up for the condition of the room or inconvenience!!
Having been to Atlantis Dubai it is different and not to be compared too much. Obviously Dubai is newer and the nature of the country is that it is much more luxurious, attention to detail is second to none and service was spot on. Atlantis Bahamas is older although it is kept to a good standard, it’s not as immaculate as Dubai but I guess that’s more realistic for a laid back Caribbean resort. All in all a great resort for adults and kids, lots to do day and night (if the weather is kind), can be very pricey so beware and don’t expect too much from the rooms!

The ratings are impossible to do as the resort is so vast with so many facilities and services, some good some not so!

Room Tip: Expect a damp smell in Beach Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have to start by saying the rooms at the Royal Tower are very expensive for what you get. There is nothing special about the rooms. They were clean with standard bedding, tables, chairs, TV, etc. I have stayed in 3 star hotels that are just as nice. However, the maid service was good and they kept us well stocked on bathroom amenities including larger bottles of shampoo and conditioner for a longer stay. The view out of our room of the resort was very nice.

Everything at the Atlantis is expensive. We rented a car and drove over the bridge to eat almost every night where we found good local food at a lot less than what we would have paid at the resort. We stocked up at the grocery store on fruit and oatmeal for breakfast. The $19.99 per day charge for the internet was a little steep. We often found free internet access at places we ate at like Starbucks and a pizza place in town. They do offer 15 minutes of free access a day at the library which we did use. Even if you do rent a car, it is still $10 a day valet fee. The valets still expect a tip which I was confused about since we are paying a daily fee. I have stayed at all inclusive resorts that were the same price or cheaper than the Atlantis, but I did expect it to be expensive so I was prepared.

We ate one night at the Marina Village. $52.00 for burgers and fries for 3 people was kind of steep especially when we had fish at the local fish fry for not much more. I would definitely recommend going into town to where the locals call the Fish Fry and having seafood at one of the restaurants there. We had very good local food.

The best part of of Atlantis is the resort grounds. They are immaculate and well kept. The water slides are totally awesome. We played on them every day and had a blast. Even though it was windy and rained some of the days we were there, we didn't let the weather spoil our fun. The turtles, sting rays and sharks were neat. We enjoyed our experience at Dolphin Cay even if it was a little expensive. The beaches are fun though we didn't get to play in the water every day because of the waves and the beaches getting closed. If it hadn't of been for the water slides, I would have only given the Atlantis 3 stars. It was worth coming to the resort and spending a ton of money just to play on the slides.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wife & I stayed in the Beach Tower 10-18-12/ 10-22-12. The outer limits of hurricane Sandy were buffeting Paradise Island the morning that we left. During our stay we were assigned to a room on the 3rd floor with views of the River (Lagoon) Pool and the ocean. This was better than I had expected since our reservations were for a garden / terrace room. The room was adequate for our purposes, sleeping and bathing. Noise from the pool / ground area was not a problem. The A/C fan running constantly produced a “white” sound that masked any outside noise.
The resort complex is all encompassing. Though we did not intend to stay within the Atlantis property exclusively, we wound up doing just that during our short stay. We kept our itinerary simple; pool, casino, & food.
The pool local to us, River pool / Lagoon pool, was closed for repairs. We walked over to the Blu pool every day. One day we were extra lazy and even had lunch poolside.
A few of our meals were at Murray’s Deli. The menu had a good variety at reasonable prices. Seafire Steakhouse is overrated and overpriced. We had our worst meal of this stay there. Casa D’Angelo was excellent. We were disappointed that The Bahamian Rest. was not open. I have read previous reviews that complained of the high prices. My observation is that the prices were pretty much in-line with other resort destinations throughout the Bahamas and Caribbean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Dolphine experience was incredible!! The conservation and appreciation for these animals was huge... The lazy river and the kindness of the locals people was top notch!! Moreover, if you decide you want to lay in the sun bring your sun tan lotion. The local restraunts all have good choices... we were pleasently suprised with Chopstix. Be sure to try your hand at gambling we had a blast on roulette and won 300 dollars

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my first time to the Carribbean, so I'm trying to balance my OH MY GAWD THE WATERS ARE SO BLUE! experience with the actual hotel and premises. Since the Beach Towers were so inexpensive compared to the rest of the resort, I was expecting it to be run down, but in reality, it was just fine. The room was clean, the thermostat was adjustable, the view was just fine...not panoramic, but you still had a balcony with a water view. The pool parties at the next door hotel got a bit loud, and the TV was hard to navigate through and got frustrating. The bathroom was a nice size, and the toiletries were nice.

The cleaning staff and general staff walking around were nice and helpful, but the bell desk staff were terrible. We kept getting calls from the front desk for people that weren't in our room, and it took us 2 days to track down a gift basket that was left for us. They were no help at all, simply shrugging and sending us to another person if we needed something. We were told at the front desk that we had two free breakfasts, and that wasn't true at all.

The food is really expensive and the service is not good at all. Even when you're spending $200 at a restaurant they mess up orders, take FOREVER to get you your food and just don't seem to care. The bartenders are pretty friendly but also really slow. The shuttle that was to take us back to the airport was super late as well and no one at the hotel would really help us.

The waterpark is fun, beaches are pretty, water is lovely, walking around the fancier hotel towers is lovely. It definitely isn't quiet, and there is a lot of walking, but there is also a lot to do.

So overall, it is a GREAT place to visit, very fun. But definitely plan plan plan ahead of time, double check everything, and don't expect things to be as you planned. Expect everything to take twice as long as it should...and just get used to island time.

Room Tip: definitely get the highest floor you can, and ocean view is worth it, but make sure you're getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantis - Beach Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis - Beach Tower

Address: 1 Casino Dr, 4777, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantis - Beach Tower 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the beauty of the Atlantis beach just steps away, the Beach Tower delivers a true Caribbean feel in a laid-back environment. Guestrooms have one king bed or two double beds, full balconies with water or terrace views. Beach Tower is perfect for young families and budget conscious travelers, and is closest to the beach, many marine exhibits, the Lazy River, Seagrapes Restaurant, Club Rush, Earth & Fire Pottery Studio, Gamer’s Reef arcade, River Pool, Atlantis Theatre and the Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Atlantis - Beach Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Resort Bahamas
Beach Hotel At Atlantis
Atlantis Paradise Island Bahamas
Beach Hotel Paradise Island
Atlantis Hotel Paradise Island
Atlantis Paradise Island Beach Tower
Atlantis Paradise Island Hotel
Atlantis Island Resort
Atlantis Royal Tower
Atlantis - Beach Tower Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis - Beach Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.