We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive

Save Saved
You added Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive
2.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   | * Closed for renovations until 2015 *, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Cypress TX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't go there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

They didn't have the room with a balcony we reserved available when we got there and we had to stay in a regular room. At 7AM someone tried to open our door; it was another guest who had just checked in. I've heard of double booking, but that was ridiculous.

We were asked to pack up and store our luggage with the bellman until our real room was ready; we were told to return to the front desk about 2:00 or 2:30. Our balcony room was not ready until 4PM.

All drinks are free, but the liquor has to be watered down. Best bet, if you like beer is to drink that.

The beach is pitiful and the pool water was like ice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo S, General Manager at Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Paradise Island, Nassau, Bahamas. We appreciate the time you devoted as it assists us in our efforts to continually improve and address specific guest issues.

All of us at Paradise Island Harbour Resort strive to provide an enjoyable and relaxing guest experience and we were disappointed to learn you encountered many shortcomings during your stay. This is certainly not the type of service we base our reputation on, and I apologize for any inconvenience or frustration this these problems may have caused you. I have reviewed your posting with all the pertinent department managers to address all the items of your concern. We appreciate your business, and hope your travels return you to our door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    90
    64
    29
    42
See reviews for
67
113
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

First off..take all of the earlier reviews with a grain of salt. The resort was recently purchased by Warwick International and have already made changes and have set plans to upgrade the resort starting this spring. This resort caters to those who don't want to stay at the Atlantis. If you are looking for a mega-resort that resembles a Las Vegas hotel, move on and look at another resort. However, if you are looking for a budget-minded resort with friendly staff, free food and drinks.. you have come to the right place.

Taxi - We (4 people) took a taxi both ways to the hotel and it cost $42 each way. Once on the island, everything is no more than a 10 minute walk. No Car needed.

First Impressions - We arrived at the hotel and was welcomed with a Bahama Mama cocktail from the bellhop. We arrived early (1pm), so our room was not ready. However, we were able to check -in and receive our wristbands to start our all-inclusive options.

Hotel Room - We had a island view room (501). We have nice view of the Atlantis. While the room is a little rundown, it was appropriately sized and served its purpose. You are on vacation.. why would you be so concerned with the room? The bathroom is a little small, but I am used to it by NYC standards.

Food/Drink - The bars (Wahoo's Poolside and Spinnakers Lobby) start serving drinks at 11am and close at 1am. We enjoyed the buffet for breakfast and dinner (different theme each night). For lunch, we ordered from the Wahoo's and enjoyed it by the pool. The hotel also has a sit down restaurant (Harbourview). You just need a reservation and can make one in the morning at the buffet. We enjoyed a delicious New Years Eve dinner at Harbourview.

Pool/Beach - The hotel has a great pool. The man-made beach is so-so. The hotel faces Nassau, so you don't get that crystal blue water and gorgeous view. However, if you take the 10 minute walk to the other side of the island, you will reach Cabbage Beach (public). When you enter the beach, you will be bombarded with vendors and people from the cruise ships (their towels gives it away).. go right and walk past the crowd. You will see there is a large section of the beach that is somewhat empty. If you are in the mood for a drink.. a rum-filled cocktails just cost $10.

Atlantis - Yes, the resort looks amazing. However, when you enter the resort, you feel like you are in Las Vegas.. not very Bahamian. If you arrive at 6:30pm, the aquarium is free to view. I highly recommend it. While you are there, there is a decent casino that serves free drinks while you gamble. Make sure to take a walk by the marina to view the yachts that docked. When you are near the marina, there is a small strip of stores. There is a Ben & Jerry's, Starbucks, a candy store, and a high end Seafood Restaurent. Its a quick walk from the Harbour Resort.

Shopping - Just take a left out of the resort and you will hit a small shopping center. There is a straw market open from 9-6pm daily, a bank (Scotia Bank), grocery store, pharmacy, liquor store, gift shop, and a Dunkin Donuts.


New Years -Throughout the day there was hourly activities.. poker, checkers, karaoke, bingo. However, what impressed me the most about the resort was the nightly entertainment. We were fortunate to be there for New Years and boy they did not disappoint. The night started with a live band that played for until 10:30pm. Soon after, there were a number of live dancers that entertained us till the ball dropped. After the ball dropped, a group of Junkanoo performers entered the hotel and lead us to the pool area where we watched fireworks from three different locations. It was amazing! The hotel really put a lot of time and energy into the night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

"Managing expectations" is a big key to many aspects of life. Vacationing is no different. We are a well traveled family (Antigua, Mexico, Indonesia, Singapore, Malaysia, and others) and have stayed in some very nice resorts (including other all-inclusive), as well as, some pretty plain hotels. It all depends on the reason for the trip. For this trip we were looking for anywhere warm, with beautiful waters and beach, without spending a fortune (would rather spend the same money on two trips instead of one).

This was our first time to the Bahamas, but other family had been there multiple times. We didn't want to spend the money for the Atlantis and the Comfort Inn was booked (it gives you access to the Atlantis, for less $). We have stayed at several Riu properties, but it was booked as well.

Now the Paradise Island Harbour Resort. It is an older property, nothing fancy. As the name indicates, it is on the Harbour side, with boats (from yachts to cargo ships) going by all the time. We liked seeing most of the ships, but if you want to overlook the blue ocean you will be disappointed. The staff was very pleasant and polite. You always hear "thank you for coming to the Bahamas." That being said, they call it "island time" for a reason. After all that is one reason you go there right? Just realize, if you are use to the service at a resort in the Yucatan they are no where close. Other Bahamian resorts might be different, but this has been my experience in the Caribbean. It's just a slower, laid back pace. The rooms are OK, the bathrooms a little small and need an upgrade. The balcony rooms overlook the pool and harbour side, probably only 40 or so balcony rooms total. The big negative about having a balcony room is the noise at night. They had a live band one night and a DJ another. The music goes until 11:00 pm. Let's just say the music inside our room (8th floor) was louder than if we would have been playing the music in our own room. Being forced to listen to "DJ Slick Rick" until 11:15 while trying to relax on vacation was less than desirable. The need to have a seperate place for the music, without bother others who don't want it.

Beach access: There is beach access, with a pretty simple 10 minute walk. It is located to the south side of the Riu. Beautiful waters and sand! Many people will be there to offer you chairs, umbrellas, jet ski, and other water sports. If you are interested, great, if not just say "no thank you" and they are fine with it. We would go over to the main beach after breakfast, then come back to the resort for a late lunch, then get more sun time at our resort. (just grab some fruit to hold you over).

Food: We were actually impressed with the food. The taste was pretty good of everything we ate, with a pretty good salad bar. The pool grill was OK for basic fried food (recommend trying the Conch Fritters). The main buffet room is not fancy, like the rest of the resort. At night, the reservation restaurant was very good. We had the prime rib, pasta, and roasted chicken. It was all very good.

Summary: The resort is about a 25 minute cab ride from the airport. Cost us $45 (for 4 people) + $5 tip. We were glad we stayed on Paradise Island verses on the Nassau side, but wouldn't be afraid to stay there either. Did travel over to the straw market, queen's stairs, and a fort. A water taxi was fun to take across the harbour. It is located under the north bridge ($8/person round trip). If you're a beach person (likely if going to the Bahamas) plan on walking over by the Riu. It gets a little crowded when all the cruise ships port in. Walk south of the hotels along the beach for more seclusion if you like. We felt very safe the entire trip. After 6pm the aquarium is free at the Atlantis, for a cheap fun night. If you are willing to spend another 1K-1500, would probably upgrade to another resort. If money is tight, the Paradise Island Harbour Resort should fit the bill. For us the resort was the cheapest of all hotels and included all the food. That being considered we were happy with our choice. It was somewhere in between average and very good. We had a great trip, but still prefer Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. What a blessing it was to go. Travel on!

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room. The ones that end in "15" on each floor are a little bigger and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We paid $50 per person for three adults as a shore excursion as part of a Carnival Cruise. We didn't get a room here and rated this as an excursion. The "resort" is literally ON the harbour and that is the view that you see from the pool. Your view is industrial ships and large shipping containers. We didn't swim in the harbour...the beach was really tiny and the water can't be clean with all the ships going in an out with their gasoline motors. They said we can walk 10 minutes to get to an ocean beach access, but we didn't bother. Drinks and food were all inclusive but The buffet shut down at 2pm, so you had to eat at the snack bar the rest of the day. The food looked good...but has little taste and the beef stew tasted like out of a can. The salad bar was really very nice and fresh. The drinks were made very weak since after three Bahama Mama's I felt nothing. After only 2 hours of our several hour reservation, we left and walked over to Atlantis Resort and had a wonderful time walking around there before going back to the ship.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Paradise Island Harbour Resort was a good value. It included a beautiful harbor, man-made beach and pool. The service was so-so and so were the rooms. The public areas needed some cleaning and the food was okay. For a budget friendly vacation I was pleased.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

From all of the online reviews I pretty much expected a low-budget property, but was ok with that because of the all-inclusive and kids club (I'm traveling alone with my 6-year old). The property is dated and in need of updating/renovation. The dinner was average as was the breakfast - we went at 9:30a and they ran out of boiled eggs (the buffet closes at 11:00a), although we asked a few times the eggs were never replenished. My most frustrating experience, though, was the lack of the advertised kids club. After breakfast (about 10:30a) we went to check out the kids club, we were told they were on the 2nd floor but were on a nature walk and would be back shortly. We went back at about 11:00a and a lady met us there and informed us that they no longer had a kids club (although prominently advertised on the website), but that there were other activities geared towards the kids. We went to the pool for the activities and it was bingo that included everyone - not my idea of an activity geared toward the kids. I went to the front desk and explained that the kids club was one of my main motivations for staying at the hotel vs. elsewhere. I was told that since it was after 11:00a then I would be penalized a night if I checked out. I find that extremely lacking in customer service given that they are falsely advertising. Finally, the pool was freezing, the hot tub was broken and the beach is a strip of sand facing the harbour full of boats. I'm very frustrated and checking other hotel options when I type my last character.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Just got back from a 5 day 4 night stay. Upon arriving I was hit with what they called an energy surcharge of $8.00 per day ($32.) When I questioned it I was told that it was in the paperwork. I showed it to the lady at the front desk and asked her to show me where it said that. She couldn't find it. She went into the back and came out with a paper she printed out stating it. What was worse was that when I got home, I had been charged $50 instead of $32. Have still not been able to resolve it. The room was terribly outdated, not close to anything and what's worse is there was rust stains all around the toilet. Under the open sink there were cobwebs and dirt that was never cleaned any of the 4 nights. The food for the all inclusive and mediocre at best. Each day the entrees were fewer and fewer. The best part of it was the salad bar. Upon check out (3:30 am) I had to call back because no one was at the front desk...not a big deal, but when the guy came out it was obvious he was asleep and was annoyed that I woke him. He looked at me and said, "what do you want?" I said I needed to check out and handed him the room keys, he swiped them and then asked my room. I told him and he then got some scissors to cut the wrist band off of me. I said that it was ok I had already done it. He then responded "then what do you want from me?" The taxi driver was standing there and when we got in the cab he said that this guy was always this rude, that he caught up on his sleep there because he had 2 jobs. I am a retired travel agent and still retain many of my old clients. When they express an interest in a place I haven't been, I'll go and check it out first. I obviously will not recommend Nassau.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
Charming, Mid-r...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#6 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,505 reviews
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Atlantis - Royal Towers
Atlantis - Royal Towers
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 stars 2,595 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
0.9 mi away
The Reef Atlantis
The Reef Atlantis
#2 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
#13 of 14 in Paradise Island
3.5 of 5 stars 3,029 reviews
Beach, Pool, Fr...
Show More
5.2 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach Resort
Spa, Beach, Mid...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Atlantis - Beach Tower
Atlantis - Beach Tower
#12 of 14 in Paradise Island
3.5 of 5 stars 2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive

Address: | * Closed for renovations until 2015 *, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in
#11 On the Beach Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Value Of All-Inclusive Bahamas Hotels And Resorts......... great views of Nassau Harbour, picturesque scenery, and exciting recreation for the entire family at Paradise Island Harbour Resort. This resort is the perfect waterfront location - overlooking the harbor and ocean inlet plus unlimited food, beverage, music nightly,pre-planned daily activities....... all for 1 all-inclusive rate. Let your stress melt away amid cool ocean breezes, a private beach and spectacular 380,000-gallon pool. Take advantage of complimentary water activities such as snorkeling and scuba diving lessons. We're the ideal escape for anyone seeking fun in the sun. And if you're feeling a bit adventurous, you're just steps from Atlantis and a host of boutique shops, gourmet dining, fabulous casinos, and the world's largest marine exhibit. Lose yourself in the laid-back atmosphere of our Paradise Island Bahamas hotel, which offers spacious accommodations in a breathtaking setting:Located just across the bridge and harbor from Nassau, the historic downtown capital, minutes from world-class golf, wind surfing, scuba diving, and fishing and within walking distance to all the excitement of Atlantis Casino, and shops. Nassau International Airport (NAS)is a short 30 miles (30 minutes) away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Harbour Hotel
Paradise Island Harbor Resort
Paradise Island Resort
Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.