We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alva's Husband” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive to your Saves list
Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive
2.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   | * Closed for renovations until 2015 *, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Alva's Husband”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I just got home from here yesterday. We had an awesome 7 nights here. We were booked here for 9 nights. It’s kind of funny and freaky but the resort closed the doors after 3 nights. Legally we weren’t the new owner’s guests or problem. They didn’t have to do anything for us. But they did. They paid for 2 nights in the Riu Palace while they reopened the Harbour Resort.

We didn’t like the Riu Palace the room was so damp my passport curled up in the safe, the bedding felt like it just came out of the washing machine. They pushed 2 small beds together to make 1 queen size bed. The food wasn’t very good, the pool and pool deck area only has sun for about 2 1/2 hours a day because it’s on the north side of the U shaped building. The beach was nice but you get bugged every 2 minutes to rent or buy something from a seadoo to drugs. You had to rent a lawn chair. We couldn’t wait to get back to the Paradise Island Harbour Resort!

When they brought us back to the Harbour Resort we were welcomed back with genuine hugs and handshakes. The staff is awesome and genuinely cares for you! Most of them remember you by name. They upgraded us to one of the penthouse suites on the top floor. We had a furnished living room with a nice big wet bar, 2 balconies, a side window, 2 TVs and 2 full bathrooms which was nice. The food was excellent because they aren’t cooking for thousands of people! I had an omelette of my choice made in front of me every morning alongside a pile of bacon, sausages and pancakes. The dinner is different every night. In between meals you can order food at the pool side bar. The swimming pool area and private beach are great. There’s a free introduction to scuba every morning. The sun shines from morning till night and nobody bugs you. It’s a short walk to the big public beach. The rooms are good, clean, cool and dry. We didn’t go there to stay in the room anyway. They have an entertainment guy named Sean he will keep you entertained from morning till night if you want. He is really good with little kids right up to us big kids. He had a bicycle tour the other morning and my wife was the only one who showed up for it. She had 1 1/2 hour one on one bicycle tour around the island and came back with flowers in her hair. He’s awesome we shut the lobby bar down every night to him getting everybody dancing or doing karaoke if it was karaoke night. One night a week is Bahamian night. The dinner is Bahamian, then there is junkanoo music and dancing in the lobby bar area and Sean will get you right in there with them. We had really good bartenders the girl’s name was Shelly and another guy who’s name I forgot treated us like we owned the place.

They have their own dock and we took a Party Cat Cruise right from there. We went for a tour past the rich and famous peoples multimillion dollar homes then went to an island for drinks, snorkeling and an excellent barbeque on a beautiful sand beach.

I went scuba diving with the Bahamas Divers dive store in the lobby. It was good.

This resort doesn’t have a very high rating on the internet but to me it’s a hidden gem. I rate it a 10 star. It can only get better with the new owners who adopted us for the last 4 nights.

The all-inclusive price was awesome compared to Sandals or the Riu. We figured if we went out to eat it wouldn’t hurt to miss a hotel meal because we didn’t pay very much for the package. The food was so good we didn’t go out to eat. With what it costs at the other all-inclusive resorts you might be walking away from a $ 50. + meal if you go out.

We walked around Atlantis resorts while we used their water park and casino and it felt we were in Las Vegas. I wouldn’t want to stay there. There are too many people and if I want a Vegas atmosphere I’ll go to Vegas.

We can’t wait to go back there!

I highly recommend the Paradise Island Harbour Resort if you don’t need all the glitter and glamour and want to relax in peace in the Bahamian atmosphere you go there for.

Darryl

Room Tip: habour view with a belcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    90
    67
    30
    43
See reviews for
67
117
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here November 2012, upon checking in was told room not ready waited 3 hours for a room that was terrible! smelled and terrible view windows filthy. Asked at check in if we could be upgraded to a balcony room and was told none were available (there were about 10 families in hotel our entire stay!) Husband complained about room and was able to get a balcony room (was much better since at least there was a view and fresh air). only buffet restaurant was open while we were there (food was just fair!) lounge chairs around pool were so old and worn out. Staff was very nice but hotel really needs to be updated!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have read some of the other reviews on this property. People complain about service which I found to be pretty bad all over the Island. Actually most of the people at the hotel were pretty friendly, far friendlier than we encountered most everywhere else. Yes they use Well Alcohol, but I havent been to an all inclusive thats pooring top shell drinks without a surcharge? .....Ok, GF and I paid for the upgraded room which basicly faces the water with a large balcony. Room is nothing fancy very Motel 6ish but the view almost knocked me over. There is a mini fridge in the room, a safe and the room was very large. Overall the property could use a makeover but hey your not there for the roooom!!!! Right??? We were the only cheepos on the shuttle from the airport not going to the Atlantis. Everybody seemed real proud to be staying there. The last couple on the shuttle asked where we were staying and we told them where and what we paid and that we read food on the Island was super expensive and how the hotel was all inclusive (I know lots of ands :-). The next morning after breakfast low and behold who is in our lobby. The husband told me he paid 20 dollars U.S. for a hamburger and ice tea at Johnny Rockets. Oh and they include a 25% tip on every bill at local businesses even though the service is horrible most times. Booze cruise pulls up at a dock by the pool, we did excursions from parasailing, banana boating, jet skiing, snorkeling annd even rented a scooter. I would stay here again we saved a ton of money on food and booze and used it to do whatever we wanted. If you are that intrigued by the Atlantis you can buy a day pass and go knock yourself out. Also dont use land taxis to get to downtown it will cost you about 40 dollars. You can walk about 2 block to the water taxi and it will take you downtown for 3 dollars each way. If you do go try the Conch Fritters they rock, all the food is pretty good. We walked up to the bar and asked for a bottle of wine, and they handed it right over. I would go again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We dreamed about this vacation for 7 years and finally did it. 10 days all inclusive on Paradise Island.The people here are amazing and have kept us having a blast and we can't help but to have fun and laugh everyday. The hotel needs a bit of TLC, but we were barely in our rooms. During our stay, the hotel was sold to Warwick Corporation. We had to move to the RIU hotel for a few days while they completed the transaction. The RIU is a so called 5 star and the hotel costs were covered by Warwick but it was not cozy, relaxing, and personable like our Paradise Island resort that we called home as soon as we arrived. We were happy to be back at our hotel once the doors opened again and Warwick took great care of us during this transition. We knew Paradise Island Hotel was a 2 star, and yes you get what you pay for.However, between the new owners, the staff, and the food, we are giving this a 10 star.

Room Tip: The Harbour view definitely! The best sun on the island!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive

Address: | * Closed for renovations until 2015 *, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in
#11 On the Beach Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Value Of All-Inclusive Bahamas Hotels And Resorts......... great views of Nassau Harbour, picturesque scenery, and exciting recreation for the entire family at Paradise Island Harbour Resort. This resort is the perfect waterfront location - overlooking the harbor and ocean inlet plus unlimited food, beverage, music nightly,pre-planned daily activities....... all for 1 all-inclusive rate. Let your stress melt away amid cool ocean breezes, a private beach and spectacular 380,000-gallon pool. Take advantage of complimentary water activities such as snorkeling and scuba diving lessons. We're the ideal escape for anyone seeking fun in the sun. And if you're feeling a bit adventurous, you're just steps from Atlantis and a host of boutique shops, gourmet dining, fabulous casinos, and the world's largest marine exhibit. Lose yourself in the laid-back atmosphere of our Paradise Island Bahamas hotel, which offers spacious accommodations in a breathtaking setting:Located just across the bridge and harbor from Nassau, the historic downtown capital, minutes from world-class golf, wind surfing, scuba diving, and fishing and within walking distance to all the excitement of Atlantis Casino, and shops. Nassau International Airport (NAS)is a short 30 miles (30 minutes) away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Harbour Hotel
Paradise Island Harbor Resort
Paradise Island Resort
Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Island Harbour Resort All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.