We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like my second home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas to your Saves list
Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Casino Dr, Paradise Island, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Treasured Guest Reward
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
milwaukee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's like my second home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

i love scuba diving and going para-sailing the abundance of beaches is a nice change from wisconsin. since i'm a fan of seafood the food was great (:

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    62
    26
    11
    11
See reviews for
104
85
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

We went there this past week to get married. The staff was great, friendly, and accomidating. I truly do not have one compaint. It was relaxing and quiet but there was a bar on the grounds when we felt like having a drink or meal. It was SO close to the beach and the pool. I would go back to this place in a heartbeat. The pics on line are exactly right on. What u see is what u get. We will def be going back! Please contact me if u have any questions or would like more information. I used Trip Advisor when selecting this place so I know how helpful it is.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

If you're looking for real value for money, a super relaxed place to forget there's such a thing as work and crisis? Go here! The condo's have everything you need, are nicely furnished, 30 seconds from the beach. The bar is a pleasure to be and the location is perfect!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Wow! What a wonderful stay at SBCV!

My boyfriend and I spent 4 days over the 4th of July holiday at Sunrise Beach Club and we couldn't have been more pleased. Even before we arrived, Chantisse (one of the hotel front desk coordinators) provided us with information on the villas, the location, transportation and nearby attractions. She arranged for a cab driver "Jimmy" to pick us up at the airport and take us to a local grocery store before we arrived at the villas. Jimmy was on time and when we arrived at the airport, we were allowed to make a free local call from the small desk at the Tourist Info center before getting out of customs. We stopped at "Robin Hood" grocery store and were surprised by the prices. VERY REASONABLE! I had read so many complaints about the high prices of food on Paradise Island, but Robin Hood was very comparable to grocery prices here in Washington, DC. The produce and meats were super fresh and we even got soymilk and reduced fat cheese! We also mentioned to Jimmy that we wanted to stop off and pick up some beer and rum. He made an extra trip along the way for us without hesitation.

The ride from the airport to the villas was just over an hour, and for the two of us $60 fare and we tipped Jimmy $20 for his troubles. When we arrived at the villas, we couldn't have been more pleased. Everyone was waiting out front to help us with our groceries and when we checked in, the room was cool, clean and just as we had expected. There is wi fi (but we left the computer at home) and the beach is just steps away behind the property. We laughed everyday watching the guests from the RIU, Atlantis and other hotels walk the 1/2 mile in the sun to our beach as we were leaving the property. The location is just fantastic.

The kitchen was utilitarian and was only missing minor things like a cutting board and sharper knives. We prefer to cook most of our meals, so this was somewhat of an inconvenience, but not much. There was a blender to make plenty of our own mixed drinks which we enjoyed right at pool side.

The room was cleaned every day and to our surprise, there were 2 bathrooms. The temperature in the villa itself was so comfortable, we only needed to use the AC once. The food at Violas was pretty decent. On our first day we had hamburgers and our last day we had breakfast. Nothing to write home about, but convenient. The local beer is called Kalik and is comparable to a Red Stripe or a Modelo.

We spent most of our time hopping between the pool to the beach and had amazing massages on the beach for $30/30 minutes. The massages were wonderful and very relaxing.

We took a few short walks into the "Atlantis Village" where you can find small touristy shops, Quiznos, Ben & Jerry's, ATM Machines and the stores that sell pasta sauce for $6.99 a jar. We didn't do the aquarium at Atlantis, rather, just took photos of the free part of the aquarium and then tried our hand at the casino. My boyfriend won $50 in the first five minutes of sitting down to a 25cent slot and I was up on the craps table until we switched tables. We only spent $20 each in the casino and walked away with more than we spent.

We had a fantastic dinner at Nobu, the Sushi restaurant at Atlantis. Again, the prices were comparable to anything you'd find here in the city, however, the quality of the seafood was spectacular.

We spent almost half a day at Ardastra Gardens and Zoo (a $15 dollar cab ride/25 minutes) and it was well worth it. The admission has gone up; its now $18 per adult, but there were about 200 different species of animals there and you get to roam around with the flamingos and peacocks. This was a definite highlight of our trip. When we were finished at the Zoo, the host at the front desk offered to phone a cab for us and he arrived in less than 15 minutes.

If we could have spent more time there, we would have and we'll definitely be going back to Sunrise Beach Club Villas. The staff were courteous, accommodating, friendly and professional and the grounds were just perfect.

THANKS!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

Travelled there with my wife, 2 boys (ages 4 and 2) and my mother-in-law. We had the pleasure of staying in unit 17 which is the 5 bedroom Villa.....It was incredible....Beautifull views of the beach and every amenity one could think of. The staff was awsome and the location could not be beat.....Right on the beach with just a 10 minute walk or a 2 minute cab ride to the Atlantis. We ate at Dune one night and the setting is really great...I recommend the Lobster as it was the best I have ever had. We also had breakfast there which was also good not great...but the views are worth it. We also ate at Luciano's...I also recommend going there and getting the Hog Snapper....very tasty....We ate a lot of our meals at the Villa out of convenience...Contact me with any questions.....I will try to post some pics later this week

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

Our family, a total of 15, just got home from a 7 night stay at Sunrise Beach Club. We rented unit 208, two bedroom with garden view, and unit 1, three bedrrom ocean front. Unit 208 was clean nicely decorated, and had two very large bathrooms with nice showers. Unit 1 was ok, not so well decorated, very small bathrooms, however the view was great! We did had several half days of rain, which is common this time of year from what I understand. Yes, the place is old and in need of some repair, but this would not keep me from going back again. We liked the quietness of the resort itself. The kids enjoyed the pools, beach and the hammocks.The staff was kind and helpful. We did this trip over our normal family trip to Florida. We did get a special on our rooms, stay four nights get three free, I think.

If you are going to this resort with plans of cooking meals, then understand that groceries are expensive! A gallon of milk was $7.99! Oscar Meyer hot dogs $6.49 for one package! We had packed three suitcases of nonparashable food, snack stuff, cereal etc... but had we known the cost of groceries and going out to eat, we would have packed much more, including freezing and packing meat. Bottled water was $12.99 for a case and beer was $50.00 for a case. Also, both kitchens were limited in cooking wear, but we managed.

Getting from the airport to Sunrise Beach club was a 30min taxi ride. It ws also costly. They charge by the head and also by the number of bags. So with 15 of us it added up. We ended up renting a small car and yes you do drive on the left side of the road! When we went out we just went in shifts using the rental car. It did save us some money in the end. We also walked from our place to the ferry to go over to the straw market. Walk was short and ferry was $3.00 per person. Ferry ride was good, straw market fair. Same stuff isle after isle. Fake purses, t-shirts, handmade fans, jewerly and other trinkets.. If I was rushed for time, this would be something I could miss.

We also snorkeled and scuba dived at Stuarts Cove. They come right to Sunrise Beach club to pick you up, takes about an hour to get there. They stop/drop off at other hotels along the way. It was a great time! Several of our group scuba dived with the sharks, and were pleased. Those of us who snorkeled were not let down, we were taken to three different sites. The water was clear, the reefs and fish were beautiful, and we got to also see the sharks! It was a great day. Again, this was not cheap.

We ate out at the PoopDeck and it was good, but we enjoyed the Columbus Tavern more. I recommend the New Providence Grouper, The Garlic Grouper or the Hog Nose Snapper. Don't miss the Cocconut Duff or the Flamming Coffee! Both places are not cheap, but glad we went there. We also ordered Dominos Pizza for the group ($90.00 for 5 large) and KFC (35 pieces only $70.00)
Couple of our group went to the Fish Fry, said it was ok. Viola's at Sunrise Beach Club was good. Just normal bar food, but tasty enough.

We walked to The Atlantis several times. What a place. The aquariums were fabulous. Just fun to look around at the place. Some of our group did gamble and a couple ate at Nobu, which was very good.

Just a few steps down from unit 1 is the beautiful Cabbage Beach. I suggest getting up and out early if you want to experience the pure beauty of this beach and the water. Together they are breathtaking. I have been to several beaches in Mexico and the Caribbean, Cabbage beach is now one of my favorites. We took blow up rafts and chairs and put them to good use floating in the crystal clear water. We also took our own beach chairs, which the resort does not provide. The beach does get busy around noon with cruise ship people and all the other hotels, but this would not keep me from going back. We did everything on the beach. Banana boat, para sail, jet ski and all were fun. There is a bar on the beach which was handy.

Getting to/from Nassau for our group was a nightmare. No direct flights from Kansas City. So, if anything keeps our group from going back to Sunrise Beach Club this would be it. Which is sad. It took us 13 hours to get home. Flight delays/changes, missing luggage and the most upsetting part of all is that my sisters cameras were lost and on them our vacation shots. Not a good way to end the trip.
I am still hoping the cameras will show up, the flight times will improve, and Sunrise Beach Club will be around for us to go back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

We found this place mostly good, with a few bumps. The property is remarkably peaceful and serene, especially since it's perhaps 500 yards from the enormous and busy Atlantis complex. It also sits adjacent to a stretch of what has to be one of the world's most beautiful beaches, with crystal clear water (on calm day).

You should think of this place as two complexes within a single property. There are the 1BR "hotel" units, which run in a single strip (I think there are 16 units) along the pool out front. These are suites with a kitchenette -- and the best part is that the bedroom is upstairs, atop a spiral staircase and with its own door. The pictures on the development's website give an accurate view of how these units appear.

Behind them is the villa complex, which appears to be a timeshare development; one of the weirder things about the overall place is that the 'hotel' guests are not allowed on the villa property. These units vary in size, are closer to the beach and have their own pool.

Overall, the place shows a little age/wear around the edges, but it's not bad and there was some significant maintenance work (painting and patching) going on while we were there. The pools are nice, Viola's bar up front is a good place for a drink or two (although the food is your standard-issue frozen/deep fried bar fare) and the staff was mostly friendly.

The good:

--Fantastic location, right on the beach.
--A good price for Paradise Island, particularly if you take advantage of the many specials that regularly show up on the development's website. We booked before the specials were announced, and the restrictive booking policy prevented us from taking advantage of a special that would have saved us $500.
--Easy access to Atlantis.

The bad:

--The hotel didn't have our reservation when we got there and we had to give the desk our confirmation number before it was located. The staff clearly didn't expect us.
--Housekeeping didn't make up our room the first day, even after we notified the front desk. There was no problem after that and the quality of housekeeping was good.
--Speaking of the front desk, it has limited hours: 7a to 7p daily.
--The development is next to the public beach cut, so you get lots of cruise ship guests on the beach with you. It still wasn't crowded.

I'd say I was satisfied overall, although I'd stop considerably short of the bowled-over reviews I've been reading here. I'd still stay here again, though.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas

Address: Casino Dr, Paradise Island, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet beach front hotel and villas to suit all budgets. One bedroom hotel units with efficiency kitchens and private bedroom, up to 5 bedroom 4,000 sq. ft. luxury villas. Viola's Bar and Cafe is within steps of both pools, with Archie's On The Beach to serve refreshments beachside. A 5 minute walk to the Atlantis Casino complex, world class and Bahamian style shopping, and multitudes of restaurants. Historic downtown Nassau 1.5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Clubs And Villas Hotel Paradise Island
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Resort
Sunrise Beach Clubs And Villas Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.