We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet, Reasonably Priced All-Suite Hotel on Paradise Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Harbour Rd, New Providence Island (Formerly Bay View Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
La Mirada, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Quiet, Reasonably Priced All-Suite Hotel on Paradise Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Best Western Bay View Suites on Paradise Island from January 6 throught January 10, 2013. I researched numerous hotels and resorts on New Providence Island and on Paradise Island before selecting the Best Western. Three key items in the reviews I read really helped me make the decision. All proved to be 100% accurate.

1. Resort amenities. Each room is at least a full suite, with a living/dining room, full kitchen, bedroom (two closets!), and a patio or balcony. We had a ground level room (#130) that was very simply appointed, but clean and comfortable. The A/C blew very cold air, the bed was comfortable (which comes in handy after walking all over Paradise!), and we had a full-size fridge for groceries. There are laundry facilites near the pool and administration office and a small market where you can buy water, juice, snacks, and basic toiletries.

2. Commitment to service. Sandra and her team were incredibly welcoming and hospitable. They looked for every opportunity to make us feel happy and comfortable. We brought our 17-month-old daughter on the trip and the staff was quick to provide us with a full-size crib (not a pack-and-play) as well as crib sheets and blankets. Because local calls are .50 each, Sandra willingly called a local restaurant for us to help us arrange lunch plans. Need help setting up a tour, getting a cab, finding a restaurant that delivers, finding the best beach access, or catching the #10 bus? Just ask Sandra. She and her team were phenomenal. You can tell the staff takes great pride in delivering an exceptional level of service for their guests.

3. Convenient location. Since we traveled with our young daughter, we wanted to spend the majority of our time on Paradise Island. The Bay View Suites is a 10-minute walk to Atlantis and Marina Village and a 15-minute walk to Cabbage Beach. We did not have a rental car, yet always felt like everything we did was conveniently accessible. We were able to tour Atlantis and spent a day on Blue Lagoon Island doing the Dolphin Encounter (www.dolphinencounters.com), which I HIGHLY recommend. It was a phenomenal experience. Be sure to bring a waterproof camera!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 130, which is a ground floor room. The ground level rooms have price patios with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    47
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
35
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We needed this hotel as a home-base while we did business in Nassau over Christmas. The one bedroom suite was simply equipped and was basically good-enough for what we needed, although the wired internet (instead of Wi Fi) was a bit of a pain, and nowhere in the Bahamas is the internet fast! The free parking is great if you have a car, since parking is not easy to find on PI (Paradise Island). The suite was not glitzy or memorable, but it felt safe and clean and it was very quiet. There are really very few options for Best Western style hotels Nassau and PI and most of what you will find here is connected to resorts and beaches. It appeared there were mostly families with younger kids staying at this property. Be warned that if you choose to stay on PI, you will be quite isolated from the rest of Nassau and New Providence unless you have a car. PI is not at all representative of Nassau and New Providence, and you might want to consider one of the options such as The Sheraton or The Hilton if you want to be a bit more central, but still able to visit PI.

Room Tip: Bring a Cat 5 cable so that you can hook into the wired internet service. Make sure you have some $1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at one of their villas during the Christmas week. The villa was nice, clean, well equipped and adequately spacious. We got every day maid service and she was great as well. The wired internet worked well inside the villa. Wifi was available around the pool and the common areas.

The location can't be beat. It's about a 5 minute walk from Atlantis as well as the beach. The ferry terminal is about a 3 minute walk. There's also a taxi stand near the ferry terminal and getting a taxi is just a matter of letting the front desk know. Very convenient.

The only thing to keep in mind is that if you plan on using the kitchen, you'd be better off arranging for things like salt, sugar, oil and dish soap ahead of time. The beds can be on the softer side so if you like more of a firm bed, you'd want to be aware of that.

Overall our stay at the bay view suites was very comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 150 and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I recently stayed here for 6 nights as part of a vacation to the Bahamas. I had a 1BR Suite and loved it!

It was very big with a living room, kitchen, dining area and outdoor patio. With the grocery store just across the bridge in Nassau and up the hill, we saved hundreds by cooking our main meals. I imagine it's nearly impossible for a place like this to keep the kitchens stocked with pots, pans, cooking tools, etc. but this one was pretty good. I wished it had a colander for pasta but I managed. We were there in October so the temperatures were warm but not overly hot. The air conditioning worked very well, especially combined with the ceiling fans in the room. There was daily maid service, which carries a gratuity as part of the nightly fees that are very common now in the Bahamas, even at Atlantis with their already high prices.

Except for their proximity near the 10pm island fireworks show launch pad our first night, this place was very quiet and removed from the typical amusement-park liveliness of Paradise Island. The landscaping is beautiful and natural with three swimming pools. We enjoyed breakfast poolside one morning at the cafe and took advantage of the onsite sundries store for drinking water (you'll want to buy water in Nassau as the tap water is very high in minerals and tastes it.) The onsite laundry was also very welcomed after a few days of beach activities.

I'd definitely stay here again. The pricing was reasonable, the place was clean and included all we needed for a great vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights in February 2012. Clean, spacious, air conditioned one bedroom suite. Kitchen has minimal cooking supplies but we made it work- better than paying a fortune for restaurant food elsewhere. We did eat at the hotel, and the poolside food was great! Used the pools and the tennis court. Loved the lush greenery surrounding the patios/pool areas. Very private and quiet. Would definitely stay there again to avoid the madness of Atlantis.

Room Tip: Lower level has private grassy area, upper floor just has shared balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Since I used these reviews to base my stay here, thought it be good to add my review after staying.
Let me first say I found the staff and manager(Alfred) and even security guard to be very nice and provided great customer service. Me and wife loved our stay here and the hotel we chose!

I loved the cleanliness of the rooms, privacy and the amazing garden scenery. We had a huge private backyard and the pools were really clean and fairly empty most of the time.
I also liked the fact they had all the cutery (plates, glasses etc) and a huge kitchen so you can properly dine in your own room. Only thing needed was dishwashing fluid. With the prices so high to eat out, it was a relief we could do this.

I'm very glad I stayed here instead of Atlantis which was like a children zoo with ridiculous high prices to eat out. We got to explore Atlantis but other attractions on the island as well without paying a bundle if we were to stay at the Atlantis hotels. Plus after 6pm practically everywhere is free to roam on Atlantis except going on the water rides...We got a day pass one day to go on the rides which was alright but nothing that special compared to other amusement water park rides that are half the price.

Only suggestions would be to upgrade the gym and prob tv satellite options. Also possibility of having a free or even discount shuttle to Atlantis once a day would be nice too.

p.s don't forget mosquito repellent, you will need it!

-Asad

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Some of the best food on the island, breakfast and lunch. They are happy to wrap takeouts for a picnic. There is a small general store and laundry facilities. The security was TOPNOTCH and very helpful and informative. The location is fantastic and the rates are phenomenal! We were in the middle of everything and walked to the beach, the casino, the marina. The ferry boats are cheap and a great way to see Nassau and Paradise Island from the water. I recommend Fish Fry for food and Cable Beach for some of the most spectacular beachfront in the whole of the Caribbean. The best meal we had was at The Poop Deck just at the the foot of the bridge in Nassaau Harbor. The Pirate museum is worth the trip. If you can handle driving on the left, then I recommend renting a SMALL car.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bay View Hotel Paradise Island
Best Western Plus Bay View Hotel
Best Western Paradise Island
Paradise Island Best Western
BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites Bahamas/Paradise Island
Address: Harbour Rd, New Providence Island (Formerly Bay View Village)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#12 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Paradise Island is the ultimate getaway for budget-savvy travelers who want luxurious accommodations in the tropics without the hefty price tag. Your Best Western Bahamas has everything you need for the vacation of a lifetime. All rooms are spacious one-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens, so you can stay in paradise as long as you'd like. We happily accommodate groups and larger families. You'll have plenty of room to stretch out and relax. Within walking distance of the Atlantis Paradise Island Resort & Casino, BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites, Bahamas/Nassau is conveniently close to everything. Enjoy the best Paradise Island deals around when you stay with us. We're only minutes from historic downtown Nassau, so shopping, dining and sightseeing is walkable. Spend your days visiting popular attractions, beach bumming or of course relaxing in your suite. A tropical escape on Paradise Island in Nassau, the Bahamas, our property is designed with your comfort in mind. Whether you're here for the history and culture or the beaches and water sports, you'll find everything you need moments away. Resorts in Paradise Island are known for their hospitality, but we take it a step further here. Our friendly staff members are fully committed to making your stay as enjoyable as possible. We also welcome travelers on business for finance, tourism and insurance at our Paradise Island hotel. Luxurious bedding, quiet accommodations and the best service in town are our trademark. Can we do anything more to make your stay even more enjoyable? Ask one of our staff members, and we'll go above and beyond to take care of you. Book your oversized suite at BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites today and start packing your swimsuits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.