We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Harbour Rd, New Providence Island (Formerly Bay View Village)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #9 of 14 hotels in Paradise Island
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stay and location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I recently stayed here for 6 nights as part of a vacation to the Bahamas. I had a 1BR Suite and loved it!

It was very big with a living room, kitchen, dining area and outdoor patio. With the grocery store just across the bridge in Nassau and up the hill, we saved hundreds by cooking our main meals. I imagine it's nearly impossible for a place like this to keep the kitchens stocked with pots, pans, cooking tools, etc. but this one was pretty good. I wished it had a colander for pasta but I managed. We were there in October so the temperatures were warm but not overly hot. The air conditioning worked very well, especially combined with the ceiling fans in the room. There was daily maid service, which carries a gratuity as part of the nightly fees that are very common now in the Bahamas, even at Atlantis with their already high prices.

Except for their proximity near the 10pm island fireworks show launch pad our first night, this place was very quiet and removed from the typical amusement-park liveliness of Paradise Island. The landscaping is beautiful and natural with three swimming pools. We enjoyed breakfast poolside one morning at the cafe and took advantage of the onsite sundries store for drinking water (you'll want to buy water in Nassau as the tap water is very high in minerals and tastes it.) The onsite laundry was also very welcomed after a few days of beach activities.

I'd definitely stay here again. The pricing was reasonable, the place was clean and included all we needed for a great vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    49
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
37
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights in February 2012. Clean, spacious, air conditioned one bedroom suite. Kitchen has minimal cooking supplies but we made it work- better than paying a fortune for restaurant food elsewhere. We did eat at the hotel, and the poolside food was great! Used the pools and the tennis court. Loved the lush greenery surrounding the patios/pool areas. Very private and quiet. Would definitely stay there again to avoid the madness of Atlantis.

Room Tip: Lower level has private grassy area, upper floor just has shared balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Since I used these reviews to base my stay here, thought it be good to add my review after staying.
Let me first say I found the staff and manager(Alfred) and even security guard to be very nice and provided great customer service. Me and wife loved our stay here and the hotel we chose!

I loved the cleanliness of the rooms, privacy and the amazing garden scenery. We had a huge private backyard and the pools were really clean and fairly empty most of the time.
I also liked the fact they had all the cutery (plates, glasses etc) and a huge kitchen so you can properly dine in your own room. Only thing needed was dishwashing fluid. With the prices so high to eat out, it was a relief we could do this.

I'm very glad I stayed here instead of Atlantis which was like a children zoo with ridiculous high prices to eat out. We got to explore Atlantis but other attractions on the island as well without paying a bundle if we were to stay at the Atlantis hotels. Plus after 6pm practically everywhere is free to roam on Atlantis except going on the water rides...We got a day pass one day to go on the rides which was alright but nothing that special compared to other amusement water park rides that are half the price.

Only suggestions would be to upgrade the gym and prob tv satellite options. Also possibility of having a free or even discount shuttle to Atlantis once a day would be nice too.

p.s don't forget mosquito repellent, you will need it!

-Asad

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Some of the best food on the island, breakfast and lunch. They are happy to wrap takeouts for a picnic. There is a small general store and laundry facilities. The security was TOPNOTCH and very helpful and informative. The location is fantastic and the rates are phenomenal! We were in the middle of everything and walked to the beach, the casino, the marina. The ferry boats are cheap and a great way to see Nassau and Paradise Island from the water. I recommend Fish Fry for food and Cable Beach for some of the most spectacular beachfront in the whole of the Caribbean. The best meal we had was at The Poop Deck just at the the foot of the bridge in Nassaau Harbor. The Pirate museum is worth the trip. If you can handle driving on the left, then I recommend renting a SMALL car.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I thought I would write this review specifically for parents with young toddlers (under the age of 3) to help you plan your trip. We chose this hotel based on recommendations from this website and others and it is indeed a good choice. The hotel is clean, very quiet, the grounds are lush and they have a cage with 2 parrots that greet you. They also have a slide and a sandbox, 3 pools and a tennis court. We had a one bedroom suite with a nice living area, bathroom, kitchen, bedroom and a private patio. We saved money by cooking our own food. Here are the things you need to know about this hotel and the island in general:
1. The hotel.
The kitchen is not really fully equipped. I would say it had the bare minimum. I would suggest you bring a "starter kit" because prices on the island are twice higher than in the U.S. These are the items we ended up buying: a small sponge and dishwasher soap, cooking oil, condiments, sugar etc...and food items that are not for sale there that you really need/want (in our case, organic cereals)...also as an fyi, tap water is not recommended. We bought bottled water for our toddler. We did drink the tap water for a few days but it does not taste very good. We did not get sick. You may want to bring outlet covers for safety and peace of mind.
2. The island
As of June 2012, Providence Island is a big construction site. I've got to warn you that it starts right at the airport, all along Cable Beach and up to downtown Nassau. It is a mess. The island is booming right now and they want to build a resort to rival the Atlantis on Cable beach. They will move the beach further inland to accommodate all new buildings. Apparently they have hired 2,000 Chinese workers to complete the job by 2014. So, what I am saying is that you want to stay on Paradise Island if you want quietness. If you are the parent of a toddler under 3, activities offered by hotels and tour operators are limited, well actually they are none. The Atlantis has programs for children over 3. These are activities that would work for your child:
The Astrada Zoo (fun show with flamingos, lots of birds, bird feeding, leopards etc....and it will take you an hour only). Blue Lagoon Island: we highly recommend it because it is very shallow and safe, they have water tables out and the site is beautiful. If you want to avoid crowds, walk all the way down to the bridge by the snorkeling area. Tip: to save money, buy the observer package and bring your own lunch ($25 instead of 54). Cabbage beach is the beach to go to with a toddler. If you are fit and willing, the west side of the beach is a 20-minute walk from the hotel. I would recommend bringing your stroller, the sidewalks are good (not like in Nassau!). Once there, if you like snorkeling you may want to walk all the way to the rocks. We saw colorful fish and stingrays. Another great outing are the Atlantis Aquariums called “the Dig”, A must-see! Tip: do not pay for the $45 fee they ask for. Wait until 7PM instead, when they open it up to the public for free. We also walked the grounds, which was good exercise for our child.
One last thing about grocery shopping and food: at this time, you only have one option for groceries and it is the Super Value across the bridge. City Market has closed. It is a 25 minute walk from the hotel or you can also take a cab. I took the stroller and used it as my cart on the way back. It worked out fine. Do not expect to find anything tremendously exciting there…I had hoped for fresh fish and tropical fruit, well they do not carry anything local (their coconut water is from Thailand!!!). If you want fish, do go to Twin Brothers on the right side of the bridge and Potters Cay. Another random item: I ate a great rum cake sundae in downtown Nassau at an ice cream parlor on the main street right across the building that burned down (it is easy to locate). A word about restaurants: If you are on Paradise Island, your choices are very limited. The good restaurants are at the Atlantis but you have to be a guest to have access before 7PM, which does not work well for parents of toddlers. I have heard the MarketPlace is a good bargain and a low key place.
Finally, you may also want to enroll into the people-to-people program sponsored by the Bahamas government. They pair you up with locals to learn about the culture. Our host was really nice, she drove us all over the island and introduced us to great foods (coconut and pineapple tarts, crab dish made by her friends and conch salad on the west side of the island). She even got us a car seat for our toddler. She called us the night we came back home to make sure we made it safely back to the U.S.!!!
Overall, I would say we are glad we chose the Best Western in Paradise Island (Atlantis is a zoo) but we were not prepared for the madness of New Providence. If you are looking for real calm, I would say go to a different island or be prepared to stay on Paradise Island for the entirety of your stay. I hope this helps!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper-level room, you will get more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff, HUGE suites, and very pretty grounds/gardens. Beach and restaurants within a 5-7 minute walk. Overall, a great budget friendly hotel on Paradise Island.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Great hotel. Spacious suites, good location, friendly staff - what more could you want.

Room Tip: Ground floor suites even have their own private patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites

Address: Harbour Rd, New Providence Island (Formerly Bay View Village)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Paradise Island is the ultimate getaway for budget-savvy travelers who want luxurious accommodations in the tropics without the hefty price tag. Your Best Western Bahamas has everything you need for the vacation of a lifetime. All rooms are spacious one-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens, so you can stay in paradise as long as you'd like. We happily accommodate groups and larger families. You'll have plenty of room to stretch out and relax. Within walking distance of the Atlantis Paradise Island Resort & Casino, BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites, Bahamas/Nassau is conveniently close to everything. Enjoy the best Paradise Island deals around when you stay with us. We're only minutes from historic downtown Nassau, so shopping, dining and sightseeing is walkable. Spend your days visiting popular attractions, beach bumming or of course relaxing in your suite. A tropical escape on Paradise Island in Nassau, the Bahamas, our property is designed with your comfort in mind. Whether you're here for the history and culture or the beaches and water sports, you'll find everything you need moments away. Resorts in Paradise Island are known for their hospitality, but we take it a step further here. Our friendly staff members are fully committed to making your stay as enjoyable as possible. We also welcome travelers on business for finance, tourism and insurance at our Paradise Island hotel. Luxurious bedding, quiet accommodations and the best service in town are our trademark. Can we do anything more to make your stay even more enjoyable? Ask one of our staff members, and we'll go above and beyond to take care of you. Book your oversized suite at BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites today and start packing your swimsuits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bay View Hotel Paradise Island
Best Western Paradise Island
Paradise Island Best Western
BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bay View Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.