We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paradise Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat
Save Saved
You added Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat to your Saves list
Paradise Island | PO Box N7550, 4777, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Nassau, Bahamas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Paradise in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Three girlfriends and I ended our five day party vacation with a half day at the Ashram. We took the 8am yoga class then enjoyed the 10am vegan breakfast. The experience was the perfect way to kick start removing the past few days toxins from the body. The class and meal are each $10 which include a ferry ride over from the main land of Nassau. There is a parking lot near the ferry that charges $1-2 per hour. Bring a swim suit and hang on the beautiful beach. They have a variety of accommodation types as well including ocean front rooms. Be sure to visit the store/gift shop for gifts and healthy snacks.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    78
    20
    11
    22
See reviews for
38
22
262
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

What a fantastic spot, and a great contrast to the craziness of nearby Atlantis. Location is simply breathtaking. I do not have a strict yoga practice, but was still able to keep up with the class. They build in a lot of resting in between poses, which is how it's supposed to be practiced. I would have liked to have seen a bit more on the meditation end instead of the chanting, but I know that is a personal preference. Accommodations were great. We were in a beachfront deluxe room, which was perfect. The talks and workshops were a bit mixed; some were fantastic, others were a bit difficult to hear because of either noise/volume issues or language barriers. It's not as strict as some other ashrams as I've visited, but it's all about listening to your body and respecting what it needs anyway. Overall a great and beautiful getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I have been visiting this Yoga retreat for over twenty years. While I do not follow a regular Yoga practice, I have always have a regenerating and relaxing experience. I am pleased and impressed that it has retained its charm, notwithstanding the overwhelming challenges of our rapidly changing world. I have always gone alone, as do most, and met nice and interesting people during my (approx. 20) stays. By some standards it might be regarded as rough, but its simplicity and 'down-to-earth ambience contributes to its natural beauty and peacefulness. Be prepared to leave cars, phones, and the bustling world behind.

Room Tip: The huts on the fabulous beach are great. However, my advice is to take whatever you are given, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This place was an amazing yoga experience! We had the deluxe accommodation on the beach front and it was just perfect in every way. Clean, comfortable, air conditioned room. The food was good, especially the home made bread, and menu changes every day! Don't forget your bottle of water, you will need it! We will certainly go back! Nathalie B.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansboro
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed in the deluxe guest accommodations and they spotless, fresh, and quite lovely. The food was good, although I was quite surprised to see margarine being served with the freshly baked bread instead of butter. The water source available to refill our bottles was very warm; not at all refreshing in the intense heat. The asana practice and satsang were lovely, albeit the daily requirements are quite rigorous. There is an emphasis on discipline, which is a good thing. If you are looking for R&R you may want to reconsider. Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I did the TTC, its an amazing experience. Although it is no walk in the park. Go in knowing that the first two weeks are the hardest but once you pass that you realise what a great place it is! And guarantee you will meet great people.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wow.

These two programs that I had the pleasure of participating changed my life! And I don't mean to say that in a frou-frou cliche manner, but it you are thinking about igniting a shift in the way you live your life, on a CELLULAR level, I would absolutely suggest either or even both of these programs. Manu Dawson is well-versed of virtually every malady that upsets a human body and has the holistic knowledge and patience to answer every question. Grace Van Berkum is behind the scenes preparing the food and juices and each one is delicious (and nutritious). The Raw Food Living Retreat is a 3-day hands-on affair, where she leads a lecture first and then everyone is able to prepare meals, learn about leading a healthy lifestyle.

Grace is truly an inspiration in her knowledge and story. The passion she has demonstrating and talking about health is contagious and makes you want to instantly jump on the bandwagon. She is a living example of taking control of your life and making the most of it. And the food we made was DELICIOUS! Everything was simple and easy to make from snazzy protein drinks to chocolate truffles, and even in my busy schedule I am able to prepare meals and keep up with what I learned.

Jai to these leaders and I'm telling you these programs will profoundly change your life. Are you ready?
Visited May 2014

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat

Address: Paradise Island | PO Box N7550, 4777, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yoga Retreat is a spiritual center & retreat place offering courses and workshops and yoga vacation. The daily schedule includes two yoga classes, two Satsangs (meditation sessions) and two vegetarian meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat Hotel Paradise Island
Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.