We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive slice of paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One & Only Ocean Club

Save Saved
You added One & Only Ocean Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
One & Only Ocean Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Casino Drive, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Complimentary
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Expensive slice of paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

First off, we would definitely stay again. The only thing holding me back from giving a 5 star review is the overall price of the room given the size. A 1-bedroom penthouse at the Aria SkySuites was about half the price of an oceanfront luxury room. Nonetheless, it truly stands in contrast to the Vegas-esque atmosphere of nearby Atlantis. We could see the sunrise from our room every morning as we looked out over a serene lawn with hammocks and palm trees. The resort never felt crowded even when it was packed for Memorial Day weekend.

Some have complained about the butler service. We were pleased but we never hesitated to ask for him (Jason and Nelson) when we needed something. For those that were unsatisfied I'd be curious to know what they were expecting - a person standing outside the door all night? I think that is a bit unreasonable to expect. Given the butler service is a phone call away and our requests were fulfilled within 5 minutes was good enough for me.

For a family vacation we would probably go to Atlantis because there are so many more activities available. But for a romantic couples escape we have never experienced something so luxurious.

Room Tip: Crescent Wing - oceanfront rooms and suites are simply the best. A patio that opens up right onto th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    97
    55
    43
    36
See reviews for
106
223
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

First visit to the Ocean Club. Friends and clients have recommended it but I was skeptical and wrong.
Though very pricy it is actually worth it ! Service is over the top good which is unusal in the Bahamas.
Food at both restaurants is superb. Very Romatic place. Not for singles. Gym is small but has equipment that is state of the art.
Had an Oceanfront room in Cresent wing. Amazing - mahogany floors, bathroom my GF Loved ! and a great deck etc. etc.
Butler was excellent.
For the discriminating and well heeled the place is Just Right ....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is it. This hotel is absolutely stunning. First, the location on the beach and the gardens are gorgeous. The rooms are first class and the service perfect. We spent only one night unfortunately way too short, but I won't go anywhere else when back to Nassau. The food at the Dune restaurant was excellent; we also had dinner at the Courtyard and it was only average. On the side note, the vodka martini shaken but not stirred was the best I had...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nasah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This was the best Bahamas ever.
The staff was great. The food very good. I highly recommend the one and only ocean club. You will not be dissapointed. Many great amenities...beautiful beach, full service and attention at every turn.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a beautiful place. We were relaxed just showing up. From the wonderful grounds to the excellent service, we felt spoiled the whole time. Exactly how we should feel. Dinner at the Courtyard was excellent. Dinner at Dune was OK, but noisy and crowded. The spa and pool were superb, but the best part of the hotel was the lawn overlooking the ocean. A heaven of hammocks and places to sit and watch the surf and sky.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room overlooking the lawn and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed one night on our way back to the US. Very nice hotel - service was impeccable and grounds are beautiful. But the price for what you get is a little disappointing. We were upgraded from a basic room to an ocean view room as part of an American Express package, which was great, but at $1000 per night it's a lot to pay for a hotel room.

Everything on property is very expensive but we expected that, so it wasn't a surprise. Little extras like fresh Bahamian lemonade in the lobby were cool, as were various treats in the room.

The hotel is part of the Atlantis program so it was nice to walk over and be able to check out Atlantis, which is nice to check out but not a place to stay if you don't like huge crowds.

Overall a very nice experience, just not sure it's worth that kind of price for a hotel room.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

A few other reviewer seem to have had similar experiences, but the extreme positives and negatives were strong enough I wanted to chime in. For the positives: most everyone was extremely friendly -- it really felt natural (until... see below) and part of the culture. The hotel as (almost, except for the constant buzzing of jetskis) and oasis of "nice" in the Atlantis complex. The room was great, the golf course really pretty, and we wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else. For the negatives: we've been to plenty of less expensive hotels and don't have much in the way of service expectations. We've been to plenty of expensive hotels and the service is typically very professional. For four of us in a one bed room suite (kids on cots in the livingroom) the daily cost (including meals) came to $5000. Given the pricetag, we'd expect the staff not to be on "island time". Yes, well, it is an island and that may be the culture, but here are a few examples: we were graciously offered newspapers and accepted a wall street journal. We received just one during our four days and asked about four extra times. At meals, we'd ask for a refill of water, and got a very polite and positive reply. Ten minutes later, no water, and we'd ask again. It took on average three requests to get anything. Instead of me writing more examples, please just imagine MANY. We asked for towels on the beach. This is the one time someone was EXTREMELY rude to us, repeatedly. Maybe he was just having a bad day, but it brought down the facade of "friendly" from the rest of the crew. It felt like everyone was friendly but perhaps an inch away from cracking. I'll stop here by summing up with two absolutes: without question the price is too high given the effort it takes to get service, and without question, IF we had friends who wanted to take their kids to Atlantis, the Ocean Club is the place we'd recommend.

Room Tip: you want an upstairs room for few and so you don't hear your upstairs neighbor's every move
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One & Only Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One & Only Ocean Club

Address: One Casino Drive, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One & Only Ocean Club 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the deep blue of an endless Bahamian sky, wrapped in the turquoise waters of an exuberant sea, One&Only Ocean Club nestles peacefully along a shore of delicate white sand beach...a treasured sanctuary of privileged perfection.Renowned for its legendary sophistication and contemporary elegance, the resort was once the private estate of A&P heir Huntington Hartford II. Today, this alluring beachfront hideaway reflects the glamorous ambience and posh exclusivity of a grand colonial manor, welcoming generations of the world’s travelling elite. Expansive manicured lawns and towering coconut palms provide an enchanting backdrop to the pristine beaches of Paradise Island.Here, service is elevated to a fine art form by a gracious staff welcoming you into their colonial plantation home. Warm and inviting accommodation and residential-style villas are ideal for couples and families alike. The dining options at One&Only Ocean Club are renowned and unforgettable featuring the imaginative cuisine of chef Jean-George Vongerichten.One&Only Ocean Club is a playground of world-class golf, tennis, spa, and off property water-sports. The spectacular blue waters of the Caribbean are the elixir of Bahamian life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your One & Only Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One & Only Ocean Club Hotel Paradise Island
One And Only Ocean Club
One Only Ocean Hotel
Ocean Club Bahamas
One Only Ocean Resort
One Only Bahamas
One & Only Ocean Club Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One & Only Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.