We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not a great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One & Only Ocean Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added One & Only Ocean Club to your Saves list
One & Only Ocean Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Casino Drive, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Complimentary
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Denver, Colorado, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good but not a great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed one night on our way back to the US. Very nice hotel - service was impeccable and grounds are beautiful. But the price for what you get is a little disappointing. We were upgraded from a basic room to an ocean view room as part of an American Express package, which was great, but at $1000 per night it's a lot to pay for a hotel room.

Everything on property is very expensive but we expected that, so it wasn't a surprise. Little extras like fresh Bahamian lemonade in the lobby were cool, as were various treats in the room.

The hotel is part of the Atlantis program so it was nice to walk over and be able to check out Atlantis, which is nice to check out but not a place to stay if you don't like huge crowds.

Overall a very nice experience, just not sure it's worth that kind of price for a hotel room.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    100
    55
    44
    37
See reviews for
109
232
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

A few other reviewer seem to have had similar experiences, but the extreme positives and negatives were strong enough I wanted to chime in. For the positives: most everyone was extremely friendly -- it really felt natural (until... see below) and part of the culture. The hotel as (almost, except for the constant buzzing of jetskis) and oasis of "nice" in the Atlantis complex. The room was great, the golf course really pretty, and we wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else. For the negatives: we've been to plenty of less expensive hotels and don't have much in the way of service expectations. We've been to plenty of expensive hotels and the service is typically very professional. For four of us in a one bed room suite (kids on cots in the livingroom) the daily cost (including meals) came to $5000. Given the pricetag, we'd expect the staff not to be on "island time". Yes, well, it is an island and that may be the culture, but here are a few examples: we were graciously offered newspapers and accepted a wall street journal. We received just one during our four days and asked about four extra times. At meals, we'd ask for a refill of water, and got a very polite and positive reply. Ten minutes later, no water, and we'd ask again. It took on average three requests to get anything. Instead of me writing more examples, please just imagine MANY. We asked for towels on the beach. This is the one time someone was EXTREMELY rude to us, repeatedly. Maybe he was just having a bad day, but it brought down the facade of "friendly" from the rest of the crew. It felt like everyone was friendly but perhaps an inch away from cracking. I'll stop here by summing up with two absolutes: without question the price is too high given the effort it takes to get service, and without question, IF we had friends who wanted to take their kids to Atlantis, the Ocean Club is the place we'd recommend.

Room Tip: you want an upstairs room for few and so you don't hear your upstairs neighbor's every move
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel was beautiful. Our room was gorgeous. It was located off the main building down by the grassy area with hammocks. Loved the yoga classes. Beautiful grounds. Make sure you go walk the entire historical garden. We did not meet our butler much and they were not consistent about the complimentary champagne. They only have one restaurant but the food was good. The bar is also nice. The concierge were wonderful helping us with business items that we needed to attend to. Gorgeous spa villas!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was the biggest surprise - we ate at The Courtyard Restaurant at the One & Only Ocean Club (not open on Tuesdays and Wednesdays) and it was one of the best restaurants we've ever been to, not only in the Bahamas. We ate the freshest grouper with tomatoes and a plate of chocolate deserts that were out of this world. I can't recommend this restaurant more highly - well done guys!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The setting is just gorgeous; the grounds are perfect, god knows how many gardeners there are; the service, particularly from the concierge/front desk, but also throughout, was friendly, efficient, charming and knowlegeable. We had a lovely time. It is expensive, though and comes with no extras, not even breakfast, so costs will mount even higher. However, if you can afford this or can bite the expense bullet, it really is alomst perfect. Suites overlooking the ocean are best, but even more costly. The spa is well worth a visit. I would happily go again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Was at this hotel this week for spring break. the venue is beautiful and the rooms charming, if not special. we had an ocean view on the second floor in the main building which appeared to have been recently renovated. I found the house staff (anyone stationed in the main building) charming and ready to assist. the beach/restaurant staff was more typical to what you often find in the Caribbean...plenty friendly but SLOW. The airport meet/greet was terrific, the concierges ready to help with anything and quite pleasant and the butlers were charming (if not particularly necessary, IMO).
The food at the hotel was terrific, though expensive, like everywhere in Nassau. All in all, if you need to be nearby, this is the place to stay. Big uptick from the Cove at Atlantis.

Room Tip: I had heard to ask for one of the recently renovated wings but we were in the main building, second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband and I spent Christmas 2013 here. We would not return to this hotel and would be hesitant to recommend it to friends. The price of the hotel is too high to justify the lack of service offered, and to be honest, the rooms are a little shabby...

There is a lack of urgency about the service here. After being shown to our room, we waited an age for our luggage to be delivered and when I returned to reception to collect the bags myself, they were still sitting on the steps to the hotel, with several staff members standing around chatting. This was to set the tone for the entire stay. Like a previous reviewer, we were told we had a personal butler, who consequently proved so elusive, I think we glimpsed him once....

According to the hotel information; room and suite amenities include the following:

24 hour butler service (the invisible man)
Welcome beverage (glass of lemonade)
Unpacking/packing luggage service (had to retrieve own luggage from lobby)
Garment pressing, one per guest (?)
Fresh fruit upon arrival (yes, and it was very nice)
Champagne and strawberries each afternoon (this happened on the first day only, each subsequent day it arrived later and later - after we had left the room for our 8pm dinner - and arriving back to the room at 11pm to a glass of warm, flat fizzy wine, somewhat defeats the purpose. The last night of the stay it didn't appear at all)
Pillow menu (no clue)
Mineral water (yes)
One&only ocean club caps (yes - very nice)

The food standard is actually very good, but the slow and seemingly begrudging service really made every dining experience slightly stressful. I don't want to be seated and looking at a menu for 20 minutes before anyone approaches to even offer us a drink or ask if we have any questions about the menu. This is a minimum level of service at any restaurant in the US, so receive such poor service at a supposedly high end resort is more than a little disappointing.

We have just returned from Cabo San Lucas and based purely upon our experience at the Ocean club we chose not to stay at the One & Only, Palmilla. I doubt we would risk a One & Only resort again....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One & Only Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One & Only Ocean Club

Address: One Casino Drive, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One & Only Ocean Club 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the deep blue of an endless Bahamian sky, wrapped in the turquoise waters of an exuberant sea, One&Only Ocean Club nestles peacefully along a shore of delicate white sand beach...a treasured sanctuary of privileged perfection.Renowned for its legendary sophistication and contemporary elegance, the resort was once the private estate of A&P heir Huntington Hartford II. Today, this alluring beachfront hideaway reflects the glamorous ambience and posh exclusivity of a grand colonial manor, welcoming generations of the world’s travelling elite. Expansive manicured lawns and towering coconut palms provide an enchanting backdrop to the pristine beaches of Paradise Island.Here, service is elevated to a fine art form by a gracious staff welcoming you into their colonial plantation home. Warm and inviting accommodation and residential-style villas are ideal for couples and families alike. The dining options at One&Only Ocean Club are renowned and unforgettable featuring the imaginative cuisine of chef Jean-George Vongerichten.One&Only Ocean Club is a playground of world-class golf, tennis, spa, and off property water-sports. The spectacular blue waters of the Caribbean are the elixir of Bahamian life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your One & Only Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One & Only Ocean Club Hotel Paradise Island
One And Only Ocean Club
One Only Ocean Hotel
Ocean Club Bahamas
One Only Ocean Resort
One Only Bahamas
One & Only Ocean Club Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One & Only Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.