We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One&Only Ocean Club” 3 of 5 stars
Review of One & Only Ocean Club

Save Saved
You added One & Only Ocean Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
One & Only Ocean Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Casino Drive, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Complimentary
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Paradise Island
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One&Only Ocean Club”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our second stay at the Ocean Club. Our first stay last year was incredible. This time was disappointing. We found the level of service had dropped, especially in the dining areas. Pool service at lunch was extremely slow. Our favourite restaurant Dune proved to be not only slow, but the waiter took no interest in our overall dining experience and the maitre d was rude. For the cost of this resort we felt let down and will not go back next year. The usual, very friendly Bahamian atmosphere was missed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    95
    53
    41
    36
See reviews for
101
210
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I spent 1 week at this over-the-top property in mid-January.
We took advantage of the 'stay 7/pay 5' night offer.
The room was on the small side, but our beautifully furnished balcony added to the additional space it gave us.
The property is intimate and beautifully maintained. The staff always greets you and simply can't do enough for you. The fine restaurant "Dune" was great!
Breakfasts were superb!
The pool has a mini Versailles Gardens on the one end to view or walk the grounds.
My complaints would be the nerve to automatically add $10/day gratuity for housekeeping service.
You'd think that @ the rate of $1,000+/nite + $200/nite taxes -- that this $10/day might be absorbed by the Hotel. Incidentally, we always leave a cash tip for housekeeping, regardless.
They actually charged $1.99 for all my local calls - which they agreed to remove when I complained.
A property of this calibre should not be caught up in nicle-and-diming!
Otherwise, would love to return, but only if their rates drop.

Room Tip: Hartford Wing -- 2nd floor, Oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We travelled here mid September 2012. The grounds were beautiful and we had a beautiful ocean view room. It was picture perfect! However this was considered off season and we were very disappointed that most of the amenities they offered were not available to us. Most of the hotel was shut down while they refurbish. They should have stated that before booking. There was only one restaurant open at the entire resort and they had very few spa appointments available. We called before and after our arrival and was never able to reach anyone by phone to make an appointment. No one bothered calling us back until the day we were checking out (how convenient). Service at the pool was very slow. Because of this I will not go back. Bad timing as it appears to be a nice hotel. Customer service was mediocre at best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meath, ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband & I stayed at the One and Only Ocean Club in June 2012. We had a beautiful spacious room in the Crescent wing, overlooking gardens with hammocks slung between palm trees & looking out to the ocean.

I can't fault the room, clean, airy, spacious, large bathroom - we found a lovely fruit basket on arrival. Champagne & chocolate strawberries were delivered every afternoon. Large sized Molton Brown toiletries - replenished daily. Wi-fi in the room. Our only issue - the safe got stuck in the locked mode & the maintenance man was unable to repair it. It had to be broken into & a new safe delivered. This was accomplished with a minimum of fuss.

The food was good - but be prepared to pay high prices. We found better value at breakfast by ordering from the a la carte menu rather than the buffet breakfast. Be prepared for quite a wait for breakfast. Leave plenty of time if you chose a la carte.

Great service on the beach - sunbeds carried to where you wish to sit, towels arranged, ice-buckets brought over, waiters available for drinks. Sun cream & magazines available on the beach steps. The beach itself is wonderful. Warm waters, clean sands.

The spa was a bit of a let down. The private villa was beautiful but the massage was nothing special.

The shuttle service to and from Atlantis was excellent. Visiting Atlantis made us glad we were staying at the Ocean Club. The room key from the Ocean Club gave us free access to all areas of the Atlantis resort.

We took a trip out to Stuart's Cove to go on the underwater scooters - great fun &. real experience even if my control of the scooter left a lot to be desired!

Room Tip: Choose the crescent wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My boyfriend treated me to this great resort for my birthday last year and I was mesmerized by the personal touches and attention upon arrival. 24 hr butler was a nice touch as well. Our room was located ocean side, so the view was amazing! Not to mention, the patio attached which we spent countless hours sipping on champagne and enjoying the breeze. The hotel itself, is kept up very well and if we had any issues they seemed to be taken care of within the hour. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast (included with our stay) and each time was prepared well! The butlers we're gracious without being intrusive and even decorated our room for my birthday while we were walking the grounds which I especially liked. The concierge and staff were very helpful with recommendations on where to eat and explore as well. All in all, I have no complaints about the service, hotel or overall experience...It was a great way to spend my birthday and hope to return in the near future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Nice rooms with a modern touch, excellent service. Not too far from the atlantis resorts so you can go visit the dolphins and water park for the kids. The food at the restaurant was also very nice and overlooka a nicely designed garden.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We visited the property with other couples who are also well traveled. There is no chance we would return again. The property is beautiful but management clearly has dropped the ball on keeping its employees in line. 9 out of 10 employees are apathetic, lazy, and not up to par to be employed by a One and Only establishment. They just don't care to serve you there. Its as if they are doing you a favor by waiting on you. Anyone who has visited a One and Only knows that gratuity is automatically added to every bill. In addition, a surcharge of 15% is added to the room rate just for additional gratuity to staff (including butlers, concierge, housekeeping etc) This is to create a relaxed atmosphere where patrons feel like they do not have to tip everywhere they go. With $1000+/per night room rates, this is plenty of dough for the occasional extra towels call or dinner reservation request. Despite all this, lazy staffers still feel like they deserve extra tip. I can't tell you how many yawns we saw while there. Its laughable. We have visited other One and Only resorts and this felt like Hilton quality service.

Service was slow despite there being plenty of staff around. Food quality was average. Butlers were nowhere to be found. The spa has no jacuzzi's, plunge pools, sauna, steam etc. Just rooms for massage. 1 of 2 Masseuses are unprofessional. Spa makes you tip before the massage. Again laughable.

Room service had us clear the table before setting down the food....laughable.

Golf cart died in the middle of the 4th hole....laughable

Drinks never arrived while at the pool...2 days out of the trip....laughable.

Single malt 18 yr scotch ordered for dinner tasted like a 10 at which point i asked to see the bottle... Empty bottle of 18 was brought to the table to prove what exactly? ...Laughable

Juice station shuts down after breakfast..Sorry... Isn't this the One and Only....Laughable

To top it all off, at check out, everyone puts on their happy faces and bids you farewell with open hands for and a handshake... a hug...no silly more tips. The $150 per day plus the 15% automatically added to every bill just isn't enough. Terrible team. Staff purge needed by management to get things back to One and Only quality. There were only 4-5 staff members who were of quality. Perhaps there have a weak leader. GM should probably be replaced.

I could go on and on. Save yourself the aggravation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to One & Only Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One & Only Ocean Club

Address: One Casino Drive, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One & Only Ocean Club 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the deep blue of an endless Bahamian sky, wrapped in the turquoise waters of an exuberant sea, One&Only Ocean Club nestles peacefully along a shore of delicate white sand beach...a treasured sanctuary of privileged perfection.Renowned for its legendary sophistication and contemporary elegance, the resort was once the private estate of A&P heir Huntington Hartford II. Today, this alluring beachfront hideaway reflects the glamorous ambience and posh exclusivity of a grand colonial manor, welcoming generations of the world’s travelling elite. Expansive manicured lawns and towering coconut palms provide an enchanting backdrop to the pristine beaches of Paradise Island.Here, service is elevated to a fine art form by a gracious staff welcoming you into their colonial plantation home. Warm and inviting accommodation and residential-style villas are ideal for couples and families alike. The dining options at One&Only Ocean Club are renowned and unforgettable featuring the imaginative cuisine of chef Jean-George Vongerichten.One&Only Ocean Club is a playground of world-class golf, tennis, spa, and off property water-sports. The spectacular blue waters of the Caribbean are the elixir of Bahamian life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your One & Only Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Ocean Club
One & Only Ocean Club Hotel Paradise Island
One Only Ocean Hotel
Ocean Club Bahamas
One Only Ocean Resort
One Only Bahamas
One & Only Ocean Club Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One & Only Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.