We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Club - not paradise, but very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One & Only Ocean Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added One & Only Ocean Club to your Saves list
One & Only Ocean Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Casino Drive, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Complimentary Amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ocean Club - not paradise, but very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Four couples traveled for a long weekend of fun. For some of us, the hotel was not ready with the right rooms which had been previously arranged. It all sorted out, but not the sort of sorting one wants to do at midnight after a long travel day. Overall, service was very nice, room (once cleaned up for us) strong, facility lovely, workout space very good, restaurants/food quite good. Overall quite pricey despite some discount for advance reservation. I still give it a thumbs up, but would not be running back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    97
    55
    43
    36
See reviews for
106
223
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I chose Ocean Club for a long weekend retreat to get a chance to relax in between work projects. It just so happened we booked the trip the weekend after Sandy hit the US East Coast, and being from NYC, we escaped the aftermath by going to the Bahamas. Our first impression was lovely. The resort was beautiful, the people friendly. One thing we were unaware of was that this is part of Atlantis, a resort we wanted to steer clear of. It wasn't clear on their website and maybe we should have done more homework, but it is located on an island that has a Disney/Vegas vibe. No local restaurants selling fresh fish or booths with local crafts. It is ALL resort souvenirs and chain restaurant food.

As I mentioned, we went the week after Sandy had hit the Bahamas and days after it had hit NYC. Our flight in was less than half full and we were told by staff that many people had canceled their reservations. Even with half of the hotel empty, we were not upgraded to a better room. This struck me as a little strange since most hotels upgrade their guests if rooms are available.

Now a few things about the VALUE. This place is just about 20% too expensive, to where it doesn't even make any sense. We travel all the time to luxury hotels in the Caribbean, and while we expect high prices for food and drink, we've never paid these kind of prices. $16 USD for a pina colada in a small plastic cup or $17 for corn soup, plus a 15% service charge that is automatically tacked on. Every lunch was over $100 for the both of us and dinner was near $400. We are not cheap people, it is more about how offensive these prices are. If the drinks were $14 instead of $16 and the soup $12 instead of $17, it would just seem a lot more reasonable. Also, we were not sure if this service charge was going to the waiter or not, since at the spa 9% of the service charge did not go to the masseuse. So we would tip to about 25%, making our two drink orders at the pool come in around $40.

Now about the spa. The spa is beautiful. They have private villas with massage tables, a nice garden area outside and a jacuzzi which can be rented out for a fee. We decided to go with the "Love" package, which was a couples massage plus an hour in the garden with tea and fruit for $370. This seemed perfectly reasonable, since a 50 minute Sweedish massage was $140pp and the outdoor space was $50pp/ hr. We were really looking forward to this, but when we went to check in they charged us for TWO Love packages ($740!) plus 20% service charge. We told them we were not willing to pay that and opted out of the package. Instead, we bought al a carte and paid for a couples massage plus an hour in the garden which came to $380. So, I guess this tea and fruit is almost $400?! We thought this pricing was outrageous. Also, the jacuzzi in the villa we had the massage in was not working. The masseuse assigned to my husband was walking away from the table every five minutes trying to fix it and eventually called maintenance. He estimated that out of the 50 minute massage, she was only working on him for about 35 minutes. They still never fixed the jacuzzi and we had to be moved to another villa after our massage. In that villa the jacuzzi worked fine, but the sink in the bathroom was broken. I would expect that any spa charging their customers such ridiculous prices would at least have functioning amenities.

The staff were hit or miss. Some were extremely friendly, helpful and warm, while others were not. The front desk attendees were a bit rude when we went to ask them for a map of the island. They said we had already been given one upon check in, but we had forgot it in the room and didn't think it was such a big deal to request another one. They not only said that we already had one without making eye contact, but when my husband pressed and asked for a second one the lady made a huge sigh, got up abruptly from her desk and started loudly going through stacks of paper. I told her never mind and led my husband away because honestly, her behavior really intimidated me. Also, I guess you are suppose to tip every time someone does something for you. This I also found uncommon among luxury resorts. Usually, if you are paying $1K+ to stay at a resort, it is assumed someone will give you a towel at the pool or find you a chair on the beach. Not so here. If you do not tip every time, they stop being friendly and act like everything they do for you is a huge inconvenience to them.

The good things do deserved to be mentioned, however they are too few and far between to ever convince us to return to this resort. The soaps in the rooms are wonderful, all Molton Brown. The rooms are clean and spacious. The grounds are beautifully kept and the pool is amazing. The extra perk of complimentary champaign and strawberries every evening was very nice. The shuttle service between restaurants at different hotels was excellent. The food, while too pricey, was very good. The bar at the main reception house was delightful...great bartenders, excellent snacks, great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are much more private than ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the One & Only Ocean Club this month. From the moment we arrived with our family of 4 as well as with the 2 other families in our group, we knew we had made the right choice. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and checkin was effortless. Our rooms very spacious, clean and above all comfortable. All the staff that we had the pleasure of interacting with were amazing and quite knowlegeable. It was also pretty convenient to be in such close proximity to Atlantis. While my husband and I relaxed on the beachside hammocks, the kids ventured down to the Atlantis waterpark. I would recommend The One & Only Ocean Club to anyone staying on Paradise Island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed 6 nights at the One & Only Ocean Club. I was there with my father. The purpose of our stay was taking golf lessons. Many people staying there were couples and there were some families.
The hotel is beautiful, the amenities are great, the room are spacious and very clean. The pool area is wonderful with the Versailles garden. The hotel is by the beach which is turquoise. The stay there was very peaceful and relaxing. People are very nice, friendly and helpful, but sometimes it takes a while before getting what you asked for (maybe we are too stressed or maybe it just is a cultural difference).
As the hotel is part of the Atlantis, the offer for restaurant is great, which allowed us to try different atmospheres and foods. There are complementary buses and private shuttles driving between the hotels and the golf course.
I would definitively recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Perfect spot to experience ulta beauty in the most well cared for landscaped grounds that make you feel far far away. The sensation is that experienced in a top hawaiian oceanfront resort - The landscaped yard and palms dressed with hammocks right up to the beach allow resort guests to fully enjoy the spaces as if their own . Just the most peacful and beautful setting . Full acess to the Alantis resort as the hotels are all owned by same group which doubles your playground and allows the privacy of a gated resort when you are ready to relax.

Room Tip: A ground floor suite will allow you to access the grounds direct from your room . get ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place is over rated, the only good thing is the beach! the staff is okay unless you tip them real well and the property is not up to par! this place is overpriced for the level of service and accommodation you receive ! Island time is not an excuse for bad service! Wouldn't come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

From the moment I was picked up I was giving incorrect information about the services the hotel provided. Just so everyone knows the SUVs that are free, they will ONLY take you to the Atlantis. The bellman gave away our cab to another customer because she was late for something. We had to wait 22 mins for another cab. The double doors facing the ocean hum very loudly when the wind blows. I was forced to sleep with the door open to avoid the constant humming. The facial is extremely basic, no steam machine, no extractions, just someone putting products on your face, they leave you alone in the room for 20 mins while the products set then wipe them off and charge $230.00. The gardens and ponds are poorly cared for, most were half empty, dead leaves floating on the top. The gardens have not been fertilized or weeded in a long while. There is no organization for the pool sitting area, no way to save seats and some customers were able to save seats all day. The 2.5 hours I was there the best seats were empty but "reserved". Rarely could I get a straight answer from the employees on anything. Finally I have to say that this place is way over priced! It's more expensive than the Maui 4 seasons, one of the most luxurious hotels in the world is cheaper than this hotel! That saids a lot right there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One & Only Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One & Only Ocean Club

Address: One Casino Drive, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One & Only Ocean Club 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the deep blue of an endless Bahamian sky, wrapped in the turquoise waters of an exuberant sea, One&Only Ocean Club nestles peacefully along a shore of delicate white sand beach...a treasured sanctuary of privileged perfection.Renowned for its legendary sophistication and contemporary elegance, the resort was once the private estate of A&P heir Huntington Hartford II. Today, this alluring beachfront hideaway reflects the glamorous ambience and posh exclusivity of a grand colonial manor, welcoming generations of the world’s travelling elite. Expansive manicured lawns and towering coconut palms provide an enchanting backdrop to the pristine beaches of Paradise Island.Here, service is elevated to a fine art form by a gracious staff welcoming you into their colonial plantation home. Warm and inviting accommodation and residential-style villas are ideal for couples and families alike. The dining options at One&Only Ocean Club are renowned and unforgettable featuring the imaginative cuisine of chef Jean-George Vongerichten.One&Only Ocean Club is a playground of world-class golf, tennis, spa, and off property water-sports. The spectacular blue waters of the Caribbean are the elixir of Bahamian life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your One & Only Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One & Only Ocean Club Hotel Paradise Island
One And Only Ocean Club
One Only Ocean Hotel
Ocean Club Bahamas
One Only Ocean Resort
One Only Bahamas
One & Only Ocean Club Bahamas/Paradise Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One & Only Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.