We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food for great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Skans

Cafe Skans
Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
242-322-2486
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 198 Restaurants in Nassau
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Greek, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
British Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food for great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great cafe in downtown Nassau on Bay St. Good selection of food, great prices and yummy taste! Stopped in there for a late breakfast/early lunch while shopping and enjoyed a delicious omlette, bagel and cheeseburger for our family. Yummy!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    66
    31
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Yuck!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was told by many that it was a great place to go... I was wanting Red Snapper which I ordered grilled. I came out as a whole fish head and all. Call me a little spoiled but I usually don't buy my fish with bones in them... Once I plcked out the bone the fish had a "fishy" taste to it. I realized it was to much work to eat nasty fish... The conch salad was DELICIOUS tho!! the fried shrimp was good also. I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Most Affordable Place On the Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Because this restaurant closes at 5:30pm, we were finally able to catch a meal during lunch time! And it was worth it! The staff was wonderful, the food was good, and the prices were very reasonable. They have daily specials, and lots of other goodies on their menu. They offer very affordable breakfast options as well!

Although from the outside it looked a little crowded, it was spacious and comfortable. We had the fried grouper and the grilled mahi mahi. My boyfriend thought his mahi mahi may have been cod, but it was still really good. Even though it looks like a trap for cruise shippers, it is a pleasant venue for anyone visiting the island!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Bahamian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The food is very hood and offers some original Bahamian food. The service is very friendly and you feel very welcome all the time. It's a place where lot of locals go for lunch time which indicates how good and fair food you'll find there. Not to mention the price for Bahamas standards.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Ate here twice. Breakfast and lunch were good, after you get past the sticker shock. The only cheaper place for breakfast is the McDonald's in front of the Hilton.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Skans also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Cafe Skans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Skans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.