We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort and staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Point Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Compass Point Beach Resort to your Saves list
Compass Point Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   West Bay Street | P.O. Box CB 13842, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Nassau
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing resort and staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Stayed here with my cousin (who was here celebrating her 40th birthday) and a few friends. We each had our own sea-facing studio hut, which was a treat. Pictures definitely do not do justice to how lovely the huts were - they were so comfortable and cosy, with everything we could possibly need and more (ie. surround sound stereo system, ipod dock, large tv, a small fridge, toaster over, microwave, coffee maker, kettle, mugs/plates/bowls/cutlery/napkins, even a small sink and washing up liquid!). CDs in the room were of various artists who had recorded at the studios nearby. lovely touch, though i wish i couldve purchased one in particular i couldnt stop listening to! (found it on amazon afterwards, tho!). The hotel maid was super sweet and always did a superb job-when i had asked for more conditioner one day, she happily gave me tons (my unmanageable hair was overjoyed!).
Staff were friendly, helpful and completely marvelous, as we had included them in various surprises we had planned for my cousin, and they were just brilliant in helping us pull it all off without a hitch- even personally picking up a birthday cake for us from the bakery (to save us the delivery fee), and allowing us to decorate a corner of the restaurant for the birthday bash. Two nites in a row we were treated to a special junkanoo for her, with singing and dancing staff.
The day we had a super early start for a powerboat trip, which meant we had to leave before official breakfast hours, we asked if we could take some pastries with us. Our breakfasts were put into takeaway containers (and juices into takeaway cups, with lids and straws!) and given to us as we left the hotel, so we could take it with us. That was a really nice touch, seeing as they really didn´t have to do that, and we really appreciated it.
i think the pool, the hottub and surrounding areas could do with a bit of a spruce up, and for the price we paid for the rooms it would have been nicer if they included a full breakfast (ie eggs, sausages, or waffles etc, and coffee too), not just the two pieces of pastry and small glass of juice...
But other than that i thought this resort was great and would return. Im so happy we stayed here and not at some large impersonal hotel, and especially not at Atlantis, which was like a zoo. We rented a car so it was super easy to get around Nassau and to Paradise Island, but at the end of the day it was always lovely to return to our oasis, Compass Point!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    101
    23
    15
    11
See reviews for
63
221
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Our wedding was held at Compass Point as well as we stayed on the property. Their level of service with all employees was beyond my wildest expectation. From the service industry myself, I was blown away at their level of commitment to their guests. The property is gorgeous as well, especially for a wedding!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We just returned from our wedding here on Oct. 23rd - we couldn't have picked a better place to celebrate with family and friends. The resort was attentive to everything we asked for, the rooms were clean and well kept, the food at the restaurant was delicious. Anita was great with helping us with the planning and food services. Our reception dinner was also delicious, portions were huge! We loved the conch salad!!! The resort manager was accomodating, we were a loud group, but never got a complaint from anyone. The setting was beautiful, the pier/gazebo is just the most picturesque area during the ceremony.. if anyone is having a destination wedding, choose Compass Point, especially during low season, because the resort was pretty much empty, so it felt like you're the only one at the resort. We were swimming @ Love Beach and loved it - it was like our very own beach, cuz no one was around. LOVED EVERYTHING!!!! Although the rates to the rooms could be lower, but our expectations were met every time during our stay at CP!!!! <3

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We arrived with great expectations based on other reviews on this site and the conversations we had with staff as we set up our trip. The weather during our stay was NOT what we had hoped for, [Guess there's a reason that hurricane season includes October!], with high winds & rain which precluded us from enjoying anything water-related.
That said, we will most definitely go back to Compass Point.
1. Do Not Go Here if you're looking for a gazillion activities to occupy your every moment. This lovely establishment offers peace and quiet and some of the most beautiful ocean views I've ever seen. Read, listen to music, write, sit on the little porch off your room and enjoy the view. If you require stimulation, take day trips downtown, to the various water-sport purveyors, or over to Paradise Island. At day's end you can return "home" to this peaceful pocket of existence.

2. The restaurant and bar are popular amongst locals, particularly Americans and other foreigners who currently call Nassau home. The food is terrific, the staff is absolutely friendly and fun, and because of the small size of the resort, (only 13 huts in all), you are so definitely not just a "room number". By the time we left, we felt as though we'd made several new friends with these wonderful folks. And then there's Viktor, who has recently assumed the responsibility of general manager. This young man has great dreams and a long "to do" list for making improvements to the property and its offerings. Viktor sat down with us for an after-dinner drink and intriguing conversation one evening in the restaurant. The morning we checked-out, he bestowed upon us a conch shell that he had found in the water recently; his way of "apologizing" for the bad weather during our stay.

3. As others have mentioned: Definitely get the elevated sea-front huts. Worth every penny. Octaconal Huts are VERY authentic. Unpretentious and very solid. Lots of room for clothes in 6 dresser drawers & 2 large bins on wheels located beneath the very comfortable KING bed, beautiful, quirky, glossy finished wood floor, (be careful not to fall on your bum walking across them with wet feet!), and the little porch where we spent a lot of time. Loved the lack of glass in the windows - retractable screens on the inside and plantation shutters on the outside. Small but effective enough AC unit. Totally comfortable. Although WiFi is available, the better huts for privacy are worse for network accessibility, though easily dealt with by heading in the restaurant/bar area.

4. Comments about Nassau, in general:
We rented a car ahead of time and were glad we did so. Compass Point is, thankfully, off the beaten path of the downtown/Paradise Island vicinity. The car gave us the freedom to come and go as we pleased without relying on the jitneys. We were surprised to learn that most cars have the steering wheel on the left, like in the US, but you drive on the left side of the road, as in the UK. That took some getting used to. We also learned that traffice between downtown and Compass Point grinds to a near halt between 3 and 6pm every weekday due to schools getting out. Best to avoid that time.
Groceries are terribly expensive - easily 60-70% higher than we're used to. Although the water during our trip was a choppy, murky mess, it was indeed the beautiful turquoise that you hear about. We ventured over to Love Beach, (the private beach just footsteps from the resort), a couple of times. Found some nice shells, and discovered the beach sand is some of the greatest; very light/white and fine, fine, fine! That was a great surprise! I imagine a trip when the weather is nice would be magnificent!

In summary, this is not the place for you if want new construction, cookie cutter accommodations with several thousand other people. Go to Compass Point for some true relaxation and some of the best people, food, and drinks around. Next time, I think we may try April. . .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york,usa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

The most expensive rooms are located right on the ocean and the view is beautiful. Pool area is not inviting. Cushions on chaise lounges are ripped and old. Pool water was not skimmed and looked dirty everyday. Staff failed to mention that during our stay, and we payed top dollar off-season, that on our second day the pool was being emptied and would be under repair for rest of our stay. The day before the whole hotel was taken over for a pool party for the whole day with loud music and a drunk crowd leaving us no choice but to go elsewhere. Food was unremarkable and breakfast that was included was a joke!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

This place is the perfect "getaway" We were actually married there in 2002, but that year was not an option for travel. The resort was part of Island Outpost then, when we were there for a stay prior to the wedding Mariah Carey was staying there. Our wedding was perfect, right on the beach and the guests had a great meal and time.
Lenny Kravitzx owns a beach house nextdoor. The stay was wonderful, staff was great. The food while we were there was fantastic.
It isn't huge, and is so far from being anything like the Atlantis that it is perfect. I will go back for an anniversary anytime!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

My wife and I (young 40’s) visited for 3 nights. We wanted to get away from the children and life in general for some quiet and restful solitude. Both of us work high stress jobs but are laid-back, very easy going and understanding when on vacation. We live in the Boston area therefore we expect to play $100+ for a meal and drinks and a basic hotel room in a non-descript area will run $100 a night.

We choose the area because of the weather. And this location based on recommendations from Trip Advisors and Frommers because it was away from the cruise crowds in Nassau and trinket sellers near Cable Beach. The room was discounted 50% because Friday night they closed the restaurant for a cocktail ‘reintroduction’ party (cash bar) and a Saturday afternoon pool party (open bar). We were invited to both at no cost.

Cost – it is expensive but what we expected. The lunch burger runs $15. Be mindful the ‘gratuity’ is already included in EVERYTHING. Nevertheless adding 5% in CASH went a long way to better service at the bar and restaurant. After all does the staff really get that 15% or is it divided so many times – you get the hint. Oddly bottled water and other items in the limited gift shop were priced very reasonably.

The grounds were tight but you did not feel crowded. Think rectangle shape with the ocean on one long end and the main road on the other (which had a high wood fence). The grounds are elevated to the ocean with a couple of access points. There are plenty of trees offering shade. The bar is at one end with the restaurant next then the front desk followed by the pool (while good size it was as warm as the air and therefore offered no refreshment, although it never closes). Next is an area with many lounge chairs. Do not expect the staff to offer anything – you have to get it. There are two stairs giving access to the ocean with a long dock (you can jump off it) between them. What little beach area is typically underwater at high tide. The huts are next. Finally at the end is an access gate the leads to a short (1 minute walk) to Love Beach. The beach offers plenty of room to ‘lay out’. There is limited access so only those directly living on it use it. There were few (under 10) on it.

The Bar had several TV’s with each on a different station. It is well stocked including known domestic beers. The bartenders were well versed in mixing drinks and had a few suggestions as well. No measured shots here they unscrew the cap and pour till bored. It appears to be the only bar in the area as many of the locals were there. But it was never overly crowded and we mixed in well. They close when the last guest leaves – no set time. Food is the same as the restaurant and will comment below.

The restaurant consists of an indoor air conditioned area and a covered outdoor area overlooking the ocean. They position the chairs to enjoy the view. The limited menu was very good with decent portions. I was surprised there was not a chicken dinner dish. You can expect about an hour to pass from ordering until receiving the meal. Breakfast is included in the room cost and was very filling with comfort foods – eggs, french toast and pancakes.

This is not a standard hotel setup rather there are individual huts and not many at that. Pay the extra to get a Sea front location. Think high teens for room numbers. Our room had a small covered deck that overlooked the ocean. We had two great sunsets and views of the cruise ships and freighters in the distance. The double doors to the deck when opened created even more privacy. Our room was large with cable TV, surround sound – bring your favorite CD, refrigerator, microwave and a safe. Being used to double pane windows and weather stripping I was shocked at the ------- well the windows had screens and shutters. The air conditioner cooled the room but worked at all times.

The staff ever present, helpful and SLOW. Ok I can understand I was just standing and my shirt would become wet with sweat. Here is where those extra tips come in handy. The bartenders made us stronger drinks although were no quicker to our requests but the waitresses were far more responsive. At breakfast I told her to come in 3 minutes as my wife guzzles the coffee. She laughed but came back minutes later and was stunned I was right – the cup was empty. Our waitress was every good the reminder of our visit to keep that cup filled. I ‘broke’ the air conditioner. It was ‘repaired’ within an hour. Each day a manager would ask how our stay was.

Safety & ethnic comfort: The resort was basically blocked off from the rest of the island but I walked an hour in a different direction on the main road each day. I was not discouraged from doing it and I was not uncomfortable. Every taxi and bus stopped to ask if I need a lift. Nearly every expensive home was fenced/walled with a gated driveway including cameras. Some had chain link fences with razor wire on top. But it was really odd as some of the fences went the length of the property on the road side then stopped. It did not turn it just stopped. As in you could simply walk around it. Although the staff was black (can’t say islanders because there is a large white population) management was as well. Guests at the bar and the restaurant had a mix of black and white, islanders and tourists. This part of the island was not segregated nor did I feel the discomfort I felt while visiting Bermuda (outside Hamilton). I witnessed many knocked over signs that promised the latest and greatest development that would never be.

The Airport is very basic. Be mindful that of the 50 or so departures nearly half are between 11a and 1p. So give extra time if your flight is during that window. We arrived at 9a and sailed through in under 20 minutes but considering the crowd an hour later we were just ahead of the long lines.

The only draw back is the flight path. Nearly all arrivals fly within a half mile and under 1000 feet high. I found it interesting at first then was ignorant of it. Ok the first am arrival would wake me. But that was offset by the interesting night ones: the planes would bank over the ocean and appear to hang for 20 to 30 seconds (as they headed directly for us and without any great increase in light intensity) then bank for the landing. I have a better understanding of why some UFO claimants state the lights appear to be stationary that quickly move off.

DO NOT BRING YOUR CHILDREN. There is nothing to do but drink, eat, swim and sleep.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Compass Point Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Street | P.O. Box CB 13842, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Compass Point Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compass Point is a 1.5 acre celebration of bold imagination. Its 18 huts, made up of two-story cottages and single cabanas, glow with vivid Junkanoo colors. It is the perfect choice for guests who value simplicity, comfort, creativty and romance. Its restarunt is one of the few in Nassau where you can dine overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Compass Point Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Beach Hotel Nassau
Compass Point Beach Nassau
Compass Point Beach Resort Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Point Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.