We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and relaxing as it always was” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Point Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Compass Point Beach Resort to your Saves list
Compass Point Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   West Bay Street | P.O. Box CB 13842, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Nassau
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming and relaxing as it always was”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We went back to Compass Point for 11 days around Labor Day . . . our first visit there in seven or eight years. The place hasn't changed. Except for the presence of some pesky ants in our room and the need to frequent the marvelous Love Beach (right next door to the property) because weather had taken away the sand on Compass Point's beach, this was about the most relaxing vacation we've had in years. The staff was fantastic, the food and drink at the restaurant better than we had remembered it (the caesar salads and pizza are real standouts) and the weather just about idyllic, There is some excellent snorkeling on live reefs close in to shore about 3/4 of a mile west of Compass Point on Love Beach, which we discovered for the first time.

Room Tip: Go for one of the "huts", some of which are elevated, right on the sea wall. You'll p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    101
    23
    15
    11
See reviews for
63
221
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Compass Point is a $1.50 bus ride into Nassau and 15 minutes from the Airport. The rooms are comfy, the restaurant is great and the food superb. There is a beach which is never crowded. Couldn't pick a better get away for a few days or a few weeks. Can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My family stayed here for four nights in August and overall we had a good time. The huts and sea view were beautiful, my three-year-old boy loved the pool, the overall vibe of the place was chilled and relaxing. There was a deserted, excellent beach adjacent to the resort that was great for a long walk at dawn or dusk too. The weather was good generally, one day of rain.

But there were a few niggles.

The place did have noise issues. Though it was near the airport, there was very little plane noise. We were in hut 102, near the pool, the restaurant and the road, and actually none of them bothered us. Until I got woken up by a live band playing on Saturday night. The downside of the wooden walls.

The food was OK if overpriced, but the service was consistently slow, to the point were I had to get up and ask them to serve us one night. I can't remember the last time I had to do that. To some degree I tend to forgive a lax service when I'm on islands like this, there usually isn't the rush-to serve mentality of Europe or the US. But this island is largely kept going by US clientele, so the staff should really up their game for repeat business. For the money, this should be standard.

The resort is isolated, which has it's pluses and minuses. There are few places to eat out nearby, and no gym or even suggestions of 'things to do' offered by the management. You have to travel the 10 miles to Downtown for distractions. It's long stay otherwise. $60 there and back in a taxi adds up. Or you could wait for the bus. Again, a taxi driver told us about that, not the management.

We had a trip out one day to Paradise island and the Atlantis resort. That was an eye opener. It seemed exclusively aimed at Americans who like the Vegas-type experience, an all-in/ suntan/waterfun/casino type deal. It was massive, packed and noisy, not our scene at all, but we couldn't drag our boy away from the child pool there, he loved it. A hotel room there costs pretty much the same as one at Compass Point, so if you like that kind of thing it is an option. I recommend seeing the aquarium there, although you have to pay a lot visit the resort.

I thought the name of the Compass Point resort sounded familiar when we booked this place, and was given a clue by a note on the wall of the chalet that mentioned Eric Clapton had once stayed there. On returning home I looked it up and it turns out this was once the famous Compass Point Studios owned by Chris Blackwell on Island Records. Truly legendary albums have been recorded on this site, I presume where the dining room is now! Now this could be my imagination, but I did feel a good vibe about the place (despite the aforementioned niggles) and this could be the spirits of musicians past still lingering in the ether. Bob Marley swam in that pool! Eno and Byrne drank coffee looking at that pretty pier! Grace Jones smoked spliffs with Sly & Robbie sitting in these bungalows! Christ, even Abba passed through, probably speaking Swedish.

None of this is mentioned on the website or at the resort itself, I'm presuming for legal reasons as it is different owners now. But what a shame not to, it is such a selling point to music aficionados.

Incidentally my wife says she'd give this resort four stars (she wasn't woken up by the band.) If I could, I'd give it three and a half. Better than average, with plus points as well as things that could be improved upon.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs, don't expect an American-style welcome or service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We recently returned from our second visit to Compass Point. My last review was titled "definitely going back" and we did. The visit started off bumpy as the AC in our room failed the day we arrived. However Viktor and the rest of the staff were very apologetic for the inconvenience and did everything they could to accommodate us throughout our stay. The staff friendliness was not unique to our situation - they are like that with everyone. One of the things we love about Compass Point is that it is small so the staff gets to know you. Its also not overrun with kids so its quiet and relaxing for the most part. We were there when they changed the menu and the new options looked more interesting while keeping some favorites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just returned from a 4-night stay at Compass Point and we so enjoyed it. We were in hut 118: ocean front, could see the pier from our balcony as well as the pool area and of course the stunning ocean views. While this property might not be for everyone, (they are huts!!!) it was great for us for this trip: we were looking for a relaxing time, lounging by the pool, beach walks, etc. We enjoyed the small resort atmosphere; all the staff were so friendly and accommodating. Our porch/balcony overlooking the ocean was so relaxing, and hearing the surf and waves crash at night was awesome!!

We ate all of our meals at the on-site restaurant which was great!! A breakfast credit is included in the rate; you just choose from the breakfast menu which had several good options. I will write a separate review for the restaurant.

Suggestion: Based on a tip from Trip Advisor, we ordered beverages and some fruit thru FoodStore2Go.com. What a great move!! Our box of waters, mixers, and fruit was in our room when we checked in. Would highly recommend taking advantage of this great service.

We enjoyed a bus ride to the downtown and Cable Beach areas one day, which confirmed we made the best choice to stay at Compass Point. Hubby enjoyed snorkeling around the pier, etc. We enjoyed a long walk on Love Beach on Friday and pretty much had the beach to ourselves; it was more crowded on Saturday and Sunday. The rocks are just part of nature; it's unfortunate tho that there is much glass from broken beer bottles that washes up w. all the seashells,etc.

If you are looking for slick/shiny contemporary resort, you won't enjoy this. But if you are open to quiet, funky, and personable, something different from the chain resorts, definitely book at Compass Point. If we are ever back in Nassau, we wil!!

Room Tip: Hut 118 is closest to the pier ,the hot tub and beach/water access; noise did not bother us; we enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our son got married this past week at the Sandals resort. We wanted to host a dinner with the families before the wedding. Anita, at Compass Point, was great. From the first contact to the night of the event, she was so helpful. We rented the Gazebo, with a fabulous view. There was an indoor lounge area right next to us, that we were able to use the tv for our video of the couple. Our server was fabulous, The food was great. He kept the drinks coming and was very quick to make sure everyone was comfortable. Everyone commented on how nice the evening was. It was a great way to start our new combined family, since it was the first time for us to meet. Thank you Anita!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My best friend and I just got back from spending four days at Compass Point Beach Resort before heading to the Sheraton for a bachelorette party. We had the most amazing experience at CPBR. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful (especially Aneka, Weintzel and Dino). They truly made you feel welcomed and that your experience there mattered to them. We stayed in bungalow 115 which had a magnificent view of the ocean. Even on a rainy day, we still felt blessed to be at this location. Love Beach which is right next to the resort has pristine water and sand. The best part about it is that there was never anyone there. One night we were lucky enough to watch the sunset while drinking a bottle of Chardonnay. We had the beach ALL to ourselves. It was incredible. The restaurant at CPBR is quite good, although I wish there were more choices to pick from. By day 4, we started to get bored of eating the same food everyday. If you go, you must try the blackened red snapper. It was one of the best dishes I've ever had. Overall, this was one of the best trips and best resorts I've ever stayed at. By the time we had to leave, we were very sad. Going to the Sheraton afterward was very disappointing. It had more of a Disney World feel, something we were not looking for in a relaxing vacation. If you want to relax, feel like you are around long time friends, and have a magnificent view, then you MUST got to Compass Point Beach Resort.

Room Tip: All of the bungalows are great, but we stayed in bungalow 115 which was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Compass Point Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Street | P.O. Box CB 13842, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Compass Point Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compass Point is a 1.5 acre celebration of bold imagination. Its 18 huts, made up of two-story cottages and single cabanas, glow with vivid Junkanoo colors. It is the perfect choice for guests who value simplicity, comfort, creativty and romance. Its restarunt is one of the few in Nassau where you can dine overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Compass Point Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Beach Hotel Nassau
Compass Point Beach Nassau
Compass Point Beach Resort Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Point Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.