We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the ordinary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Point Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Compass Point Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Compass Point Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   West Bay Street | P.O. Box CB 13842, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 hotels in Nassau
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Out of the ordinary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had a great 4 day vacation after hurricaine sandy . Alot of debris dead grass and trees. But the room (elevated sea hut) was amazing. Great cleaning staff. Restaurant was great. Need more beach chairs for love beach but we used the ones from their house next door. No glass on the windows just retractable screens and shutters the sound of the ocean and being right over top of it was amazing We have been to Bahamas a ton of times but loved this place. We wouldn't bring our whole family there but great for a couple get away. Shower was amazing with the windows open to the outside. We stayed in rm 117 would have rathered 115 ( the yellow roofed room in the pictures) just a better view of love beach and th resort. All in all a great time. Email me with questions.

Room Tip: Pick room 115. For elevated sea front. But 117 is a good room too just the view is not as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    92
    22
    12
    10
See reviews for
54
212
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

absolutely suggest going all out and getting the elevated sea front hut. the sound of crashing waves, the view of the ocean & the privacy make these huts worth it. we stayed in mid october, 2012. hurricane sandy snuck up and cut our trip short but no worries. the resort is very laid back, the bar and restaurant have amazing views of the ocean and sunset. the breakfast is included with your reservation and was very good. the huts were clean and had a great beach vibe. very chill and relaxing. no frills but that's what makes it special. the resort grounds are nice and the maid service was prompt. the front desk was nice enough when helping us understand the logistics of getting to paradise island or booking tours. the airport is extremely close, from taxi to resort, no more than 7 minutes. you do hear the airplanes overhead and coming in to land but did not bother us at all. love beach is right next to the resort and accessible via a walkway behind last hut - def take that walk. there is no beach really to sit on but there are lounge chairs near the pool that overlook the water. the hammock at the end of the dock is heaven. again - go for elevated beach front hut and you won't regret it.

Room Tip: elevated sea front hut all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I work for a big airline and have been to many places but this hotel is just one of the dream ones. I don't like big hotels and this one is just ideal! We slept in a beautiful wooden house with a sea view, it has been just amazing to open the balcony doors every morning,see the sunrise and listen to the sea, very relaxing and it just couldn't be on a better place! Room was very clean and cosy, the biggest bed I've ever slept in!! Also the best sleep! Rooms are set in a garden and it's really private, just great. Perfectly clean every day which is a bonus really. People at the reception and in the restaurant were so friendly and helpful! You don't get this everywhere and it feels good to be looked after. Food was very tasty, especially the fresh fish which you can choose and it is prepared just to the perfection. Living in England we've also enjoyed the size of the drinks..Loved every minute and would definitely recommend to everybody! Little tip: Ask for the head manager Victor, he's the most helpful person we've ever met and he will just make sure everything is perfect!

Room Tip: Room Nr. 115 is the best as you're not too close to the pool and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It's by the sea, has an amazing view from the rooms, and it's full of colours :) The restaurant it's very nice and the rooms are clean and tidy. The only draw backs are the restaurant, with overpriced food for the low diversity and basic prices they have in the menu. But since everything in the Bahamas is imported, it's normal the high prices (I guess).

But it's worth to go and stay there. You never see a person with a sad face, and u have the beach in the hotel, and side of the hotel (and one of the best beaches in the Bahamas :)

Room Tip: Facing the ocean, but right by the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Guess most of the people get scared when they see such a colorful combination!! But this is it, it is very much natural, when you are there. It is nice, it is with and i am sure you will like and remember the good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for the huts closer to the water front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The reason for our trip to the Bahamas was to attend our friend's Jason and Crystal's wedding. It was held at Compas Point Beach Resort. It was a beautiful place for a beautiful event. The colours of the buildings/cottages were amazing. Despite the rain, which we were told was unusual for that time of year, everyone had a brilliant time. I think the rain actually may have made the wedding a bit crazier. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and warm. All around a great place. The food was delicious. Would definitely go back for vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed there as last day of a honeymoon roundtrip. We had picked it based on other reviews and a nice lunch experience a week earlier. On the hotel: great location, views, Nicly set up and furnished individual houses to stay in, friendly check in staff. Though it gets noisy during the night when it's windy and the waves hit the rocks of the shore. The shore is not ideal to go for a swim in the sea, but there another one close by and there are also pools. The restaurant has been a disappointment due to the poor service. We choose a fish from the fish bar; after 20 min we checked for our meal - answer was it is coming soon. The saw after 40 min. After one hour we have been told the fish had been served to another table and apparently this was the last small fish left . Also -no apologies or compensation for this screw up. Very disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Go for 117 or 118.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Compass Point Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Street | P.O. Box CB 13842, Nassau, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Compass Point Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compass Point is a 1.5 acre celebration of bold imagination. Its 18 huts, made up of two-story cottages and single cabanas, glow with vivid Junkanoo colors. It is the perfect choice for guests who value simplicity, comfort, creativty and romance. Its restarunt is one of the few in Nassau where you can dine overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Compass Point Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Beach Hotel Nassau
Compass Point Beach Nassau
Compass Point Beach Resort Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Point Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.