We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cable Beach

Cable Beach
Nassau, New Providence Island
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 62 Attractions in Nassau
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Resort Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

You take the #10 bus to get here. Really not a public access beach. A line of resorts lines this beach. I felt kind of creepy walking through the Sheraton to access Cable Beach. It was a clean, quiet,nice beach with a roped off area. You can snorkel the grass beds here along the beach. We didn't stay long. It seemed like it was acceptable for the public to use resort access and facilities, but we were uncomfortable with it. Nice, but not our favorite beach. Wish we would have stopped at the public access beach down the road - more shade there. If you like resort beaches though, this was a good one and not crowded at all. Do keep in mind that locals walk up and down the beach hawking their Chinese made wares and there are no lockers to stash your valuables if you come in off the bus.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    189
    69
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great memories at this beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great memories of our whole family being together on this beach. I always love a good beach, and this one was good, but certainly not the best one I've been to.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just what I was expecting!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We took the number 10 jittney to the Sheraton beach just a few miles away and it was wonderful! Nice pools, beech chairs, food, and the beech was amazing. This was definitely the way to go, I am so glad I found this suggestion on here!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Must wear shoes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The beach was littered with broken glass, there was all kinds of trash washing ashore. We asked a cab driver about this, he said that many locals take there trash and dump in ocean. It was just so ironic as there would be million dollar homes fenced in on beach yet the beach itself was disgusting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sand, Peaceful and Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We sat out on the ocean at Cable Beach several times during our recent stay in Nassau and we really enjoyed it. The beach itself is just beautiful - its a large beach, lots of room for everyone, beautiful clean sand and much much quieter than the hectic pace and crowds noted at Atlantis. Building in the area has not disturbed this beautiful beach.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cable Beach also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Cable Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cable Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.