We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't ask for more on a honeymoon stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Stone's Throw Away

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added A Stone's Throw Away to your Saves list
A Stone's Throw Away
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Tropical Garden Road | Gambier Heights, Nassau SS5412, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Nassau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Cedar Park, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“We couldn't ask for more on a honeymoon stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I chose ASTA for our honeymoon because with everything going on up until the wedding - we needed to relax; we got that and a LOT more! Upon our arrival, the staff was very warm and greeted us with open arms and made it clear that our satisfaction was their goal. For the most part, our stay was exactly what we wanted: quiet, relaxing, and peaceful.

Pros: The ocean view rooms were WONDERFUL. The bed was nice and firm, but allowed you to be comfortable without much difficulty. We stayed on the 2nd floor in room #8 and we had an awesome view of the water and with a full moon, it made things even nicer...especially with a bottle of champagne on the canopy bed on your last night. If you visit, I'd highly recommend it over the garden view (nice, but come on - you're there to see the water at sunrise!) The food was pretty spot-on for what you'd expect to find in a nice restaurant, the chef really worked at what guests liked best and perfected each dish, portion-wise, taste, and texture. Dinner could be a bit pricey, but it's nothing outrageous like I've heard about Black Angus at the Wyndham Crystal Palace. I can't stop raving about the staff, even 2 weeks after returning. Collyn, the midday & evening waiter was very funny, recommending wine & food pairings with expert knowledge, and made it less about him serving us, but more like he was welcoming someone into his own home. Harriet REALLY does make a mean drink and is definitely a sweetheart with a heart of gold with a bit of sass in her, very matronly, and made it clear that she wanted to help our stay be a success. Hell, even Chris, the owner, offered to help and did help us down with our luggage while we left (be warned, it's a bit of a hike to the hotel itself from the street!)

Cons: I couldn't help shake the fact that there was a bit of an elitist feel to ASTA. I thought it was just me, but after we returned, my wife agreed. With the exception of my wife and I and another couple from the Texas also, most of the guests that were also at the B&B were from either Canada or Western Europe and were crazy rich - and wanted you to know it.

A few tips: Rent a car! The B&B is a bit out of the way (adding to the charm) and is much safer than a scooter - Bahamian drivers are pretty awful, cabs are overpriced, and it's relatively cheap to gas it up before you turn it in (I spent $30 on gas for a week's use).

Save your $ and don't bother with a guided snorkel tour (unless you're a weak swimmer), the B&B partners with the Nirvana Beach Club about 1KM west on W. Bay St. and they rent out anything you'd like (non-motorized). They charge a few bucks, but it's much less expensive than overcrowded beaches and tours.

You MUST hit the The Traveler's Rest just a block East of the B&B - the food is crazy good and inexpensive (best of all, they accept Credit Cards, unlike a lot of local places).

Chris, you and your staff gave us an unforgettable vacation and a wonderful experience. I've recommended ASTA to all of our friends and advised them to skip the mega-resorts to really get away. Nothing says relaxing like a half mile of private beach with only an employee, you, your wife, and the Atlantic Ocean at your whim. Your B&B is far enough from the bustle of downtown, but close enough to get a taste of the culture and the nightlife, almost like leaving the suburbs to visit the city, only to return to a quiet home. Thank you again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    75
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
19
132
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was looking for a place to spend a relaxed weekend and this was the best place I could have chosen. The property only has ten rooms and so there is no possibility of a crowd. The place is quiet and no part of the property - pool, terrace, dining area- is ever crowded. The staff is friendly and helpful and the view of the ocean amazing. The only downside is that their menu is limited, so if you are a foodie, you might be disappointed. Travelling with kids has taught us to always keep packed food available, so it didnt hurt us and we are quite open to all kinds of food. The complimentary breakfast was decent. Overall it was a weekend well spent and next time I will stay longer.

Room Tip: The oceans view room is the best if you are a couple but with family a suite is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

This guesthouse has amazing views and very comfortable, clean rooms. It is so close to the airport and offers a free lift there on the day of your departure. The only issue is that it is very isolated. While some people may prefer this, I would recommend staying somewhere closer to restaurants, grocery stores etc if visiting the Bahamas for more than one or two nights. The restaurant at compass point was amazing and an easy walk, however it was the only option available to us on our stay. Regardless, I would highly recommend this guesthouse in terms of everything else.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have a house on the island but needed a first night place to stay as arrived fairly late at night. Because they could not get a twin room ready for us they gave us two wonderful top floor suites with big baths and walk in showers, huge comfortable beds and sea views. This place is far from the action of down town and paradise island but is all the better for it. Most hotels in Nassau are tasteless holiday standard fare, here it is a relaxing and homely stay and for those who prefer this style then there is not a lot to choose from on the island and this will more than do the job.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A stone's throw away is indeed just that, (from the airport), and it is a long way from Nassau centre, but it is quiet. It is located in a residential neighbourhood. The airconditioning wasn't working in the first room that i was shown to, but another room was available. View somewhat obscured by new building on the sea side. Clean rooms, but noisy if you are on the ground floor from the rooms above. Simple breakfast. The pool and gardens looked very nice, but i wasnt there long enough to make use of them. The free lift to the airport in the morning by a staff member was a very welcome surprise - thank you!

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room, but then take your shoes off and talk quietly so that you don't dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island new york
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I over night in Nassau & stayed at Stones throw away en route to Cat Island, it was a super experience! Very tastfully decorated immaculate rooms, high up with views and cool breezes...Dinner was good too, and the staff very pleasent and helpful...so convenient to the airport.. thanks.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We ended up staying at a few different hotels while visiting Nassau. This one was out favorite. Atlantis and the best western were the others. Guess it kind of depends on what you are looking for. I will say that the best meal we had was right down the street at compass point. Rooms were clean, staff friendly, I would return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to A Stone's Throw Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Stone's Throw Away

Address: Tropical Garden Road | Gambier Heights, Nassau SS5412, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Stone's Throw Away 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the west end of New Providence lies an exquisite hideaway. A STONE'S THROW AWAY is perched on one of the highest elevations by the coast. Here our Guests can indulge in a rare panoramic view of Nassau 's land and sea. The scenery boasts the best of the island's natural wonders, from the native pine forest by Lake Killarney to the brim of the coral reefs that protect the glimmering beaches of west Nassau. The property was recently built to echo the traditions of an old Bahamian home: wood floors and wood ceilings, louvered shutters and a large wrap around porch bring the visitors back to a quieter time long ago when the music of the islands could be heard in the whispers of the trade winds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your A Stone's Throw Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Stone`s Throw Away Hotel Nassau
A Stone's Throw Away Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Stone's Throw Away, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.