We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Bahamian Spirits, Wonderful frozen daiquiris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Tuesday Nassau Bahamas

Fat Tuesday Nassau Bahamas
West Bay Street | Oceanfront Just West of British Colonial Hilton, Nassau 00000, New Providence Island
+1 242-323-7483
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 185 restaurants in Nassau
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bahamian, Canadian, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Fat Tuesday "Mardi Gras" Nassau, Bahamas offers the most fun and best scenic view in Nassau. We have a large seating area and bar serving tropical drinks and top shelf liquors. The soon to be famous Fat Tuesday Jump off our patio in to the ocean is the funnest thing you will do in the Bahamas. Enjoy world famous Fat Tuesday Daiquiris and great food like Conch Salad, Paninis and more. Visit us and try some free samples. We are located beside Self Drive Boat Adventures, Nassau's #1 Tour. Our location is right on the ocean just west, beside the British Colonial Hilton hotel, near downtown and the Cruise Ship Docks. Hours - Open everyday at 11am, close when the last table leaves or 2am at the latest!
Stuart, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Warm Bahamian Spirits, Wonderful frozen daiquiris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Fat Tuesday, a daiquiri bar is a short walk from cruise line port--just 1000 yards past the Hilton Hotel. Located on Junkanoo Beach, Fat Tuesday is the only bar (soon to be bar and grill, maybe by year's end) right on Nassau Harbour. When we arrived just after noon there were only 4 patrons (not many fewer people than on the whole of Jankanoo Beach (the most lovely powdery sand-like talcum powder I've ever found). There were 8 adult family members in our group, so right away our server, Wilda (pictured with me below) rearranged the tables so we could all sit together. We were taking in the sights of the harbour entrance, the four cruise ships in port, and the boat traffic. Wilda brought a sampling of the six or so daiquiri selections (my personal favorite was the Cat 5--the 20 oz size in an insulated sport bottle). Our choices made, we settled in to enjoy the breeze, the view, and talk of our plans for the rest of the day. During our stay, the manager, Rebecca came several times to see how we were doing. Work was ongoing that within several weeks will effectively double the building's size. Rebecca said that right now the only food was fresh conch salad, but they will shortly have a full food menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    31
    12
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This place has the slushy alcohol drinks. You can sample them all and choose your favorites! The drinks are fun, but the best part is, you can jump off the bar into the beautiful water! It's probably a 10 - 15 ft jump, and it was the highlight of our trip! Perhaps because I'm after of heights so I had to muster up the courage.
Aside from jumping, you can also walk down the stairs to the dock and swim with your slushy drink. The bartenders will even serve you while you are in the water. We had a wonderful time at Fat Tuesdays on Junkanoo beach! Beautiful!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fat Tuesdays was meh!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

right on the beach but noone was there the 2 of us iinmy party and a couple. drinks was not frozen more like drink mix with a shot in it and ice...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Eating by the sea in The Bahamas, at last!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Okay, this is a brand new bar/restaurant with a huge advantage - it's one of the very few local establishments that are right on the water. It looks out over Nassau Harbour. While we were there we watched a huge cruise ship coming in just a few hundred yards away.
At this stage Fat Tuesday's menu consists of three and a half pages of drinks, and half a page of food. We chose a conch salad which was okay - it was nice, but not outstanding - and a salami and cheese panini, which was really excellent in as much as paninis can be excellent. There was also a drinks special which sounded great, a 2 for one fruit punch rum drink! So, after the conch salad, panini, and the 2 for one drinks, we received our bill of just over $50!!!! I was sure there was a mistake and called the waitress over, but was informed that the bill was right and that the price of the drinks at $10.25 each, was correct. Hmm, not impressed by the rum fruit punch special - it tasted like those large tins of "fruit punch" that you get in the food store - the ones that guarantee 10% of actual fruit juice - and cheap rum.
Anyway, while there I spoke to a lady who seemed to be in charge and she said that the kitchen was still under construction and would soon be finished, and as soon as it was, the food menu would be expanded considerably.
So, in a nutshell, I liked this place because it has a great location, the service was good, the ambiance and decor was fun and nice, the view was great, the service was great and the food was okay. Oh, and loads of parking for locals. I did not like the music, not only because it was rubbish music, but also because it was too loud, and I did not like paying $10.25 for a drink. I go to a place like this to relax and enjoy myself - how on Earth can you relax when they are charging you $10.25 a drink? In fairness, there were cheaper drinks - just don't fall for the "special" thing that I fell for.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food of the island!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was just up the road from our hotel . We walked up one day and experienced some of the island food. There were not wrong when they said we would love it. The conch fritter and jerk chicken were fantastic.They really know how to cook up a storm there. Loved it!!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Tuesday Nassau Bahamas also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Fat Tuesday Nassau Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Tuesday Nassau Bahamas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.